|
Biology Resources Guide >>
Resources by Subject >>
Botany
Botany
Databases
Major Directories of Links
Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and More
Instructional Resources: Images, Multimedia and
More
Pathfinders
Databases
To find journal and magazine articles, choose from the list of biology-related
databases. To find books and journals, search MadCat.
- Biological Conservation
Newsletter Bibliography Searchable directory from Smithsonian Institution's
Botany and Natural History libraries has over 15,000 references to literature
on conservation biology back to 1983.
- Flora of North America
Authoritative, up-to-date information on the names, relationships, characteristics,
and distributions of the approximately 21,000 species of plants that
grow outside of cultivation in North America north of Mexico. Advanced search of the database.
- Integrated
Taxonomic Information System "Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. "
- International Plant Names
Index " A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical
details of all seed plants. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated
reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about
plant names." From collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens,
Kew, the Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.
- Landscape Plants of
the Upper Midwest. Searchable by name and by characteristics
such as size, light requirements, color, etc. with photos, pronunciation
guides, culture and pruning techniques. From UW-Madison Horticulture's
William Hoch & UWEX.
- Plant Pathology Online
Has searchable Common
Names of Plant Diseases from American Phytopathological Society.
- Plants Database (USDA) "Focuses
on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the
U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists,
automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional
data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials
information, plant links, references, and other plant information."
- Plants
of Horticulture (Ohio State), A searchable database
of over 3,800 links to images and descriptions for hundreds of selected
ornamental plants representing 60 families including: Annuals, Bulbs,
Grasses, Groundcovers, Perennials, Shrubs, Trees, and Vines.
- WebGarden (Ohio State) Includes searchable images, and Plant Facts database of Cooperative Extension and other university fact sheets, and over 200 video clips on basic gardening.
- Wisconsin State Herbarium
Has Wisconsin Vascular Plant Species, Wisconsin Herbaria Plant Specimens,
and Wisconsin Lichens databases and Atlas of the Wisconsin Prairie and
Savanna Flora.
- W3VAST Bibliography
VAST is the plant data base, VAScular TROPICOS, at the Missouri
Botanical Garden. Contains literature based project information.
Major Directories of Links
Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and More
Instructional Resources: Images, Multimedia
and More
Pathfinders
|