ELECTRONIC RESOURCES FOR MEDIEVALISTS
PRIMARY LITERATURE
- TEXT
SEARCHABLE ELECTRONIC TEXT
1. CETEDOC library of Christian
Latin texts Universitas Catholica Lovaniensis,
Lovanii Novi. computer file / -- Turnhout
: Brepols,1991. CD-ROM
Location: Memorial Library Reference CD-ROM
Station Room 262
Print counterparts: Corpus Christianorum.
Series Latina. -- Turnholti [Tornhout, Belgium]
: Typographi Brepols, 1953- -- 1-
Location: Memorial Library Greek and
Latin Room 424 Call Number: BR60 C49
Location: Memorial Library Microforms/Media
Center Room 443 Call Number: Micro Fiche
3934
Corpus Christianorum. Continuatio Mediaevalis.
-- Turnholti [Belgium] : Typographi Brepols
Editores Pontificii, 1971- -- Location: Memorial
Library Greek and Latin Room 424 Call Number: BR60
C45
2. Patrologia Latina. Chadwyck-Healey
Online Database. Available via the Libraries
Website under: Electronic Text & Multimedia
Collections (Text Collections). Go directly
to Patrologia Latina database http://libtext.library.wisc.edu/uw/pld/
Print counterpart: Patrologiae cursus completus
... Series Latina ... / accurante J.-P. Migne.
-- Parisiis : Apud Garnieri Fratres, editores
etJ.-P. Migne successores, [1844-1891?] Location: Memorial
Library Greek and Latin Room 424 Call Number: BR60
M4 Format: 221 v. in 223 ; 27
cm.
3. ARTFL: the treasury of the
French Language Online Database Available
via the Libraries Website under: Electronic
Text & Multimedia Collections (Text Collections).
Go directly to ARTFL - Project for American
and French Research on the Treasury of the
French Language http://humanities.uchicago.edu/ARTFL/ARTFL.html
Included within ARTFL are: the main ARTFL
Database comprising some 2000 texts in French
from the 12th to the 20th centuries, and some
additional databases of especial relevance
to medievalists. There include: Opera del
Vocabolario Italiano, a database containing
1,369 vernacular texts (16.4 million words)
dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's
death. The verse and prose works include early
masters of Italian literature like Dante,
Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known
and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and
medieval chroniclers. Provençal Poetry
Database containing 38 texts from the 12th
and 13th centuries. The Textes de Français
Ancien (TFA) database containing 65 documents,
covering the12th-15th centuries.
4. eMGH, the electronic Monumenta
Germania Historica
Planned to appear in segments over the next
10-15 years.
Print counterparts: Monumenta Germaniae historica.
Auctorum antiquissimorum. Monumenta Germaniae
historica inde ab anno Christi quingentesimo
usque ad annum millesimum et quingentesimum.
Auctorum antiquissimorum. -- Berolini : Apud
Weidmannos, 1877-1919. -- T. 1, pars 1-t.
15. Location: Memorial Library Greek and Latin
Room 424 Call Number: DD3 M8 A8 HOLDINGS:
v.1-15.
-
Monumenta Germaniae historica inde ab anno
Christi quingentesimo usque ad annum millesimum
et quingentesimum. Scriptorum rerum Merovingicarum
t. 1- -- Hannoverae, Impensis Bibliopolii
Hahniani, 1885-1920. Location: Memorial
Library Greek and Latin Room 424 Call Number:
DD3 M8 S7 HOLDINGS: Vol. 1 - 7; (1885 -
1920.).
SEARCHABLE ELECTRONIC TEXT RESOURCES NOT
YET AT UW-MADISON
5. ACTA SANCTORUM: THE LIVES
OF THE SAINTS . Online Database. Chadwyck-Healey.
Scheduled for release in June, 1999. A
massive, costly e-text database similar
in size and scope to Chadwyck-Healey's Patrologia
Latina. UW will not acquire immediately.
Print counterpart: Acta Sanctorum. 1863.
Location: Memorial Library Stacks Oversize
shelving Call Number:DZS AC8 CUTTER Extended
micro-ed. Microforms/Media Center Room 443
Micro Fiche 4860
INTERNET SITES
These are freely- available sites which offer
reproductions of major historical documents,
sometimes translated into English. They are
generally not fully searchable electronic
text.
6. EURODOCS: Medieval &
Renaissance Europe -- Primary Historical
Documents
- http://library.byu.edu/~rdh/eurodocs/medren.html
7. THE LABYRINTH LIBRARY
- http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/library/library.html
8. INTERNET MEDIEVAL SOURCEBOOK
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html
- STATISTICS
SEARCHABLE SOCIAL DATA AND STATISTICS
9. THE FLORENTINE CATASTO
(available via the DPLS - Data and Program
Service Library-http://dpls.dacc.wisc.edu/
or go directly to: http://dpls.dacc.wisc.edu/catasto/index.html
Herlihy, David and Klapisch-Zuber, Christiane.
Census and property survey of Florentine
domains and the city of Verona in fifteenth
century Italy [machine- readable data
file] / principal investigators, David
Herlihy and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber.
31 data files + 2 location code files
+ 2 program files + 1 codebook (p.90).
