University of Wisconsin Sea GrantUniversity of Wisconsin Water Resources
Wisconsin Water Resources Library home   Steenbock Memorial Library home Steenbock Memorial Library home
Steenbock Memorial Library home

UW-Madison Libraries MadCat Library Express AskWater Water Resources Library Home Steenbock Library Home

 

Guide to Finding Water-Related Information

Journal & Research Databases

Books & Background Reading

Jobs & Funding

People, Places, Organizations

Resources by Topic

Major Directories of Links

 

Hot Topics

This guide was developed for use by UW-Madison faculty, staff, and students, as well as for those not affiliated with UW-Madison. If you are not affiliated with the university, look for the Open to everyone icon, which means the resource is available free on the Web.

top

Journal & Research Databases


Water Databases / Indexes

Use these databases to find journal articles.  Many include full text of articles, but if full text is not included in the database, search for the journal title in MadCat and/or check the Electronic Journals listing. UW-Madison faculty, staff and students can use Library Express to have articles sent directly to their desktop. The cost is $2 for items available on campus, free if the item is not available locally. Read more about it.

For additional databases that may contain water-related information, see the comprehensive list of UW-Madison databases.


   Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates Licensed Databases: access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff only

If you are affiliated with UW-Madison but have trouble accessing these databases, see Help with Remote Access.

  Title About
Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Agricola, 1970-

From the U.S. National Agricultural Library, Agricola indexes 2,500 journals, USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, FAO publications, foreign documents, conference proceedings, books, and audio-visual materials. Its subject coverage includes water use and management, especially as related to agriculture, animal industries, plant science, soil science, and rural development. Approximately 10% of the citations include abstracts.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, 1978-
Includes Oceanic Abstracts, 1981- and NTIS, 1964- (which can be searched at the same time)

Indexes more than 5,000 journals, reports, conference proceedings, and books in the area of aquatic sciences. It covers the major aspects of the aquatic environment, including aquaculture, limnology, oceanography and marine environments, environmental quality, and water pollution.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Current Contents, 1993-

Indexes the world's leading scholarly research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The journals included are indexed within days of publication, and include 7,500 international journals covering all disciplines. Complete bibliographic information is provided for each article, review, letter, note and editorial listed. Searchable abstracts are available for about 75% of the documents.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Engineering Index (EI Compendex), 1884-

The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research, containing millions of references and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Coverage includes bioengineering, chemical and process engineering, agricultural engineering and food technology, applied physics, and civil engineering, as well as narrower subtopics within major engineering fields. Allows you to simultaneously access additional databases such as INSPEC, ENGnetBASE, United States patents, esp@cenet, Scirus, and daily news feeds from Lexis/Nexis.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, 1981-

Multidisciplinary database covers all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. More than 1,000 primary journal literature titles in major scientific languages are covered as well as trade literature, patents, conference proceedings, chapters in books, and reports.

Includes the following databases.  Search one or all together.

  • Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts, 1993-
  • ASFA3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality, 1990-
  • Bacteriology Abstracts (MicrobiologyB) 1982-
  • Ecology Abstracts, 1982-
  • EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, 1985-
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts, 1990-
  • Health Safety Science Abstracts, 1981-
  • Human Population & Natural Resource Management, 1995-
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A), 1982-
  • Pollution Abstracts, 1981-
  • Risk Abstracts,1990-
  • Toxicology Abstracts, 1981-
  • Water Resources Abstracts, 1967-
Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Fish & Fisheries Worldwide, 1971-

Indexes English language journals, books, conference proceedings, symposia, government reports, theses, and dissertations. Covers animal behavior, conservation, disease, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, propagation, and toxicology. Includes full-text book reviews, but there are no abstracts.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

GeoRef, 1785-

GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the earth sciences literature of the world. It contains more than 1.9 million references to literature covering North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. In addition to indexing articles from more than 3,500 serials annually, it includes conference papers and abstracts, guidebooks, maps, reports, theses and some monographs. Fewer than 10% of the references include abstracts.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

General Science Full Text, 1984-

Indexes 150 English-language popular and professional science periodicals, as well as the Science section of the New York Times. Subjects include the physical and life sciences, as well as genetics, environment and conservation, food and nutrition, and medicine and health. Feature articles are indexed, as are biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, selected letters to the editor, obituaries, and book reviews. There are abstracts beginning with 1993. Includes full-text articles from 40 journals, beginning with 1995.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

NTIS National Technical Information Service, 1964-

Describes U.S. government-sponsored research from agencies such as DOD, DOE, DOT, EPA, and NASA. Subjects include biotechnology, environment, materials science, transportation, etc. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio visual products from Federal sources.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS), 1972-

Indexes more than 900 journals in addition to books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of organizations, and other printed literature from all over the world. Covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Toxline, 1980-

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Toxline covers the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most citations include abstracts.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Water Resources Abstracts, 1967-
Included in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.

