University of Wisconsin - Madison
Collection Development Policy
LATIN AMERICAN, CARIBBEAN, AND IBERIAN STUDIES
COLLECTION AREA
Latin American and Iberian Studies
The collection development policy charts the scope of materials required to support curriculum needs and research at the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Department of Spanish and Portuguese and Latin American Studies Program. The core of this collection is housed in Memorial Library, with complementary collections in the agriculture, art, business, law, and music libraries.
Collection development emphasis is on acquiring current printed materials (and out of print materials, when available) in support of the current instructional research and needs of the faculty and students. The library system exhibits special subject strengths in anthropology, economics, history, and Spanish literature.
The University of Wisconsin's Department of Spanish and Portuguese offers a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree, a Master of Arts (M.A.) degree, a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D.) degree in Spanish literature or philology/linguistics, a Master of Arts (M.A.) degree in Portuguese, and a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree in Portuguese literature. Seminars rely heavily on library holdings, and the honors program requires a thesis.
The Latin American and Iberian Studies Program offers a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree, a Master of Arts (M.A.) degree, a Ph.D. minor and a dual law degree (Latin American Studies and Law). The overall program offers a wide range of courses in fields such as anthropology, business, economics, geography, history, journalism, music, political science, sociology, Spanish and Portuguese, Quechua, and interdisciplinary courses with other departments. Each field requires research using library holdings.
The collection to support the courses in Spanish and Portuguese and the Latin American and Iberian Studies Program is located in Memorial Library. Because of its inter-disciplinary nature, the collection includes the following Library of Congress classes:
B (General Philosophy)
Scope:
BC (Logic)
BD (Speculative Philosophy)
BF (Psychology. Parapsychology. Occult Sciences)
BH (Aesthetics)
BJ (Ethics. Social Usages. Etiquette)
BL (Religions. Mythology. Rationalism)
BR (Christianity)
BT (Doctrinal Theology)
BV (Practical Theology)
BX (Religion. Christian Denominations)
Scope:
C (General Auxiliary Sciences of History)
Scope:
CB (History of Spanish Civilization)
Scope:
CC (Archaeology)
Scope:
CD (Diplomatics. Archives. Seals)
Scope:
CE (Technical Chronology. Calendars)
CJ (Numismatics)
CN (Inscriptions. Epigraphy)
CR (Heraldry)
Scope:
CS (Genealogy)
CT (Biography)
DP (History of Spain and Portugal)
Scope:
F (Latin American History)
Scope:
GF (Human Ecology. Anthropogeography)
GN (Anthropology; ethnology)
Scope:
GR (Folklore)
GT (Manners and Customs)
GV (Recreation. Leisure)
H (Social Science, General)
HA (Statistics)
Scope:
HB (Economic Theory, Demography)
Scope:
HC (Economic History and Conditions)
Scope:
HD (Economic History and Conditions)
Scope:
HE (Transportation and Communication)
HF (Commerce)
Scope:
HG (Finance)
Scope:
HJ (Public Finance)
Scope:
HM (Sociology)
Scope:
HN (Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform)
HQ (The Family, Marriage, Women)
HS (Secret societies)
Scope:
Scope:
HV (Social Pathology. Social and Public Welfare. Criminology)
Scope:
HX (Socialism, Communism, Anarchism)
JA (Political Science, General)
Scope:
JC (Political Theory)
Scope:
JL (Political Institutions and Public Administration)
JV (Colonies and Colonization. Emigration and Immigration)
Scope:
KG-KHW (Latin America, Mexico, Central America, West Indies, and Caribbean Law)
Scope:
LA (History of Education)
LB (Theory and Practice of Education)
LC (Special Aspects of Education)
Scope:
LE Education: Individual Institutions. Spain, Portugal and Latin America
PC (Spanish Philology, PC4001-PC4071)
PC (Spanish Language, PC4073-PC4977)
PC (Catalan Literature, PC3900-PC3976)
PC (Portuguese Philology, PC5001-5041)
PC (Portuguese Language, PC5043-5498)
Scope:
PM (Native Languages)
Scope:
PN (Literature and film)
Scope:
PQ (Spanish Literature, PQ6001-PQ7011)
Scope:
Scope:
PQ (Portuguese Literature, PQ9500-9698)
Scope:
PQ (Brazilian Literature, PQ9500-9698)
Scope:
Z (Bibliography and Library Science)
Scope:
For the most part, bibliographic materials in the following disciplines are collected by separate campus libraries: agriculture, art, business, geography, law (except in cases were it is pertinent to the social sciences), and music.
Spanish, Portuguese, and French (in Haiti and Martinique) are the major languages for primary materials. English is the major language for secondary sources, but scholarly works are regularly acquired also in French, German, and Italian. In general, no language is excluded. Rather, the level and quality of the publication is the determining factor in the selection decision.
Collection areas include: the Iberian Peninsula (Spain and Portugal), the Balearic Islands, Canary Islands, North America (Mexico), Central America (Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama), South America (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela), and the Caribbean area (Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Martinique, St. Kitts-Navis, Trinidad and Tobago).
