HISTORICAL STUDIES OF IRISH MIGRATIONS:
RESOURCES IN MEMORIAL LIBRARY
There are many ways to find what you need in the catalog.
Here are some possibilities:
BY SUBJECT:
Often your first search will be by SUBJECT as you try to decide
what the library has on the topic you are thinking about. It is
helpful to know that all non-fiction books in the library catalog are
assigned a standardized subject heading (Library of Congress Subject
Heading), which brings books on the same subject together regardless of
their titles. You can take advantage of this in doing a "Basic Search
" or "Keyword" search.
Some useful subject keywords include: "Irish", for materials about
the Irish as an ethnic group and "Ireland" for materials about Ireland
the place. If you use these terms by themselves you will get too
many results, but you can combine them with other subject keywords.
FOR EXAMPLE: along with IRELAND use
FAMINE or LABOR
HERE IS AN EXAMPLE WHICH USES A " GUIDED KEYWORD"
SEARCH:

For materials about the Irish as an ethnic group, use IRISH as SUBJECT
keyword and combine it with the PLACE you are interested in.
For example: SUBJECT: IRISH
combined with SUBJECT: NEW YORK.

HINTS FOR SUBJECT SEARCHING:
-
To do a more general search, use the "GUIDED" keywords
option
-
If you know one good book about your subject, look it up by author
or title (using the "basic" search option on the Madcat
menu.) Then click on the "full" record option to look at
the list of subject headings for your book, and click on one that
looks good. This will usually take you to a list of related books
on your subject.
If you would like to find primary documents, combine "Ireland"
or "Irish" with "Sources" or "Personal Narratives"
in your keyword search
FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES:
JSTOR:
a full-text database of more than 115 journals including some of
the most important ones for history, literature, political science,
population studies, and sociology. Coverage begins with volume one
of each title and usually continues through the early 1990s. Graphs,
photographs, and other images are included. To get to JSTOR,
go to the Libraries Website, then choose "Journal, Magazine, Newspaper
Databases," and choose "J" on the alphabetical menu.
ALSO USEFUL
HUMANITIES
FULL TEXT(1984-)
SOCIAL
SCIENCES FULL TEXT(1983-)
-
INDEXES TO PERIODICAL ARTICLES AND BOOK CHAPTERS:
To get to these indexes, go to the Libraries Website,
then choose "Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Databases" and click
on the alphabetical menu.
AMERICA:
HISTORY AND LIFE (1982-)
HISTORICAL
ABSTRACTS (1979-)
These are the most important resources for historians, and
they complement one another. America: History and Life focuses
on the history and civilization of Canada and the United States.
Historical Abstracts focuses on the history of the rest of the
world.
ALSO USEFUL:
-
Academic Search
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND COMPILATIONS
- The Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups.
Harvard Univeristy Press, 1980. Memorial Library Reference Room
262 :E 184 A1 H35
- Irish historical statistics : population, 1821-1971 / edited
by W. E. Vaughan and A.J. Fitzpatrick. -- Dublin : Royal Irish Academy,
1978.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262 : HA1146 I74
- Atlas of Irish history / Sean Duffy ... [et al.] -- Dublin
: Gill & Macmillan, 1997.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262 : DA911 A85 1997b
- Boylan, Henry. A dictionary of Irish biography / Henry
Boylan. -- 2nd ed. -- New York : St. Martin's Press, 1988.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262: CT862 B69 1988
- Bennett, Douglas. Encyclopaedia of Dublin. -- Dublin :
Gill and Macmillan, 1991.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262: DA995 D8 B45 1991
- The Cambridge historical encyclopedia of Great Britain and
Ireland / editor, Christopher Haigh. -- Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]
; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1985.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262: DA34 C28 1985
- A concise Ulster dictionary / edited by Dr. C. I. Macafee.