Indexes and abstracts international scientific and technical literature on water resource-related aspects of the physical, social, and life sciences.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Web of Knowledge

The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1970- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1982- ), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1982- ). It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, and includes author-supplied abstracts where available. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. This database can be searched by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited references. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.


top

    Databases available only in campus libraries or for UW Madison Students, Faculty, or Staff w/ Installed Client
  Title About

Beilstein/Gmelin CrossFire: Organic and Inorganic/Organometallic Chemistry Databases, 1800-

Beilstein (organic chemistry) and Gmelin (inorganic/organometallic chemistry) are separate databases. Both databases document the preparations, reactions and properties of chemical substances and are organized around the data for individual compounds. They are searchable by chemical structure, formula, physical property parameters, chemical reaction, as well as bibliographic data. Beilstein also includes pharmacological, ecotoxicological and bioactivity data.

Scifinder Scholar, 1907-

Covers all areas of pure and applied chemistry. The chemical information in more than 8,000 journals as well as patents, conference proceedings, government research reports, books and dissertations is indexed and abstracted. Links to citing and cited references from 1999 forward are provided. Chemical substance records contain calculated property data for many substances, as well as links to two databases providing information on commercial availability and domestic and international regulatory information. Note: Author, title and abstract searching only available for 1907-1966.


top

   Open to everyone Databases Open to everyone
  Title About
Open to everyone

Agricola

Free public version of this database from the National Agricultural Library (NAL), this site includes access to the NAL online catalog books, serials, and other resources; and the journal article citation index.  Contains much water-related information.  More about Agricola

Open to everyone

BadgerLink

Badgerlink makes over 6000 journals, newspapers and newsletters available to Wisconsin residents.  Everyone with a UW System user account can access this service.  In addition, any Wisconsin citizen can use BadgerLink from home if their Internet Service Provider has registered, or if their local public library allows access with a library card. If you are having problems accessing BadgerLink, contact BadgerLink Technical Support or your local public library.

Open to everyone

Beilstein Abstracts - ChemWeb

Database of titles and abstracts of approximately 750,000 articles from 140 journals in organic and related chemistry. The articles date from 1980 to the present. After free registration with ChemWeb, users may browse or search the database by author, title, abstract, and several modifiers.

Open to everyone

EPA Online Library System

Consists of several related databases including the EPA's National Catalog (holdings of most of the 28 EPA regional libraries), and a listing of EPA documents in NTIS as well as several special collections.

Open to everyone

Ingenta

Water-related journals are included among the thousands of  journals covered by this document delivery service.   Any one can purchase an article choosing electronic, fax or Ariel delivery. (UW affiliates should access journal articles via Library Express instead.)

Open to everyone

NAL Water Resources Databases

The National Agricultural Library's Water Quality Information Center has put together this listing of many publicly available databases.

Open to everyone

NTIS Title Search

This abbreviated version of the NTIS database can be searched by title or topic.  Includes the 450,000 NTIS products and publications issued since 1990.

Open to everyone

TOXNET

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.  Includes Toxline.


top


Newspapers, Newsletters and Electronic Journals

  Title About

Open to everyone

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many languages. There are over 1400 journals in the directory, and nearly 350 are searchable at article level.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Global Newsbank, 1996-

Global NewsBank offers varying perspectives on international issues and events. Includes full-text news articles are from more than 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. "Browse by Category" allows the user to access water-related news easily

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

LexisNexis Academic Universe

LexisNexis is a database of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. It is updated daily.

Open to everyone

NewJour

Many federal, state and local organizations as well as educational and professional organizations make their newsletters available on the Web.  NewJour includes a searchable archive listing nearly 14,000 journals and newsletters that are available electronically.

Open to everyone

Newspapers and Electronic News Sources

This web guide from the UW-Madison libraries provides detailed information about access to news sources. It covers both sources restricted to UW-Madison affiliates and sources that are open to all.

