University of Wisconsin - Madison

Tools for Finding U.S. Government Publications

Table of Contents

Overview of tools

Library catalogs

Web directories and search engines

Indexes to U.S. government publications

Full-text databases with U.S. government publications

Overview of tools

Numerous types of resource tools are used to search for U.S. government publications. The Main Tools for Finding U.S. Government Publications link provides three resources that will address most U.S. publications research. Additional information about the main tools and a number of other resource tools are listed below. Many of the database links below will take you to a preliminary resource page that explains the type of access that is permitted.

Tools for finding U.S. government publications fall into four broad categories:

Kinds of tools
Identifying tools

magnifying glass

Use to find the title, author, publisher, year published, or SuDocs number for a government publication on a specific subject, with a specific title, etc.
Identifying tools will NOT tell you where on campus to find a print copy of a publication.
Locating tools

signpost

Use to find a particular document on campus. Some government publications may not be available on campus.
Locating tools WILL tell you where on campus to find a print copy of a publication.
Tools with web links/addresses

World Wide Web icon

Use to find government information on the World Wide Web. Provides either a web link or web address. Some government publications are not available via the web.
Tools containing some
full-text documents

document

Contain some full text documents. Documents may be in HTML, PDF, plain text, or other formats.

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Library catalogs

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Web directories and search engines

What's the difference between directories and search engines?

Directories allow you to browse predetermined lists of agencies, publications, or subjects. Directories may be annotated (have brief descriptions of the sites they link to), or unannotated (just provide links). The directories listed below allow you to browse lists of sites...

Search engines allow you to search parts of the web by keyword. No one search engine covers the whole web. If you don't find what you're looking for in your initial search, you may wish to do your search with a different search engine.

Jump to:

Directories

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Directories for statistics

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Search engines

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Indexes to U.S. government publications

Jump to:
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Print indexes for historical publications

Statistical Universe

PAIS

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Index

Government Periodicals Universe

NTIS Bibliographic Index

AUP Index to Military Periodicals

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section

Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section

Full-Text Databases with Government Publications

Jump to:
GPO Access

Thomas Legislative Information

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications

Global Newsbank

Statistical Universe

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Return to top of page Return to top of section

Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section
Return to top of page Return to top of section

U.S. Government Publications at Memorial Library | Government Documents at Memorial Library |
Memorial Library Home Page | UW-Madison Libraries

Page created on 11/15/99; last updated on 10/31/08. 16:10 10/30/2008

Created by:
Beth Harper & Willa Kowalski
Maintained by:
Beth Harper
Government Documents Reference Librarian
276 Memorial Library
728 State St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-9852