Buddha. Photo by Julie Gutmanis. RELIGION IN SOUTH ASIA
A Selected Bibliography
Reference and Bibliographic Resources
South Asia Guide

Back to Introduction

Buddhism Christianity Hinduism Islam Comparative
Religions
Jainism Judaism Sikhism Zoroastrianism


BUDDHISM IN SOUTH ASIA

Reference  | Journals  | Surveys  | Doctrine and Tradition  | Texts in Translation and Textual Studies
History  | Contemporary  | Important Figures
The Arts  | Related Traditions  
 

Buddhism: Reference Works and Journals

top of page

Akanuma, Chizen. A Dictionary of Buddhist Proper Names. Delhi: Sri Satguru, 1994.

Bunce, F.W. An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints and Demons with Special Focus on Iconographic Attributes. New Delhi: D.K. Printworld, 1994.

Humphreys, Christmas. A Popular Dictionary of Buddhism. New York: Citadel, 1963.

Khetsun Sangpo. Biographical Dictionary of Tibet and Tibetan Buddhism. Dharamsala: Library of Tibetan Works and Archives, 1973.

Krishna, Murty K. Dictionary of Buddhist Literature and Literary Personalities. Delhi: Sundeep Prakashan, 1994.

Ling, T.O. A Dictionary of Buddhism. New York: Scribner, 1972.

Malalasekera, G.P., ed. Encyclopaedia of Buddhism. Colombo: Government of Ceylon, 1961-
(A-Kasyapiya owned)

Nyanatiloka. Buddhist Dictionary: Manual of Buddhist Terms and Doctrines. 3rd ed. Colombo: Frewin, 1972.

Prebish, Charles S. Historical Dictionary of Buddhism. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993.

Schuhmacher, Stephan, and Gert Woerner, eds. The Shambhala Dictionary of Buddhism and Zen. Boston: Shambhala, 1991.

Journals top of page

The Buddhist Forum. London: School of Oriental and African Studies, 1990-

Buddhist Himalaya: Journal of the Nagarjuna Institute of Exact Method. Kathmandu: The Institute, 1988-

Buddhist Studies. New Delhi: University of Delhi, 1974-

Bulletin of Tibetology. Gangtok, Sikkim: Namgyal Institute of Tibetology, 1964-

Himalayan Research Bulletin. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University, 1981-

Himalayan Journal. Oxford. 1959-

The Indian Journal of Buddhist Studies. Varanasi: Tara Book Agency, 1989-

Journal of the Pali Text Society. London: The Society, 1981-

Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies. Madison,WI. 1978-

Kailash: A Journal of Himalayan Studies. Kathmandu: Nepal Ratna Pustak Bhandar, 1973-

Tibet Journal. Dharamsala, India: Library of Tibetan Works & Archives, 1975-

Tibetan Review. New Delhi: D.T. Norbu, 1968-

 

Buddhism: Surveys

top of page

Batchelor, Stephen, ed. The Jewel in the Lotus: A Guide to the Buddhist Traditions of Tibet. London: Wisdom, 1986.

Beyer, Stephan V. The Buddhist Experience: Sources and Interpretations. Encino, CA: Dickenson, 1974.

Collins, Steven. Selfless Persons: Imagery and Thought in Theravada Buddhism. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1982.

Conze, Edward. Buddhism; its Essence and Development. New York: Harper & Row, 1965.

Dutt, Nalinaksha. Aspects of Mahayana Buddhism and its Relation to Hinayana. London: Luzac, 1930.

Guenther, Herbert V. Buddhist Philosophy in Theory and Practice. Baltimore: Penguin, 1972.

Gyatso, Tenzin. H.H. the Fourteenth Dalai Lama. Buddhism of Tibet. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion, 1987.

---. Kindness, Clarity and Insight. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion, 1984.

---. Opening the Eye of New Awareness. London: Wisdom, 1985.

Harvey, B. Peter. An Introduction to Buddhism: Teachings, History and Practices. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1990.

Hoffman, Frank J., and Deegalle Mahinda. Pali Buddhism. Richmond, Surrey: Curzon, 1996.

