European History and Archaeology Collection Scope and
Policy
July, 1999
Barbara Walden
European History Librarian University of Wisconsin - Madison
Slightly revised: February, 2001
INTRODUCTION:
European History encompasses the history of that part of
the world now called "Western Europe." This subject has been collected
at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since the University's beginning.
Collections relevant to European History can be found in a variety of
locations on the UW-Madison campus including Memorial Library General
Collections, Memorial Library Special Collections, the State Historical
Society of Wisconsin Library, the College Library, the Law Library, the
Health Sciences Library, the Steenbock Agricultural Library, the School
of Library and Information Studies Library, the Data and Program Library
Service, the Art Library, etc. The largest proportion of the collection
is located in the Memorial Library General Collections. This policy relates
primarily to the collections housed in the Memorial Library General Collections,
under the responsibility of the European History Librarian. Overlaps relating
to other collections in relationship to those of the European History
Collection in Memorial Library's General Collections are noted where possible.
GOAL OF COLLECTION, AND RELEVANT USER GROUPS:
The primary goal of collection development in this subject
is to provide for the needs of campus research, study and teaching in
European History and Archaeology, both for the present and for the foreseeable
future. Collecting in this area follows the overall policies established
for Memorial Library and for the UW Madison General Library System.
The primary user groups for this collection are found among the faculty
and students of the History Department and the Classics Department. Other
major user groups include the Anthropology department for archaeological
materials, and other programs and departments such as Religious Studies,
International Relations, Political Science, Literature, etc.
The History Department includes caucuses for European, American, Asian
and Developing World interests. The PhD is offered in all eras of European
history. Graduate study and faculty research are eclectic and include
both pioneering and more traditional approaches to historical study.
While collection development focuses primarily on the needs of European
History faculty and students, attention is given to needs of readers in
other aspects of historical study for materials about European history.
In addition, the subject of history is a fundamental component for study,
teaching and research in the humanities and social sciences generally,
and attention is given to aspects of collecting which support the needs
of UW-Madison scholars and students generally.
Beyond this primary focus, the role of the University of Wisconsin-Madison
as a resource where appropriate for the state, the region, the nation
and the world is a factor influencing collection development decisions.
Resource-sharing interests impact both on collection and non-collection
of European History materials on the UW-Madison campus. Library commitments
to institutions such as the Center for Research Libraries and to consortia
such as CIC play a direct role in collection decisions.
Other factors influencing collection decisions include: importance of
the material to the field, representation within the collections of all
aspects of the subject of European history, balance among the subfields
of European history and archaeology, supporting materials for outstanding
special collections. Popular materials are collected as needed for providing
representation of this approach to history, or as needed for research,
teaching and study. Controversial materials are included as needed for
research, teaching, and study.
COLLECTION SCOPE:
Chronological scope: prehistoric
through the end of World War II. "History" in literate societies is most
commonly defined as commencing with the beginning of written language,
and as ending at some moving date in the fairly recent past. Reflected
in the more-inclusive definition selected for the University of Wisconisn-Madison
Memorial Library General Collections is an acknowledgement of social-sciences
and area-studies focused approaches to history, and an emphasis on Western
European collections for both the past and for more recent periods.
Overlap: immediate aftermath of-World War II, Holocaust survivors and
their children, generalities dealing with both pre and post World War
II Western Europe, issues of "memory" and commemoration of the European
past. The European History Librarian works especially closely with the
Social Sciences Bibliographer on these and other issues of chronological
overlap. There is considerable overlap with European Humanities for Classical
antiquity.
Subjects included: all aspects
of European history which are in-scope for the General Collections of
Memorial Library. History is a broad and over-arching discipline, therefore
these aspects include: ancient, archaeological, social, economic, demographic
and statistical, intellectual, political, diplomatic, military, religious,
comparative, local, genealogy, numismatic and other so-called "auxilliary"
sciences of European history.
Included is the history of specific populations (women, Jews, immigrants,
etc.), reference material, historiography and historical method especially
pertaining to or rooted in Western Europe (for example: the "Annales"
school) and generalities relating to European history as a whole (for
example: the Renaissance, the Middle Ages, the Crusades, the Napoleonic
Wars, World War I, the European Theatre of World War II, etc)
Overlap: The European History librarian works closely with the European
and British Humanities Bibliographers. History of Science is handled by
the History of Science Bibliographer. The General History Bibliographer
covers general and world history, general historical methodology and historiography.
