Home   UW Libraries Website   MadCat Library Catalog
Quick InfoGatewaysJournal DatabasesReference
Europe in the LibraryCampus Centers

Journal Databases

European / International
Useful General Interest

European / International

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - date; updated weekly)
Source for theory and research in international affairs. Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, and abstracts from 11 international affairs journals.

European Sources Online (ESO)
European Sources Online (ESO) is an online database which provides access to information on the institutions and activities of the European Union, the countries, regions and other international organisations of Europe, and on the issues of importance to European citizens and stakeholders. Primarily an index, but also includes topic guides and full text of news sources.

Global Newsbank (1996 - date; updated monthly)
Full-text news articles from 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government documents.

Historical Abstracts (1955 - date; updated triannually)
Indexes and abstracts information in history and related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers 1700 periodicals from 90 countries, conference papers and books.

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur / International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (1987 - date; updated monthly)
Indexes more than 5600 periodicals in many languages; particularly strong in European humanities and social sciences. A stand-alone CD-ROM version in Memorial Library Reference includes years back to 1982.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (1985 - date; updated quarterly)
Indexes articles appearing in approximately 450 legal journals published worldwide.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1981- ; updated quarterly)
Indexes over 2,600 social science journals from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology. Approximately 70% of the records are in English.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe (dates vary)
Probably the best choices for European studies are "World News" or "Non-English Language News." "World News" includes full text (or in some cases abstracts) of articles from a wide variety of sources, from the Manchester Guardian Weekly to DVD Newswire. "World News" sources are primarily, though not exclusively, from the UK. "Foreign Language News" includes Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish sources. It includes titles omitted from the "World News" database.

OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) Index (1970 - date; updated monthly)
Indexes and abstracts OECD publications from 1970 and general distribution documents since 1992.

Public Affairs Information Service / PAIS (1972 - date; updated quarterly)
Indexing, with selected brief abstracts, for books, IGO documents, and journals in public and social policy and the social sciences in general. Covers over 900 journals from many countries.

Repère FullText (1980-date; updated daily)
A multidisciplinary index to articles from the most widely read French-language periodicals distributed in Quebec. Of the 236 titles, 156 are from Quebec, 10 from Canada and 70 from Europe. Some full text is included.

SourceOECD (1998-current; updated daily)
The online library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. It includes 20 book collections by them, 24 periodicals, statistical databases, and more. Most OECD publications are also available in paper format on the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus and can be located by searching in MadCat.

Women's Studies International (1972 - date; updated semiannually)
A composite of ten databases covering women's studies and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world. Over 500 periodicals are selectively indexed. Most material cited is in English, but some other languages are represented.

World News Connection (July, 1994-date; updated daily)
World News Connection provides English translations of foreign media, and is compiled by the U.S. government from thousands of sources. It replaces the print and microfiche FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) Reports.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-date; updated monthly)
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of more than 1200 international serials in political science and related fields, including international relations.


Top
Home


Useful General Interest

Complete list on the E-Resource Gateway under Area Studies: Western Europe.

ABI/INFORM (1971 - date; updated daily)
Indexes and abstracts 1300 scholarly and trade business periodicals. Full text articles from 600 journals from 1992 to the present.

Academic Search (1984 - date; updated daily)
Full-text database of more than 3,000 journals; covers many academic areas, including business, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and ethnic studies.

Business Full Text (1982 - date; updated monthly)
400 key business periodicals, including trade magazines and scholarly journals. Full text articles have been added since 1995.

Education Full Text (1982 - date; updated monthly)
Indexes more than 400 English-language periodicals. Full-text articles have been added since 1996.

Proquest Research Library (1988 - date; updated daily)
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals and provides full-text for almost 1,000 of them. Covers general interest and academic journals across most fields. Some articles included full text since 1988.

Social Sciences Full Text (1983 - date; updated monthly)
Indexes more than 415 key periodicals in economics, politics, public health, sociology, psychology and other social science fields. Abstracts since 1994; full text from 112 journals since 1995.

Sociological Abstracts (1963 - date; updated triannually)
Indexes and abstracts 2,000 journals worldwide.

Web of Knowledge (1982 - date; updated weekly)
Web of Science is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer reviewed journals.

Top
Home

 

Last updated: 10/28/05 MadCat Library Catalog UW Libraries Website

 

Quick Info | Gateways | Journal Databases | Reference
Europe in the Library | Campus Centers

University of Wisconsin Madison Logo
Copyright © 2003 The Board of Regents
of the University of Wisconsin System