Hopkins, Jeffrey. The Tantric Distinction: An Introduction to Tibetan Buddhism. London: Wisdom, 1984.

Kelsang Gyatso, Geshe. Buddhism in the Tibetan Tradition: A Guide. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1984.

Powers, John. Introduction to Tibetan Buddhism. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion, 1994.

Reynolds, Frank E. et al. Guide to Buddhist Religion. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981.

Samuel, Geoffrey. Civilized Shamans: Buddhism in Tibetan Societies. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1993.

Stein, R.A. Tibetan Civilization. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1972.

Tucci, Giuseppe. The Religions of Tibet. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1980.

Williams, Paul. Mahayana Buddhism: The Doctrinal Foundations. London: Routledge, 1989.

 

Buddhism: Doctrine and Tradition

top of page

Beyer, Stephan V. The Cult of Tara: Magic and Ritual in Tibet. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1973.

Cozort, Daniel. Highest Yoga Tantra: An Introduction to Esoteric Buddhism of Tibet. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion, 1986.

Dasgupta, Shashi Bhusan. An Introduction to Tantric Buddhism. 3rd ed. Calcutta: University of Calcutta, 1974.

King, Winston Lee. Theravada Meditation: The Buddhist Transformation of Yoga. University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 1980.

Mullin, Glenn H. Death and Dying: The Tibetan Tradition. East Grinstead, W. Sussex: New Knowledge Books, 1986.

Rao, S. K. Ramachandra. Tibetan Meditation: Theory and Practice. New Delhi: Arnold-Heinemann, 1979.

 

Buddhism: Texts in Translation and Textual Studies

top of page

Allen, George Francis. The Buddha's Philosophy. New York: Macmillan, 1959.

Barua, Dipak Kumar. An Analytical Study of Four Nikayas. Calcutta: Rabindra Bharati University, 1971

Bhuddagosa. The Path of Purification. Colombo: R. Semage, 1956.

Bond, George D. The Word of the Buddha: The Tipitaka and Its Interpretations in Theravada Buddhism. Colombo: Gunasena, 1982.

Bullis, Douglas, trans. The Mahavamsa: The Great Chronicle of Sri Lanka. Fremont, CA: Asian Humanities Press, 1999.

Chang, Garma C. C., trans. The Hundred Thousand Songs of Milarepa. New Hyde Park, NY: University Books, 1962.

Cone, Margaret, and Richard F. Gombrich, trans. The Perfect Generosity of Prince Vessantara: A Buddhist Epic. Oxford: Clarendon, 1977.

Conze, Edward, trans. Buddhist Wisdom Books: Containing the Diamond Sutra and the Heart Sutra. New York: Harper & Row, 1972.

Cowell, E.B., ed. The Jataka. London: Luzac, 1957.

Dhondup, K., trans. Songs of the Sixth Dalai Lama. Dharamsala: Library of Tibetan Works and Archives, 1981.

Evans-Wentz, W.Y., ed. The Tibetan Book of the Dead. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1960.

---. Tibetan Yoga and Secret Doctrines. 2nd ed. London: Oxford University Press, 1958.

Guenther, Herbert V. Philosophy and Psychology in the Abhidharma. 3rd ed. Berkeley, CA: Shambhala, 1976.

Hinuber, O. von., and K.R. Norman, eds. Dhammapada. Oxford: Pali Text Society, 1994.

Hopkins, Jeffrey, trans.and ed, et. al. Compassion in Tibetan Buddhism/Tsong-ka-pa. Valois, NY: Snow Lion, 1980.

---. Tantra in Tibet: The Great Exposition of the Secret Mantra/Tsong-ka-pa. London: G. Allen & Unwin, 1977.

---. Yoga in Tibet: The Great Exposition of the Secret Mantra, 2 and 3. London: G. Allen & Unwin, 1981.

Karmay, Samten Gyaltsen. Secret Visions of the Fifth Dalai Lama: The Gold Manuscript in the Fournier Collection. London: Serindia, 1988.

Khoroche, Peter, ed. Once the Buddha was a Monkey: Arya Surya's Jatakamala. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1989.

