British Parliamentary Debates at Memorial Library
Table of Contents
What Are the Debates (aka Hansards)?
The Debates (also known as Hansards) are records of what is said in Parliament, and are published in series. These series are roughly equivalent to the U.S.'s Congressional Record. The debate series can be divided into three eras, according to what's covered and how the debates are recorded and published. The debates are further divided into different series, depending on who published them.
Where Are the Debates at Memorial Library?
The major series described below are in the Government Documents Collection, on Stack Level 2M, South Stacks. Government documents aisles are marked by pink cards.
Where Can I Go for More Help?
If you need assistance, please contact the government documents librarian at 262-9852, or the librarians at the Reference Desk, in Room 262. You can also consult the section on "Selected Reference Works About the Debates," at the end of this guide.
Descriptions of the Major Series
1066-1803
Overview
- Not official, verbatim reports (official, verbatim reports not published until 1909).
- Published by commercial publishers.
- Compiled from many sources, including: collections, pamphlets, newsletters, newspapers, periodicals, memoirs, and diaries.
- Found in a number of commercially published series, which vary in how much of the debates they include and which years they cover.
- Series go by different formal and informal titles ("Parliamentary histories," "Parliamentary register," etc.).
- Consist mainly of debates of the House of Commons, though some debates of the House of Lords covered.
The major series, 1066-1803
- Parliamentary or constitutional history of England from the earliest times to the Restoration of Charles II. London, 1751-1762.
- Also known as: Old parliamentary history.
- Title on spines of books: "Parliamentary history."
- Volumes 1-24 (1066-1660)
- Index: Vol. 24 is index to vols. 1-23.
- Most comprehensive source for coverage of debates in the years 1066-1647.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
- The Parliamentary history of England from the earliest period to the year 1803, from which last-mentioned epoch it is continued downwards in the work entitled "Hansard's parliamentary debates." Vols. 1-12. London, 1806. Vols. 1-36. London, 1812-1820.
- Also known as: Cobbett's parliamentary history of England, from the Norman conquest in 1066 to the year 1803, from which last-mentioned epoch it is continued downwards in the work entitled "Cobbett's parliamentary debates."
- Also known as: "Cobbett's."
- Title on spines of books varies between "Cobbett's parliamentary history" and "Hansard's parliamentary history."
- Volumes 1-36 (1066/1625-1801/03)
- Most comprehensive source for coverage of debates in the years 1660-1803. The years 1066-1660 are covered in three volumes.
- Debates are printed two columns to a page. The columns, rather than the pages, are numbered. The numbers that appear in the tables of contents and indexes refer to the column number, not the page number.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
- Great Britain. Parliament. The Parliamentary register; or history of the proceedings & debates of the House of Commons and the House of Lords during the 14th-18th Parliaments of Great Britain, 1774-1803. London: J. Almon, 1775-1804.
Overview
- Not official, verbatim reports (official, verbatim reports not published until 1909).
- Published by commercial publishers.
- Accounts draw heavily from newspaper reports.
- Often called "Hansard's," after the commercial printer who printed many of the 19th-century debates.
- Consist mainly of debates of the House of Commons, though some debates of the House of Lords covered.
Notes on indexing, 1803-1909
- For years 1803-1830, there is a one-volume general index, shelved after volume 25 of the 2nd (aka "New") series.
- Beginning in 1830, the last volume of each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session.
- Debates are printed two columns to a page. The columns, rather than the pages, are numbered. The numbers that appear in the indexes refer to the column number, not the page number.
The major series, 1803-1909
1st series 1803-1820: vols. 1-41
- Great Britain. Parliament. Cobbett's parliamentary debates, during the ... session of the ... Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland and of the Kingdom of Great Britain .... London: R. Bagshaw, 1804-1812.
- Title on spines of books: "Cobbett's Parliamentary debates."
- Vol. 1 (1803/1804)-v. 22 (1812)
- Index: General index for 1803-1830 in separate volume shelved right after vol. 25 of 2nd (aka "New") series.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
- Great Britain. Parliament. The Parliamentary debates from the year 1803 to the present time. London: [s.n.], 1812- (London: T.C. Hansard).
- Title on spines of books: "The parliamentary debates"
- Vol. 23 (1812)-v. 41 (1819-1820)
- Index: General index for 1803-1830 in separate volume shelved right after vol. 25 of 2nd (aka "New") series.
