
UN General Indexes: Finding UN Publications by Subject,
Title, or
Author at UW-Madison's Memorial Library
General indexes...
- Index mimeographed documents, official records, sales publications, and selected articles from selected UN periodicals.
- At a minimum, provide indexing by subject, author, and title.
- Don't include in-depth indexing of certain kinds of publications like Official Records or sales publications.
- Print indexes are mostly annual cumulations; that is, there's a separate index for each year. For some years, Memorial has cumulative indexes that cover several years at a time.
- Vary in structure over time.
Please note: This guide will tell you how to find citations in indexes. To locate
the actual documents, see the guide Locating United Nations Documents at Memorial Library at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/locating.htm
For additional help please contact the government documents reference librarian (262-9852; bharper@library.wisc.edu), or ask at the Reference Desk, Room 262.
- Descriptions of electronic indexes
|
- Overview of UN general print indexes
|
- Descriptions of print indexes
|
Descriptions of Electronic Indexes
1979-present (UNBISnet database)
- Index title: UNBISnet: UN Bibliographic Information System
- Location: http://unbisnet.un.org
- Author/Publisher: New York, NY: Dag Hammarskjöld Library, United Nations.
- Format: Electronic resource, available for free on the World Wide Web.
- Dates covered: 1979-present.
- Full bibliographic citations: for sales publications, selected periodical articles, Official Records, and mimeographed documents from UN bodies and committees, and for commercial and other non-UN sources held by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library.
Citations to speeches made in...
- The General Assembly, starting with its 38th session (1983-),
- The Security Council, starting with its 38th year (1983-),
- The Economic and Social Council, starting in 1983, and
- The Trusteeship Council, starting with its 15th special session (1982).
- Full text: Links to the full-text of many documents, especially recent documents. Full-text resolutions from the General Assembly (starting with 1983), and Security Council (starting with 1946).
- Searching: Has separate searches for each of three databases.
- Bibliographic records
- Can search over 20 specific fields, including title, subject, and document symbol/sales number.
- Can limit search by type of material, language, and publication date (among other criteria).
- Voting records
- Can search voting records for all resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-).
- Can search by keyword, vote date, or resolution [document] symbol.
- Can limit search by action body, vote type, or voting date
- Index to speeches
- Can search citations to speeches made in the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, and Security Council, all from 1983 onward, and the Trusteeship Council from 1982 to 1994. Links to the full text of speeches are provided.
- Can search by meeting record [document] symbol, speaker, country/organization, subject, or speech date.
- Can limit search by action body or speech date.
- Note: UNBISnet is shut down for maintenance on Monday through Friday
at 7 p.m. Central Time for approximately 1 hour.
1966-present (Access UN database)
- Index title: Access UN [computer file]
- Location: UW-Libraries Web Site (http://www.library.wisc.edu), in the E-Resource Gateway. Licensed UW-Madison electronic resource. Available at campus libraries and other campus terminals, and to UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff with a valid UW id.
- Author/Publisher: Chester, Vt. : NewsBank.
- Format: Electronic resource. (Need license for access; i.e., UW-Madison pays for access.)
- Dates covered: 1966-present.
- Full bibliographic citations: for sales publications, selected periodical articles, Official Records, and mimeographed documents from the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat, and International Court of Justice. Includes full-text resolutions from the General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council.
- Full text: Full-text resolutions from the General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council. Full text for other selected, recent documents. Links to the full text of other selected, recent documents.
- Searching: Can search document citations and full-text records
by using keywords and Boolean operators. Search fields include:
- All fields
- Subjects
- Session/agenda
|
|
- Document number
- Sales number
- Country
|
Can limit by document type and date.
- User guide: NewsBank Quick Guide, http://www.library.wisc.edu/help/quickguide/newsbank.htm
1966-present (Index to United Nations Documents and Publications database)
- Index title: Index to United Nations documents and
publications [computer file]
- Location: UW Law Library. Must be accessed through a terminal with a UW Law Library connection.
- Author/Publisher: New Canann, CT: Newsbank/Readex.
- Format: Electronic Resource. (Need license for access; i.e., UW Law School pays for access.)
- Dates covered: 1966-present.
- Full bibliographic citations: for sales publications, selected periodical articles, and and documents from the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat, and International Court of Justice.
- Searching: Can search document citations and full-text records
by using keywords and Boolean operators. Search fields include:
- Title
- Author
- UN Document Number
- UN Sales Number
|
- Session
- Document Type
- Subjects
|
- Document Date
- Country
- All Fields
|
- For assistance: See the reference librarians at the Law Library.
Overview of UN General Print Indexes
How they work
Each issue/volume of a UN-produced general index has several parts. Usually,
you'll use just two of these parts: 1) indexes, and 2) checklists of documents.
1) Indexes
- What they do:
- Index the checklist, i.e. tell you where to go in the checklist to
find out more about each document or publication.
