|
RELIGION IN SOUTH ASIA
A Selected Bibliography Reference and Bibliographic Resources South Asia Guide Back to Introduction
|
Comparative South Asian Religions: Reference Works and Journals |
top of page |
Bunce, F.W. A Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu Iconography, Illustrated: Objects, Devices, Rites,and Related Terms. New Delhi: D.K. Printworld, 1997.
Eliade, Mircea, ed. Encyclopedia of Religion. New York: Macmillan, 1987.
Falk, Nancy Auer. Women and Religion in India: An Annotated Bibliography of Sources in English. Kalamazoo: Western Michigan University, 1994.
Fenton, John Y. South Asian Religions in the Americas: An Annotated Bibliography of Immigrant Religious Traditions. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1995.
Fischer-Schreiber, Ingrid et. al. The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen. Boston: Shambhala, 1994.
Historical Dictionary Series (Lanham, MD; Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press) Note: This Series varies by volume in quality and reliability, but does provide extensive bibliographies.
Historical Dictionary of Bangladesh. / Craig Baxter and Syedur Rahman. 1989.
Historical Dictionary of India. / Surjit Mansingh. 1996.
Historical Dictionary of Sri Lanka / Samarasinghe, S.W.R. de.A. and Vidyamali Samarasinghe. 1998.
Historical Dictionary of Pakistan. / Shahid Javed Burki. 1991.
Johnson, Gordon. Cultural Atlas of India: India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka. New York: Facts on File, 1996.
Knappert, Jan. Indian Mythology: An Encyclopedia of Myth and Legend. London: Aquarian, 1991.
Liebert, Gosta. Iconographic Dictionary of the Indian Religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1976.
Nelson, David N., comp. Bibliography of South Asia. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994.
Patterson, Maureen L.P. South Asian Civilizations: A Bibliographical Synthesis. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981.
Robinson, Francis, ed. Cambridge Encylopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1989.
World Bibliographical Series. Oxford; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Press. Note: Offers highly reliable selected and annotated bibliographies.
Bhutan/Ramesh C. Dogra, comp. 1990.
India/ Ian D. Derbyshire, comp. Rev. ed., 1995.
Nepal/ John Whelpton, comp.; with Lucette Boulnois, et al. 1990.
Pakistan/ David Taylor, comp. 1990.
Punjab/ Darshan Singh Tatla and Ian Talbot, comps. 1995.
Sri Lanka/Vijaya Samaraweera, comp. 1987.
Tibet/John Pinfold, comp. 1991.
| Journals | top of page |
Artibus Asiae. Ascona, 1925-
Arts of Asia. Hong Kong, 1971-
The Journal of Asian Studies. Ann Arbor, MI: Association for Asian Studies. 1956-
Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland. London: Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain & Ireland. 1834-
Modern Asian Studies. London: Cambridge University Press. 1967-
Comparative South Asian Religions: Doctrine and Tradition |
top of page |
Amore, Roy C. and Larry D. Shinn. Lustful Maidens and Ascetic Kings: Buddhist and Hindu Stories of Life. New York: Oxford University Press, 1981.
Buitenen, J.A.B. van. Tales of Ancient India. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1959.
Coomaraswamy, Ananda K., and Sister Nivedita (Margaret E. Noble). Myths of the Hindus & Buddhists. New York: Dover, 1967.
De Bary, William T., ed. Sources of Indian Tradition. 2nd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 1988.
Lopez, Donald S., Jr., ed. Religions of India in Practice. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1995.
Comparative South Asian Religions: History and Contemporary |
top of page |
Babb, Lawrence A., and Susan S. Wadley, eds. Media and the Transformation of Religion in South Asia. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1995.
Baird, Robert D., ed. Religion in Modern India. 2nd ed. New Delhi: Manohar, 1989.
Bayly, Susan. Saints, Goddesses, and Kings: Muslims and Christians in South India Society, 1700-1900. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1989.