CHRONOLOGICAL BOUNDARIES
The time span covered is from the beginning of the recorded history of the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America to the present. (Since most research interest concentrates on the modern era (ca. 1492- ), a larger portion of the budget is expended on that period and on contemporary Spanish and Latin American history).
REFERENCE TOOLS
Monographs (single and in series), periodicals, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopedias, catalogs, indexes, grammars, lexicons, thesauruses, and corpora of various types are collected. Festschriften, textbooks, dissertations, and conference materials are acquired on a highly selective basis.
TRANSLATIONS
The policy is to acquire works in the original language, except translations into English of literature and/or major works of Spanish, and Portuguese and indigenous languages, when available. Translations of masterpieces of other literatures (e.g., English) into Spanish or Portuguese are not acquired.
TEXTBOOKS
The only textbooks we acquire are college-level, non-U.S. imprints, in indigenous languages.
EDITIONS
The general policy is to purchase new editions as published, provided they are new editions and not merely reprints. In literature, for comparative purposes, it is particularly desirable to have each edition of a work (even abridged editions). The acquisition of retrospective editions is determined by their availability, price and worth, as determined from pertinent reference sources (including faculty members). First editions are not acquired merely because of being first editions. It must be demonstrated that a first edition has value --aside from its value as a rare book-- not present in later editions. In fields other than literature, where comparison is not so great a factor, each edition is considered on its individual merits, such as editor, publisher, degree of abridgement and/or annotation, physical durability, etc. All new editions of reference works, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, should be acquired. The presence in our holdings of a few titles in a collected edition would not, in itself, prevent our acquiring the entire collected edition.
RARE BOOKS
The bibliographer does not purchase rare books for the general collection. However, the bibliographer makes every effort to enrich the rare book collection by cultivating potential donors and owners of private collections with useful materials.
Reprints are purchased whenever available, in lieu of rare and expensive originals. Reprints present an excellent method of filling lacunae, both book and serial, and of replacing worn-out materials.
SERIALS
The same selection criteria are applied to serials as to books. The emphasis on serial acquisitions is concentrated on refereed journals and publications of high research value from national and international organizations.
NEWSPAPERS
The library does not subscribe to daily newspapers; however, international, weekly, and airmail editions are considered. Some newspapers on microfilm are acquired for research purposes as collaborative purchases and are housed at the Center for Research Libraries. The electronic Library Web Page maintains a link to international newspapers online.
No format is excluded. Most Ibero-American materials are traditional books and serials, but microforms, computer programs, and audio-visual media are added as appropriate and available. Many items in literature and the social sciences are acquired with 'split formats' such that printed materials are combined with associated maps, microforms, or computer disks. Appropriate electronic sources such as Internet-based electronic journals, and bibliographic databases are added.
Texts in machine-readable format are becoming more widely available. These resources are being collected as appropriate, as well as being developed as in-house electronic text projects.
Memorial Library contains a substantial amount of historical material. Rare books, original manuscripts, broadsides, and other unpublished materials (which are not in microform) are the responsibility of Special Collections and are covered by their own collection statement. Special Collections holdings include: Spain--18th Century (known as the Porter Collection), the Latin American 20th-Century Poetry (known as Vanguard Poetry Collection), the Mexican collection (known as the Maximilian Collection), the Positivist Church of Brazil Collection, the Javier Núñez Cáceres Collection, and the Birutè Ciplijauskaitè Collection.
The Library has ready access to resources housed at other institutions, such as materials at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), and government publications at the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Additional materials are available through Memorial Library Inter-library Loan Office. The following URL's provide links to some of these materials:
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/ Library of Congress Handbook of Latin American Studies Online
http://hapi.gseis.ucla.edu/ Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online
http://www.lanic.utexas.edu/project/arl/index.html Latin Americanist Research Resources Pilot Project
http://wwwcrl.uchicago.edu/info/lamp.htm The Latin American Microform Project
Online Catalogs:
http://www.lanic.utexas.edu/ UT-LANIC
http://wwwcrl.uchicago.edu/DBSearch/Search.html CRL Catalog
http://lcweb.loc.gov/ Library of Congress
http://thomas.loc.gov/ Legislative Information on the Web (LC)
http://webcat.library.wisc.edu:8000/WebZ/html/homeframe_topic.html:style=rss:sessionid=0:next=html/homeframe_topic.html:bad=html/homeframe_topic.html CIC Virtual Catalog
Organizations:http://www.eclac.cl/ Comisión Económica para América Latina (CEPAL)
http://www.fao.org/ Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.hrw.org/ Human Rights Watch
http://www.iadb.org/ Inter-American Development Bank
http://www.oas.org/ Organization of the American States
Electronic Texts:
http://libtext.library.wisc.edu/IbrAmerTxt/ Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
http://www.cdlib.org/ California Digital Library
http://ntx2.cso.uiuc.edu/cic/cli/digilib.html CIC Digital Library and E-text Projects
http://www.promo.net/pg/index.html Project Gutenberg
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~sorjuana/ The Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz Project
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/ University of Virginia E-Text Center
Date Unknown (Susan Hodgman)
REVISION DATES:
March 1983 (Susan Hodgman)
April 1994 (Susan Hodgman)
February 1999 (Luis M. Villar)
LC Class
See General Subject Boundaries above.
Bibliographer
Luis M. Villar