The data was coded during 1966 to 1976
from the official manuscripts of the tax
declarations (Campioni) in the fifteenth
century Italy. For each household, one
person was assigned as the 'fiscal head',
the individual primarily responsible for
the tax. Data for each household include
name of fiscal head, type of dwelling,
animal ownership, occupation of fiscal
head, value of public and private investments,
deductions, and tax. This data set is
also known as Catasto study. Archival
study number: AG-504-001 The DPLD library
is located at: 3313 Social Science Building,
N1180 Observatory Drive
10. THE TAXATIO DATABASE (University
of Manchester, England)
- http://www.mimas.ac.uk/taxatio/
A taxatio is an assessment for taxation and
the taxatio with which this database is concerned
is often called the Pope Nicholas IV taxatio
because it was carried out on the orders of
that pope. For nearly 250 years virtually
all ecclesiastical taxation of England and
Wales was based on this extremely thorough
and detailed assessment. It is a unique source
for the medieval period: no other complete
survey of its kind survives for any part of
medieval Europe. All the detailed material
concerning the values ofecclesiastical benefices
in this printed edition (the 'spiritualities'
part of the assessment as distinct from the
'temporalities' part) has been entered onto
the database.
Print Counterpart:
The Taxatio Database is derived from the
Taxatio Ecclesiastica Angliae et Walliae
Auctoritate Papae Nicholai IV (Record Commission,
1802). Available in Memorial Library as:
Taxatio ecclesiastica Angliae et Walliae
auctoritate P. Nicholae IV. circa A. D.
1291. Printed by command of His Majesty
King George III. etc. etc. etc. in persuance
of an address of the House of Commons of
Great Britain. -- [London, Record Commission]
1802. Locations: Memorial Library Documents
- Ask at Reference Desk Call Number: DA25
B14 Also: Reel 1735 (Goldsmiths'-Kress library
of economic literature ; no. 18524)
Portions of: Matrix a collection of resources
for the study of women's religious communities,500-1500.
Includes searchable social data. See no.14
below for more information.
http://matrix.bc.edu/MatrixWebData/matrix.html
- REFERENCE WORKS
11. Archive of Celtic-Latin
literature ACLL-1 : Royal Irish Academy
dictionary of medieval Latin from Celtic
sources / compiled by Anthony Harvey,
Kieran Devine, Francis J. Smith. [computer
file] : -- 1st (prelim.) CD-ROM ed. --
Turnhout : Brepols, c1994. Location: Memorial
Library Reference CD-ROM Station Room
262
This is planned to eventually be " a
full-text database of the corpus of Latin
literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe,
together with the Latin works of the continental
'peregrini' from the period 400-1200 AD."
UW is acquiring additional sections as they
become available.
12. Institut de recherche
et d'histoire des textes (France). In
principio incipit index of Latin texts
= incipitaire des textes latins. [computer
file] : -Turnhout : Brepols, 1993- Location:
Memorial Library Reference CD-ROM Station
Room 262
A first words index, to identify Latin
texts and manuscripts. Based on compilations
of the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire
des Textes (http://irht.cnrs-orleans.fr/multi-win.HTM)
and the Hill Monastic Microfilm Library
http://www.csbsju.edu/hmml/
13. Iter Italicum accedunt
alia itinera a database of uncatalogued
or incompletely catalogued humanistic
manuscripts of the Renaissance in Italian
and other libraries /compiled by P.O.
Kristeller ; consultant editor, Luciano
Floridi. [computer file] : -- Leiden ;
New York : E.J. Brill, 1995. Location:Memorial
Library Reference CD-ROM Station Room
262
14. Matrix a collection of
resources for the study of women's religious
communities,500-1500.
http://matrix.bc.edu/MatrixWebData/matrix.html
Documents the participation of Christian
women in the religion and society of medieval
Europe between 500 and 1500 C.E. Includes
primary and secondary sources on individuals
and ecclesiastical institutions.
SECONDARY LITERATURE
- BIBLIOGRAPHY
15. INTERNATIONAL MEDIEVAL BIBLIOGRAPY:
IMB (CD-ROM) Leeds, U.K. : Turnhout :International
Medieval Institute ; Brepols Publishers,
c1995- Location: Memorial Library Reference
CD-ROM Station Room 262 , 5th
release, 1967/1997
This is the major bibliography for the
medievalist. It is intented to be used in
conjuction with its print counterpart: International
Medieval Bibliography Location: Memorial
Library Reference Room 262 Call Number:
Z6203 I64
16. ITER: GATEWAY TO THE RENAISSANCE,
1400-1700 AD
-
http://iter.library.utoronto.ca/iter/iter1a3.htm
Includes references to 400 scholarly
journals and a large selection of books.
Available on the Libraries Website under:
Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Databases.
17. MEDIEVAL FEMINIST INDEX
http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html,
or via the Libraries Website under: Journal,
Magazine, Newspaper Databases
Covers journal articles, book reviews,
and essays in books about women, sexuality,
and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage
began in 1994.
- ELECTRONIC JOURNALS
18. via JSTOR (on the Libraries
Website under: Journal, Magazine, Newspaper
Databases or directly at
- http://www.jstor.org/
or via Madcat under the journal title)
Searchable text of scholarly journals including:
Speculum, Renaissance Quarterly, Studies
in the Renaissance
19. The Medieval Review http://www.hti.umich.edu/b/bmr/tmr.html
Reviews of current work in medieval studies
- GENERAL INTERNET SITES
There are many Internet sites devoted
to Medieval Studies. The three below probably
provide the best starting point for academic
researchers.
20. Labyrinth:
- http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html
21. Orb: online reference book
for Medieval Studies
- http://orb.rhodes.edu/
22.. DScriptorium
- http://www.byu.edu/~hurlbut/dscriptorium/
"Devoted to collecting, storing, and distributing
digital images of Medieval Manuscripts."
Return
to top of page
Return
to Home Page
Staff | Libraries
| Subject Guides | Electronic
Resources
Class Materials | Departments
and Programs
European History: A Guide to Resources
This Site Created by Barbara Walden and Maintained by Lisa Wettleson
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Libraries
© 2001, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Last Update:06.28.01
|