Home   UW Libraries Website   MadCat Library Catalog
Quick InfoGatewaysJournal DatabasesReference
Europe in the LibraryCampus Centers

Reference

CAPLEX (current; updates vary)
A general encyclopedia in Norwegian, with links to related matter in the encyclopedia and external links.

Country Studies / Area Handbooks (dates and updates vary)
Analyses of countries prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.

Digital National Security Archive (1945 - date; updated annually)
Over 35,000 declassified primary documents relating to US foreign policy since 1945 grouped in 12 collections. Extensive record descriptions and full text included.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Full text of the 32 volume Encyclopaedia Britannica, their annual The Britannica Book of the Year and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Geopolitical and International Research Resources
Compiled by Library staff, this web page leads to sites which "provide information available electronically about countries." Both licensed and free resources are included.

Historical Research in Europe
Database with information on libraries and archives; accessible through broad subject categories or keyword search.

Political Risk Yearbook (current; updated annually)
Extensive economic, demographic and social background for over 100 countries. Includes forecasts of risk to international business for each country.

SourceOECD (1998-current; updated daily)
The online library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. It includes 20 book collections by them, 24 periodicals, statistical databases, and more. Most OECD publications are also available in paper format on the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus and can be located by searching in MadCat.

WESSWEB: Reference Shelf
Use the "Reference Shelf" section under each country for a collection of reference tools including dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories and more.

World Factbook (current year; updated annually)
Overviews of all countries, including brief information on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications and defense forces. Includes maps and flags.

Top
Home


Last updated:10/28/05 MadCat Library Catalog UW Libraries Website

 

Quick Info | Gateways | Journal Databases | Reference
Europe in the Library | Campus Centers

University of Wisconsin Madison Logo
Copyright © 2003 The Board of Regents
of the University of Wisconsin System