- Location:Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
2nd series (also known as "New series") 1820-1830: vols. 1-25
- Great Britain. Parliament. The parliamentary debates. London: Published under the superintendence of T.C. Hansard, 1820-1829.
- Title on spines of books: "Hansard's Parliamentary Debates"
- Vol. 1 (1820)-v.20 (1829)
- Index: General index for 1803-1830 in separate volume shelved right after vol. 25 of 2nd (aka "New") series.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
- Great Britain. Parliament. Hansard's parliamentary debates. [S.l.: s.n.], 1829-1891 (London: T.C. Hansard).
- Vol. 21 (Mar/June 1829)-v.25 (June/July 1830)
- Index: General index for 1803-1830 in separate volume shelved right after vol. 25 of 2nd (aka "New") series.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
3rd series 1830-1891: vols. 1-356
- Great Britain. Parliament. Hansard's parliamentary debates. [S.l.: s.n.], 1829-1891 (London: T.C. Hansard). Vol. 1 (Oct/Dec 1830)-v. 356 (July/Aug 1891)
- Indexes: The last volume of each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South,Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
4th series 1892-1908: vols. 1-77
- Great Britain. Parliament. The Parliamentary debates. Authorised edition. London: Reuter's Telegram Co., 1892-1908.
- Vol. 1 (1892)-v. 199 (1908)
- Indexes: The last vol. of each annual session is (or contains) a general index for the vols. of that session.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 21
 
Overview
- Since 1909, Parliament has published official verbatim reports of the Debates.
- Since 1909, the Debates of the House of Lords have been published in a separate series. This series called the "5th series" to keep the numbering consistent with the earlier series, which include debates of both House of Lords and House of Commons. There are no 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th series of House of Lords debates.
- Some volumes of the House of Commons debates include a special section at the end of each volume, called "Question Time." These are records of questions, submitted in writing by Members of Parliament (MPs), and answers, given by the Prime Minister and other Cabinet Ministers. Starting with the 1946-47 session, the column numbers for "Question Time" are printed in italics.
Notes on indexing, 1909-present
- Last volume of each annual session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes of that session.
- Debates are printed two columns to a page. The columns, rather than the pages, are numbered. The numbers that appear in the indexes refer to the column number, not the page number.
The major series, 1909-present
House of Commons 5th series 1909-1980/1981: vols. 1-1,000
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. The Parliamentary debates, official report: ... session of the ... Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain & Ireland. London: H.M.S.O., [1909-1943].
- Vol. 1 (16 Feb. 1909)-v. 393 (26 Oct.-23 Nov. 1943)
- Indexes: Last volume for each session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes in that session.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisles 21-22
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Parliamentary debates (Hansard). House of Commons official report.
- Vol. 394 (1944)-v.1000 (1980/1981)
- Vol. 394 covers the 37th Parliament, 8th session.
- Vol. 395 published in 1943.
- Indexes: Last volume for each session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes in that session.
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisles 22-23
House of Commons 6th series 1981/1982-present: vols. 1-
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Parliamentary debates (Hansard). House of Commons official report.
- Vol. 1 (1981/1982-)-
- Indexes: Last volume for each session is (or includes) a general index for the volumes in that session.
- Daily parts replaced from time to time by bound volumes of debates.
- Location: Memorial Stacks Regular Size Shelving, Call Number J301 K22
House of Lords 5th series (1909-)
Note: This series called Series 5 to continue the series numbering of the debates of Parliament (including House of Commons and House of Lords) issued 1803-1908 as Series 1-4.
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. The parliamentary debates, official report, House of Lords. London: H.M.S.O.
- Vol. 1 (1909)-v. 103 (1936/37)
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 23
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. The parliamentary debates, House of Lords official report. London: H.M.S.O., 1937-1943.
- Vol. 104 (1936/37)-v. 129 (1942/43)
- Location: Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisle 23
- Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords. The Parliamentary debates (Hansard). House of Lords official report. London: H.M.S.O., 1944-
- Vol. 130 (1943/44)-
- Indexes: The last volume. for each session includes a general index for the volumes in that session.
- Locations:
- 1943/44-1980 (through volume 414): Stack Level 2M South, Government Documents Collection, Aisles 23-24
- 1980/81- (starting with volume 415): Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving, Call Number J301 J22
Parliamentary Debates (Hansards) Online
House of Commons Debates Online
Currently, Commons debates from two different eras are available online:
Eighteenth-century | Late 20th-century to present
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Availabity: Licensed online database; available to patrons in campus libraries; and to UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff on or off campus.