Foreign relations and comparative history overlap with Wisconsin State
Historical Society. History of agriculture and related fields is collected
insofar as it relates to social and economic history, but Steenbock library
is the primary repository.
Geographical scope: Scandinavia, Great Britain,
Ireland, France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Switzerland,
Austria, smaller areas within the geographical boundaries of Western Europe.
Excluded: Spain and Portugal, which are handled by the Iberian Studies
Bibliographer.
Overlap: The European History Librarian works closely with the European
Humanities Bibliographer, the Slavic Studies Bibliographer, the British
Humanities Bibliographer, the Iberian Studies Bibliographer, and the General
History Bibliographer on issues of geographical coverage. The history
of Classical Greece is handled by the European History Librarian, while
the history of Modern Greece is handled by the Slavic Studies Bibliographer.
Formats collected: books, serials, microforms,
audio-video materials in all formats, computer files and databases of
all kinds, atlases, published collections and multivolume works, etc.
Excluded: Sheet maps, statistical data files normally covered by the DPLS
Library. No distinctions are otherwise made as to format; while appropriateness
and usability of format are factors influencing collecting, overriding
concerns for collecting are scope and appropriateness of subject matter
and usefulness to study and teaching of European History here. Published
primary sources of all kinds are particularly emphasized. Overlap: Reference
material in all formats is collected; materials to be housed in the Reference
Collection are selected by the Reference Department. The European History
Librarian works both to recommend materials for purchase by the Reference
Department and to show materials already purchased to the Reference Department
for location decision, and participates in recommending, acquiring, and
funding appropriate reference resources for the Electronic Library.
Languages collected: Western European languages
(including English). Primary languages include: English, French, German,
Italian, Dutch, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Icelandic, Latin, Classical
Greek. Other languages are included as needed, and in some cases (e.g.
East Asian languages) may be collected by other bibliographers
ORGANIZATION OF THE COLLECTION MANAGEMENT AND DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM:
Within the organizational structure for collection development
at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the European History Librarian
has primary responsibility for Memorial Library's general collections
in European History. S/he works closely with user groups to establish
priorities and goals for the library's collection program. In addition,
s/he works closely with librarians for Reference, Special Collections,
Government Publications, other Bibliographers and Selectors, and other
librarians both at UW-Madison and elsewhere in aspects of collection development
relevant to European History. Because of the importance of existing collections
for the study of history, the European History Librarian works closely
with management and preservation of existing resources.
ACQUISITION OF MATERIALS
Acquiisition of materials is carried out through purchase (including title-by-title
selection, approval plans, blanket orders), licensing, leasing, exchange,
soliciting and acceptance of material in all formats available gratis,
and direct creation of electronic and other resources, as appropriate.
An appropriate mix of acquisition methods and material formats is one
of the goals of collection development in this subject. Because of the
importance of primary source materials for research and study in history,
both older materials and current materials are acquired. The European
History Librarian works closely with Central Technical Services, the Libraries
Technology Group, the Preservation Department, and others in acquiring
resources in all formats and making them available
MANAGEMENT OF EXISTING COLLECTIONS
Management of existing collections is integral to the work of the European
History Librarian. Because of the importance of older and primary source
materials in this subject, the European History Librarian works closely
with Preservation librarians and staff, collection management and maintenance
staff, the Libraries Technology Group, and others in managing existing
collections and making them available in the most appropriate formats.
Conversion to other formats, extension of access via electronic manipulation
and enhancement, transfer of materials, and deselection are part of the
ongoing work of collection management in this subject.
LEVELS OF COLLECTING:
Levels of collecting are determined in cooperation with user groups, other
campus selectors, and the Assocate Director for Collection Development
and Management. No subject within the scope of European History as defined
in this policy is entirely excluded.
Collecting levels are defined as follows:
O. Out of Scope
1. Minimal Level. Even coverage is the goal here; even though few selections
are made, basic authors, a selection of core works, and a spectrum of
viewpoints, ideological views, and approaches are represented. Collection
supports fundamental inquiries.
2. Basic Information Level. A selective collection of materials that serves
to introduce and define a subject and to indicate the varieties of information
available elsewhere. Includes reference and bibliographical materials,
surveys, general works, selective major periodicals. Supports students
enrolled in introductory courses only.