Open to everyone

Newspapers - USA and Worldwide

Links to the web sites of newspapers and news services worldwide, arranged geographically. It also includes a list of searchable newspaper archives for the U.S.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

ProQuest Newspapers

Indexes articles from more than 500 national, international and Wisconsin newspapers, and includes full text for most.

Open to everyone

UW-Madison Electronic Journals

This Web guide lists over 8,000 full-text electronic journals, magazines, newsletters and newspapers available to UW-Madison faculty, staff and students. It includes some full-text journals that are available free to all on the Internet. The list can be searched by title or keyword as well as browsed by title, subject or collection (i.e. ScienceDirect). Listings are also accessible through MadCat by title.


top

Books and Background Reading

 

Electronic Reference Books

For a more complete listing of electronic reference services available through UW-Madison Libraries, see Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and more.

  Title About
Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Basic reference book for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units, conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Encyclopędia Britannica Online

The complete encyclopedia, with more than 14,000 illustrations, including video clips, photographs, drawings, maps, and flags, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus and the Britannica Book of the Year. It provides access to the full-text articles in 150 magazines. You can also use Encyclopædia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management

One-volume guide (1998) to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Encyclopedia of Water Science

The Encyclopedia of Water Science provides instant access to the most effective procedures in agricultural water engineering-- unveiling a wide spectrum of design concepts, methodologies, and solutions for enhanced performance of water quality, treatment, conservation, and irrigation methods, as well as improved water efficiency in agricultural programs.

Open to everyone Water Science & Technology Board Publications The National Academies' Water Science and Technology Board conducts studies on all aspects of water resources, including science, engineering, economics, policy, and social concerns. The full text of their publications in .html format can be read online. Their Water Information Center makes 100 of their most pertinent reports available to developing countries for free .pdf download.
Open to everyone

Internet Citation Guides: Citing Electronic Sources in Research Papers and Bibliographies

This web guide links to many sources that offer acceptable interpretations of guidelines for citing electronic sources in several styles such as APA, CBE, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Referex Engineering

This collection of full text engineering books includes several related to environmental engineering (listed in the "Chemical, Petrochemical & Process" section).

Open to everyone

Water Measurement Manual

This guide (3rd edition, 1997; with corrections through 2003) provides water users and districts guidance in selecting, managing, inspecting, and maintaining their water measurement devices.

Open to everyone

WWWebster Dictionary (Merriam-Webster)

The online Collegiate Dictionary is based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Edition.

Open to everyone

yourDictionary.com

Links to free online dictionaries, thesauri, and glossaries in English as well as more than 120 other languages. There is also a section containing many subject dictionaries, glossaries, and lists of terms.

 

Other Books

For Books, search MadCat, the online catalog for most libraries at University of Wisconsin-Madison. Madcat includes many links to electronic resources, both restricted and open access.

Use the Basic Search tab with Subject Browse to browse terms such as water supply, hydrology, or aquatic resources. Click on a subject heading to display listings. Then go to the Sort Again By drop-down menu and choose Date (Newest First) to list them in publication date order. Use MadCat's Guided Search feature for more complex subject searching.

top

Dissertations

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

ProQuest Digital Dissertations, 1861-
Indexes doctoral dissertations in all subject areas completed at U.S. accredited institutions. A limited number of masters theses and foreign language dissertations are also included. Authors' abstracts are included for dissertations published since 1980. Full text (PDF files) of UW-Madison dissertations from 1997 forward are available to UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff free of charge. Users may purchase copies of other dissertations online, but check MadCat first to see if they are owned on campus. Free interlibrary loan may also be a possibility.

Restricted to UW-Madison affiliates

Current Research, 1892-
Current Research @ University of Wisconsin indexes all dissertations completed at UW-Madison that are in the ProQuest Digital Dissertations database. Dissertations produced after 1996 have 24-page previews, and UW-Madison students, faculty and staff can download the full text of these dissertations at no charge. Masters theses are not included. Current Research @ CIC Institutions indexes CIC dissertations completed since 1892 and provides 24-page previews and full text of dissertations produced after 1996. (CIC includes the Big Ten schools plus the University of Chicago).

