UW–Madison Libraries Services during COVID–19

COVID–19 Library Dashboard
Learn more about updates to library services

The Joy Luck Club

The Joy Luck Club is a 1989 novel written by Amy Tan. The novel consists of sixteen interlocking stories about the lives of four Chinese immigrant mothers and their four American-born daughters in San Francisco who start a club known as The Joy Luck Club, playing the Chinese game of mahjong for money while feasting on a variety of foods.

Author: Amy Tan
Publication Date: 1989

Synopsis: In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. With wit and wisdom, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between these four women and their American-born daughters. As each reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined… New York Times Book Review: “Beautifully written… A jewel of a book.” Los Angeles Times: “Powerful… full of magic… You won’t be doing anything of importance until you have finished.” San Francisco Chronicle: “Wonderful… a significant lesson in what storytelling has to do with memory and inheritance.” (Synopsis from Goodreads.)

Find in the UW-Madison Library Catalog