3. Study or Instructional Support Level. A collection that is adequate
to impart and maintain knowledge about a subject in a systematic way but
at a level of less than research intensity. The collection includes a
wide range of basic works in appropriate formats, a significant number
of classic retrospective materials, complete collections of the works
of more important writers, a selection of representative journals, and
the reference tools and fundamental bibliographical apparatus pertaining
to the subject. In history, will include collections of published source
materials. Generally supports undergraduate as well as some graduate instruction.
3a. Basic Study or instructional support level: Resources adequate for
imparting and maintaining know about the primary of basic topics of a
suject area. Includes the most important primary and secondary literature,
a selection of basic representative journals and periodicals and indexes,
and the fundamental reference and bibliographic tools. Supports lower
division undergraduate courses and basic independent study needs.
3b. Intermediate Study or instructional support: In addition to materials
adequate for level 3a, includes a broad range of basic works, classic
retrospective materials, all key journals on primary topics, selected
journals and seminal works on secondary topics, reference and fundamental
bibliographical apparatus pertaining to the subject. Materials are adequate
to support advanced undergraduate course work, but not adequate to support
master's degree 3programs.
3c. Advanced Study or instructional support. In addition to materials
adequate for level 3b the collection includes a significant number of
seminal works and journals on the primary and secondary topics in the
field, significant retrospective materials, a substantial collection of
works by secondary figures, works that provide more in-depth discussion
of research, techniques and evaluation. This collection can support master's
degree level programs.
4. Research Level. A collection that includes the major published source
materials required for dissertation and independent research. It is intended
to include all imprtant reference works and a wide selection of specialized
monographs, as well as a very extensive collecgion of journals and major
indexing and abstracting services in the field. Pertinent foreign language
materials are included. Includes active and substantial preservation activities.
This collection supports doctoral and other original research.
5. Comprehensive Level. A collection in which a library endeavors, so
far as is reasonably possible, to include all significant works of recorded
knowledge, in all forms, in all applicable langages, for a defined a limited
field. This level of collection intensity includes significant special
collections, the aim, if not the achievement, is exhaustiveness. Includes
active and substantial preservation efforts.
Language Codes: E (English), English language material
predominates, little or not foreign language material is in the collection.
F (Selected non-English), selected other language material is included
in addition to English language material. W (Wide selection languages).
A wide selection of material in all applicable languages in included.
No programmatic decision restricts materials on the basis of language.
Y (One non-English), Material is primarily in one non-English language.
The overall focus is on collecting material in the vernacular of the area.
(Note: these definitions are adapted from: Guide for
Written Collection Policy Statements, Second Edition. Chicago, American
Library Association, 1996. Based on WLN Collection Codes, pp. 13-14 and
RLG Language Codes, p. 18)
PREVIOUS AND DESIRED CURRENT LEVELS OF COLLECTION STRENGTHS:
(Note: previous levels are based on: Welsch, Erwin, European History Collection
Development Draft, March 1, 1988 . Abbreviations: ecs = existing collection
strength, cci = current collecting intensity. Categories are based on
the Library of Congress Classification System)
-
AC: COLLECTIONS:
Previously excluded from collection by the European History Librarian
unless "specifically of European historical content." Many relevant
materials are collected elsewhere in the Library, as Generalities
or on Exchange. Desired current level for all relevant materials:
3-4
AE: ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AG DICTIONARIES, AI INDEXES:
Desired current level: 4. In cooperation with Reference Department
-
AN: NEWSPAPERS
Newspapers are collected in cooperation
with the Center for Research Libraries, onsite files of older newspapers
in any format are acquired only for local needs that cannot be met
by CRL or other appropriate resource-sharing agreements.
Desired level: 3
AP: PERIODICALS
See individual countries and topics in LC Class "D" for historical
periodicals.
Desired current level for general periodicals on European History
as defined in this policy: 4
AS: ACADEMIES
Previously, academy publications have been included in European
History only when mainly or specifically devoted to European History,
otherwise they are collected by other librarians.
Desired level: 3-4
AY: YEARBOOKS
Acquired selectively.
Desired level: 3
B,BF,BL: (PHILOSPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION)
Selected as appropriate to the scope of European History as defined
here. Considerable overlap with other selectors.
Desired level for European History: varies- General, France, Germany,
Great Britain, Ireland - 4. Italy - 3c. Scandinavia -3b. Other-2
BR: CHRISTIANITY, CHURCH HISTORY
Theology, religious thought are collected primarily as part of European
Humanities, collecting for European History is supplemental to this.