Open to everyone

MadCat
MadCat, the UW-Madison Libraries' online catalog, includes records for doctoral and masters' theses completed at UW-Madison. Memorial Library is the depository for all Ph.D. dissertations submitted to the UW-Madison Graduate School as a degree requirement. Memorial Library also receives and catalogs those formal Masters theses that are required by the degree granting department to be submitted to the library. Not all departments require a formal Masters thesis of their candidates. Law School theses (S.J.D., LL.M, and M.L.I.) are included in MadCat and are available at the Law Library. Dissertations from other institutions that are owned by campus libraries are also included in Madcat. See Help with Dissertations and Theses for additional assistance locating UW-Madison theses.

Open to everyone

UMI Dissertation Services
This is the public equivalent of ProQuest Digital Dissertations. Use Dissertation Express to search for doctoral dissertations from U.S. institutions by author or title, then purchase a copy online if your library cannot supply it via interlibrary loan for you. If you need to do a more complex subject search and do not have access through a library, UMI will run your search for a $25 fee.

Open to everyone

Dissertation Database Options
This web guide provides more complete information about available dissertation indexes, including some that cover foreign dissertations.


top

Libraries with Water Information

Wisconsin's Water Library All Wisconsin residents can check out materials.  It's free and easy.

The following UW-Madison libraries have significant collections of water-related materials.

Other UW-Madison libraries with water-related materials:

Non-UW water libraries:

Trying to locate a water-related document, but not having much luck? Here are some other options:

  • UW-Madison staff, faculty and students can search to see if another UW System Library owns the item and have it delivered to the UW-Madison library of your choice. Or request the item through Library Express.  If you enjoy doing your own searching, try WorldCat and request delivery to a UW-Madison Library.  WorldCat is a catalog of nearly 40 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives/manuscripts, scores, and computer files owned by OCLC member libraries around the world.  UW-Madison faculty, staff, and students can search WorldCat to find items and make requests directly online. 
  • Businesses and people not affiliated with UW-Madison can use our paid services to request copies of journal articles. Or contact your local library (public, university or business) to place an interlibrary loan request.
  • Still have questions? Email AskWater

top

Jobs and Funding

 

Jobs

Finding a Water-Related Job
WRL's guide to job hunting on the Internet.

 

Funding Sources

top

People, Places, Organizations

 

Professional Organizations

Professional organizations are good sources for current news in the field, jobs, publications, meeting notices, etc.
For additional listings, UW-Madison affiliates can go to Associations UnlimitedOpen to everyoneEveryone can use Google to search for a particular association.

 

Wisconsin Water Experts

Wisconsin Water Resources Expertise Database
Looking for information relating to exotic species management or leaking underground storage tanks?  Search WRI's online guide for help finding an expert to answer your water-related questions.

top
 

Resources by Topic

 

U.S. and International Water Law and Programs

Thomas - Legislative Information on the Internet
Provides access to current and recent legislation, the Congressional Record, and committee information.   Legislation databases include the full text of bill summaries and texts, public laws, roll call votes, and calendars. The full text of the daily edition of the Congressional Record from the 101st to the current Congress is also available. Committee information includes the full text of House and Senate committee reports printed by GPO.

Public and Private Laws, 1995-  
A collection of laws enacted from the 104th (1995-1996) through the 108th Congress (2003-2004).

Search United States Code (GPO Access)  
Searchable version of the codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Browse United States Code (GPO Access)
Browse the general and permanent laws of the United States by title or section.

WaterLex
Database of international agreements on international water resources. Full text available for many; English abstracts.  

Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Federal Register, 1994-
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

United States Government Manual, 1995-
The official handbook of the Federal Government provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.  It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the U.S. participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

Vivisimo Search Engine
This search engine allows you to search many federal government web sites at once and groups results into meaningful subject categories for you. You can also use FirstGov (the official U.S. government Web portal) directly to search federal and state government sites simultaneously.

 

top

Wisconsin Water Law, Programs, and Resources

Wisconsin's Water Policies is a searchable database of current statutory, administrative and other policies pertaining to water.

Wisconsin Legislature web site includes links to the following:

Wisconsin.gov is the State of Wisconsin Information Server with links to all state agency Web sites. It also includes links to the web sites of counties and cities, towns, and villages.

Department of Natural Resources is the agency where most water-related programs are housed. Relevant DNR bureaus include:

Central Wisconsin Groundwater Center is a joint activity of UW Stevens Point and UW Extension. Its purpose is to help "Wisconsin citizens and governments manage the groundwater resource wisely, through education, public information, applied research, and technical assistance."