-- Oxford : Oxford University Press,c1996.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262: PE2587 C66 1996
- Hudson, Kenneth.The Cambridge guide to the historic places
of Britain and Ireland / Kenneth Hudson and Ann Nicholls. --
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1989.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262: DA660 H89 1989
- Irish historical documents since 1800 / Edited by Alan
O'Day and John Stevenson. -- Dublin ; New York : Gill and Macmillan,
1992.
Memorial
Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving: DA958 I69 1992
- Newman, P. R. Companion to Irish history : 1603-1921, From
the Submission of Tyrone to Partition / Peter R. Newman. --
Oxford [England] ; New York : Facts On File, 1991.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262:DA912 N485 1991
- The Oxford companion to Irish history / edited by S.J.
Connolly. - Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, c1998.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262 : DA910 O935 1998
- Thomas, Colin, 1939- Historical dictionary of Ireland /
Colin Thomas, Avril Thomas. -- Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262 : DA910 T39 1997
- O hOgain, Daithi, 1949- Myth, legend, & romance : an encyclopaedia
of the Irish folk tradition. New York : Prentice Hall Press,
c1991.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262 : GR153.5 O16 1991
- Smyth, Daragh. A guide to Irish mythology / Daragh Smyth.
-- 2nd ed. -- Blackrock, Co. Dublin : Irish Academic Press, 1996.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262 : BL980 I7 S6 1996
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Comprehensive Bibliography for the Study of American Minorities
Memorial Library Reference Room 262: E 184 A1 M52
- Shannon, Michael Owen. Northern Ireland. -- Oxford
; Santa Barbara : Clio, 1991.
Memorial
Library Reference Room 262: DA990 U46 S517 1991
- Shannon, Michael Owen. Irish Republic. Oxford; Santa
Barbara: Clio, 1986.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262: DA 910 S48 1986
- Brady, Anna.Women in Ireland : an annotated bibliography
/ compiled by Anna Brady. -- New York :Greenwood Press, 1988.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262: HQ1600.3 B7 1988
DA-900-DA 990 (stack levels 7 South
and 5 North)
Irish historical documents since 1800
/ Edited by Alan O'Day and John Stevenson. -- Dublin ; New York
: Gill and Macmillan, 1992.
Memorial
Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving: DA958 I69 1992
Irish historical documents, 1172-1922
/ edited by Edmund Curtis and R.B. McDowell.London [England] :
Methuen, 1943.
Memorial
Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving : DA905 C8
- Help is available at the Information Desk on the Second floor
of Memorial library for using Madcat and finding your way around
- For help and advice on all aspects of finding information about
your topic, talk with the staff of the Reference Room, 262 Memorial
Library.
-
THE AMERICAN
MEMORY PROJECT AT THE LIBRARY OF CONGRESS ( also available
on the Electronic Text and Multimedia section of the Libraries Webpage)
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html
-
THE MAKING
OF AMERICA ( also available on the Electronic Text and Multimedia
section of the Libraries Webpage)
http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/
-
AN GORTA MIR
: THE GREAT IRISH FAMINE http://history.wisc.edu/archdeacon/famine/
-
DIRECTORY OF SOURCES
FOR WOMENS' HISTORY IN IRELAND http://www.nationalarchives.ie/wh/
-
EURODOCS
: PRIMARY HISTORICAL DOCUMENTS FROM WESTERN EUROPE: IRELAND
http://library.byu.edu/~rdh/eurodocs/ireland.html
-
IRISH HISTORY
ON THE WEB
http://wwwvms.utexas.edu/~jdana/irehist.html
-
NATIONAL ARCHIVES OF IRELAND
http://www.nationalarchives.ie/
ELECTRONIC TEXT OF PRIMARY SOURCES
North
American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
This is a searchable electronic version of over 400 diaries and other
primary source materials written by American women. It is available
via the "Electronic Text and Multimedia" pick on the Libraries
Website
Staff | Libraries
| Subject Guides | Electronic
Resources
Class Materials | Departments
and Programs
European History: A Guide to Resources
This Site Created by Barbara Walden and Maintained by Lisa Wettleson
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Libraries
© 2001, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Last Update:----------
|