U.S. Census Resources on the Web
Selected Web Sites With 2000 Census Data

Quick Links
American FactFinder
Best place to start if looking for basic facts; data for all geographies except school districts.
Your Gateway to Census 2000 WisStat
Data for Wisconsin only.
State of Wisconsin's
Demographic Services Center

Data for Wisconsin and the U.S. as a whole.
Census 2000 School District Demographics

This guide links to and briefly describes some of the main web sites featuring Census 2000 data, especially Wisconsin data.

What site you choose depends on what kind of information you want, for what geographical areas, in what formats, and what interfaces you prefer to use in retrieving or building reports.

If you need assistance using the electronic reports or data, please contact a federal depository library or state data center.

People in the Madison area can also contact Beth Harper, Government Documents Reference Librarian, Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, (608) 262-9852, bharper@library.wisc.edu.

Please note: This guide is for those looking for statistical reports from the 2000 Census. If you are looking for genealogical information from the U.S. Census, please see the Wisconsin Historical Society's page on Censuses, http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/genealogy/census/

American FactFinder

http://factfinder.census.gov/
Developed and maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Geographies covered

  • Covers the entire United States.
  • Provides data to the lowest/smallest level of geography (blocks).
  • Provides data for the widest variety of geographic entities.

Types of reports/tables available (including maps and comparison tables)

  • Fact Sheets: best choice for a statistical snapshot of a given geography. Reports containing general (demographic), social, economic, and housing facts for a single geography (U.S., state, county, city, town, or ZIP code).
  • Quick Tables: brief tables covering one subject (may include multiple variables).
  • Detailed Tables: the most detailed demographic data for the smallest geographic areas. Accessed from AFF's "Data Sets" page or through SEARCH results.
  • Geographic Comparison Tables: tables comparing variables across multiple geographies (all tracts in county, counties in state, etc.).
  • Thematic Maps: predetermined maps with demographic characteristics for states, counties, metropolitan areas, and Congressional Districts.
  • Reference Maps: maps showing boundaries and physical features.

Formats available/ downloading options

Most tables are initially presented in html format. Many are available for downloading in comma delimited (.csv), tab-delimited (.lst), and rich-text format (.rft).

Tutorials & guides

At the American FactFinder home page click on HELP in the top right corner of the screen to open a window with links to various help pages. Within the Help window you can click on TUTORIALS in the upper right corner for links to various tutorials.

UW-Madison's Memorial Library has started an American Factfinder Guide. Right now it covers four operations (getting basic facts, comparison tables, and reference maps; and determining which Census tract a street address is in). We plan to expand it (gradually).

Grace York of the University of Michigan has a very thorough presentation at http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/census2/cen2000.htm
Both the PowerPoint version of the presentation and the exercises can be downloaded.

Return to top of page

Your Gateway to Census 2000

http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html
Developed and maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Can access American FactFinder from this page.

Geographies covered

  • Covers the entire United States.
  • Lowest level of geography is usually counties, sometimes places.
  • Many reports at the state level.

Types of reports/tables available (including maps and comparison tables)

  • State and County Quick Facts: summaries of the most requested data for states and counties; in html format.
  • Demographic Profiles: tables covering multiple subjects for single geographies (inlcuding the U.S., states, counties, minor civil divisions, places, metropolitan areas, American Indian and Alaska Native areas, Hawaiian home lands and congressional districts. Available from the Data Highlights link. There are four kinds of Demographic Profiles for the 2000 Census:
    • DP-1: Profile of General Demographic Characteristics. From 100% data (SF1).
    • DP-2: Profile of Selected Social Characteristics. From sample data (SF3).
    • DP-3: Profile of Selected Economic Characteristics. From sample data (SF3).
    • DP-4: Profile of Selected Housing Characteristics. From sample data (SF3).
  • Rankings and Comparisons from the Population and Housing Tables: tables showing population change, comparisons with 1990, Race and Hispanic or Latino origin, and other topics for states, counties, and places.

Formats available/ downloading options

Tables presented in a variety of formats (PDF, Excel, HTML, ASCII) depending on the type of report.

Return to top of page

WisStat

http://www.wisstat.wisc.edu
Developed and maintained by the University of Wisconsin-Extension's Applied Population Lab.

