Research Guide for Memorial Library:
Sociology 220, "Ethnic Movements In The United States"
 
 
Information on the Web

I. MadCat: Use MadCat to find books and to locate journals.

Suggested SUBJECT HEADINGS for searching in MadCat (choose "Subject" under "Basic Search")

pluralism (social sciences) united states
minorities united states
ethnicity united states
united states ethnic relations
united states race relations
multiculturalism united states
african american [earlier heading: afro american]
asian american
japanese american
hispanic american
mexican american
indians of north america
jews united states

 

II. E-Resource Gateway :Ethnic Studies


Choose “Find Resources by subject—Ethnic Studies” on the E-Resource Gateway page for a list of general and ethnic-group specific library databases and subject guides.

 

III. Reference Sources: Online Reference Tools


General reference (online):
African-American Biographical Database
African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. Washington, DC: Library of Congress [1997?]
Current Biography

Encyclopaedia Judaica (only on computers in Memorial Library)
Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Reference databases for controversial issues:
CQ Researcher
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Paper resources in Memorial Reference
see section VI


IV. E-Books and E-Texts


American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Collection of e-texts from the Library of Congress
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/ammemhome.html

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2001)
(for current NYT, use Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe)



These electronic indexes (all on the UW–Madison Libraries home page under "E-Resource Gateway: Article Databases and More") should have relevant subject matter for this class. You can also click on the next to each index to find out about their contents and purpose. **means at least some full-text articles are included.

FIND IT
Use to find a known journal or magazine article; also links a citation in a database to full text of an article if available. Click on “Find It--FAQ/Help."

General databases (English only, academic + popular, lots of full text)

ACADEMIC SEARCH **
PROQUEST RESEARCH LIBRARY**
READERS' GUIDE FULL-TEXT AND RETROSPECTIVE**
SOCIAL SCIENCES FULL-TEXT**

Specialized databases (a selection)

ALTERNATIVE PRESS INDEX
AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE
CHICANO DATABASE
ETHNIC NEWSWATCH**
GENDER WATCH **
HAPI ONLINE (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
INDEX OF ARTICLES ON JEWISH STUDIES (RAMBI)
INTERNATIONAL INDEX TO BLACK PERIODICALS**
JSTOR (including JSTOR African American Studies)
LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES
(only available on computers in Memorial Library)
LEXIS/NEXIS**
PAIS/PUBLIC AFFAIRS INFORMATION SERVICE
SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS
WEB OF KNOWLEDGE
WORLDWIDE POLITICAL SCIENCE ABSTRACTS

In addition, there are a few indexes available only in paper which are important for this class:

G. K. Hall Index to Black periodicals.
Mem Ref Z1361 N39 I552 (Index Case)

Sage Race Relations Abstracts. 1975-
Mem Ref HT1501 S23
[vols. for 2000-2005 available online through Sage Journals Online; see link in MadCat record]


VI. Reference Books


Below is a sampling of recently published reference books available in the Reference Dept. of Memorial Library (262 Memorial Library). Some may also be available in other campus libraries; please consult MADCAT for other locations. Only topics in the social sciences are included.

A. Ethnic Movements in the US: General/Multicultural
B. African American Studies
C. Asian American Studies
D. Hispanic American Studies
E. Native American Studies
F. Jewish American Studies


A. ETHNIC MOVEMENTS IN THE US: GENERAL/MULTICULTURAL

Cashmore, Ernest. Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies. London: Routledge, 2004.
Mem Ref GN495.6 C37 2004
Also available electronically through netLibrary; see link in MadCat record

Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture. London; Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage, 2003.
Mem Ref HT1521 D537 2003

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements . Ed. By Immanuel Ness. 4 vols. Armonk , NY : Sharpe Reference, 2004.
Law Library Reference Collection HN57 E584 2004

Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
2000.
Mem Ref GV709.5 E83 2000
Historical Society Library stacks GV709.5 E83 2000

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000.
Mem Ref E184.A1 E574 2000
Historical Society Library Reading Room E184 A1 E574 2000

