
Finding Information About ILO or
UNESCO Instruments at
Memorial Library
ILO Conventions
Text and ratification information - electronic source
The texts and ratification information for ILO conventions are available from the ILO's ILOLEX site, http://ilolex.ilo.ch:1567/english/index.htm
- Links to the full text of conventions are at: http://ilolex.ilo.ch:1567/english/convdisp1.htm
- Conventions are listed in numerical (and chronological) order.
- Noting the session and date of adoption (at the top of the full text will help you later in your research.
- Links to ratification information for conventions are usually at the top of the full text of a given convention. The links are labelled See the ratifications for this Convention.
Texts and ratification information - print sources
- Determine the ILC session and year the convention was adopted by checking:
- International Labour Conference. Lists of Ratifications by Convention and by Country (as at 31 December 2000). International Labour Conference, 89th Session, 2001, Report III (Part 2); Geneva: International Labour Office, 2001.
- Conventions listed by number in "List of Ratifications by Convention" section.
- Entries include:
- Session convention was adopted at (needed to find the text of convention!).
- Date convention entered in to force.
- List of countries that have ratified or denouced convention, and when they did so.
- Location: Memorial Regular Stacks, AP I616 L123 INTR v.89 3 2
|
- Using the number of the session the convention was adopted at, locate text:
- For conventions adopted 1921-1974: Official Bulletin (International Labour Office). Geneva: The Office, 1921-1974.
- Several volumes and issues may be bound together.
- Check tables of contents and indexes at the beginnings of volumes/issues to find a convention.
- Location: Memorial Regular Stacks, AP I616 L123 O
|
- For conventions adopted 1975- : Official Bulletin. Series A (International Labour Office). Geneva: The Office, 1975- .
- Several volumes and issues may be bound together.
- Check tables of contents and indexes at the beginnings of volumes/issues to find a convention.
- Location: Memorial Regular Stacks, AP I616 L123 OA
|
Ratification information is included in Lists of Ratifications by Convention and by Country (as at 31 December 1998), described above.
Other background information
In addition to the...
...you may want to check the following publications:
- Reports to the International Labour Conference
- Reports submitted to the International Labour Conference (body that passes ILO standards and conventions, made up of representatives from ILO member states), which meets in June of each year.
- Multiple reports and volumes for each session.
- Check the volumes for the year your convention was passed, and then for earlier years, for information on your convention.
- Location: Memorial Regular Stacks, AP I616 L123 INTR
- International Labour Conference. Record of Proceedings. Geneva: Internation Labour Office.
- Records of the proceedings (discussions, votes, etc) of the International Labour Conference.
- Check the volumes for the year your convention was passed (and possibly for earlier years) for information on your convention.
- Location: Memorial Regular Stacks, AP I616 L122 R
UNESCO Instruments
Text and ratification information
To find the text and ratification information for an United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) instrument, check:
UNESCO's Standard-Setting Instruments; Incorporating Supplement 3 (1994). Paris: UNESCO, 1981.
- All tables of ratification, accession, etc. are valid as at 31 December 1993.
- Includes the texts of instruments, followed by a list of ratifications, acceptances, accessions, and notification of succession, as well as declarations and reservations for some instruments.
- Instruments organized first by topic, then by type of instrument, then chronologically. There are 3 types of instruments:
- Conventions, agreements, and other texts subject to ratification
- Recommendations not subject to ratification
- Declarations, charters not subject to ratification
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, AS 4 U8 U565 1981
|
UNESCO. Conventions and Agreements of a Standard-Setting Nature... web page.
- URL:
http://www.unesco.org/general/eng/legal/convent.shtml
- Full text for selected UNESCO instruments, in the areas of:
- copyright
- cultural heritage
|
- protection of cultural property in the event of armed conflict
- recognition of studies, diplomas and degrees in higher education
|
- Arranged chronologically
|
Other background information
In addition to the...
...you may want to check the following:
- UNESCO General Conference. Records of the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Paris: UNESCO.
- Meeting records from UNESCO's General Conference (made up of representatives from member states; meets every two years).
- Location: Memorial Regular or Oversize Stacks, AS 4 U82 A3
- UNESCO Indexes
- Similar to UN general indexes in that UNESCO indexes are comprised of checklists of documents and indexes.
- Some documents covered in UNESCO indexes are also covered in UN general indexes (described at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/indexes.htm).
- UNESCO. List of UNESCO Documents and Publications. Paris: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.
- Library has indexes covering 1962/1967-1967/1971
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, Z 6483 U5 U5
|
- UNESCO List of Documents and Publications. Paris : Computerized Documentation System.
- Library has indexes covering 1972/1976-1998.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, Z 6483 U5 U5
|
UNESCO documents
Memorial Library has selected UNESCO documents, going back to 1946, in the Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, aisle 1-2. Most documents are C or EX documents.
Full text of selected UNESCO documents are available from UNESCO's UNESDOC web site (http://unesdoc.unesco.org/ulis/).
- Documents included:
- Speeches of the Director-General beginning in 1987
- Executive Board beginning in 1995
|
- General Conference beginning in 1995
- Resolutions and Decisions beginning in 1946
|
- Can search documents by keyword, or browse by type of document and date or session.
|
United Nations Documents at Memorial Library | Government Documents at Memorial Library |
Memorial Library Home Page |
UW-Madison Libraries
Page created 1/18/00; last updated 2/1/02.
Created and maintained by:
Beth Harper
Government Documents Reference Librarian
276 Memorial Library
728 State St, Madison WI 53706
608/262-9852