Lopez, Donald S. Jr., ed. Religions of Tibet in Practice. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1997.

---. Elaborations on Emptiness: Uses of the Heart Sutra. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1996.

Maurice, David, ed. The Lion's Roar; an Anthology of the Buddha's Teachings Selected from the Pali Canon. London: Rider & Co., 1962.

Mullin, Glenn H., trans. Path of the Bodhisattva Warrior: The Teachings of the Thirteenth Dalai Lama. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion, 1988.

Nyanatiloka. Guide through the Abhidamma-pitaka. 2nd ed. Colombo: Bauddha Sahitya Sabha, 1957.

Nyanatiloka, trans. The Word of the Buddha: An Outline of the Teaching of the Buddha in the Words of the Pali Canon. 14th ed. Kandy: Buddhist Publication Society, 1968.

Obeyesekere, Ranjini, trans. Jewels of the Doctrine: Stories of the Saddharma Ratnavaliya. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1991.

Patrul Rinpoche. Words of My Perfect Teacher. San Francisco: HarperCollins, 1994.

Radhakrishnan, S., trans. The Dhammapada. London: Oxford University Press, 1966.

Roerich, George, trans. Blue Annals. 2nd ed. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1976.

Sopa, Geshe Lhundup, and Jeffrey Hopkins. Practice and Theory of Tibetan Buddhism. New York: Grove, 1976.

Thurman, Robert A.F. The Tibetan Book of the Dead: Liberation Through Understanding in the Between. New York: Bantam Books, 1994.

Thondup, Tulku Rinpoche. Buddha Mind: An Anthology of Longchen Rabjam's Writings on Dzogpa Chenpo. Ithaca, NY: Snow Lion, 1989.

Willson, Martin. In Praise of Tara: Songs of the Saviouress. London: Wisdom, 1986.

 

Buddhism: History

top of page

Adikaram, E.W. Early History of Buddhism in Ceylon. 2nd ed. Colombo: Gunasena, 1953.

Aris, Michael. Bhutan, the Early History of a Himalayan Kingdom. Warminster, UK: Aris & Phillips, 1978.

---. Raven Crown: The Origins of Buddhist Monarchy in Bhutan. London: Serindia, 1994.

Chakravarti, Uma. The Social Dimensions of Early Buddhism. New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1987.

Dutt, Sukumar. Buddhist Monks and Monasteries of India. London: G. Allen & Unwin, 1962.

Gombrich, Richard F. How Buddhism Began: The Conditioned Genesis of the Early Teachings. London: Athlone, 1996.

---. Theravada Buddhism: A Social History from Ancient Benares to Modern Colombo. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1988.

Hazra, Kanai Lal. History of Theravada Buddhism in South-East Asia: With Special Reference to India and Ceylon. New Delhi: Munshiram Manoharlal, 1982.

Hirakawa, Akira. A History of Indian Buddhism: From Sakyamuni to Early Mahayana. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1990.

Holt, John Clifford. The Religious World of Kirti Sri: Buddhism, Art, and Politics in Late Medieval Sri Lanka. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.

Joshi, Lal Mani. Studies in the Buddhistic Culture of India, During the 7th and 8th Centuries A.D. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1967.

Malalgoda, K. Buddhism in Sinhalese Society, 1750-1900. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1976.

Narain, A.K. Studies in History of Buddhism. Delhi: B.R. Pub. Corp., 1980.

Rahula, Walpola. History of Buddhism in Ceylon. Colombo: Gunasena, 1956.

---. What the Buddha Taught. Rev ed. New York: Grove, 1974.

Ray, Reginald A. Buddhist Saints in India: A Study in Buddhist Values and Orientations. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.

Robinson, Richard H., and Willard Johnson. The Buddhist Religion: A Historical Introduction. 3rd ed. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, 1982.

Sarao, K.T.S., ed. A Textbook of the History of Theravada Buddhism. Delhi: University of Delhi, 1995.

Seneviratne, H. L. Rituals of the Kandyan State. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1978.

Skilton, Andrew. A Concise History of Buddhism. Birmingham: Windhorse, 1994.