Encyclopedia of the World’s Minorities . Carl Skutsch, ed. 3 vols. New York : Routledge, 2005
Mem Ref GN495.4 E63 2005

Herbst, Philip. The Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States. Yarmouth, ME: Intercultural Press, 1997.
Mem Ref E184 A1 H466 1997

Multiculturalism.
Ed. by Robert Emmet Long. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1997. (The Reference
Shelf; v. 69, no. 5)
Mem Ref E184.A1 M891 1997

A Nation of Peoples: A Sourcebook on America's Multicultural Heritage. Ed. by Elliott
Barkan. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
Mem Ref E184.A1 N2866 1999
College Library Reference E184 A1 N2866 1999

Racial and Ethnic Relations in America. 3 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2000.
Mem Ref E49 R33 2000

B. Reference Resources in AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (top of Reference Books)

The African-American Almanac. Detroit , MI : Gale Research, 1994-
Mem Ref E185 N386
Most recent ed. also in College Reference, College Ethnic, and Historical Society Library Reading Room

African American Lives. Ed. by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. New York : Oxford University Press, 2004.
Mem Ref E185.96 A446 2004

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography. James P. Danky, ed. Cambridge , Mass. : Harvard Universtiy Press, 1998.
Mem Ref PN4882.5 A47 1998

The African American Odyssey. Washington , DC : Library of Congress, 1998.
Mem Ref E185.53 A1 L697 1998

The African American Studies Reader. Ed. By Nathaniel Norment, Jr. Durham , NC: Carolina Academic
Press, 2001.
Mem Ref E184.7 A373 2001
Historical Society Library U.S. Government Publications LC1.2 OD9
Law Library U.S. Documents LC1.2 OD9

African Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Minion K. C. Morrison, ed. Santa Barbara , CA : ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Mem Ref E185 A2538 2003
Historical Library stacks E185 A2538 2003

African Americans Information Directory . Detroit : Gale, 1998-
Mem Ref E185.5 B522 (latest ed. only in Ref)

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience . Eds. Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates, Jr. 2nd ed. 5 vols. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Mem Ref DT14 A37435 2005

Black Women in America . Darlene Clark Hine, ed. 2nd ed. 3 vols. New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Mem Ref E185.86 B542 2005

Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. Ed. by Randall M. Miller and John David Smith.
Westport , CT : Praeger, 1997.
Mem Ref E441 D53 1997

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York : Macmillan Library Reference, 1996.
Mem Ref E185 E54 1996 [includes 2001 supplement]
College Library Reference
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Encyclopedia of African American Society . Gerald D. Jaynes, ed. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks , CA : Sage Publications, 2005.
Historical Society Library Reading Room E185 E546 2005

The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions. Stephen D. Glazier, ed. New York :
Routledge, 2001.
Mem Ref BL2462.5 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Black Studies. Ed. Molefi Kete Asante , Ama Mazama. Thousand Oaks , CA : Sage Publications, 2005.
Historical Society Library Reading Room E185 E554 2005

G.K. Hall Interdisciplinary Bibliographic Guide to Black Studies. Comp. by the Shomburg Center
for Research in Black Culture. Detroit : Gale Group, 2000-
Mem Ref Z881 N592 S384

Luker, Ralph. Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement. Lanham , MD : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
Mem Ref E185.61 L84 1997

The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference. New York : Wiley, 1999.
Mem Ref E185 N49 1999 [Reference Desk]
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Organizing Black America : An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. New York : Garland ,
2001.
Mem Ref E185.5 O74 2001
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Reference Library of Black America . Ed. Jessie Carney Smith, Joseph M. Palmisano. 5 vols. Farmington Hills , MI : Gale Group, Inc., 2000.
Historical Society Library Reading Room E185 R44 2000

Smallwood, Arwin D. The Atlas of African-American History and Politics: From the Slave Trade to Modern Times. Boston : McGraw-Hill, 1998.
Mem Ref E185 S574 1998
Historical Society Library Pamphlet Collection 98-1154

