Documents in the Official Records:
What are Official Records? | How do I figure out which one(s) I need? | Where are they on the shelves?
How do I get my hands on the one(s) I need? | How can I get more help with UN documents?
What are Official Records?
Official Records of UN organs record what is said and done by the major organs of the UN. They include:
|
If your citation includes the following abbreviations, the document you are looking for is in the Official Records:
GAOR - General Assembly Official Records ESCOR - Economic and Social Council Official Records SCOR - Security Council Official Records TCOR - Trusteeship Council Official Records TDBOR - Trade and Development Board Official Records
If your citation does not include these abbreviations, your document may still be in the Official Records, depending on the kind of document it is.
Official records are published for each session, and are made up of up to four kinds of volumes (every organ does not necessarily have official records of every kind of volume):
(Some mimeographed documents are reprinted in the Annex and Supplement volumes of the Official Records.) |
How do I figure out which one(s) I need?
- Indexed by the comprehensive UN indexes (UNDI, UNDEX, UNDOC, Access UN).
- For in-depth indexing, see the Index to Proceedings of... for the official
records of each organ. These indexes include:
- subject indexes
- indexes to speeches
- sessional information (Council and Commission members, session agenda, etc.)
Where are they on the shelves?
The UN Offical Documents are in Memorial Library's Government Documents section, on stack level 2M South.
The bound volumes (or unbound documents tied together) are arranged on the shelves:
|
How do I get my hands on the one(s) I need?
Economic and Social Council Official Records
Citation includes: references to "ESCOR" or document symbols beginning with "E/"
Locations:
Memorial Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 3
Records from 1997-2001: Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443, Micro Fiche 6246
Specialized index: Index to Proceedings of the Economic and Social Council
(location:
Memorial Reference Stacks, HC59 A1957)
Miscellaneous tips:
|
|
General Assembly Official Records
Citation includes: references to "GAOR" or document symbols beginning with "A/"
Locations: Memorial Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisles 3-4
Records from 1997-2001: Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443, Micro Fiche 6246
Specialized index: Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly
(location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX1977 A44; holdings: 1947-present)
Miscellaneous tips:
|
Security Council Official Records
Citation includes: references to "SCOR" or document symbols beginning with "S/"
Locations: Memorial Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisles 4-5
Records from 1997-2001: Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443, Micro Fiche 6246
Specialized index: Index to Proceedings of the Security Council
(location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX1977 A512; holdings: 1964-1996)
Miscellaneous tips:
|
Trusteeship Council Official Records
Note: The Trusteeship Council suspended operations in 1994, and has not met since then. See http://www.un.org/documents/tc.htm for more information.
Citation includes: references to "TCOR" or document symbols beginning with "T/"
Location: Memorial Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 5
Specialized index: Index to Proceedings of the Trusteeship Council
(location: Memorial Reference Stacks, JX4021 U3853; holdings 1952-1994)
Miscellaneous tips:
|
Trade & Development Board Official Records
Citation includes: references to "TDBOR" or document symbols beginning with "TD/" or "TD/B"
Locations: Memorial Government Documents Collection, Stack Level 2M South, Aisle 5
Records from 1997-2001: Memorial Microforms/Media Center, Room 443, Micro Fiche 6246
Miscellaneous tips:
|
How can I get more help with UN documents?
To arrange an appointment for in-depth reference assistance, or to arrange for course-related instruction in government documents at Memorial Library, please contact:
Beth Harper
Government Publications Reference Librarian
(608) 262-9852
or Email Beth
Memorial Library Home Page | UW-Madison Libraries

