
Using United Nations Materials at Memorial Library:
Tips for Women's International Human
Rights Class (AfroAmer 673/Wst 424)
Contents
General tips
Following these tips may save you some time and frustration!
- Give yourself lots of time to work with UN materials. Don't wait until the last minute to do your research!
- When using an index or catalog, take a few minutes to look at the introduction or user's guide, to see how the index/catalog works. This will save time in the long run.
- Want more info on how to use UN documents and publications? See the following:
- Web page: United Nations Documentation: Research Guide, by the UN's Dag Hammarskjold Library.
- URL: http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/resguide/index.html
- Book: UN Documentation: A Basic Guide, by Marian Shaaban and Robert Goehlert. Occasional Paper No. 16; Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana Center on Global Change and World Peace, 1993.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX 1977 S52 1992
- Want to learn more about the UN's structure? See the following books:
- Basic Facts About the United Nations. New York: United Nations Department of Public Information, 1998 (UN Sales Publication. no. E.98.I.20).
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX 1977 A37 B3 v.1998
- A Guide to Information at the United Nations. New York: United Nations Department of Public Information, 1995.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX 1977 A39 1995
Return to top of page
Steps in researching UN instruments
- Find basic information about the instrument (i.e. the covenant, convention, declaration).
- Identify related documents.
- Locate related documents on campus.
Steps are described in more detail below.
Return to top of page
Finding basic information about UN instruments
"Basic information" includes:
The resources listed below are only starting places for finding basic information about UN instruments. If you're unable to find information in these sources, please ask a reference librarian for help.
Texts of UN instruments
- United Nations High Commissioner on Human Right's page on International Human Rights Instruments.
- URL: http://www.unhchr.ch/html/intlinst.htm
- Includes:
- Full text of over 100 international human rights instruments, adopted by the UN, UNESCO, and ILO.
- Links to status of ratifications, and any reservations and declarations made by participants when they signed for UN and ILO conventions (but not for UNESCO conventions).
- Organized by topic.
- Sarnoff, Irving, ed. & comp. International Instruments of the United Nations: A Compilation of Agreements, Charters, Conventions, Declarations, Principles, Proclamations, Protocols, Treaties, Adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations, 1945-1995. [New York:] United Nations, 1997 (UN Sales No. E.96.I.15).
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, K 3238 I58 1997
- Includes:
- Full text of over 120 international instruments adopted by the General Assembly between 1945 and 1995.
- "Overview of Terms" which explains differences between kinds of instruments (conventions, treaties, declarations, etc.).
- Date instrument was adopted by the UN General Assembly.
- Organized by subject.
- Does it have an index? No.
- Collection of International Instruments and Other Legal Texts Concerning Refugees and Displaced Persons, Volume 1: Universal Instruments. Geneva: Division of the International Protection of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, 1995 (UN Sales No. GV.E.96.0.2).
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, K 3230 R45 A265 1995 v.1
- Section II covers human rights.
- Organized by subject.
- Does it have an index? Yes.
- Lawson, Edward. Encyclopedia of Human Rights. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: Taylor & Francis, 1996.
- Contains brief descriptions of many UN instruments. Some entries include the full text of a particular instrument.
- Entries arranged alphabetically.
- Documents dealing with specific aspects of human rights are entered under the aspect with which they're concerned (for example, the "Convention on the Rights of the Child" is entered under "Children's Rights: Convention on the Rights of the Child."
|
- Includes an index and a glossary.
- For complete description, see entry in the section on sources covering general history and purpose of instruments.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JC 571 E67 1996
- United Nations. Treaty Series. [New York]: United Nations, 1947- .
- Location: Memorial Regular Stacks, JX 170 U35
For tips on finding the text of ILO conventions or UNESCO instruments, see Finding Information About ILO or UNESCO Conventions at Memorial Library, at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/ilounes.htm
Ratification/signatory information
- Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General: Status as at 30 April 1999. New York: United Nations, 1999.
- Part I covers UN treaties.
- Part I organized by topic into 28 chapters; treaties organized chronologically within chapters.
- Includes citations to the full text of treaties deposited with the UN's Secretary General, not the full text of treaties. See previous section for information on finding the full text of treaties.
- Lists the participants in each treaty as of April 30, 1999.
- Gives the date that each participant signed and ratified the treaty.
- Includes any "declarations and reservations" made by participants when they signed.
- Includes a brief index.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX 171 U372 v.1999
General histories and purposes of human rights instruments
- Yearbook of the United Nations. New York: United Nations, Department of Public Information.
- Best place to start for background information.
- Published annually; check the yearbook for the year your instrument was adopted.
- Summarizes what the UN did in a given year.
- Gives references to related documents.