Smith, Robert Charles. Encyclopedia of African American Politics. New York : Facts on File, 2003.
Mem Ref E185 S58155 2003
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Smitherman, Geneva. Black Talk: Words and Phrases from the Hood to the Amen Corner. Rev. ed.
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2000.
Mem Ref PE3102 N4 S65 2000

Statistical Record of Black America. Detroit : Gale Research, 1990-
Mem Ref E185.5 S78
College Library Ethnic Studies
College Library Reference

Who's Who Among African Americans. NY: Gale Research, 1996-
Mem Ref E185.96 W531
Historical Society Library Reading Room


C. REFERENCE RESOURCES IN ASIAN AMERICAN STUDIES (top of Reference Books)

Annotated Bibliography of Hmong-Related Works, 1996-2003. Ecomp. by Mark E. Pfeifer. St. Paul , MN : Hmong Resource Center , Hmong Cultural Center, 2003.
Mem Ref E184 H55 A56 2003

Asian American Portraits. New York : Macmillan Reference, 2001.
Mem Ref E184 O6 A8415 2001

The Asian American Woman: Social, Economic and Political Conditions: A Bibliography.
Comp. by Joan Nordquist. Santa Cruz , CA : Reference and Research Services, 1997.
Mem Ref HQ1426 A85 1997

The Asian Databook: Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Asian and Pacific Islander Population, Including 23 Ethnic Backgrounds from Bangladeshi to Vietnamese, for 1,883 U.S. Counties and Cities . Millerton , NY : Grey House Pub., 2005.
Mem Ref E184 A75 2005

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present . Brian Niiya, ed. Updated ed. New York : Facts on File, 2001.
Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection (Room 412) E184 J3 E53 2001

Hirahara, Naomi. Distinguished Asian American Business Leaders. Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 2003.
Historical Society Library stacks HC102.5 A2 H56 2003

Nakanishi, Don T., and Ellen D. Wu. Distinguished Asian American Political and Governmental Leaders. Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 2002.
Mem Ref E184 06 N35 2002


D. REFERENCE RESOURCES IN HISPANIC-AMERICAN STUDIES (top of Reference Books)

Crawford, Mark. Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War. Santa Barbara , CA : ABC-CLIO,
1999.
Mem Ref E404 C93 1999
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Dictionary of Hispanic Biography. Detroit : Gale Research, 1996.
Mem Ref CT1343 D53 1996

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture. 2 vols. Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Mem Ref E184 S75 E59 2004

The Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States. 4 vols. Houston , TX :
Arte Publico Press, 1993-1994.
Mem Ref E184 S75 H365 1993
College Library Reference
Historical Society Library stacks

Hispanic-Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. Boulder , CO : Numbers and Concepts, 1991-
Mem Ref E184 S75 H5655 (latest ed. in Ref.)

Kanellos, Nicolas. Chronology of Hispanic-American History. New York : Gale Research,
1995.
Mem Ref E184 S75 C49 1995
Historical Society Library stacks

The Latino Encyclopedia. Ed. by Richard Chabran and Rafael Chabran. NY:
Marshall Cavendish, 1996.
Mem Ref E184 S75 L357 1996

Meier, Matt S., and Margo Gutierrez. Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement. Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 2000.
Historical Society Library stacks E184 M5 M458 2000

Meier, Matt S., and Margo Gutiérrez. The Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia. Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 2003.
Mem Ref E184 M5 M4535 2003

Meier, Matt S. Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport , CT :
Greenwood Press, 1997.
Mem Ref E184 S75 M435 1997

Notable Hispanic American Women. 1st ed. Ed. by Diane Telgen and Jim Kamp. Detroit :
Gale Research, 1993.
Mem Ref E 184 S75 N68 1993

Notable Hispanic American Women: Book II . Joseph M. Palmisano, ed. Detroit : Gale, 1998.
Mem Ref E184 S75 N68 1998

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States . Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Mem Ref [being processed as of 8/28/2005 ]


E. REFERENCE RESOURCES IN NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES (top of Reference Books)

American Indian Quotations. Comp. and ed. by Howard J. Langer. Westport , CT :
Greenwood Press, 1996.
Mem Ref PN6081.4 A43 1996
College Library Reference

Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Frederick E. Hoxie, ed. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1996.
Mem Ref E76.2 E53 1996
Also available electronically through netLibrary; see link in MadCat record.

