Where Materials are Located / Getting Help / Madcat Hints / Useful Printed Resources-Encyclopedias / Resources on the Library Website / Journal Articles / Finding Book Reviews / Primary Sources / Managing Your Bibliography, References and Footnotes Using RefWorks
History of tourism and travel to and within the
United Statesand Canada:
Mainly at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library (second floor of the Historical Society building)
History of tourism and travel everywhere else: Memorial Library
Hint: In addition to all kinds of printed materials in the Memorial Library stacks, you can find complete sets of two of the most important series of Travel Guidebooks in the Microforms/Media Center, 443 Memorial Library:
Murray’s Handbook for Travellers—Micro Fiche 6356 and Baedeker’s Handbook for Travellers –Micro Fiche 6248.
Online resources: Library Website: http://www.library.wisc.edu/
For more information: http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/
In-Person: At the Reference Desk, Second Floor of Memorial Library or in Historical Society Library
Online: Via Chat or Instant messaging via Live Help http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/reference/livehelp/index.html
Via e-mail: http://memorial.library.wisc.edu/memrefform.html
(608) 262-3242 Memorial Library Reference
(608) 264-6535 Historical Society Library
For more information: http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/reference/index.html
- “description and travel” is a subject term assigned to books about travel in or to a place. Combine this with the place you are interested in.
For example: Wisconsin Description and Travel
Middle East Description and Travel
Berlin (Germany) Description and Travel
- “tourism” and “travel” are also used as subject terms
For example: tourism Europe
For example: in a “Guided” search try keyword “sex tourism” as a phrase. Note in your results that the subject terminology given to the items you have found uses “child prostitution” as the subject. Try “child prostitution” as your subject to find more material.
- limit your results to English language
- limit your results by date
These are very useful as you think about possible topics for your paper. They introduce you to the subject, and provide you with names and concepts you can follow up in MadCat and journal databases.
- Encyclopedia of travel literature / Christopher K. Brown. ABC-CLIO, c2000. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: G465 B765 2000
- Travel legend and lore : an encyclopedia/ Ronald H. Fritze. ABC-CLIO, c1998.Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: G151 F75 1998
- The encyclopedia of women's travel and exploration / Patricia D. Netzley. Oryx Press, 2001. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: G465 N47 2001
- Encyclopedia of tourism / Jafar Jafari. Routledge, 2000. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: G155 A1 E4295 2000
- Wayward women : a guide to women travellers / Jane Robinson. Oxford University Press, c1990. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: G200 R63 1990
- American travel writers, 1776-1864 /James J. Schramer and Donald Ross. Gale Research, 1997. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: PS221 D5 v.183
- American travel writers, 1850-1915 /James J.Schramer and Donald Ross. Gale Research, 1998. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: PS221 D5 v.189
- British travel writers, 1837-1875 / Barbara Brothers and Julia Gergits. Gale Research, 1996. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: PS221 D5 v.166
- British travel writers, 1876-1909 /Barbara Brothers and Julia Gergits. Gale Research, 1997. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: PS221 D5 v.174
- British travel writers, 1940-1997 /Barbara Brothers and Julia M. Gergits. Gale Group, c1999. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262 Call Number: PS221 D5v.204
- Statistics: World Tourism Statistics / World Travel and Tourism Statistics / Yearbook of Tourism Statistics Memorial Library Stacks Oversize Collection Call Number: G149 I73/ Latest year in Memorial Reference. Covers 1980-to now.
Available on the Library Website: under “Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers”
The first place to look for most kinds of history, JSTOR provides full-text articles in major scholarly journals.
These two resources provide information about books, journals and other materials in history. America: History and Life emphasizes the United States and Canada, Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world.
- Also useful: PCI:Periodicals Contents Index
Includes information about articles from the 18th century until recent times
- For recent topics, try: Academic Search
Includes articles on a variety of subjects
- For coverage of current global news and general information, try: Lexis-Nexis, World News Connection , Global News Bank
The “Find-it” feature links directly to online full-text of articles, or to MadCat to locate the printed journal if no full-text is available.
FINDING BOOK REVIEWS:
JSTOR, America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts, PCI, and Academic Search all include Book Reviews. Limit your search to the “Reviews” or “Book Reviews” choice to find them. Other sources for Book Reviews include: Book Review Digest Plus and H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences: http://www.h-net.msu.edu/reviews/
Available on the Library Website under: “E-Books, E-Texts and Multimedia"
With RefWorks you can:
Compiled by: Barbara Walden, European History Librarian
University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries revised: October, 2004