New database: Music Online: Classical Scores Library

July 7, 2021

We are pleased to announce we now have access to Music Online: Classical Scores Library, a database from Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company, who describes it as β€œthe largest and most authoritative resource of in-copyright scores to support teaching and research in classical music.” The database is organized as a multivolume series containing more than 53,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of scores. We arranged for trial access in April, received positive feedback, and thanks to an opportunity to get access via a UW System purchase have added it to our long list of resources you will find listed on the Music page in the Database Library. You may also find it in our Library Catalog and under Key Links on our homepage.

The Classical Scores Library collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.

  • Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I
    • Contains over 400,000 pages of scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 scores. All the major classical music genres are included – orchestral, chamber, opera, vocal, solo instrumental, and choral.
  • Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume II
    • Brings together over 200,000 pages focusing on major composers of past eras, new works by living composers, critical editions of compositions that are lesser-known but often studied, and many previously unpublished works available to scholars for the first time.
  • Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume III
    • Features modern editions of major publishers and key composers such as Elgar, De Falla, Franck, Brahms, and Handel, as well as previously unpublished scores that are now available for the first time, including the scores of many composers who self-publish.
  • Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume IV
    • Focuses on works of the 20th and 21st centuries, providing digital access to some of the most-studied works in classical repertoire and exposure to lesser-known composers. This collection will also grow to cover works by composers from regions not yet well-represented in the series, such as Latin America, Asia, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East.