Johnson, Michael. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. 2nd ed. New York :
Macmillan, 1999.
Mem Ref E76.2 J63 1999
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Klein, Barry T. Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. 10th ed. West Nyack , NY : Todd Publications, 2003.
College Library Reference E76.2 K58 2003.

Many Nations: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Indian and Alaska Native
Peoples of the United States.
Ed. By Patrick Frazier. Washington , DC : Library of Congress, 1996.
Mem Ref E76.2 M256 1996
Historical Society Library U.S. Government Publications LC1.6/4: N21
Law Library U.S. Documents LC1.6/4: N21

Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia. Ed. by Mary B. Davis. New York : Garland Pub., 1994.
Mem Ref E 76.2 N36 1994
College Library Reference Collection
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Native Americans Information Directory. 2nd ed. Detroit : Gale Research Inc., 1998.
Mem Ref E 76.2 N38 1998

Pritzker, Barry. Native America Today: A Guide to Community Politics and Culture. Santa
Barbara , CA : ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Mem Ref E98 T77 P75 1999

Pritzker, Barry. A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
American Indian Studies Program Reference E76.2 P75 2000

Sonneborn, Liz. A to Z of Native American Women. NY: Facts on File, 1998.
Mem Ref E98.W8 S65 1998
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Thompson, William Norman. Native American Issues: A Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara , CA : ABC-CLIO, 1996.
Mem Ref E98 T77 T56 1996
College Library Reference

Waldman, Carl. Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Rev. ed. New York : Facts on File,
1999.
Mem Ref E76.2 W35 1999
American Indian Studies Program Reference


F. REFERENCE RESOURCES IN JEWISH AMERICAN STUDIES (top of Reference Books)

American Jewish Desk Reference. American Jewish Historical Society. New York : Random House, 1999.
Mem Ref E184.35 A44 1999
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture . Ed. by Glenda Abramson. New ed. 2 vols. London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.
Mem Ref DS102.8 E56 2005

Jewish Women in America : An Historical Encyclopedia. Ed. By Paula E. Hyman and Deborah Dash Moore.
2 vols. New York : Routledge, 1998.
Mem Ref DS115.2 J49 1998
Historical Society Library Reading Room

Nadell, Pamela Susan. Conservative Judaism in America : A Biographical Dictionary and Sourcebook . New York : Greenwood Press, 1988. (Jewish Denominations in America )
Mem Ref BM750 N33 1988
Historical Society Library stacks

Reform Judaism in America : A Biographical Dictionary and Sourcebook . Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 1993. (Jewish Denominations in America )
Mem Ref BM750 R39 1993
Historical Society Library stacks

Sherman, Moshe D. Orthodox Judaism in America : A Biographical Dictionary and Sourcebook.
Westport , CT : Greenwood Press, 1996. (Jewish Denominations in America )
Mem Ref BM750 S395 1996

VII. The Web


Help using the web:

WWW Search Strategies
Steenbock Library web page on internet searching; includes information on citing
internet resources

Gateways to sites on ethnic group/ethnic movements

Links to Resources in Ethnic/Racial Movements (Professor Pamela Oliver)

University of Michigan Documents Center: Political Science Resources/Related Disciplines
Excellent for political science in general; also has very good page for African-
American studies resources

Voice of the Shuttle Minority Studies Page
Primarily, although not exclusively, coverage of US minorities. Includes African-Americans, Asian-Americans, Latinos, Native Americans, Jewish and others.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies
Links to sites by and about indigenous nations around the world.


 

If you have difficulty accessing this page or have other questions or comments please contact vhill@library.wisc.edu
Last updated November 11, 2005 © University of Wisconsin.

For further help, contact
Vicki Hill
278F Memorial Library
262-3564

vhill@library.wisc.edu