Burghart, Richard, and Audrey Cantlie, eds. Indian Religion. London: Curzon; New York: St. Martin, 1985.
Embree, Ainslie T. Utopias in Conflict: Religion and Nationalism in Modern India. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1990.
Gopal, Sarvepalli, ed. Anatomy of a Confrontation: The Rise of Communal Politics in India. London: Zed Books, 1993.
Hedayetullah, Muhammad. Kabir, the Apostle of Hindu-Muslim Unity: Interaction of Hindu-Muslim Ideas in the Formation of the Bhakti Movement. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1977.
Jones, Kenneth W. Socio-Religious Reform Movements in British India. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1989.
Kakar, Sudhir. The Colors of Violence: Cultural Identities, Religion, and Conflict. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
Lamb, Alistair. Kashmir: A Disputed Legacy, 1946-1990. Hertingfordbury, UK: Roxbury, 1991.
Lorenzen, David N., ed. Bhakti Religion in North India: Community Identity and Political Action. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1995.
Madan, T. N., ed. Religion in India. New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Oddie, G.A., ed. Religion in South Asia: Religious Conversion and Revival Movements in South Asia in Medieval and Modern Times. 2nd ed. New Delhi: Manohar, 1991.
---. Religious Conversion Movements in South Asia: Continuities and Change, 1800-1900. Richmond, Surrey: Curzon, 1997.
---. Hindu and Christian in South-East India. London: Curzon; Wellesley Hills, MA: Riverdale, 1991.
Tambiah, Stanley Jeyaraja. Leveling Crowds: Ethnonationalist Conflicts and Collective Violence in South Asia. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.
Vaudville, Charlotte. Kabir. Oxford: Clarendon, 1974.
Veer, Peter van der. Religious Nationalism: Hindus and Muslims in India. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1994.
Wilson, A. Jeyaratnam. The Break-up of Sri Lanka: The Sinhalese-Tamil Conflict. London: Hurst; Hyderabad: Orient Longman, 1988.
Comparative South Asian Religions: The Arts |
top of page |
Bhattacharyya, Benoytosh. The Indian Buddhist Iconography. Reprint. New Delhi: Asian Educational Services, 1993.
Brown, Percy. Indian Architecture. 3rd ed. Bombay: Taraporevala, 1956.
Coomaraswamy, Ananda K. The Door in the Sky: Coomaraswamy on Myth and Meaning. Ed. Rama P. Coomaraswamy. Princton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1997.
---. Essays in Architectural Theory. Ed. Michael W. Meister. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1995.
---. History of Indian and Indonesian Art. New York: Dover, 1985.
---. The Transformation of Nature in Art. Ed. Kapila Vatsyayan. New Delhi: Sterling, 1995.
Craven, Roy C. Indian Art: A Concise History. Rev. ed. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1997.
Harle, James C. The Art and Architecture of the Indian Subcontinent. Harmondsworth, UK: Penguin, 1986.
Huntington, Susan L., with John C. Huntington. Art of Ancient India: Buddhist, Hindu, Jain. New York: Weatherhill, 1985.
Hutt, Michael, et. al. Nepal: A Guide to the Art and Architecture of the Kathmandu Valley. Gartmore: Kiscadale, 1994.
Jayakur, Pupul. The Earthen Drum: An Introduction to the Ritual Arts of Rural India. New Delhi: National Museum, 1980.
Kramrisch, Stella. The Art of India. 3rd ed. London: Phaidon, 1965.
---. Exploring India's Sacred Art; Selected Writings of Stella Kramrisch. Ed. Barbara Stoler Miller. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1983.
---. Indian Sculpture. Reprint. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1981.
Pal, Pratapaditya. The Arts of Nepal. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1974.
---. Nepal: Where the Gods are Young. New York: Asia Society, 1975.
Rowland, Benjamin. The Art and Architecture of India; Buddhist, Hindu, Jain. Harmondsworth, UK: Penguin, 1970.
Spink, Walter. Ajanta to Ellora. Bombay: Marg, 1967.