Edgewood Wingra Watershed Project
Project of Edgewood College's Department of Natural Science in cooperation with Friends of Lake Wingra connects students with the local community, using the Lake Wingra watershed as a focus.

EPA Region 5 Water supports a variety of water programs and activities in Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, and Ohio.

Great Lakes Online is part of the web site of the University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute, "a statewide program of basic and applied research, education and outreach, and technology transfer dedicated to the wise stewardship and sustainable use of Great lakes and ocean resources."

U.S. Geological Survey, Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center provides access to biological, physical, spatial, graphic, and written information relating to the Upper Mississippi River System and adjoining geographic areas.

U.S. Geological Survey, Water Resources of Wisconsin provides water data, project information, and publications related to Wisconsin.

University of Wisconsin-Extension Lakes Program, part of the Wisconsin Lakes Partnership, is a collaborative effort located at the University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point. The mission of the program is to protect Wisconsin's inland lakes for future generations.

University of Wisconsin-Extension Water Resources Programs web site provides information about water quality and natural resources education programs in Wisconsin.

University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Limnology web site includes information about Lake Mendota and other Yahara lakes, as well as links to information about northern Wisconsin Lakes.

University of Wisconsin-Madison Water Resources Institute web site includes summaries of WRI research projects on groundwater, surface water and drinking water studies in Wisconsin and other U.S. sites, as well as information about funding, conferences, and a directory of experts.

Wisconsin Groundwater Research and Monitoring Program Reports is a digital collection of the final reports of projects funded by the University of Wisconsin System and the state's Department of Natural Resources. Additional reports can be found online at http://wri.wisc.edu/wgrmp/wgrmp.htm.

 

top

Agricultural and Rural Water Use

Economic Impacts of Recreation on the Upper Mississippi River System
Summary (1994) of the first study of the UMRS to produce basin-wide estimates of the total number of recreation visitors, the activities they engaged in, the amount of money they spent on recreation, and the patterns evident in their spending. The study area includes 76 counties along the commercially navigable portions of the Mississippi, Illinois, St. Croix, Minnesota and Kawasaki rivers.

Farm*A*Shyest / Home*A*Shyest
This voluntary program"is a partnership between government and private business that enables individuals to prevent pollution on farms, ranches, and homes using confidential environmental assessments." Description of programs, some worksheets and slide shows.

Farm Inputs, Resources and Management Related to Water Quality
Site from the Water Quality Information Center at the National Agricultural Library provides links to web sites, reports, and to Arcola bibliographies on water/farm topics.

National Management Measures to Control Non point Source Pollution from Agriculture
This 2003 EPA document contains information on "the best available, economically achievable means of reducing pollution of surface and ground water from agriculture."

National Management Measures to Control Non point Source Pollution from Forestry
This 2001 EPA document provides guidance on "the best available, economically achievable means of reducing non point source pollution of surface and ground water from forestry activities."

National Survey of Fishing, Hunting and Wildlife-Associated Recreation
Presents 2001, 1996 and 1991 data "on individuals involved in fishing, hunting, and other wildlife-associated recreation."

Stream Corridor Restoration: Principles, Processes, and Practices
This 1998 document (revised in 2001) by the Federal Interagency Stream Corridor Restoration Working Group is a "common reference for people who are involved in planning, designing, and implementing stream corridor restorations." It "encourages locally led, public involvement in restoration planning and implementation."

Water Measurement Manual
This guide (3rd edition, 1997; with corrections through 2003) provides water users and districts guidance in selecting, managing, inspecting, and maintaining their water measurement devices.

 

top

Citizen Action on Water Issues

Building Conservation Organizations
Recommended books, videos and online resources from the River Alliance of Wisconsin and Wisconsin's Water Library for those who want to start an environmental organization or strengthen an existing one. Included are materials on designing a publicity campaign, building a more effective board and raising money to support your work. UW System faculty, staff, students and any Wisconsin resident may check out materials. Links are also provided for items available full text on the Web.

Building Local Partnerships: A Guide for Watershed Partnerships
Guide from the Conservation Technology Information Center, Perdue University.

Edge wood Wing ra Watershed Project
Project of the Department of Natural Science, Edge wood College, Madison, Wisconsin. The project connects students with the local community, using the Lake Wing ra watershed as a focus. The project is carried out in partnership with the Friends of Lake Wing ra.