History of the Church, social history of religion, etc, are within
scope for European History and of considerable local interest.
Desired levels: General, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland
- 4. Switzerland, Italy- 3c. Other -2 (Previous levels: France,
Germany- ecs3/cci2. Great Britain -ecs 4/cci2. Ireland 2/2. Italy
- 3/2. Low Countries - 2/1. Scandinavia - 2/2. Switzerland - 2/2.)
BX: DENOMINATIONS AND SECTS, INCLUDING ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH,
PROTESTANTISM
Considerable local interest. Reformation.
Desired levels: General, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland
- 4. Switzerland, Italy -3c. Other - 3a. (Previous levels: France
- ecs 3/cci 2. Germany - 4/2. Great Britain - 3/2. Ireland - 2/2.
Italy -3/2. Low Countries - 1/1. Scandinavia - 2/1. Switzerland
- 2/2)
C: AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY (GENERAL)
Desired level: 3
CB: HISTORY OF CIVILIZATION
Collected only as relevant to Western European civilization.
Desired level: 3
CC: ARCHAEOLOGY (GENERAL)
Collected only as relevant to Western European archaeology.
Desired level: 2
CD: DIPLOMATICS, ARCHIVES, SEALS
General: desired level - 3c
Guides to Archives:
desired level - National and Regional: France, Germany, Great Britain
- 4. Other - 3c Local: 2
(Previous levels: National: France, Germany, Great Britain - 4/4.
Ireland, Italy, Scandinavia - 3/3. Low Countries, Switzerland -
2/2. Regional: France, Germany, Great Britain - 4/3. Italy - 3/3.
Ireland, Scandinavia - 3/2. Low Countries, Switzerland - 2/1. Local:
France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy - 3/2. Ireland - 2/2. Scandinavia
2/1, Low Countries, Switzerland - 2/1.)
CE: CHRONOLOGY
Desired level: 2.
See D-DQ for specific countries.
CJ: NUMISMATICS
Desired level: 2.
(Previous levels: General European - 4/2. France, Germany, Great
Britain, Italy - 3/2. Ireland, Scandinavia, 2/1. Low Countries,
Switzerland - 1/1 )
CN: INSCRIPTIONS. EPIGRAPHY
General, Ancient: Desired Level: 3c.
(Previous level: 4/3)
CR: HERALDRY
Desired level: 1
CS: GENEALOGY
Desired level: 1 or 2.
Individual family histories are not collected actively, though they
may be accepted as gifts.
(Norwegian genealogy was previously collected at 4/3 level with
special funding which is no longer available.)
CT: BIOGRAPHY
Collective biography: 3
Individual biography is collected with national and other types
of history, see D-DQ, H,J.
D: HISTORY (GENERAL)
General history of Western Europe is collected, also history of
significant largely European phenomena, such as the Crusades, Middle
Ages, World War I, etc. Considerable overlap with other areas and
with the Wisconsin State Historical Society.
Desired level: 4
ARCHAEOLOGY: SPECIFIC COUNTRIES (DA-DQ)
Desired levels: Ancient Greece and Rome - 3c or 4.
Previous policy indicated that works on individual archaeological
sites were generally not collected. This is not the intent of current
collecting policy, however scope and depth are dependent upon local
needs.
France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Italy- 3. Others - 1
(Previous levels: France - ecs 2/ cci 2. Germany - 3/2. Great Britain
- 4/2. Ireland - 2/2. Italy -3/2. Low Countries 2/1. Scandinavia
3/2. Switzerland - 1/1.
DA: GREAT BRITAIN
Desired levels: National-Level: England, Ireland - 4 . Scotland,
Wales -3c. Local History: England, Ireland - 3c or 4. Scotland,
Wales- 3.
Current History department interests include British intellectual
and political history, especially Tudor-Stuart period, and Irish
social history of the late-eighteenth - early 20th centuries.
DB: AUSTRIA
Desired levels: 3c for the geographical region now called Austria.
Some coverage of the German-speaking populations of the Habsburg
Empire, also coverage of other areas of the Habsburg Empire which
are otherwise within the geographical boundaries of Western Europe,
as well as some coverage of general Habsburg history. Coverage in
this area is subject to change, dependent upon History department
and other campus interest.
(Previous: 'restricted national level coverage of the country now
defined as "Austria", with countries once part of the Austrian Empire
excluded).
DC: FRANCE
Desired levels: National-Level: 4 Local: variable.