- At most, the indexes give you a document symbol, title, issuing agency,
and year it was issued.
- At a minimum, indexes tell you where in the checklist to find full
bibliographic information.
- In either case, because documents are hard to locate, it's advisable to
look at the full bibliographic entry in the checklist before trying to search
for the document. You may find that the document you're looking for is only
2 pages long, or had limited distribution, or is not worth hunting down for
some other reason.
- How they're organized:
- All UN indexes have subject, title, and some kind of author indexing.
- Sometimes, they're combined into one index; often, there are separate indexes for subject, title, and corporate author/personal name.
|
2) Checklists of documents (Called "Checklists" or "Documents and Publications")
- What they do:
Give full bibliographic information for each publication. Entries usually include:
- Document symbol/Sales publication number
- Full title
- Author or issuing body
- Kind of publication/document
|
- Publication date
- Number of pages
- If it's included in the official records, where in the official records
to find it
|
- How they're organized:
Documents in checklists are listed either by document symbol or by
arbitrarily-assigned identifying numbers.
|
Examples of index & checklist entries
From United Nations Document Index (UNDI), 1963. Each entry refers to the same document.
Subject entry from UNDI: Cumulative Index - Part 1, Volume 14
-. 1963, p. 60
- CUBAN SITUATION
- Documents
- S/5259 Cuba. Letter, 11 Mar, alleging continued aggressive acts by United States
|
Checklist entry from UNDI: Cumulative Checklist, Volume 14 -
1963, p. 112
- S/5259. Letter dated 11 Mar 1963 from the deputy Permanent Representative of Cuba
addressed to the President of the Security Council. 13 Mar 1963. 16 p.
- Concerns Cuban situation.
|
From UNDOC: Current Index, United Nations Document Index,
1995-96. Each entry refers to the same document.
Subject entry from UNDOC, 1995-96, "Subject Index," fiche 10, p. 6194
EAST TIMOR-RELIGIOUS FREEDOM
----Letter dated 94/07/18. A/49/267 (000643)
|
Title entry from UNDOC, 1995-96, "Title Index," fiche 3, p. 4571
Letter dated 94/07/18 from the Chargé d'affaires a.i. of the Permanent Mission
of Germany to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General.
(000643) A/49/267
|
Name entry from UNDOC, 1995-96, "Name Index," fiche 2, p. 2764
Germany
----Letter dated 94/07/18. A/49/267 (000643)
|
Checklist entry from UNDOC, 1995-96, "Documents and Publications," fiche 2, p. 84
A/49/267 (000643)
- S/1994/853
- Question of East Timor. - Letter dated 94/07/18 from the Chargé d'affaires
a.i. of the Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations addressed
to the Secretary-General. - (New YorkD : UN, 20 July 1994.)
2 p.
"Annex: Statement on East Timor, issued by the European
Union on 18 July
1994" : p. 2. Language versions: A, C, E, F, R, S.
Photo-offset.
Doc. No.: N9429601.
|
Descriptions of Print Indexes
1950-1962 (UNDI)
- Index title: United Nations Document Index (UNDI)
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations, v.1-24, 1950-1973.
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Issued monthly. Each year's issues bound into a single volume.
- Full bibliographic entries: In "Checklist of Documents" section. Each checklist divided into sections: documents & publications issued by the UN itself; and documents & publications issued by specialized agencies (ILO, WHO, etc.). Each bibliographic entry is assigned an entry number.
- Indexing: Annual subject index at the beginning of each volume.
Annual index gives the section and entry number for the document (for example,
UN 1101, UNESCO 22).
- Cumulative subject, author, and title list covering all volumes of UNDI from
1950-1962: United Nations Document Index: Cumulated Index, Vols. 1-13,
1950-1962 (New York: Kraus-Thomson, 1974.) It gives the section
the citation is in (UN, ILO, WHO), the volume number, and the entry number.
1963-1973 (UNDI)
- Index title: United Nations Document Index (UNDI).
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations, v.1-24, 1950-1973.
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Issued annually.
- Full bibliographic entries: In "Checklist of Documents." Checklist arranged by issuing body and document symbol. Generally, documents of the General Assembly come first, then the Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat, and then specialized agencies.
- Indexing: Each issue has a cumulative author and subject index for that year. Index entry gives document symbol.
1974 (UNDEX)
- Index title: UNDEX: United Nations Document Index.
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations. Issued in separate series:
- Series A, Subject Index. v. 5-9 (1974-1978).
- Series B, Country Index. v. 5-9 (1974-1978)
- UNDEX Series "C" Cumulative Edition, 1974-1977. White Plains, NY, UNIFO Publishers, 1980. v.1-4 (1974-1977).
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Indexes (Series A & Series B) issued 10
times per year. Checklist (Series C) issued once.