EPA Monitoring Water Quality: Volunteer Monitoring
Description of Volunteer Monitoring, with EPA programs and fact sheets, conference information, newsletter, online discussion groups, as well as methods manuals for lake, stream, and quality assurance monitoring projects.

Farm*A*Shyest / Home*A*Shyest
This voluntary program "is a partnership between government and private business that enables individuals to prevent pollution on farms, ranches, and homes using confidential environmental assessments." Description of programs, some worksheets and slide shows.

H2OUSE Water Saver Home This site from the California Urban Water Conservation Council suggests ways to save water in and around your home. Includes a water budget calculator and garden guide.

National Directory of Volunteer Monitoring Programs
EPA's list by state of citizen monitoring programs. Includes program title, contact information, types of water bodies and monitoring, and approximate number of volunteers.

Project America Action Guide to Community Service
Handbook covers the basics of how to conduct a community service project: building a team and developing a service project, ideas for service projects, managing volunteers, forming committees, budgeting and fundraising, publicizing a project,legal issues, general volunteer and safety guidelines.

Rain Gardens Infiltrating Wisconsin
Help for homeowners and businesses that want to reduce polluted runoff by planting a specialized garden. Includes how-to manual, native plants lists, articles and materials for kids.

Stream Corridor Restoration: Principles, Processes, and Practices
This 1998 document (revised in 2001) by the Federal Interagency Stream Corridor Restoration Working Group is a "common reference for people who are involved in planning, designing, and implementing stream corridor restorations." It "encourages locally led, public involvement in restoration planning and implementation."

Water Action Volunteers (WAV)
"A state-wide program for citizens who want to learn about and improve the quality of Wisconsin's waterways." WAV directory has water quality contacts & resources throughout Wisconsin.

WaterWiser - The Water Efficiency Clearinghouse
Site has extensive water efficiency and water conservation information and links, developed as a cooperative project of the American Water Works Association and the EPA. Reference section has searchable database covering topics such as Commercial Water Conservation, Residential Water Conservation, Landscaping and Water Conservation, and Xeriscaping. Articles identified can be ordered from them or obtained through your library.

 

top

Water-Related Materials for K-12 Education

Edgewood Watershed Education Connection
Site for teachers, students, and the general public interested in furthering their knowledge of watersheds and education.

Educating Young People About Water
Site includes guides and a database of over 150 water curricula to "provide assistance for developing a community-based, youth water education program." Database is searchable by subject or grade level. Compiled by the ERIC Clearinghouse. Contains order information for each curriculum.

Give Water a Hand
Water education training materials for the national Give Water a Hand project. Includes a Leader Guide which has step by step guidelines for helping youth groups or classes (ages 9-14) make a difference in their communities and environment, as well as an accompanying Action Guide, available in English and Spanish.

Project WET
Wisconsin's Project WET (Water Education for Teachers) offers workshops for K-12 educators who want to teach water education. Training uses the Project WET "Curriculum and Activity Guide", a collection of water-related, fun, hands-on, and easy-to-use activities.

Water for Kids
EPA site with projects, art, experiments and educational materials to involve kids and students with water-related environmental protection. "Environmental Kids' Sites" section also includes material for teachers.

Water Science for Schools
Site from U.S. Geological Survey offers "information on many aspects of water, along with pictures, data, maps, and an interactive center where you can give opinions and test your water knowledge."

Water Wise Kids: A Growing Solution to Water Pollution
Suggestions from the Rodale Institute to help teachers "invite kids to respect rain, ponder puddles, and build healthy gardens to filter filth!"

 

top

Discussion Lists

Water Resources Discussion Lists
This guide is maintained by Joseph R. Makuch of the National Agricultural Library's Water Quality Information Center.  It is a frequently updated listing of electronic discussion lists that are primarily concerned with water resources topics. It does not include the many other environmentally oriented lists that sometimes address water resource issues.

 

Wisconsin Graduate Water Programs

Graduate Water Programs in Wisconsin
WRI's guide to graduate degrees offered by UW-System campuses and Marquette University

 

top

Major Directories of Links

These sites have many links to additional sources of water-related information.   In addition, the Web sites of professional organizations usually have many links to further information.

