Home   UW Libraries Website   MadCat Library Catalog
Quick InfoGatewaysJournal DatabasesReference
Europe in the LibraryCampus Centers

Gateways

General
Special Topics

General

EuroStudies from SOSIG
This gateway provides access to Internet resources about Europe as a region, either via a country name or through a search by topic. The editors promise to emphasize Central and Eastern Europe.

Google Web Directory - Regional - Europe
Serendipity reigns in this kind of directory, where the categories are both countries and topics (such as "Government," "Travel and Tourism," and "Sports"). But many interesting and useful sites can be found using this directory as a starting point.

Portals to the World
Provided by the Library of Congress, this site offers "selective links providing in-depth information." Organized by category, the links cover tourism, libraries, business, government, history, and more.

SOSIG: Social Science Information Gateway
Covers social sciences, business and law. Accessible via menus or search engine, with lengthy abstracts describing over 50,000 web sites. Produced in the UK and emphasizes UK resources.

WESSWeb
Produced by librarians of the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this gateway offers access by country, by historical period, and by genre. Covers library resources, social science and literary/linguistic sites.

Top
Home


Special Topics

Environment

European Environment Agency
Current news plus in-depth information on the environment in Europe by theme or region.

European Union

European Union Guide, Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison
A locally compiled guide to paper and web resources.

European Union in the U.S.
This site is maintained by the European Commission Delegation in Washington, DC. It includes guides to the EU and its literature and links to EU organizations and databases.

Gender Studies: Gay/Lesbian/Women

The European Women's Lobby
Page from "the largest co-ordinating body of national and European non-governmental women's organizations in the EU..." Links to member organizations are useful, and pages with country information are under development.

Gender Studies from WessWeb
Links to the Gender Equality page from the EU and to various women-related organizations and gateways.

IHLIA: International Homo/Lesbisch Informatiecentrum en Archief
A major archival resource for lesbian and gay materials, with an extensive page of offsite links.

ILGA (International Lesbian and Gay Association) Europe
Very useful news updates and links to lesbian / gay organizations.

History

European History Sources Worldwide
Links to a wide range of European history web resources, including some for contemporary Europe.

Thüringer Archiv für Zeitgeschichte "Matthias Domaschk"
Web page of an independent archive for materials on opposition in the German Democratic Republic. Includes description of archival holdings plus links to internet resources.

Themenportale [subject gateways] from Zeitgeschichte-Online [Contemporary History-Online]
Emphasis is on Germany-related and German-language sites, but other languages and topics are included.

WESSWeb: History
Choose “History” category under each country name.

Labor / Trade Unions

EIRO (European Industrial Relations Observatory): Online
Current information on industrial relations in EU member countries and Norway. Includes "European Industrial Relations Links" to sites for both EU and non-EU countries.

Law

Nations of the World from the "Law Library of Congress"
Emphasizes sites offering full texts of laws, regulations and court decisions; attempts to identify "the most useful and reliable law sites."

Minorities / Racism / Diversity

Crosspoint Anti Racism
Choose by country for links to organizations active on racism and minority issues, including disability, gays and lesbians and women.

ENAR: European Network Against Racism
ENAR is a network of NGO's working to combat racism in EU member states. Page includes press releases and links.

European Center for Minority Issues
The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. See "Enriched links" under "Information Services."

Migration Information Source
Includes data on migration and foreign populations and country profiles for many, though not all, Western European countries.

Politics

Political Resources on the Net: Europe
Categories are "Organizations," "Governments," "Media," "Elections," and "Parties."

Social Issues

European Anti Poverty Network (EAPN)
This organization's objective is to fight poverty and social exclusion within the EU; the site presents a substantial number of full-text publications relating to this concern as well as links to related organizations.

Top
Home

 

Last updated: 10/28/05 MadCat Library Catalog UW Libraries Website

 

Quick Info | Gateways | Journal Databases | Reference
Europe in the Library | Campus Centers

University of Wisconsin Madison Logo
Copyright © 2003 The Board of Regents
of the University of Wisconsin System