FINDING ARTICLES IN JOURNALS PRIOR TO THE TWENTIETH CENTURY

GENERAL/ AMERICAN / EUROPEAN / BRITISH / FRENCH / GERMAN / ITALIAN / LOW COUNTRIES /
SUBJECT-RELATED: / ART AND ARCHAEOLOGY / BIOGRAPHY / BOOK REVIEWS / CLASSICS / ECONOMICS / HISTORY / LITERATURE / PHOTOGRAPHY / POLITICAL SCIENCE / PSYCHOLOGY / RELIGION / SOCIOLOGY

 

GENERAL:

Balay, Robert. : Early periodical indexes : bibliographies and indexes of literature published in periodicals before 1900. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2000. Memorial Library Reference Stacks: : PN4801 B255 2000

ONLINE:

* = includes full-text of articles

*JSTOR includes some journals back as far as the 1880's.

MAGAZINE STACKS (http://www.phil.uni-erlangen.de/~p1ges/zfhm/zfhm_na.html) Tables of contents of European (including British) historical journals, going back as far as 1827.

PCI: Periodical Contents Index A very useful resource. Includes citations for articles in more than 3,500 social science and humanities journals published in North America, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, and Germany, from the 18th Century through the 1990's.

*PALMER'S FULL-TEXT ONLINE (Times of London) provides an index to the London Times, with individual index entries linked to a scanned image of the article from the original Times. Although the indexing covers October 1790 to December 1905, the full-text component spans only the years from 1800 to 1870

*PROQUEST HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS; THE NEW YORK TIMES Includes full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times since its beginning year (1851).

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus Aller Gebiete des Wissens. Online version goes back only to 1983. Earlier coverage is found in the printed version.

Coming Soon:

PRINTED:

This index is an international, interdisciplinary bibliography with particular emphasis on the social sciences, arts and humanities. The online version of this index extends back only to 1983. However, the original printed version covers periodicals and newspapers back to 1861 in several series.

Memorial Library Reference Stacks -- Call Number: AI9 B5 B

Memorial Library Reference Stacks -- Call Number: AI9 B7

Memorial Library Reference Stacks -- Call Number: AI9 B5 E

Memorial Library Reference Stacks -- Call Number: AI9 I54

 

AMERICAN:

ONLINE:

*American Memory Project: The Nineteenth Century in Print - Periodicals

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpcoop/moahtml/snchome.html

The American Memory Project is a massive project sponsored by the Library of Congress. It includes a growing section of scanned 19th-century periodicals.

*Making of America:Journals from Cornell AND Making of America: Journals from Michigan

http://moa.umdl.umich.edu AND http://library5.library.cornell.edu/moa/moa_browse.html

The Making of America Project, including materials from the Cornell University Libraries and the University of Michigan Libraries, includes scanned issues of a number of important American journals of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

PRINTED:

Early American periodicals index to 1850 . New York : Readex Microprint, 1964.

Location: Historical Society Library Microforms Room Call Number: Micro print Level 2 North wall

EUROPEAN :

ONLINE:

INDEXES AND GUIDES TO WESTERN EUROPEAN PERIODICALS IN HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/~hierl/wess/igwep/IGWEP.html

BRITISH:

ONLINE:

*INTERNET LIBRARY OF EARLY JOURNALS http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk/ilej/

Includes scanned pages of :Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society

PRINTED:

Subject index to periodicals/later British Humanities Index, 1919-1962
Memorial Reference Room 262: AI3 A72

Annual magazine subject-index, 1909-1950
Memorial Reference Room 262: AI3 M26

Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
Memorial Reference Wall Cases Rm 262: Z2005 H6

Tables of Contents and Index for 40 Victorian periodicals.

FRENCH:

Repertoire bibliographique des principales revues francaises (1897-99)
Memorial Reference Room 262: AI7 R3

GERMAN:

*Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum

http://www.ub.uni-bielefeld.de/diglib/aufklaerung/zeitschriften.htm

This is a searchable, growing online archive of German periodicals from the 18th and 19th century.

ITALIAN:

Catalogo Metodico degli Scritti Contenuti nelle Pubblicazioni Periodiche Italiane e Straniere. Focus is on articles about individual people. Memorial, (being transferred to Reference from Cutter Stacks. AI It12. Will have a different call number in Reference)

LOW COUNTRIES:

Repertorium op de Nederlandsche tijdschriften en voornaamste dagbladen, 1914-1921
Memorial Reference Room 262: AI5 R4

Bibliographie de Belgique, 1875-1997
Memorial Reference Room 262: Z2405 B58

 


SUBJECT-RELATED:

ART and ARCHAEOLOGY:

ONLINE:

Index to Ninteenth Century American Art Periodicals, 1844-1907.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Coverage primarily from the 1930's on, but includes some indexing back to 1866.

