Home   UW Libraries Website   MadCat Library Catalog
Quick InfoGatewaysJournal DatabasesReference
Europe in the LibraryCampus Centers

Europe in the Library

Locally Developed Subject Guides
Subject Specialists for Europe in Memorial Library
Special Collections on Post-1945 Europe in Memorial Library

Locally Developed Subject Guides

European History: A Guide to Resources
European Union Guide, Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison
College Library Subject Guides: European Union
Government Documents at Memorial Library
Historical Research in Europe
Latin American, Iberian and Caribbean Studies
REECA Web: Russian, East European, and Central Asian Collections

Top
Home

Subject Specialists for Europe in Memorial Library

British and American Humanities
Yvonne Schofer
278D Memorial Library
(608)262-3244

East European, Slavic, and Turkic Studies
Andy Spencer
212F Memorial Library
(608)262-0343

Europe After 1945, European Union
Vicki Hill
278F Memorial Library
(608)262-3564

European History
Barbara Walden
278G Memorial Library
(608)265-5885

European Humanities
John Dillon
278E Memorial Library
(608)262-0342

Francophonie Studies
Emilie Ngo-Nguidjol
262A Memorial Library
(608)262-3647

Ibero-American Studies
Paloma Celis Carbajal
212A Memorial Library
(608)262-3240

Top
Home

Special Collections on Post-1945 Europe in Memorial Library

Library collections relating to Europe after 1945 are in general very strong; collections identified below are intended only as selected examples of areas of special emphasis. Most of the materials described are in the Memorial Library stacks; some are in Memorial Library Special Collections, Room 990 Memorial Library. For further help in locating these materials, contact Vicki Hill vhill@library.wisc.edu, (608)262-3564 or the Special Collections staff at (608)262-3242.

East Germany and German Reunification

East German Publication

Based on a substantial collection of documentary materials for the early period of the GDR, the collection was expanded in the early 1970's when Erwin Welsch, the social studies bibliographer at the time, established an extensive exchange program with East German libraries which brought in monographs and periodicals not available through the commercial trade. Legal, political, scholarly and scientific publications were supplemented by popular periodicals such as Für Dich or Kultur im Heim. Extensive primary and secondary materials related to the reunification of the two Germanies in 1989/90 continue this strength; a collection of political party publications from the time of the "Wende" located in Special Collections is just one example.

European Union

European Union Publication

Memorial Library collections include publications from and about the European Coal and Steel Community and the European Community/European Union since their founding. In addition, the library became an EC depository in 1964. Supporting collections of periodicals, books, and electronic resources are extensive. Help with using the collection is available from the European Union Guide accessible through the UW Libraries web site.

German Gay/Lesbian Publications

German Gay and Lesbian Publication

An extensive collection of German gay magazines from the 1970's to the present is located in Special Collections; monographs from and about the German gay/lesbian community are housed in Memorial Library Stacks.

German Trade Unions



Memorial Library holds one of the largest collections in the United States of publications of German and Austrian trade unions. It includes periodicals and proceedings of trade union conferences, publications aimed at women and youth, and many titles from Bund Verlag, the official publishing arm of the Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund. A bibliography by Erwin K. Welsch published in 1980, The Serial Publications of the German Trade Unions in Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin - Madison (Memorial Reference stacks HD6467 W4) identifies many of the titles purchased before 1980.

German Women’s Periodicals



The collection ranges from popular titles like Brigitte to scholarly journals, trade union publications, lesbian publications, and many others. A partial list is available below; for complete information about titles and volumes held, check MadCat.

Bibliography of Germany Language Women’s/Feminist Periodicals in Memorial Library, 1945 to the Present

Die Grünen - Bündnis 90/Die Grünen



Periodicals, pamphlets and book-length publications by the German Greens Party (which became Bündnis 90/Die Grünen in 1993), have been collected since the early 1980's and integrated into the Memorial Library stacks. A substantial collection of posters from the party is in Special Collections.

Microform Collections on Europe After 1945



The library aquires large microfilm collections of primary resources on contemporary Europe as funds permit. These materials are catalogued in MadCat, and a bibliography of some of our holdings is available (see below).

Bibliography (Word Format) (PDF)

The Right in Europe

Right Wing Publication

The collection includes a number of books and periodicals from the right in Western Europe since 1945; parties include the FPÖ in Austria, Jean-Marie Le Pen's Front National in France, and the Lega Nord in Italy among others. Contact vhill@library.wisc.edu for help in using the collections.

Top
Home

 

Last updated: 10/28/05 MadCat Library Catalog UW Libraries Website

 

Quick Info | Gateways | Journal Databases | Reference
Europe in the Library | Campus Centers

University of Wisconsin Madison Logo
Copyright © 2003 The Board of Regents
of the University of Wisconsin System