|
|
|
DATABASES WITH DESCRIPTIONSUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison LibrariesThis is a description of most databases available through campus libraries. The purpose of this list is to provide a starting point for learning the main features of standard databases. Not all databases are listed in this document. Ask library staff for assistance in identifying additional databases. Key to Access categories:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | ZAATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature 1955-to date (updated quarterly)AATA Online indexes articles from over 400 journals; with 120 journals covered comprehensively. It includes over 100,000 abstracts of worldwide literature related to the preservation and conservation of material culture and heritage. Coverage includes books, periodical articles, conference proceedings, occasional papers, electronic resources, audio visual resources, dissertations, and theses on the technical aspects of art and architecture. Topics included are: architectural preservation, archaeology, methods of examination and documentation, history of craftsmanship and technology, conservation education and training, and the analysis and treatment of materials, such as, paper, photograpy, paint, wood, textiles, plant and animal materials, metals, ceramics, and stone. Access: Open to everyone ABI/INFORM 1971-to date (updated daily)ABI/INFORM indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1300 scholarly and trade business periodicals. Popular journals such as Forbes, Fortune, and Business Week are also included. The Web version, ABI/INFORM Global, provides full-text articles from more than 600 of the journals from 1992 to the present. It is an excellent source of information on management techniques, corporate strategies, trends, and business conditions. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) 1990-to date (updated monthly)ABSEES covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. It includes citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, government publications, and more. ABSEES Online can be searched by ten different fields, including author, title, subject, date of publication, and publisher. There is selective coverage of materials published before 1990. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Abortion in Africa: A Review of Literature from the 1990's to the Present Day 1990-present (updates vary)Produced by Centre Population et Developpement (CEPED), this publication is a review of the literature on the subject of Abortion in Africa. It includes a bibliographic database containing 600 references, which may be accessed via key words as well as a thematic summary divided into six chapters. It presents a wide collection of published material from both journal articles and books, but also from grey literature such as various types of written reports, theses, unpublished conference papers, working papers etc. It was created as a part of a the CEPED network "restricted access to family planning and fertility regulation modes, and women's health" led by Agnes Guillaume. The database focuses on the issue of abortion that frequently arises when women do not have access to family planning or when such methods fail. The network's activities are also concerned with new methods of fertility regulation such as emergency contraception, which is currently being put on the market in Africa, as well as "medicalized" abortions offered in circumstances where such act is illegal. Each entry includes the author's name, year of publication, title, type of publication (journal, book, grey literature etc.), an abstract (generally taken from databases and/or from the author's summary, or produced by us), and key words indexed by topic and country or geographical area. The source of the document is included with a link if the reference (or a summary of it) is available for public download. A search engine will allow the user to run a search on one or several key words in the bibliography and the text. A list of key words is offered in French and English. Access: Open to everyone ABU: la BibliothÈque Universelle Date Varies (updates vary)ABU maintains hyperlinked, searchable files of public-domain texts in the French language. Of the 277 texts available as of January 2001, almost all are literary works; the exceptions are usually either political or philosophical (for example, the Déclaration des droits de l'homme et du citoyen, some Marx and Engels, some Leibniz), although there are also titles in history of science and other fields as well. Access: Open to everyone Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology Current (updates vary)The Dictionary has more than 133,000 entries from 124 fields of science. Subjects range from acoustical engineering to zoology, including classical fields like mathematics and emerging ones such as systematics. It is searchable using single words, compound words, abbreviations, acronyms, proper names and geographic names. Many of the entries have audio pronunciation. Entries can also be browsed through a subject hierarchy of specific scientific domains. Access: Open to everyone ACADEMIC SEARCH 1984-to date (updated daily)Academic Search is a full text database of more than 3000 journals. The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Christian Science Monitor are also indexed. It covers many academic areas, including business, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural. Searches may be limited to retrieve only peer-reviewed titles (approximately 1700). Dates vary, but many of the full-text titles go back to 1990. A business directory is also included. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff AccessScience Current (updated daily)McGraw-Hill AccessScience is the online version of the Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. This encyclopedia contains more than 7100 articles on all aspects of science and engineering, a dictionary of 115,000 terms, research updates, biographies of more than 2000 scientists and engineers, and a weekly update of events in the field. Encyclopedia articles contain a definition, a general overview of the subject, and its relationship to other related topics. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff AccessUN 1966-to date (updated monthly)AccessUN indexes United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed as are the bilateral and multilateral treaties in the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS). Full-text resolutions from the principal organs are appended to their respective bibliographic citations. For CD-ROM access to publications before 1966, see Index to United Nations Documents. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ACLS History E-Book Project Antiquity-to date (updates vary)The ACLS History E-Book Project makes available works of major importance to historical studies. All parts of the world and all periods of history are included. The aim is to include "books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature." You can search the whole collection or individual books, using words or phrase within the full text, title, subject, or author. You can browse by subject, author, or title and read all or part of the e-book. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ACM DIGITAL LIBRARY 1985-to date (updated weekly)The Digital Library is an online resource containing all ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings from 1991 and forward. The scholarly and trade publication source list includes 22 journals and magazines and 44 conference proceedings. Abstracts and some full text exist for literature published between 1985 and 1990. All aspects of computing is covered by the literature. The collection can be browsed by journal title or conference subject areas. The title, abstract or full text can be searched separately. Searches can be limited to a specific journal or conference, subject classification or date(s). Results are in either HTML or PDF formats. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ACT DISCOVER CAREER Current (updated irregularly)Discover, from the American College Testing (ACT) group, is an advanced career guidance system. It combines the unique capabilities of the computer with information about occupations, values, interests, skills, and nationwide graduate school information. It can help you systematically examine your present values, interests, and skills. Discover covers all the major aspects of career decision-making and planning through a system of nine separate and interrelated sections. Access: Only available in campus libraries Acta Sanctorum Database 1st through 17th centuries CE (not updated)The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of the Acta Sanctorum ["Deeds of the Saints"] taken from the edition published in many volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp in the seventeenth century and continued in Brussels in the later nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It is a collection of documents recounting the exemplary lives, deaths, miracles, and other deeds of saints of the Roman Catholic Church as well as major historical moments in their subsequent veneration. Organized according to each saint's feast day, it runs from January through November. The final volume is the Propylaeum ["preliminary volume"] to December published in 1940; this is an annotated edition, rich in older bibliographical references, of the Martyrologium Romanum, the church's month-by-month listing of its saints. Lives, etc. of saints with feast days in December are not included in the Acta Sanctorum. Although some early modern saints are included, the Acta Sanctorum's coverage is chiefly ancient and medieval. The editorial matter and most of the documents are in Latin; some documents are in Greek. Every "Search" page and every document page has a vertically oriented toolbar at the upper left, headed by the words "Acta Sanctorum"; some important indexes for searching are over the picture and thus easily missed by new users. One of these is the database's "BHL GoTo" feature, which guides one to matter on particular saints according to the numbers and number ranges assigned in the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL; a standard inventory and finding guide for lives, etc. of the saints). The toolbar includes links to the Table of Contents, to the general contents of the database's Help file, to contextual Help varying on where one is in the database, and (document pages only) to a set of links, called "Context", to surrounding matter in the volume in which the present document occurs. Boolean searching, truncation searching, and proximity searching are all possible; details are available through the "Help Contents" pick on the toolbar. Searching by saint's name requires use of a Latin name form; to insure complete coverage you may have to use several alternate spellings as well. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Advanced Polymers Abstracts 1986-to date (updated monthly)Advanced Polymer Abstracts is a subfile of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database. It includes technical information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and thermoplastic resins; materials that compete heavily with metals for structural applications. Some of the major areas of coverage include: molding, extrusion, polymer blends, thermoplastic elastomers, and PVC. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff AESOPICA.NET: AESOP'S FABLES ONLINE Dates Vary (updates vary)This is an ongoing project to publish on the Web the Greek and Latin texts of Aesop's fables (and other "Aesopic" fables in ancient and medieval collections), together with early modern and modern English-language translations and with indexes to collections by fable number. Greek-language texts are published in Unicode; you may need to set your browser accordingly (for more information on this, see: http://www.mythfolklore.net/aesopica/greek.htm. Greek authors included thus far are Aesop (click on Chambry, whose Budé edition is used here), Aphthonius, Babrius, and "Syntipas"; ancient Latin authors included are Phaedrus and Avianus; medieval Latin authors included are Ademar, "Romulus" (Books I and II), Walter of England, and Odo of Cheriton. Also included are the 15th-century English translation by Caxton (Books I-III), the late 17th-century one by L'Estrange, 19th-century ones by Townsend and by Jacobs, and a very recent! Access: Open to everyone African American Biographical Database 1790-1950 (updated bimonthly)The AABD contains biographical profiles for African Americans taken from a series of Black Biographical Dictionaries published by Chadwyck-Healey. Most profiles are for people living between 1790 and 1950, although some newer people are included. Searches may be by name, state, occupation, religion, etc. The database is provided through BadgerLink by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. BadgerLink's information resources are available to all public, academic and special libraries, PK-12 schools, institutions of higher education and individual Wisconsin citizens with Internet access. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Africultures 1997- (updated monthly)Africultures contains a multisciplinary collection of full-text critical essays on the cultural and artistic expression of contemporary Africa. It covers sociocultural issues around the African diaspora and various arts disciplines, film studies, literature and related fields. Included are book, film, music, concert, theatre and art reviews, as well as, interviews with artists, musicians, writers and critics. It includes an international calendar of events. Each issue is focused on either a specific theme or a particular country. Access: Open to everyone AGRICOLA 1970-to date (updated quarterly)The AGRICOLA database indexes 2,500 journals, USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, FAO publications, foreign documents, conference proceedings, books, and audio-visual materials. Its subject matter covers agriculture, animal industries, animal nutrition, botany, chemistry, entomology, plant science, soil science, veterinary medicine, and water management. Approximately 10% of the citations include abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-to date (update bimonthly)Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts indexes 123 journal titles covering plant and animal biotechnological developments, new applications in food industry, and new developments in the environmental field. Topics include plant genome studies, fermentation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plant and animals, biopesticides, breeding techniques, safety tests, and biochemical applications in water treatment and industrial hygiene. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Agricultural Information Resource Centers: A World Directory Current (updates vary)This directory includes almost 4,000 agricultural libraries and documentation centers in 189 countries. The entries contain the complete address, phone number, email address, and fax number of each center; size, subjects, and language of the collections; and type of institution, type of materials collected, and services provided. It is produced by the International Association of Agricultural Information Specialists (IAALD) in cooperation with the National Information Services Corporation (NISC). Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff AGRIS 1986-to date (updated quarterly)The AGRIS database indexes English and foreign-language journals, books, reports, conference papers, and patents. Its subject matter covers agriculture, animal production, aquaticscience and fisheries, extension work, machinery and buildings, natural resources, plant production and protection, pollution, protection of stored products, and rural sociology. Approximately 10-15% of the citations include abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff AIDSLINE (see Medline)Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals 1990 to date (updated quarterly)The Air University Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items and editorials appearing in 76 English language military and aeronautical periodicals. Access: Open to everyone Alciato's Book of Emblems: The Memorial Web Edition in Latin and English 1492-(updates vary)Electronic text-and-image site devoted to a pioneering and highly influential Europeanemblem book, the Emblemata of Andrea Alciato. It includes an edition of the visual images and the Latin text from an edition of 1621, a scholarly English-language translation, commentaries on individual emblems, a title list, a table of emblems, primary and secondary bibliography, information about Alciato, and links to other sites. Also included are provisional electronic editions of Geoffrey Whitney's Choice of Emblemes (Antwerp, 1586) and of Gratiae Ludentes, or Jestes from the University (London, 1638). Access: Open to everyone Aldrich Spectral Viewer with FT-IR and FT-NMR Libraries 2001-2002 (not updated)The Aldrich Spectral Viewer is an electronic book style program for searching, viewing and printing spectra and related structure and technical data. The Spectral Viewer libraries include the FT-NMR of 15,000 compounds and the FT-IR of 11,000 compounds. The types of compounds contained in the Spectral Viewer include hydrocarbons, ketones, aldehydes, salts, amides and many others. The libraries can be used separately or in combination to create a more comprehensive search. When started, the program will display the main screen of the spectral viewer. The product displayed at startup is Butane. Access: Only available in campus libraries All that JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources Current (updates vary)All That JAS is a categorized registry of 123 Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations or other types of abbreviated publication titles (example: conference proceedings titles). Selected online public access catalogs that offer abbreviated title searching have also been included. In addition, All That JAS includes select lists and directories that provide access to the unabbreviated titles of serial publications. Access: Open to everyone AN ALPHABETICAL SUBJECT INDEX AND ENCYCLOPEDIA TO PERIODICAL ARTICLES ON RELIGION (1890-1899) (see 19th Century Masterfile: Series I)ALTERNATIVE PRESS INDEX 1991-to date (updated quarterly)The Alternative Press Index, produced by the Alternative Press Center in Baltimore, indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Ninety per cent of the publications indexed in API are unique; they are not covered in more mainstream indexes.
Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Aluminium Industry Abstracts 1972-to date (updated monthly)This database is part of the multi-database Materials Science subject area from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. It provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. The database includes information abstracted from approximately 2,300 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, and patents. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE 1964-to date (updated monthly)America: History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. Books and dissertations are included. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff America's Best Graduate Schools Current (updated continually)Contains ranking of graduate and professional schools from U.S. News and World Report. Also includes some articles on graduate schools, career choices, etc. Access: Open to everyone AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY PUBLICATIONS: JOURNALS Dates Vary (updates vary)The full-text of articles in 26 American Chemical Society journals may be searched and displayed at this site. A special feature, ASAP, (Articles as Soon as Published) offers early access to articles scheduled to appear later in the printed journals. Several ACS titles that focus on news and current events are also listed here but are not available in full text. However, table of contents can be displayed for these titles. ACS journals publish articles in every area of the chemical sciences: chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, pharmacy--to name only a few of the broad categories. Dates of coverage vary with each title, but most are available from 1996 to date. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff American Dante bibliography 1953-to date (updated annually)This database presents annotated bibliographies of Dante scholarship published annually in Dante Studies. It allows users to search bibliographies by publication year. It also provides access to an Italian Dante bibliography for the years 1988-1990. It contains links to DanteNet and related online journals. Access: Open to everyone American Film Institute Catalog 1893-1950 and 1961-1970 (not updated)The American Film Institute Catalog is a comprehensive resource for the study of American film. The searchable database contains citations to more than 14,000 films, covering 1893 through 1970, minus 1951-1960 (AFI is currently working on the fifties volume). Catalog entries give release and copyright dates; genre; information on technical processes; full credits for writing, directing, cast, production staff, production and distribution vehicles, literary and stage sources, lyricists and composers; plot summaries; production history; remakes; and censorship issues. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff American Humanities Index 1975 - to date (updated biweekly)The American Humanities Index includes more than 1,000 scholarly and creative journals published in the U.S. and Canada. It provides citations for a variety of works, including articles, essays, etchings, murals, reviews, poems, and photographs. All journals included are indexed in their entirety. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff American Journeys: Eyewitness accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement 1000 AD- 1844 AD (not updated)American Journeys contains more than 17,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Access: Open to everyone AMERICAN POETRY DATABASE Colonial Period-Early 20th Century (not updated)American Poetry Database includes the full text of poems by more than 200 influential American poets from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century. Its principal bibliographic source was the Bibliography of American Literature, Yale University Press, 1955-1991, with additional poets included in the interest of presenting a more thorough and balanced collection. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ANALYTICAL ABSTRACTS 1980-to date (updated monthly)The Analytical Abstracts database indexes 1,100 international journals each year, in addition to books, conference proceedings, standards, and technical reports in more than 20 languages. The subject matter includes analysis, biochemistry, chemicals, energy, industry, pharmaceuticals, science and technology. All citations include abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff The Ancient World Web Current (updates vary)This is a site devoted to listing non-commercial Web sites which cover all aspects of the ancient world, pre-1000 AD. Access: Open to everyone Animal Health and Production Compendium 2002 to date (updates vary)The Animal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. It has been designed primarily for problem solving and as a reference tool for practical use throughout the world. The Compendium covers several hundred topics in food-animal production (cattle, buffaloes, sheep, goats, pigs, poultry), including husbandry, housing, handling, identification, transport, behaviour, nutrition, genetics, reproduction, techniques, welfare, slaughter, meat, milk, eggs, products and legislation. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff L'AnnÉe Philologique 1969-to date (updated annually)L'Anne Philologique, the most comprehensive index to scholarly work in classical studies. Includes citations drawn from more than 1100 journals plus books and conference proceedings. Access: Open to everyone ANNO:Austrian Newspapers Online 1808-1938 (updates vary)ANNO is a growing portal to historical journals, periodicals and newspapers published in the Habsburg Monarchy and Austria. You can search this resource via the date of publication and/or the name of the newspaper. Access: Open to everyone Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) 1920-to date (updated regularly)ABELL has long been regarded as an essential bibliography of English language and literature in English. Issued in printed volumes since 1921, it is the British equivalent of the MLA Bibliography, but different enough in its coverage and the journals it indexes that the overlap is surprisingly far from complete. ABELL covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions, books reviews, collections of essays and dissertations. Subject areas covered are: English language, English literature, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world. Coverage is international and includes articles in languages other than English. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Annual Reviews Varies (updated annually)Founded in 1932, Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 disciplines (biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences). Date coverage varies, depending on when each Review began - this site includes complete coverage of all Reviews. Each Review synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. The Reviews can be browsed by topic or searched, including full text searching. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ANTE: Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering 1981-date (updated monthly)ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (formerly Current Technology Database), is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring approximately 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Abstracts are available from January 1993 to the present. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ANTHROPOLOGICAL INDEX ONLINE 1957-to date (updated quarterly)Anthropological Index Online contains citations for more than 750 international journals and special interest publications in all areas of anthropology and archaeology. In anthropology, all geographical regions are covered, with particularly strong coverage of Eastern and Central Europe. In archaeology, coverage concentrates on Eastern and Central Europe and the Soviet Union, the Americas, Africa, Asia and the Pacific; Western Europe and Classical antiquity are not covered in great detail. Citations from the 1960s are limited. Access: Open to everyone Anthropological Literature Late 19th century-to date (updated quarterly)Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in more than 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature online includes the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979). Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Applied Science Full Text 1983-to date (updated quarterly)The Applied Science Full Text covers more than 700 English language scholarly and trade journals of (which approximately 160 journals are full text) in the general fields of engineering, computers, chemistry, applied mathematics, energy, and a wide variety of applied sciences.
Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1978-to date (updated monthly)Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) indexes more than 5,000 journals, reports, conference proceedings, and books in the area of aquatic sciences. It covers the major aspects of the aquatic environment, including aquaculture, limnology, oceanography and marine environments, environmental quality, and water pollution. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ARCAT (updated semiannually)This database is the online catalog of the holdings of the Archives Division of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. The division is the official archival repository for Wisconsin state and local government records, and holds manuscripts collected from individuals, organizations, churches, businesses, and other record creators. Holdings total almost 100,000 cubic feet of correspondence, diaries, subject files, reports, minutes, recordings, and other unpublished primary research source materials; approximately 2,000,000 photographs, motion pictures, and other visual ephemera; more than 25,000 maps and atlases; and the holdings of the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research. The database includes descriptions of approximately 75% of the Archives Division's government records and manuscript collection holdings. None of the maps or atlases and only a very small percentage of the photographic and film holdings are described in the database. Access: Open to everyone ARCHIVES USA Early Historic Periods-to date (updated quarterly)Archives USA is a compilation of information about manuscript and special collections in the United States and Canada.It includes detailed subject indexing of finding aids and more general information about manuscript repositories. Included are records for more than 109,000 separate collections in 4800 repositories. Contact information for repositories is provided as well. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Aristoteles Latinus Database 500-1600 (updates vary)An ongoing electronic edition of the complete corpus of surviving late antique and medieval Latin translations of the works of the ancient Greek philosopher Aristotle. Aristoteles Latinus Database is based on but not fully identical with the older but also still ongoing printed edition, _Aristoteles latinus_ (Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving; PA3890 A2 1953); it does not contain its prefaces describing the manuscript traditions of particular translations, nor does it include its apparatus of variant readings, its Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or its bilingual indexes. There is a Help pick at the top of the search screen; use this until you become familiar with the database. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ART Full Text 1984 -to date (updated monthly)Art Full Text indexes approximately 450 key English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins (of which 117 are full text). Its subject matter covers archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts,industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and film, video and photography. Feature articles are indexed, as are bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences and exhibitions, book and film reviews, and significant editorials and letters to the editor. Reproductions are also indexed. See Art Index Retrospective for coverage of earlier journal literature. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ART INDEX RETROSPECTIVE 1929-1984 (not updated)This index is the predecessor to Art Abstracts, citing articles and reproductions from approximately 450 key English and foreign-language periodicals from 1929 through 1984. Subject matter includes broad coverage of art, architecture, graphics, crafts, decorative arts, industrial and interior design, photography, film and video. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff The Art of Books: German Decorative Trade Bindings from Collections of the University of Wisconsin-Madison 1860's-1920 (not updated)This virtual collection demonstrates types and styles of decorative bindings used on German books of the late nineteenth to early twentieth century. Also included is supporting information about trade bookbinding in Germany. All materials are drawn from the collections of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Access: Open to everyone Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance 1470-1775 (not updated)Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance is a searchable, full-text collection of leading treatises on art and architecture written between 1470 and 1775. Languages are Latin or Italian, with some English translations. First or early editions of texts have been preferred; translations, if provided, are from the period (with two exceptions from 1912-15 and 1907). Entire texts and associated images are included. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ARTBIBLIOGRAPHIES MODERN 1974-to date (updated semiannually)ABM covers the subject areas of modern and contemporary art and design and the history of photography. Artists and movements from late nineteenth century Impressionism to the present are included, with an emphasis placed on adding new and lesser-known artists. The history of photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. ABM abstracts journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Artfact 1986- (updated daily)Artfact is the "world's largest auction catalog archives of prices paid for antique, art, and collectible objects sold by the world's premier auction houses: more than six million unabridged auction catalog entries with available photos and complete research by auction house experts." The auction records provide the complete description from the auction house catalog entry, including auction title, date, and auctioneer; estimated and realized prices; provenance of objects; and research notes, among other information. The "Auction Features" includes information on auction houses, upcoming auctions, and a searchable database of auction results by auction house, date of sale, and object description. The "Fine Arts Features" includes the Artist Directory with biographical data on 50,000 U.S. and international artists as well as the Fine Art Style Guide, and Fine Art Prices, a searchable database by name of artist. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Articoli Italiani di Periodici Accademici (AIDA) 1997-2002 (updated semiannually)AIDA indexes articles from over 1,000 Italian periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. The database can be searched by keyword, author, article or journal title, subject heading (in English), editor, publisher, and holding libraries (in Italy!). Access: Only available in campus libraries The Arts Collection not static (updates vary)The Arts Collection brings together, in digital form, primary and secondary materials relating to the creative arts as broadly defined: visual, literary, musical, and performing. Although this collection is still in its infancy, future additions may include archival as well as published materials and may be drawn from a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, prints, photographs, audio and video, and more. Our first submission to the collection is the journal Arts in Society, published on the University of Wisconsin campus from 1958 to 1976. We hope and intend that this digital UW Arts Collection continues the tradition of providing informative, thought-provoking resources regarding the arts. Access: Open to everyone ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (AHCI) 1980-1989 (not updated)Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to more than 1,100 journals spanning 25 disciplines. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. See also Web of Knowledge, with AHCI coverage from 1987 onwards and remote access capability. Access: Only available in campus libraries Arts PoÉtiques @ Globe-Gate Dates Vary (updates vary)A hyperlinked collection of about 25 mostly French-language statements, manifestos, etc. about the art of literary creation or about the creation of artistic literature. The site also links to a number of French-language discussions about these and similar texts. Access: Open to everyone arXiv.org e-Print archive 1991- to date (updates weekly/daily)This is an archive of pre-print literature in physics and related disciplines: mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computation linguistics, and neuroscience. It is subdivided into broad subject categories: Physics, Mathmatics, Nonlinear sciences, and Computer Science. There are also links to related information on the Web. Access: Open to everyone ASCE CIVIL ENGINEERING DATABASE 1974-to date (updated quarterly)The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) provides access to all ASCE journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters. There are more than 80,000 bibliographic and abstracted records. Access: Open to everyone ASCE Publications (American Society of Civil Engineers) 1995-date (updates vary)The ASCE Publications Web site is an entry point for the full text of the 29 journals that ASCE publishes. Full text is provided in either PDF or GZipped PostScript. Each journal can be browsed or searched. The ASCE Civil Engineering Database is also accessable from this site. It provides access to more than 97,000 bibliographic and abstracted records with coverage back to 1972. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ASM Handbooks Online 1992-date (updates vary)ASM Handbooks Online contains the complete contents of the 20 volume ASM handbook series. Together these 20 volumes provide practical data and information about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of structural materials. The collection also includes access to the ASM desk editions; containing all the data and information from the two print volumes: Metals Handbook Desk Edition (2nd ed.) and the Engineered Materials Handbook Desk Edition. All of the text and tables from the print volumes are captured in full text and are completely searchable. All the figures are scanned images, with searchable captions. In most instances the numbering of figures, tables, equations, and references match the print volumes. Cross-referencing between volumes is enabled through hypertext links. Tables are both alpha and numerically searchable. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ASME Online Journal Gateway 2000-to date (updates vary)The ASME Online Journal Gateway is the entry point to approximately 18 journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Tables of contents for each journal are available back to 1996. Full text for each journal begins with the year 2000. Each journal can be searched individually by issue or across all issues. It is not possible to search all journals at once. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ASSIST quick search (military standards) Dates vary (updates vary)The ASSIST database, the official DoD repository, providing access to over 100,000 full text Department of Defense specifications and standards. A full text version of the Department of Defense Index of Specifications and Standards (DODISS) is included. Full text is available in PDF format for downloading free of charge. Access: Open to everyone ASSOCIATIONS UNLIMITED Current (updated semiannually)This full-text database describes more than 154,000 national, international, regional, state, and local associations. In addition to basic address listings, information is supplied on membership, publications, and conference dates. Formerly Encyclopedia of Associations. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff ATLA Religion Database 1949-to date (updated semiannually)ATLA Religion Database (formerly ATLAS) indexes more than 600 of the leading journals in the field of religion and theology. The index also includes essays from multi-author works and book reviews. ATLA recently has added full text of approximately 39 journals and will be adding about 30 more. Most of the journals will be full-text back to 1949, although some will not include the most recent 1-5 years, depending upon individual publishers. For more information on the full text journals see http://www.atla.com/products/titles/titles_atlas.html. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Augustine of Hippo 354-(updates vary)A scholarly collection of electronic editions and translations of, and commentary and bibliography on, the late Roman intellectual and eminent Christian theologian Augustine of Hippo (354-430 CE). Page maintained by J.J. O'Donnell (University of Pennsylvania), one of the leading North American advocates of humanities scholarship on the Internet. Access: Open to everyone Austrian Literature Online (ALO) 19th and early 20th centuries (updates vary)Austrian Literature Online (ALO), despite its English-language title, is a German-language site offering digitizations of nineteenth- and early twentieth-century literary and cultural works from Austria. Also included are some German-language dictionaries of Austrian provenance from the same period. Maintained by a consortium of Austrian university libraries, its texts are grouped together in subject categories called "Sammlungen" [Collections]. Choose one of these categories (those of broadest interest are Austriaca, Varia, and Periodica) and you will get listings of individual works or, in some cases, further subject groupings (e.g., "Woerterbuecher" [Dictionaries]). A special section on the Austrian women's movement of the late nineteenth- and (esp.) early twentieth-century is listed under "Sammlungen" as: "Frauen in Bewegung (Ariadne/OeNB)". Choosing a specific title ("Dokument") brings up facsimiled pages with a menu. Choosing "PDF erzeugen" from that menu gets you a very legible version of the same item in PDF format. Access: Open to everyone Autorinnen und Autoren Middle Ages to the present (updates vary)Autorinnen und Autoren ("Female Authors and Male Authors") is a gateway, maintained by the university library of Germany's Free University of Berlin, to well over 5500 Web-based biographical and other notices of German-language authors (mostly literary) and of some anonymous works. Entries include reveiws of recent books by contemporary writers, are usually in German, and are arranged under the first letter of an author's surname or, in the case of anonymous works, under the first significant word in the title. Access: Open to everyone Available Chemicals Directory Current (updates vary)The Available Chemicals Directory containins pricing and supplier information for more than a quarter of a million research grade and bulk chemicals. It also includes information on product purities, forms, grades and available quantities. ACD may be searched by: structure or substructure, chemical name or synonym, Chemical Abstracts Registry number, molecular weight, or formula. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1934-to date (updated weekly)The Avery Index is the primary architectural periodical index published in North America. It indexes a broad range of articles on architecture from such diverse fields as archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, landscape architecture, city planning, and housing. It surveys over seven hundred American and international journals, including scholarly and popular periodical literature as well as publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. The index includes selective coverage dating back to 1741. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Bacteriology Abstracts 1982-present (updated monthly)Bacteriology Abstracts indexes 429 journals studying bacteriology from its pure biochemistry and genetics aspects to its clinical and agricultural applications. It includes immunology, vaccinations, and diseases of human and animals, as well as the application, use, and effects of bacteria in agriculture, soil, and the environment. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Bayerische Staatsbibliothek-Digitale Bibliothek (The Digital Library of the Bavarian State Library) 1400's-to date (updates vary)This database is a massive digitization project of the Bavarian State Library in Munich. Collections include: incunabula (early printed books), German Parliamentary Publications, documents about the Soviet Union, and other materials. This is an ongoing project. Access: Open to everyone BEILSTEIN/GMELIN CROSSFIRE: ORGANIC AND INORGANIC/ORGANOMETALLIC CHEMISTRY 1771-to date (Beilstein is updated quarterly; Gmelin is updated semiannually)Beilstein (organic chemistry) and Gmelin (inorganic/organometallic chemistry) are separate databases searchable with the Crossfire interface. Select the appropriate database before beginning a search (note that some compounds are found in both). Both databases document the preparations, reactions and properties of chemical substances and are organized around the data for individual compounds. They are searchable in multiple ways; including chemical structure, formula, physical property parameters, chemical reaction, as well as bibliographic data. Beilstein contains a module(Autonom) that generates systematic chemical names for organic compounds from structures drawn by the user. Beilstein's content also includes pharmacological, ecotoxicological and bioactivity data. NOTE: Although access is available to licensed UW users, if you are not in a campus library you will need additional Remote Access and client distibution information. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BEST EVIDENCE 1991-to date (updated quarterly)Best Evidence is part of the Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) Reviews Database from OVID. It covers the full-text of two journals: The ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group. This database offers abstracts and commentary on important individual articles. The editors of Best Evidence create reviews of current medical research by surveying the medical literature for the articles that they define as clinically relevant and methodologically sound and by reporting their analysis in a concise, structured format. This database does not contain original research articles. Instead, it contains discussion and review of research that has been done, as well as citations to the pertinent articles. Using this source, clinicians can quickly understand and apply to their practice important changes in medical knowledge, without having to read and synthesize for themselves thousands of journal articles. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BibliografÌa de la literatura espaÑola desde 1980 1998 (updated every 3 years)The Bibliografìa de la literatura española desde 1980 includes citations of literary works, editions, translations and critical studies published in books, journals, conference proceedings, and miscellaneous publications. It covers Spanish, Latin American, and Filipino authors, and works encompassing the Medieval period to the present. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Bibliografia EspaÑola de Revistas Cientificas de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades 1999 (updated every 3 years )The Bibliografìa Española de Revistas Cientìficas de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades includes bibliographic citations emanating from specialized Spanish journals covering such areas as Latin America, education, history, law, scientific documentation, economics, geography, linguistics, literature, political science, sociology, and urban studies. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BibliografÌa General EspaÑola Siglo XV-2004 2004 (updated every 3 years )The Bibliografìa General Española Siglo XV-2004 contains more than one million Spanish-language titles published in Spain, South America, and elsewhere in the world. It covers classical and modern literature, scholarly publications, conference proceedings, legal publications, reference books, and periodicals. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Bibliographie der deutschen Sprache- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) 1985- (updates vary)The Bibliographie der deutschen Sprache- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) is a German-language periodical index and bibliography of other publications in all aspects of German language and literature. Edited at the City and University Library of Frankfurt am Main, it reports on significantly more German-language publications than do chiefly English-language literature indexes (MLA, Humanities Abstracts, etc.). Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ASIAN STUDIES 1971-to date (updated irregularly)The Bibliography of Asian Studies lists journal articles about Asia in Western language journals and books. Citations to books were discontinued in 1992. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE HISTORY OF ART (BHA) 1973-to date (updated quarterly)BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from more than 4,300 periodicals. It covers the literature of the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989, and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Biblioteca: i classici della letteratura italiana Dates Vary (updates vary)An Italian-language site featuring searchable texts (derived from older, public-domain editions) of writings by major literary authors in Italian. The site includes biographies of the authors, and is gradually adding introductions, commentaries and bibliographies on the individual literary texts. The site also includes a history of Italian literature (Appunti di Storia della Letteratura italiana --as of Feb. 2001, 19th- and 20th-century only) and a glossary into modern Italian of words from 13th- and 14th-century Italian literature. Access: Open to everyone Bibliotheca Augustana 8th century BCE-20th century CE (updates vary)An extensive and frequently updated collection of e-texts, mostly literary, in the following languages: Latin, Greek, German, English, French, Italian, Spanish. The language of the site is Latin; individual sections have chronological and author indexes. Many but not all of the texts are from superseded editions in the public domain. New additions are signalled in the "Quid novi? [What's new?]" section. Access: Open to everyone Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina Dates Vary (updates vary)The Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) contains the text (without prefaces and critical apparatus) of critical editions of Latin authors published in the well-regarded series Bibliotheca Teubneriana. This version enables scholars to search across works written from earliest times to the second century. Some post-classical texts, including works of Ausonius and of Macrobius, are also included. Two updates are planned which will extend the BTL to more than 700 texts. This will include all editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina up to and including 1997. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIOETHICSLINE (see Medline)Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-to date (updated with each new Congress)This Directory provides brief biographical information, including party affiliation, for all members of the United States Senate and House of Representatives from the Continental Congress to the present. Access: Open to everyone Biographisch-Bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon Year 0 to present (updates vary)The Bautz Biographisch-Bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon is an alphabetically arranged, German-language biographical and bibliographical dictionary of prominent figures in the history and study of the Christian church in all its branches and denominations. Coverage of Christian writers and of people who played important roles in church history is especially strong. This on-line version includes revisions and updates not found in the printed volumes of the same title. Access: Open to everyone BIOGRAPHY & GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX 1976-to date (updated annually)Citations to more than 4 million current and historical persons are included in the Biography & Genealogy Master Index. Sources include more than 1000 English-language "who's who" type publications, including biographical dictionaries, handbooks, and directories. Name, birth and death dates, and source information are included for persons in all fields. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS 1980-to date (updated quarterly)The Biological Abstracts database indexes 9,600 journals each year. The subject matter covers anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. All citations include abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS/RRM 1991-to date (updated quarterly)The Biological Abstracts/RRM database contain citations to more than 2 million international life science meetings, symposia, and workshop papers; review articles; books; book chapters; and patents. Abstracts are available only for book citations. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIOLOGICAL & AGRICULTURAL INDEX PLUS 1983-to date (updated monthly)The Biological & Agricultural Index Plus contains citations to articles, book reviews, symposia, conference papers, and selected letters to the editor in more than 290 English-language periodicals on biology and agriculture. There are also links to relevant Web sites and full-text articles from 45 journals as far back as 1994. Articles are in plain text or PDF images. Some citations also contain abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BIOMEDICAL COLLECTION (CORE PLUS)Our "core" biomedical journals no longer exist as a separate "collection." We have enabled full-text linking from Ovid's databases to almost every electronic journal that the Libraries subscribe to. Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition 1985 - present (updated daily)Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this EBSCO medical database provides over 100 full text journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed publications. It offers journals which cover virtually every area of medical study. Topics include: clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. All titles included in this database are indexed in Medline. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BioOne 2000-to date (updated monthly)BioOne aggregates the full text of high-impact bioscience research journals. It's coverage is continually expanding. Most titles in the collection are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers that had formerly been available only in print. Currently the collection contains 37 titles in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Many of the journals are official organs of member societies of the American Institute for Biological Sciences (AIBS). Coverage includes volumes from 2000 forward and as the back years grow they will remain archived electronically. BioOne includes an "inter-journal linking" feature that links citations in an article to the abstract/full text of the cited article (when that article is contained in another BioOne journal), or to websites of publishers which support CrossRef, PubMed, JSTOR and Cambridge Abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BioTech Life Science Dictionary Current (updates vary)The BioTech Life Sciences Dictionary includes more than 8300 terms that deal with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics. While not covering biological species or popular names, it does include medically and biotechnologically relevant organisms such as bacteria, worms, fungi, and some plants. Access: Open to everyone BIOTECHNOLOGY ABSTRACTS (DERWENT) 1982-to date (updated quarterly)Biotechnology Abstracts contains more than 150,000 citations and abstracts to the worldwide journal and patent literature dealing with biotechnology. Subjects include genetic and biochemical engineering, fermentation, tissue culture, plant cell culture and breeding, biological control, downstream processing, and waste disposal. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts 1982-to date (updated monthly)Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts indexes 539 journal titles covering research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering. It surveys biotechnological aspects of medicine, pharmacy, agriculture, the environment and marine biology. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Birds of North America Online 2004 (updates vary)The Birds of North America Online (BNA Online) is the most comprehensive and current reference work detailing the life histories of North American birds. The series provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. BNA Online is the online version of the monumental print work (18 volumes, 18,000 pages) which was the joint project of the American Ornithologist's Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Now, as an online project of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, BNA Online is designed to become a living resource. The species accounts will be updated frequently, with online-coordinated contributions from researchers, citizen scientists, and designated reviewers and editors. In addition, BNA Online is building image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings and more. Each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Bonner Kant-Korpus. Ergebnisse 1724- (updates vary)The Bonner Kant-Korpus is a project to make available online writings of the German philosopher Immanuel Kant according to the text of the first three sections (i.e., vols. 1-23) of the still ongoing Akademie-Ausgabe of his Schriften and including corrections and other suggested changes for a new edition. A German-language introduction to the project is available. Access: Open to everyone Book Review Digest Plus 1983 - to date (updated monthly)Book Review Digest Plus provides citation information, excerpts, or full-text for reviews of more than 500,000 fiction, nonfiction, social science and general science books. Reviews come from a base of more than 100 popular, scholarly, and specialty English-language journals, supplemented by thousands or more journals from other Wilson databases. Reviews covered are both positive and negative in nature. Master records for each book link users to multiple reviews when available. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Books in Print Current (updated weekly)Books In Print consists of bibliographic records of 3.2 million books, 330,000 videos, and 120,000 audiocassettes. It features more than 600,000 full-text reviews from twelve leading sources, including Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Library Journal and School Library Journal. BIP covers books currently in print and titles about to-be-published as far as six months in advance, as well as information on 1.3 million out of print titles. The subsections "Forthcoming Book Room," the "Children's Room" and the "Fiction Room" allow more targeted searching within each category. Author biographies and lists of bestsellers throughout the last century are also included. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Braintrack University Index Current (updates vary)Braintrack is a worldwide university index on the Internet. It contains more than 5300 links to higher educational institutions in 152 countries. Universities, polytechnics, colleges and other higher educational institutions all over the world are included. Information is retrieved using either keyword searches of the institution's name or browsing the alphabetical country list. Retrieved records link to the institution's homepage. Access: Open to everyone Brazil's Popular Groups 1987-2000 (updated monthly)Brazil's Popular Groups is a database created by the Library of Congress-Rio Office. The collection makes accessible to researchers a body of primary materials, mostly non-commercially produced and difficult to acquire and obtain, which is basic to the study of grass-roots political and social movements in Brazil. The documentation includes newsletters, house organs, reports, posters, collections of clippings, brochures, resolutions of congresses, educational manuals, independent news services, catalogs of publications and handouts. Geographically, all states of Brazil are represented in the collection. Access: Open to everyone BRITANNICA ONLINE (see Encyclopædia Britannica Online)BRITISH & IRISH ARCHAEOLOGICAL BIBLIOGRAPHY 1695-1991 (not updated)BIAB is a database focusing on the archaeology, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture--with a geographical focus on the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom. It includes citations and often abstracts to journals and other material published between 1695 and 1991. For information published after 1991, you need to use the printed British & Irish Archaeological Bibliography, available in Memorial Library Reference. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BUSINESS and INDUSTRY 1994-to date (updated monthly)Business and Industry indexes more than 900 leading trade journals and general business publications from more than 190 countries. More than 60% of the articles are full- text. The database provides information on public and private companies, industries, products, new technologies, market size, and trends. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff BUSINESS FULL TEXT 1982-to date (updated monthly)Business Full Text indexes 400 key business periodicals, including trade magazines and scholarly journals. Its subject matter covers all aspects of business, from management, production, and marketing to activities of specific businesses and trades. Feature articles are cited with abstracts, as are biographies, product reviews, obituaries, statistics, association reports, and book reviews. Full-text articles have been added beginning with 1995. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Business Source Elite 1984-to date (updated daily)Business Source Elite is a full-text database of more than 900 business journals plus an indexing and abstracting database of approximately 1570 journals. Both scholarly and popular business magazines are included. The database covers many areas of business including management, economics, finance, banking and accounting. Searches may be limited to retrieve only scholarly journals. Dates vary but many of the full text titles go back to 1990. A business directory is also included. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff CAB ABSTRACTS 1972-to date (updated quarterly)The CAB Abstracts database indexes 10,000 English and foreign-language journals, books, technical reports, theses, symposium, patents, conference proceedings, and annual reports each year. The subject matter covers agriculture, animal breeding and disease, biotechnology, dairy science, entomology, forestry, horticulture, microbiology, nutrition, plant breeding and pathology, soil science, veterinary science, and weeds. Approximately 85% of the citations include abstracts. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Canadian Music PeriodicalIndex 1890-to present (updated monthly)CMPI (Canadian Music Periodical Index) is an index to Canadian music periodical literature which provides bibliographic sources for information on all aspects of musical activity in Canada. Updated monthly, the database currently includes more than 25,000 entries indexed from 475 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines from the late nineteenth century to the present day. Access: Open to everyone CANCERLIT 1983-to date (updated monthly)Prepared by the National Cancer Institute, Cancerlit covers all aspects of experimental clinical cancer therapy presenting bibliographic records (most with abstracts). Indexed materials include articles from journals, abstracts of papers presented at professional meetings, government and technical reports, dissertations, and monographs. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff CAPLEX Current (updates vary)CAPLEX is a general encyclopedia in the Norwegian language. It contains some 64,000 brief articles, popularly written. Hypertext links to maps, photographs, related matter in the encyclopedia, and external links (including sites with current bibliographies) give this work added value. Frequently updated, this is a useful source for information on Norwegian persons, places, culture, and society. Access: Open to everyone CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index) 1907-to date (updated semiannually)CASSI contains bibliographic details for approximately 80,000 publications cited in Chemical Abstracts or the CAS databases (SciFinder Scholar) since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. CASSI provides the full title for journal abbreviations, including an English translation for non-English titles. Library holdings information submitted prior to 1998 is also included. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Catholic Encyclopedia 1907-14 EditionThis source is the electronic version of the classic Catholic Encyclopedia,published between 1907-1914. A very few articles have been updated or added, such as ones on the twentieth century Popes, but most information is from the early volumes. Access: Open to everyone Census (U.S. Agricultural Census) 1987-to date (updated in 5 year cycles)The Census of Agriculture is taken to obtain agricultural statistics for each county, state and the Nation. The census is conducted on a 5-year cycle collecting data for years ending in 2 and 7. Geographic Area Series data and Documentation are adapted from: 1997 Census of Agriculture: Geographic Area Series, Volume 1, 1A, 1B, 1C [machine-readable data file]. Access: Open to everyone CensusCD+Maps 1990 (including estimates & projections)CensusCD+Maps has demographic information down to the neighborhood level (block groups) from the most recent US 1990 Census (STF3 A,B,C and D), along with more current estimates (1998) and projections (2003). It also has estimates and projections of consumer spending at the neighborhood level. CensusCD+Maps combines this set of demographic data with statistics going back to 1969 on agriculture, banking, births & deaths, building, crime, employment, federal spending, industry earnings, local government, marriages and divorces, payrolls, personal income, retail businesses, and service businesses for every county in the US. CensusCD+Maps lets you create your own computed fields from the data and maps these on the fly. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts 1975-to date (updated monthly)This database is part of the multi-database Materials Science subject area from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. It is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Source materials include over 300 journals, conference proceedings, books, patents, standards and company product literature. All abstracts are in English. Access: Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff |