FINDING HISTORICAL INFORMATION ABOUT SCIENTISTS:
A QUICK GUIDE
Many important resources for finding historical information about scientists
are available only in **printed** format. This guide lists
a few of the most important print and electronic (WorldWide Web) resources
available in Memorial Library or via the UW-Madison Libraries Website.
GUIDES TO ARTICLES AND BOOKS ABOUT SCIENCE AND SCIENTISTS
Ferguson, Eugene S.
Bibliography of the history of technology. Cambridge, Mass. : Society
for the History of Technology, 1968.
- Location: Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Call Number: Z7914 H5 F4
History of Science and Technology [computer file]
- Location: UW Licensed Electronic Resource
Found on the Libraries Website under : Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper
Databases http://www.library.wisc.edu/reslist.search/search.cgi?id=isis
-
For earlier years:
- ISIS cumulative bibliography, 1966-1975
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q125 I13
- Isis cumulative bibliography 1976-1985
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q125 I13
1989
- Isis cumulative bibliography 1986-95
- Location:Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q125 I13 1997
- Each of the ISIS cumulative bibliographies includes sections about
"persons".
Rothenberg, Marc, 1949-
The history of science and technology in the United States: a critical
and selective bibliography. New York : Garland Pub., 1982-1993.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number:Q125 R67 1982
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND COLLECTED BIOGRAPHIES
GENERAL:
Dictionary of the history of science / edited by W.F. Bynum, E.J. Browne,
Roy Porter. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1981.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q125 D457
Creese, Mary R. S., 1935- Ladies in the laboratory? : American and British
women in science, 1800-1900 : a survey of their contributions to research
. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 C69 1998
BIOGRAPHIES:
American men & women of science. New York : R.R. Bowker,
c1989-
Continues: American men and women of science. Physical and biological
sciences
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Non-Current Collection
2M South
Call Number: Q141 A47
- "A biographical directory of today's leaders in physical, biological
and related sciences."
- For earlier years:
- American men of science : a biographical directory. New
York : the Science Press, [1st (1906)]-11th ed. (1965)
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Non-Current Collection
2M South
Call Number: Q141 A47
- American men and women of science. The physical and biological
sciences . New York : Bowker, 1971-[c1986] Cumulative Index/Finding
Aid: 1st ed. (1906)-14th ed. (1979). 1 v.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Non-Current Collection
2M South
Call Number: Q141 A47
- Location: Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Call Number: Q141 A47
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through
the nineteenth centuries
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 E37
Biographical encyclopedia of scientists. New York : Marshall Cavendish,
1998. 5 volumes
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 B532 1998
A Biographical encyclopedia of scientists / John Daintith ... [et al.].
2nd ed. Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub.,
1994. 2 vols.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 B53 1994
Biographical memoirs / National Academy of Sciences of the United States
of America. Washington : The Academy, [1877-
- Location: Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Call Number: AP N273 A168 B
Dictionary of scientific biography. Charles Coulston Gillispie, editor-in-chief.
New York, Scribner [1970]-1990.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 D5
Poggendorff, J. C. (Johann Christian), 1796-1877. J. C. Poggendorffs
biographisch-literarisches handwörterbuch für mathematik,
astronomie, physik mit
geophysik, chemie, kristallographie und verwandte wissensgebiete. Leipzig,
J. A. Barth, 1863-1904.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Z7404 P74
Royal Society (Great Britain). Biographical memoirs of fellows of the
Royal Society. London : The Society, 1955-
- Continues: Royal Society of London. Obituary notices of fellows
of the Royal Society
- Location: Memorial Library Microforms/Media Center Room 443,
Bk&Med
Call Number: Q41 R901
- Accompanying volumes are in Memorial Stacks
- Location: Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Call Number: Q41 R901
Biographical index to american science : the seventeenth century
to 1920, compiled by Clark A. Elliott. New York : Greenwood
Press, 1990.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 B533
Current biography [computer file]. [Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Co.,Coverage begins 1940.
--------NOBEL PRIZE WINNERS
The Who's who of Nobel Prize winners, 1901-1995 / edited by Bernard
S. Schlessinger and June H. Schlessinger. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx
Press, 1996.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number:AS911 N9 W53 1996
--------WOMEN
Notable women in the physical sciences : a biographical dictionary /
edited by Benjamin F. Shearer and Barbara S. Shearer. Westport,
Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q141 N734 1997
OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES:
The World of learning. London : Allen & Unwin, 1947-
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Desk Room 262
Call Number: AS2 W6
- Earlier Years are found in: Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
This is a guide to universities, scholarly institutions, and learned
societies around the world.
Research centers directory. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co.,
1965-
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Desk Room 262
Call Number: AS25 D5
Parkinson, Claire L. Breakthroughs : a chronology of great achievements
in science and mathematics, 1200-1930. Boston : G.K. Hall, c1985.
- Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call Number: Q125 P327 1985
INTERNET MEGASITES:
Includes links to several Website for Nobel Prize winners
Return to top of page
Return
to Home Page
Staff | Libraries
| Subject Guides | Electronic
Resources
Class Materials | Departments
and Programs
European History: A Guide to Resources
This Site Created by Barbara Walden and Maintained by Lisa Wettleson
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Libraries
© 2001, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Last Update:01.24.01
|