- Includes an index.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX 1977 A37 Y4
- Lawson, Edward. Encyclopedia of Human Rights. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: Taylor & Francis, 1996.
- Contains brief descriptions of many UN instruments. Some entries include the full text of a particular instrument. Also describes other human rights instruments and organizations, and the human rights situation 186 countries and territories.
- Each entry includes a bibliography.
- Some entries include recent developments related to the instrument (for example, reports from UN rapporteurs or commissions).
- Some entries describe the ways by which organizations and governments promote, monitor, and supervise the implementation of a particular instrument.
- Entries arranged alphabetically.
- Documents dealing with specific aspects of human rights are entered under the aspect with which they're concerned (for example, the Convention on the Rights of the Child is entered under Children's Rights: Convention on the Rights of the Child.
|
- Includes an index and a glossary.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JC 571 E67 1996
- Langley, Winston E. Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
- Entries contain brief descriptions of human rights instruments and issues. Entries do not contain the full text of instruments.
- Entries are shorter than those in Lawson's Encyclopedia of Human Rights.
- Covers some human rights instruments not covered individually in Lawson's Encyclopedia of Human Rights.
- Most entries include suggestions for further reading.
- Entries arranged in alphabetical order. Human rights instruments entered under their official titles.
- Includes an index and a glossary.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JC 571 L2747
Identifying related UN documents
Related documents will give you insight into what the UN was considering or intending as it developed a particular instrument. Related documents may include reports, statements, debates, proposals, letters, or plans of action.
In identifying related documents, you'll need to find a document symbol (this needed to actually find the document), and get an idea of what the document is about. The more information you have about a document (like its title, author, and date), the easier it will be to locate.
- Yearbook of the United Nations. New York: United Nations, Department of Public Information.
- Published annually; check the yearbook for the year your instrument was adopted.
- Summarizes what the UN did in a given year.
- Gives references to related documents.
- Includes an index.
- Location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX 1977 A37 Y4
- UN Indexes
- These publications index UN materials by subject, title, and author.
- No single index covers all years from 1946 to present!
- Indexes come in several formats:
| 1945-1983: paper |
1984-1996: microfiche |
1997-present: electronic database |
- Paper and fiche indexes (1946-1996)
- Each index is divided into parts. Most useful parts are:
- Checklists include the full bibliographic citation: title, author, date of document, length of document.
- Indexes (by subject, title, or author) provide the document title and document symbol, and tell you where in the checklists you can find more information.
- Locations at Memorial:
- 1946-1983 (paper): Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, aisle 0
- 1984-1996 (microfiche): Reference Microform Collection, Room 262, Micro Fiche 4743
- For more information on using UN indexes, see UN General Indexes: Finding UN Publications by Subject, Title, or Author, at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/indexes.htm
|
- Electronic index (1997-present): Access UN [computer file]. Chester, Vt.: NewsBank.
- Indexes United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed, as are the bilateral and multilateral treaties in the UN Treaty Series. Full-text resolutions from the principal organs are appended to their respective bibliographic citations.
- Licensed UW-Madison electronic resource. Available at campus libraries and other campus terminals, and to UW-Madison students, faculty, staff using Wisc World software.
- Location: Available from the Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Databases and Reference sections of the UW-Madison Libraries (http://www.library.wisc.edu/) web site.
|
For more information on using UN indexes, see UN General Indexes: Finding UN Publications by Subject, Title, or Author, at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/indexes.htm
Locating UN materials at Memorial Library
Memorial Library is not a UN depository library. We do not receive all the documents the UN or its subsidiary bodies distribute. But we do get many UN documents, especially those issued from New York and Geneva.
You should have a reference to the Official Records, a document symbol, or a sales number for each item that you want to locate. These indicate what kind of item you're looking for, the first step in actually finding the item.
| References to the Official Records identify items in the Official Records |
Document symbols identify mimeographed/masthead documents |
Sales numbers identify sales publications |
| ESCOR, 1991, Suppl. no. 7 |
A/45/L.2 |
1950.IV.12 |
| "In: Trade and Development Board official records, 37th session, 1st part, 1-12 and 17 October 1990. Supplement no. 1A, part 1, Report." |
E/DEC/1995/252 |
E.74.XIV.2 |
| TDBOR, 37th sess., Suppl. no.1A, pt.1 |
S/AC.25/1990/68 |
88.IX.7 |
Official Records
- What they are: Records of what is said and done by the UN's main organs (main deliberative bodies of the UN).
- General Assembly and Economic and Social Council are the organs that most often deal with human rights' and women's issues.
- Include minutes or summaries of regular and committee meetings; speeches, letters and statements considered in discussion; annual reports; resolutions.
- Up to four kinds of volumes within the Official Records:
- Plenary/Meetings: Verbatim minutes or summary records of plenary meetings. A number of agenda items, or issues, can be covered in a single plenary meeting.