- Full bibliographic entries: In UNDEX Series "C" Cumulative
Edition, 1974-1977, vol. 1-3. Arranged by issuing body and document symbol (for exact order, see table of contents in each volume). Checklist takes up three volumes:
- Volume I: General Assembly
- Volume II: Economic & Social Council (ECOSOC), including Regional Economic Commissions; Secretariat
- Volume III: Security Council; Trusteeship Council; International Court of Justice; Miscellaneous (including a list of UN periodicals, 1974-1977)
- Indexing: Series A, Subject Index. Issued 10 times
during the year. Each entry includes title, issuing body, document symbol.
Series B, Country Index. Issued 10 times during the year. Each entry contains name of country, type of action, subject covered, and document symbol or sales number.
1975-1977 (UNDEX)
- Index title: UNDEX: United Nations Document Index.
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations. Issued in separate series:
- Series A, Subject Index. v. 5-9 (1974-1978).
- Series B, Country Index. v. 5-9 (1974-1978)
- UNDEX Series "C" Cumulative Edition, 1974-1977. White Plains, NY, UNIFO Publishers, 1980. v.1-4 (1974-1977).
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Indexes (Series A & Series B) issued
annually. Checklist (Series C) issued once.
- Full bibliographic entries: In UNDEX Series "C" Cumulative
Edition, 1974-1977, vol. 1-3. Arranged by issuing body and document symbol (for exact order, see table of contents in each volume). Checklist takes up three volumes:
- Volume I: General Assembly
- Volume II: Economic & Social Council (ECOSOC), including Regional Economic Commissions; Secretariat
- Volume III: Security Council; Trusteeship Council; International Court of Justice; Miscellaneous (including a list of UN periodicals, 1974-1977)
- Indexing: Series A, Subject Index. Issued annually; 1975-1978 issues bound in one volume. Each entry includes title, issuing body, document symbol. Series B, Country Index. Issued annually; 1975-1978 issues bound in one volume. Each entry contains name of country, type of action, subject covered, and document symbol or sales number.
1978 (UNDEX)
- Index title: UNDEX: United Nations Document Index.
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: United Nations, Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations. Issued in separate series:
- Series A, Subject Index. v. 5-9 (1974-1978).
- Series B, Country Index. v. 5-9 (1974-1978)
- UNDEX Series "C" Cumulative Edition, 1978. Pleasantville, NY, UNIFO Publishers, 1980. v.4
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Indexes (Series A & Series B) issued
annually. Checklist (Series C, vol. 4) issued once.
- Full bibliographic entries: In UNDEX Series "C" Cumulative
Edition, vol. 4. Arranged by issuing body and document symbol (for exact order, see table of contents).
- Indexing: Series A, Subject Index. Bound with
Series A, 1975-1977 issues. 8 issues bound in one volume.
Each entry includes title, issuing body, document symbol. Series B,
Country Index. Bound with Series B, 1975-1977 issues. Each entry contains name of country, type of action, subject covered and document symbol or sales number.
1979-1982 (UNDOC)
- Index title: UNDOC: Current Index, United Nations
Document Index
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations, 1979-1982.
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Annual cumulation for each year.
- Full bibliographic entries: In "Checklist of Documents" section, arranged by document symbol.
- Indexing: Separate indexes by subject, name (including individual & corporate authors and countries issuing documents), and title.
1983 (UNDOC)
- Index title: UNDOC: Current Index, United Nations
Document Index
- Location: Memorial Library Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 0
- Author/Publisher: Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations, 1985.
- Format: Print
- Frequency: Annual cumulation.
- Full bibliographic entries: In "Documents and Publications" section,
UNDOC 1983, Vol. 1, Pts. 1 & 2. Each entry assigned an identifying number. Arranged by entry number (basically document symbol order).
- Indexing: Subject index in UNDOC 1983 Vol. 2, Pts.
1-4 (pts 2 & 4 currently missing). Personal/corporate name index (including
countries issuing documents) in UNDOC 1983, Vol. 3. Title
index in UNDOC 1983, Vol. 4. Index entries include entry number and document symbol.
1984-1996 (UNDOC)
- Index title: UNDOC: Current Index, United Nations
Document Index
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Microform Collection, Room 262, Micro Fiche 4743
- Author/Publisher: Dag Hammarskjold Library; New York: United Nations, 1984-1996.
- Format: Microfiche
- Frequency: Annual cumulations.
- Full bibliographic entries: In "Documents and Publications" section. Each entry assigned an identifying number. Arranged by entry number (but basically in document symbol order).
- Indexing: Separate indexes by subject, name (including individual & corporate authors and countries issuing documents), and title. Index entries include entry number and document symbol; easiest to look up publications by entry number.
United Nations Documents at Memorial Library | Government Documents at Memorial Library |
Memorial Library Home Page |
UW-Madison Libraries
Page created April 1999; last updated 12/07/05.
Created by Beth Harper & Jessica Donohoe.
Maintained by:
Beth Harper
Government Documents Reference Librarian
276 Memorial Library
728 State St, Madison WI 53706
608/262-9852