British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography, 1695-1991 Emphasis is on twentieth century articles, but Includes some early antiquarian and other publications

Concordia University, Art Index to Nineteenth Century Canadian Periodicals
Art Ref N7525 C66

Gazette des Beaux-Arts, Index 1859-1959
Art AP G289 Index 1859-1959

Index to Art Periodicals compiled in Ryerson Library, Art Institute of Chicago. (Starts in 1907-)
Art Ref/Overflow Z5937 C55

Internationale Bibliographie der Kunstwissenschaft

Starts in 1902. Sources are international but subject headings are in German
Art Ref Z5931 I61

Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archaologischen Instituts . Supplements provide coverage of articles. Now called: Archaeologische Anzeiger
Location: Memorial Library Stacks -- Call number AP D497 A668 J Library Has: (1889 - 2001) For earlier coverage: Archäologische Zeitung.1843-1885. Location: Memorial Library Stacks -- Call Number: AP A6599

Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (starts in 1910)
Art Ref Z5937 R4

Repertorium fur Kunstwissenschaft, begun 1876

Includes lists of articles in other journals as well as this one)
Art Regular AP R4257

Repertorium voor de geschiedenis der Nederlandse schilder-en graveerkunst, (H. van Hall, 1936-1949, 2 vols.)

Includes citations with earlier dates
Art Regular W46 2H14 Cutter
follow-up to above with
Bibliography of the Netherlands Institute for Art History: Rijksbureau voor kunsthistorische Documentatie, 1943-1980
Art Ref Z5961 N5 N4

Zeitschrift fur Bildende Kunst, begun in 1866

Includes lists of articles in other journals as well as this one
Kohler Arl Library owns only later years (1930's) of this series
Art Regular AP Z494 B595

BIOGRAPHY

Internationale Personalbibliographie, 1800-1943 bearb. von Max Arnim.

An index to biographical and bibliographical treatments of individuals

Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 -- Call Number: Z8001 A1 A72 1944

see also:

Catalogo Metodico degli Scritti Contenuti nelle Pubblicazioni Periodiche Italiane e Straniere.

Focus is on articles about individual people.

Memorial, (being transferred to Reference from Cutter Stacks. AI It12. Will have a different call number in Reference)

BOOK REVIEWS

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974 . 10 VOLUMES.

Location: Memorial Library Reference Center Cases Rm 262. Call Number: AI3 C652

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974.

Location: Memorial Library Reference Center Cases Rm 262. Call Number: Z1035 A1 C64

CLASSICS

Bibliotheca philologica classica.

Covers 1874-1913.

Location: Memorial Library Greek and Latin Collection, Room 424 Call Number: PA3 J32

ECONOMICS

Index of Economic Journals. Volumes 1-7 cover 1886-1965

Memorial Library Reference Stacks -- Call Number: Z7164 E2 A57

HISTORY

Magazine Stacks: Tables of Contents of Historical Journals in German, English (and other languages) (ONLINE)

http://www.phil.uni-erlangen.de/~p1ges/zfhm/zfhm_na.html

LITERATURE

Index Expressionismus; Bibliographie der Beiträge in den Zeitschriften und Jahrbüchern des literarischen Expressionismus, 1910-1925 (18 vols.)
Memorial Reference Room 262: Z5936 E9 R3

PHOTOGRAPHY

Nineteenth-Century Photography, an annotated bibliography 1839-1879
Art Ref TR15 J63 1990

POLITICAL SCIENCE

C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974 . 8 VOLUMES.

Location: Memorial Lib. Reference Wall Cases Rm 262 . Call Number: Z7161 A15 C23 1977

PSYCHOLOGY

PsychInfo Includes coverage back to 1872 (ONLINE)

RELIGION

Richardson, Ernest Cushing, 1860-1939. An alphabetical subject index and index encyclopaedia to periodical articles on religion, 1890-1899

Location: Historical Society Library Stacks Call Number: Z7753 .R55 1907

Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks -- Call Number: Z7753 R55

Periodical articles on religion, 1890-1899.

Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 -- Call Number: Z7753 R55A

SOCIOLOGY

The combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974. 6 VOLUMES

Location: Memorial Lib. Reference Wall Cases Rm 262 Call Number: HM24 C67

 

Compiled by: Linda Duychak, Kohler Art Library and Barbara Walden, Memorial Library, for the Library and Information Literacy Workshop Series, November, 2002

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MADISON