- Accounts (searchable in MadCat or in ECCO by title) include:
- Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England (Torbuck), covering 1739-1742
- An Impartial Report of the Debates in the Two Houses of Parliament, (aka Woodfall’s Parliamentary Reports), 1795 and 1797
- The Parliamentary Register, covering 1660-1741, 1775-1780, 1797-1800
- Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England, covering 1751-1763 (in ECCO, search "title" field for "constitutional history of england")
Available on the Internet (no access restrictions) from the United Kingdom Parliament's web service.
- Hansard (House of Commons Daily Debates). November 1988 to present.
- URL: http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/pahansard.htm
- Full text of debates, oral questions, and written answers from 1988-89 session to the present (volumes 142- ).
- "Daily Debates are published on this website the next working day at 8 am [London time; 2 a.m. Central Standard Time]."
- Sections include:
- Today in the Commons: Today's debates approximately 3 hours behind real time
- View by Date: Full text of debates and oral and written questions for any date since November 1988
- View by Member: All questions, statements and debate contributions by each Member in the current session
- Commons Bound Volume Debates including questions: The full text of Hansard going back to Nov 1988
- Index to Commons Bound Volume Debates: Index by subject and MP going back to Nov 1999
- Public Bill Committee Debates (known as Standing Committees on Bills prior to 2006-07 session): Debates arranged by session and Bill title
- General Committee Debates (known as Standing Committees prior to 2006-07 session): Debates arranged by session and committee name
- Can search the full text of debates using the "Search the UK Parliament Pages" search engine. Select "Commons Hansard" in the "Document Type" box to limit your search to the Debates; select "Commons Written Answers" to search the written answers.
House of Lords Debates Online
Prior to 1909, the House of Lords Debates were not published as a separate series. Occasionally you can find 18th-century House of Lords debates included in Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
Available on the Internet (no access restrictions) from the United Kingdom Parliament's web service.
- House of Lords. Hansard. (House of Lords links on right side of page.) November 1995 to present.
- URL:
http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/pahansard.htm
- "Daily Debates are published on this website the next working day at 8 am [London time; 2 a.m. Central Standard Time]."
- Sections include:
- Today in the Lords: Today's debates approximately 3 hours behind real time
- View by Date: Full text of debates and oral and written questions for any date since November 1995
- View by Member: All questions, statements and debate contributions by each Member in the current session
- View by Subject or Category: View by heading or by categories such as divisions, Bills, statements, and questions
- View by Index to Lords Debates: Index by subject and Member
- Can search the full text of debates using the "Search the UK Parliament Pages" search engine. Select "Lords Hansard" in the "Document Type" box to limit your search to the Debates; select "Lords Written Answers" to search the written answers.
Finding Other Accounts of the Debates
The UW-Madison's General Library System does have other accounts of selected debates. These are generally reports of debates on specific topics (the "Corn Laws," Ireland, political corruption, etc.), and most are on microfilm or microfiche. To find these debates in MadCat, try the following search terms in the "Keyword" or "Guided Keyword" search modes:
Great Britain
England
| Parliament?
debate?
|
So far, the following search phrase has turned up the most documents:
|
parliament? and debates and (great britain or england)
|
There is no single standard method of citing the Parliamentary Debates; however, the guide Citing British Parliamentary Publications (at http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/british/citing.htm) lists some resources with guidelines on citing the Papers.
- Drueke, Jeanetta, Gretchen Holten and Thomas McFarland. "British Parliamentary Papers: a Simplified Guide for the Harried Librarian." In RQ 32, no. 4 (Summer 1993), p. 517-524.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Z671 R23
- Ford, P. [Percy] and G. [Grace]. A Guide to Parliamentary Papers; What They Are, How to Find Them, How to Use Them. Totowa, N.J.: Rowman and Littlefield, 1972.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Z2009 A1 F6 1972
- Rodgers, Frank. A Guide to British Government Publications. New York: Wilson, 1980.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks, J301 R62
British Parliamentary Publications at Memorial Library | Government Documents at Memorial Library |
Memorial Library Home Page | UW-Madison Libraries
Page created 3/00; last updated 1/14/08.
Created and maintained by:
Beth Harper
Government Documents Reference Librarian
276 Memorial Library
728 State St.
Madison, WI 53706
(608)262-9852