Geographies covered

  • Has data for Wisconsin only.
  • Data is available for the following geographies:
    • State of Wisconsin
    • Counties
    • Minor civil divisions (MCD's): cities, towns and villages
    • Tracts
    • Block groups
    • Places
    • : entire incorporated areas (cities or villages)

Types of reports/tables available (including maps and comparison tables)

  • In main part of page, users build their own reports by selecting the geographic entities and the tables (subject variables) they're interested in, and the desired source of the data.
  • Draws on data from many different sources, including the 2000, 1990, and 1980 Censuses, other Census Bureau programs (for example, Census of Agriculture, County Business Patterns) and Wisconsin state agencies (for example, Department of Workforce Development, State Elections Board).
  • Can select multiple geographic entities of the same type (i.e., you can select multiple counties, or multiple places) to create tables that compare one variable across those multiple geographic entities.
  • Profiles tool allows users to retrieve short reports (covering multiple variables) on various topics.
    • The following profiles include data from 1990 and 2000:
      • Family Demographics
      • Summary Demographics
      • Population by Age for Local Areas
      • Housing Profile (3 pages)
    • The following profiles draw on 2000 data only, from the Census Bureau and Wisconsin Dept of Administration:
      • Wisconsin DOA Housing Profile
      • Comprehensive Planning Profiles (covering Issues & Opportunities/Demographics, Housing, Transportation, Utilities & Community Facilities, Economic Development)

Formats available/ downloading options

  • Tables: Users need to choose a format to view (and download) tables in. Choices are
    • HTML in columns (geographies run along the left side of the table)
    • HTML in rows (geographies run across the top of the table)
    • CSV for Excel in columns (geographies run along the left side of the table)
    • CSV for Excel rows (geographies run across the top of the table)
  • Profiles: presented in html format.

Tutorials and guides

On the main WisStats page (http://www.wisstat.wisc.edu) there are links to demonstrations of "Selecting a Geography," "Selecting a Table," and "Viewing Your Selections" at the end of the description of each step.

Return to top of page

State of Wisconsin's
Demographic Services Center

http://www.doa.state.wi.us/pagesubtext_detail.asp?linksubcatid=353
Part of the State of Wisconsin's Department of Administration.

To get to Census material, click and hold down the arrow next to "Other Demographic Services Center Pages" and scroll down to highlight a particular topic.

Geographies covered

  • Has data for Wisconsin (and a few reports for the U.S. as a whole).
  • Data is available for the following geographies:
    • United States as a whole
    • State of Wisconsin
    • Counties
    • Municipalities (cities, towns, villages)
    • Wisconsin school districts

Types of reports/tables available (including maps and comparison tables)

  • Census 2000 Basic Data
    • Demographic profiles for United States as a whole and Wisconsin as a whole available for 2000 and 1990.
    • Demographic profiles for Wisconsin as a whole, and Wisconsin counties, cities, towns and villages available for 2000.
    • Some very basic demographic data from 2000 available in comparison tables (under "2000 Redistricting Data" headings.
  • Social, Economic and Housing Characteristics consists mostly of reports comparing Wisconsin counties and municipalities on single variables (educational attainment, per capita income, etc.)
  • Wisconsin School Districts: reports comparing Wisconsin school districts on single variables.
  • Also has Population and Housing Estimates and Population and Household Projections for Wisconsin.

Formats available/ downloading options

Most, though not all, reports are available in PDF and Excel spreadsheet formats.

Return to top of page

Census 2000 School District Demographics

http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/sdds/c2000.asp
Developed and maintained by the National Center for Education Statistics.

Geographies covered

  • Covers the entire United States.
  • School District Demographics System section includes school districts (elementary, secondary, and unified), American Indian areas, counties, states, and the U.S.

Types of reports/tables available (including maps and comparison tables)

Much of the data is derived from the "School District Special Tabulation (STP2)."

  • Provides universe tabulations for:
    • Parents with children
    • Households with children
    • Children's own characteristics
    • Children's household characteristics
    • Children's parent's characteristics
    • Total population
  • Most subject items correspond to items contained in Summary File 3.
  • In building reports you may want to refer to the "List of Tables," since in the forms, the tables are referred to only by a letter-number code.

In the Census 2000 School District Profiles section you can create a report comparing demographic characteristics of two school districts.

In the Census 2000 Map Viewer section you can retrieve maps of school districts.

Formats available/ downloading options

Most tables presented in html format; some are available for downloading in comma-separated (.csv) format.

Tutorials and guides

The Reference section links to pdf documents that describe the data and define the terms used.

Return to top of page

U.S. Census Resources on the Web | Government Documents at Memorial Library |
Memorial Library Home Page | UW-Madison Libraries

Page created 8/04; last updated on 6/26/06.

Created and maintained by: Beth Harper
Government Documents Reference Librarian
276 Memorial Library
728 State St
Madison WI 53706
(608) 262-9852