european history: a guide to resourcesuniversity of wisconsin-madison librarieseuropen history: a guide to resources
departments and programs spacer
subject guides spacer electronic resources
class materials
map staff
spacer libraries
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer

HISTORY: A BROWSING GUIDE TO MEMORIAL LIBRARY STACKS

This guide provides some suggestions for browsing the Memorial Library collection in the field of History.

A number of classification systems have been used to organize the materials in the Memorial Library collection. The two main systems used to arrange the European history materials are the "Cutter" and the "Library of Congress" classification systems. Generally, the "Cutter" system was used to assign call numbers to materials added to the collection before 1970. There are approximately 214,000 titles in the "Cutter" collection. The Library of Congress system has been used to assign call numbers to materials added to the collection after 1970. The "Cutter" collection is located on Stack Level 4-South: oversized "Cutter" materials in the Basement.

Classification conversion table


Subject category

Library of Congress

Cutter

Religion Library of Congress - BL-BR  
Religion. Mythology. Rationalism. BL BP, BR-BYR, BZ-BZT
Judaism BM CA-CAZ
Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc. BP BZ-BZT
Buddhism BQ BZDZ-BZDZA
Christianity BR CC-CES,DJ,DX-DZSA

Denominations & Sects Library of Congress - BX Cutter
Eastern Churches BX1-BX800 D-DFT
Roman Catholic Church BX801-BX4795 DG-DGX, DI, DM
Protestantism BX4800-BX9999 DJ36-DK, DR


Auxilliary sciences of history Library of Congress - C Cutter
History of civilization & culture CB FA-FB, FD-FE
Archaeology CC FF
Diplomatics. Archives. Seals. CD FID
Chronology CE FC
Numismatics CJ FN-FNY
Epigraphy CN FI
Heraldry CR FS-FW
Genealogy CS E-E9
Biography CT E11-E99



up arrow
TOP OF PAGE
History: General & Old World Library of Congress - D Cutter
History (General) D1-D900 F, F0802-F0898
Europe (General) D901-D1075 F01-F09
Great Britain DA F419-F45Z
Austria. Austro-Hungarian Empire. Hungary. DB F56-F582
France DC F39-F3991
Germany DD F375, F47-F47PR42
Mediterranean Region. Greco-Roman World. DE F31-F315
Greece DF F324, F32-F3491
Italy DG F35-F36991 (all 36 a-w)
Netherlands (Low Countries) DH F465-F4695
Netherlands (Holland) DJ F46-F462
Russia (Soviet Republics) DK F53-F5562
Northern Europe. Scandinavia. DL F48-F528
Spain DP1-DP500 F40-F4062
Portugal DP501-DP900 F41-F41Z
Switzerland DQ F38-F3891
Eastern Europe. Balkan Peninsula. DR F29-F303, F324, F59-F596
Asia DS1-DS40 F60, F64
Southwestern Asia. Ancient Orient. Near East. DS41-DS329 F601-F637
Southern Asia. Indian Ocean History. DS330-DS500 F638-F639, F69-F6998
Eastern Asia. South-eastern Asia. Far East. DS501-DS935 F646-F6852
Africa DT F71-F7965
Oceania (South Seas) DU F15-F28



up arrow
TOP OF PAGE
History: America Library of Congress - E Cutter
America E1-E150 F80-F8095
United States E151-E856 F83-F8399

History: America (Cont.) Library of Congress - F Cutter
United States. Local history. F1-F975 F84-F948
Mexico F1201-F1392 F95-F958

Geography, Anthropology, Folklore, etc. Library of Congress - G Cutter
Geography (General) G1-G890 G-G131, G9773, GAF, GAH
Atlases, Maps G1001-G9980 GZ
Mathematical Geography. Cartography. GA1-GA1999 GE
Anthropogeography GF GT
Anthropology. Ethnology. Ethnography. GN1-GN686 PW-PY
Prehistoric Archaeology GN700-GN875 GAN, GAP
Folklore GR BU
Manners and Customs (General) GT FF



up arrow
TOP OF PAGE
Social Sciences Library of Congress - H Cutter
General H1-H95 H
Statistics HA HB-HBB

Economics Library of Congress - HB-HJ Cutter
Economic theory HB HBM-HD, HZ-HZL
Production HC1-HD91 HE-HE99
Land HD101-HD1395 HEAAL-HEAAN, HX-HXYL
Agriculture HD1401-HD2206 R-RZ
Industry HD2321-HD4730 HFF, HH-HHP, HKL-HKNL, JWM-JWMF
Labor HD4801-HD9999 HEZ-HFC, HFG-HGV
Transportation and Communication HE HJ-HJZP, FO (Hist. Soc.)
Commerce. Business HF1-HF6201 HK, HVF-HVP, GC-GD
Finance HG HM-HPN, II-IIM
Public finance HJ HR-HWM



Sociology Library of Congress - HM-HX Cutter
General Works. Theory. HM HA-HAO
Social History & Conditions, etc. HN HAP
Communities. Classes. Races. HT HAV-HAW, HI-HI61, HI82
Social pathology. Public Welfare. HV I-II, IIN-IIT
Socialism. communism. Anarchism. HX HWS-HWUA

Political Science Library of Congress - J Cutter
Political Science. Collections, etc. JA JAC-JJ
Political Theory JC J-JAB
General. Comparative Constitutional History JF JK-JSN, JU, JVC-JVP
United States JK JT83-JT94, JU83-JU946, JV83-JV946
British America. Latin America. JL JT80-JT82, JT95-JT999, JU80-JU8299, JU947-JU999, JV80-JV8200, JV947-JV999
Europe JN JT1-JT79, JU26-JU599, JV26-JV599
Asia. Africa. Australia. Oceania. JQ JU14-JU25, JU60-JU799, JV14-JV25, JV60-JV799
Local Government JS JW1-JW999, JWC
International Law JX JY-JZZ
 



Staff | Libraries | Subject Guides | Electronic Resources
Class Materials | Departments and Programs

European History: A Guide to Resources
This Site Created by Barbara Walden and Maintained by Lisa Wettleson
University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries
© 2001, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Last Update:----------