- Committee: Verbatim minutes or summary records of committee meetings.
- Annexes include the important documents used in the discussion of agenda items of each session.
- Supplements include the annual reports of UN subsidiary organs, and the resolutions, budget, and financial reports of each session.
- Locations, Memorial Library
- 1946-present (but very few from the 1990's): Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, aisles 3-5
- 1946-1974 (micro-print): United Nations Publications. Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443; call number "Micro- print 15."
- It is not possible to make photocopies of documents in this format.
|
- 1997-2000: (micro-fiche): Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443, Micro Fiche 6246
- It is possible to make photocopies of documents in this format.
|
- The Law Library has some of these documents, from 1992 to the present, in a microfiche set called United Nations Documents and Publications. Law Library Collection.
- Includes official records and working documents from the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Security Council, Trusteeship Council, and the International Court of Justice.
- Location: Law Library Microforms Collection, 2nd Floor West, Cabinet 35-36.
- Please have the Readex year as well as the document symbol when looking for documents in this collection.
- It is possible to make photocopies of documents in this format.
- Location and hours of Law Library: see http://library.law.wisc.edu/
- For more information on finding and using these materials, see Locating United Nations Documents at UW-Madison's Memorial Library, http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/locating.htm
Mimeographed/masthead documents
- What they are: photocopies of documents used or produced in the day-to-day work of UN bodies. They're meant to serve as temporary records.
- Also known as "photo-offset documents."
- Each mimeographed document assigned a "document symbol" for identifying purposes.
- Include agendas; draft records of meetings; drafts of statements; plans; letters.
- Often later incorporated into the Official Records of UN organs.
- Memorial receives many, but not all mimeographed documents. In particular, we don't receive:
- Documents marked "L" for limited distribution (we do get a few).
- Documents marked "R" for restricted distribution. Not released to the public.
- Memorial has documents from 1946 to 1974 in micro-print; and documents from 1975 to the present in paper or microfiche.
- Locations:
- 1946-1974 (micro-print): United Nations Publications. Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443; call number "Micro- print 15."
- It is not possible to make photocopies of documents in this format.
|
- 1975-present (paper): Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, aisles 0-1
- 1997-2000 (micro-fiche): Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443, Micro Fiche 6246
- It is possible to make photocopies of documents in this format.
|
- Some recent documents can be found on the Internet. See the chart at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/locating.htm#H
- The Law Library has some of these documents, from 1992 to the present, in a microfiche set called United Nations Documents and Publications. Law Library Collection.
- Includes official records and working documents from the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Security Council, Trusteeship Council, and the International Court of Justice.
- Location: Law Library Microforms Collection, 2nd Floor West, Cabinet 35-36.
- Please have the Readex year as well as the document symbol when looking for documents in this collection.
- It is possible to make photocopies of documents in this format.
- Location and hours of Law Library: see http://library.law.wisc.edu/
- For more information on finding and using these materials, see Locating United Nations Documents at UW-Madison's Memorial Library, http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/un/locating.htm
Sales publications
- What they are: Publications issued for the general public, not just for official use.
- Each sales publication assigned a "sales number" for identifying purposes.
- Include major reports; studies; yearbooks; conference proceedings; and bibliographies.
- You're more likely to use these for your second paper.
- At Memorial, many are cataloged and shelved as regular books, and can be searched in MadCat.
- Locations: Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, aisles 2-3; or in regular stacks
- For more information on finding and using these materials, see Locating United Nations Documents at UW-Madison's Memorial Library, http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/locating.htm
Using UN materials from the Government Documents Collection - the basics
Circulation
- Only sales publications circulate.
- Sales publications in the regular stacks circulate like regular books; must be checked out at the Circulation Desk on first floor.
- Sales publications in the Government Documents Collection (have "JYAY" at start of call number) must be checked out at the Reference Desk, for one week at time.
|
Photocopies
- Can make photocopies of any documents.
- Can take documents to any photocopy machine within the library.
- Please return documents to reshelving cart in Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South.
|
Reshelving
- Don't need to reshelve documents.
- Please return documents to reshelving cart in Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South.
|
Documents tied in bundles with string
- It's okay to untie bundles!
- Don't have to retie bundles; put documents back in pile and put pile and string together on reshelving cart.
|
Can't find a document on the shelf? Check...
- Reshelving cart in Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South.
- Reshelving carts in Reference Room.
- Tables near photocopiers.
- Or ask a librarian!
|
United Nations Documents at Memorial Library | Government Documents at Memorial Library |
Memorial Library Home Page |
UW-Madison Libraries
Page created 1/7/00; last updated 2/4/02.
Created and maintained by:
Beth Harper
Government Documents Reference Librarian
276 Memorial Library
608/262-9852