USGS Water Resources
The United States Geological Survey (USGS) Water Resources Division is the first place to look for online water data.  NWISWeb contains selected water-resources data for approximately 1.5 million sites across the United States, selected territories and border locations, from 1857 to present. Site also provides water quality, water use, acid rain, and other types of water data as well as program information, full-text publications, links to state USGS programs and other sources of information.

Open to everyone

Great Lakes Information Network (GLIN)
GLIN offers an abundance of data and information about the Great Lakes region's environment, economy, tourism, education and more. Plus, this well-organized and easy-to-use site provides many links to additional sources of reliable information.

Open to everyone

NAL Water Quality Information Center
The National Agricultural Library's (NAL) Water Quality Information Center Web site emphasizes water quality and agriculture.  Examples of water quality information available include bibliographies, announcements of  upcoming meetings, a listing of Internet discussion groups covering water issues, water-related databases, and annotated links to other Internet sites providing water quality information.

Open to everyone

US EPA Office of Water
The Office of Water Web site provides EPA program information, water laws and regulations, links to regional offices, online publications, training information and a database of Environmental Web sites.

US Fish and Wildlife Service
Information about US Fish and Wildlife Service programs, but also has many links to other sites particularly for Wetlands and Invasive Species.

top

Hot Topics

 

Arsenic in Groundwater

Wisconsin's Arsenic in Drinking Water & Groundwater Information Page
General information, maps, a database, articles and links to other sources of information

 

Blue-Green Algae

Blue-Green Algae: Get the Facts ... , Wisconsin DNR

Blue-Green Algae In Wisconsin Waters: Frequently Asked Questions, Wisconsin DNR

Cyanosite, a Webserver for Cyanobacterial Research, Purdue University

Fact Sheet on Toxic Blue-green Algae, Purdue University

Frequently Asked Questions on Cylindrospermopsis..., Indiana DNR

Toxic Algae can Spell Danger for Pets and Livestock, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

 

Groundwater Quantity

Wisconsin Groundwater Coordinating Council (GCC) Groundwater Quantity Resources
List of reports and electronic documents related to groundwater quantity

 

Nonpoint Pollution

Best Nonpoint Source Documents
EPA listing of "some of the best nonpoint source materials that we are aware of for both professionals and the public" available on the internet, from governmental and nongovernmental sources.

Polluted Runoff (Nonpoint Source Pollution)
EPA web site includes Information on all types of nonpoint source pollution including urban, wetlands/riparian, forestry, agriculture, etc. Includes links to many full text EPA documents.

Pollution Prevention in the Great Lakes Region
Recommended resources, cleanup programs, and databases on pollution prevention. Also includes a searchable and browseable archive of the P2TECH e-mail listserve for pollution prevention technical assistance providers

Rain Gardens Infiltrating Wisconsin
Help for homeowners and businesses that want to reduce polluted runoff by planting a specialized garden. Includes how-to manual, native plants lists, articles and materials for kids.

 

Wisconsin's Great Lakes Shipwrecks

Wisconsin's Great Lakes Shipwrecks
This great site includes photos, maps, videos, historical information, and information for divers.
It is a partnership of the Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute.

 

Zebra Mussels & Other Nonindigenous Species

GLIN Invasive Species in the Great Lakes Region
More than 45 exotic species have been introduced into the Great Lakes in the 30 years since the opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway. The Great Lakes Information Network provides a nontechnical overview of the species, the causes, educational resources, laws, publications, etc.

Invasivespecies.gov
Created and maintained by the National Agricultural Library, this site is an all-inclusive gateway to Federal and State invasive species activities and programs.

Sea Grant Nonindigenous Species (SGNIS)
SGNIS is an online national information center of research publications and education materials produced by Sea Grant programs and other research institutions on zebra mussels and other aquatic nuisance species. Many of the publications are available online.

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Aquatic Invasive Species
Comprehensive informational resource about the non-native plants and animals threatening Wisconsin's waters also includes downloadable publications and information about DNR and other programs to prevent the introduction and spread of aquatic nuisance species.

Zebra Mussel Watch
This UW Sea Grant site is a resource for identifying, reporting and preventing the spread of zebra mussels.


Created, compiled and maintained by JoAnn Savoy and Beverly Phillips.
Last updated September 20, 2006 by Beverly


top

UW-Madison Libraries MadCat Library Express AskWater Water Resources Library Home Steenbock Library Home



All contents copyrighted by the University of Wisconsin Water Resources Institute, Steenbock Memorial Library, and the UW Board of Regents.