History Dept. interest in 17th-20th centuries. French Revolution.
Alsace. (Previous: "The library's important collections include
French labor, socialism and communism from the end of the 19th century
onwards with extensive holdings of primary source materials. Special
collections include French Political Pamphlets 1560-1648, French
Protestantism (Montauban collection) Saint-Simon, etc.")
DD: GERMANY
Desired levels: National : 4 .
Emphasis on 19th-20th century, also the era of the Reformation.
Social, legal, cultural, and labor/economic/industrial interests
within the History Department.
Regional and Local: Variable, selective.
Existing collections include strong serial collections for local
history. Important collection of material on labor, and on political
movements in the 19th and 20th centuries.
DE. DF,DG: GRECO-ROMAN WORLD; THE MEDITERRANEAN REGION
Desired levels: Greek and Roman, 3c-4. Byzantine, 3c-4.
Previous policy indicated that acquisition of materials in Greek
and Latin was by faculty recommendation only, needs review and discussion.
Both previous and current policy includes acquisition of texts by
Greek and Roman historians (these are classed in PA).
DG: MODERN ITALY
Desired levels: 3-4.
(Previous: national level coverage with emphasis on areas of teaching
and research interests of present faculty.)
Strong program in 20th century economic and political history, Fascism.
Campus interest in Early Modern period, Humanism, Reformation. Preliminary
collection analysis indicates need for standard city and regional
histories, multivolume histories, etc., used for general research
and study.
DH-DJ: LOW COUNTRIES
Desired levels: 3a or 3b.
(Previous: restricted national-level coverage).
Collection supports the study of other aspects of European and World
history. Some emphasis on the Reformation era and on Dutch economic,
trade, and colonial history. Includes published primary source materials
on topics relevant to other European and World history.
DL: NORTHERN EUROPE. SCANDINAVIA.
Desired levels: 3.
Currently under review, levels for individual countries vary.
Ongoing additional emphasis on Denmark, Norway, Iceland in cooperation
with the University of Minnesota's added emphasis on Sweden, Finalnd.
DQ: SWITZERLAND
Desired levels: 2 or 3a
Exception: the Swiss Reformation, Calvinism, etc., strong interest
in the History Department. Desired level: 4
DS 135-DS 145: HISTORY OF THE JEWS IN EUROPE
Desired levels: 4.
Strong interest on campus, all periods. Previous policy noted lack
of primary sources; efforts made to improve collecting here have
resulted in strengthened collections of periodicals and primary
source materials, particularly in microform.
Hebrew and Yiddish-language materials are generally out of scope
for this policy, though the Jewish Studies gift fund managed by
the European History Librarian brings in some Hebrew materials via
faculty recommendation. Yiddish is acquired by other librarians.
E-F975: AMERICAN HISTORY
Current collecting level: 1
Although theoretically excluded because of the agreement with the
State Historical Society of Wisconsin, in practice some materials
are acquired. Subjects where materials are sometimes acquired include:
foreign relations, wars and campaigns involving both Europeans and
Americans, comparative history, etc The intent here is not to duplicate
collections, but to provide for the needs of Europeanists.
G: VOYAGES AND TRAVELS
Desired level: 3
Considerable interest and attention is currently being paid to travel,
including its historical aspects. Collecting of historical aspects
of travel is carried out in close collaboration with other librarians.
This is a revision of previous policy, which generally excluded
travel and voyages from the work of the European History Librarian.
GF, GN: HUMAN ECOLOGY, ANTHROPOLOGY
Anthropological approaches to history are collected, and are of
strong interest in the History department. Although generally written
by historians about regions of Western Europe, these materials are
sometimes classed in GF or GN. Archaeology of Western Europe, including
archaeological study aimed at or carried out by anthropologists,
is in scope and discussed elsewhere in this policy.
GR: FOLKLORE
Folklore is generally not acquired by the European History Librarian;
however works about folklore written from a historian's perspective
are sometimes acquired. This subject in some of its aspects is sometimes
treated as a subfield of European social history.
GT: MANNERS AND CUSTOMS
Historical treatment of manners and customs is a currently popular
subfield of European social history. When written by historians
and of interest to students and researchers of European history,
these materials are acquired.
GV: SPORTS AND RECREATION
Historical treatment of sports and recreation written from the historian's
perspective is acquired. This subject is currently regarded by historians
as a subfield of social history.
H, HA, HB, HC,HD, HE.HF,HG,HJ,HM,HN,HQ,HS,HT,HV,HX
Social history is a major focus of European history, both locally
and in general, and is found in all categories of class H. Based
on the chronological, geographical, format, and other restrictions
noted elsewhere in this policy, social and economic history is a
strong focus of local collecting. Overlaps and areas of question
are noted elsewhere Traditional collection strength in socialism
and communism (level 4 for France, Germany, Great Britain). Ongoing
attention at this level needs evaluation in light of current campus
priorities.
Changes from previous collection policy: Histories of individual
cities are collected at a level related to the desired collection
level for the country of which the city is part.
Collecting includes business, education, economic, finance, industrial,
agricultural, and domestic-economy history insofar as these are
relevant to social history and do not duplicate other campus collections
or the work of other bibliographers.
J, JA OFFICIAL DOCUMENTS, COLLECTIONS AND GENERAL WORKS
Collected at a level related to the desired level for the country
to which they relate. Strong existing collections of German and
British Parliamentary publications.
JC : POLITICAL THEORY, THEORY OF THE STATE
Political theory as such is collected only if relevant to the needs
of European historians and outside the scope of the work of the
Social Sciences Bibliographer. In practice, some political theory
is collected because of the interests of campus historians.
JF : CONSTITUTIONAL HISTORY, JN: EUROPE, JS: LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Constitutional history of European countries is collected. Historical
treatment of local government is collected, but not emphasized.
JV: COLONIES AND COLONIZATION. EMIGRATION AND IMMIGRATION
Domestic aspects of European colonization is collected, European
overseas colonialization is generally the purview of other bibligraphers.
Occasional acquisitions are made when the only unifying aspect of
the work is that of Western Europeans in regard to colonization.
Emigration from and immigration to and within Western Europe are
collected, when the emphasis is on the Western European country
or area. Immigrants from Western Europe in other areas is out of
scope.
JX: INTERNATIONAL LAW, INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS
International law is collected only very selectively since it is
primarily collected by the Law Library.
International relations and diplomacy in all aspects is extensively
collected.
K: LAW
Some aspects of law relevant to faculty and graduate student interests
and teaching needs is collected. Care is taken not to duplicate
the collections of the Law Library; however faculty interests in
Roman law, Canon law and other aspects of legal study especially
as related to Classical and Medieval studies lead to some selections
being made in this subject.
LA: HISTORY OF EDUCATION
Some aspects of the history of education are regarded by historians
as a subfield of social history. Care is taken not to duplicate
the work of other libraries or bibliographers, however, some selections
are made to meet the needs of historians in this subject.
PN: THE PRESS
Collected as needed for historians and historical research and not
collected elsewhere.
Change from previous policy: histories of individual newspapers,
biographies, etc., are included.
R: HISTORY OF MEDICINE
Some aspects of the history of medicine are considered by historians
to be a subfield of social history. This subject is collected only
very selectively as needed to meet the needs of the History Department.
Care is taken not to duplicate other campus collections.
S: HISTORY OF AGRICULTURE
Some aspects of the history of agriculture are considered by historians
to be a subfield of social history. This subject is collected selectively
as needed to meet the needs of local historical researchers; care
is taken not to duplicate other campus collections except in extraordinary
circumstances.
U, V: MILITARY AND NAVAL HISTORY
Collected selectively as needed to meet the needs of historians
and historical research .
Change from previous policy: works on individual weapons and weapons
systems, unit histories, histories of individual battles, are collected
selectively as appropriate to local needs. Works on naval administration,
maintenance, navigation, architecture are collected selectively
as they are appropriate to meet local needs.
Z: HISTORY OF BOOKS AND BOOKMAKING, BOOK INDUSTRY AND TRADE
Some aspects of the history of books and the book industry are considered
by historians to be a subfield of social history. This subject is
collected selectively as needed to meet the local needs of social
historians; care is taken not to duplicate other campus collections
or the work of other bibliographers. Works on the book or printing
as an artifact are out of scope. This does not represent a change
from previous practice as noted in Welsch's 1988 European History
Collection Development policy.
Z: BIBLIOGRAPHY
Subject and Personal bibliographies: Desired collecting level: 4
Staff | Libraries
| Subject Guides | Electronic
Resources
Class Materials | Departments
and Programs
European History: A Guide to Resources
This Site Created by Barbara Walden and Maintained by Lisa Wettleson
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Libraries
© 2001, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System
Last Update:Feb. 22,2001
|