Snellgrove, David L. Indo-Tibetan Buddhism: Indian Buddhists and their Tibetan Successors. Boston: Shambhala, 1987.

Snellgrove, David, and Hugh Richardson. A Cultural History of Tibet. New York: F.A. Praeger, 1968.

Warder, Anthony Kennedy. Indian Buddhism. 2nd ed. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1980.

 

Buddhism: Contemporary

top of page

Adams, Vincanne. Tigers of the Snow and Other Virtual Sherpas: An Ethnography of Himalayan Encounters. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1996.

Ahir, D.C. Buddhism in Modern India. Delhi: Sri Satguru, 1991.

Bartholomeusz, Tessa J. Women Under the Bo Tree: Buddhist Nuns in Sri Lanka. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994.

Bartholomeusz, Tessa J., and Chandra de Silva, eds. Buddhist Fundamentalism and Minority Identities in Sri Lanka. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1998.

Bond, George. The Buddhist Revival in Sri Lanka: Religious Tradition, Reinterpretion, and Response. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press, 1988.

Bechert, H. and Richard F. Gombrich, eds. The World of Buddhism: Buddhist Monks and Nuns in Society and Culture. London: Thames and Hudson, 1984.

Carrithers, Michael. The Forest Monks of Sri Lanka: An Anthropological and Historical Study. New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1983

Carter, John Ross. On Understanding Buddhists: Essays on Theravada Tradition in Sri Lanka. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1993.

Crook, John Hurrell, and James Low. The Yogins of Ladakh: A Pilgrimage among the Hermits of the Buddhist Himalayas. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1997.

Dharmadasa, K.N.D. Language, Religion, and Ethnic Assertiveness: The Growth of Sinhalese Nationalism in Sri Lanka. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1992.

Ekvall, Robert B. Religious Observances in Tibet: Patterns and Function. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964.

Gellner, David N. Monk, Householder, and Tantric Priest: Newar Buddhism and its Hierarchy of Ritual. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.

Gellner, David N., and Declan Quigley, eds. Contested Hierarchies: Collaborative Ethnography of Caste among the Newars of the Kathmandu Valley, Nepal. Oxford: Clarendon; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

Goldstein, Melvyn C. The Snow Lion and the Dragon: China, Tibet, and the Dalai Lama. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997.

Goldstein, Melvyn C., and Cynthia M. Beall. Nomads of Western Tibet: The Survival of a Way of Life. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1990.

Goldstein, Melvyn C., and Matthew T. Kapstein, eds. Buddhism in Contemporary Tibet: Religious Revival and Cultural Identity. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1998.

Gombrich, Richard F. Buddhist Precept and Practice: Traditional Buddhism in the Rural Highlands of Ceylon. 2nd ed. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass,1991.

Gombrich, Richard, and Gananath Obeyesekere. Buddhism Transformed: Religious Change in Sri Lanka. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1988.

Harrer, Heinrich. Seven Years in Tibet. New York: Dutton, 1954.

Holt, John Clifford. Buddha in the Crown: Avalokitsevara in the Buddhist Tradition of Sri Lanka. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.

Locke, John Kerr. Karunamaya: The Cult of Avalokitesvara-Matsyendranath in the Valley of Nepal. Kathmandu: Sahayogi, 1980.

---. Buddhist Monasteries of Nepal: A Survey of the Bahas and the Bahis of the Kathmandu Valley. Kathmandu: Sahayogi, 1985.

Lopez, Donald S., Jr. Prisoners of Shangri-La: Tibetan Buddhism and the West. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1998.

Obeyesekere, Gananath. The Cult of the Goddess Pattini. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1984.

Obeyesekere, Gananath, Frank Reynolds, and Bardwell L. Smith, eds. The Two Wheels of Dhamma; Essays on the Theravada Tradition in India and Ceylon. Chambersburg, PA: American Academy of Religion, 1972.

Ortner, Sherry B. Sherpas through their Rituals. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1978.

---. High Religion: A Cultural and Political History of Sherpa Buddhism. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1989.

Pilchik, Terry. Jai Bhim! Dispatches from the Peaceful Revolution. Glasgow: Windhorse; Berkeley, CA: Parallax, 1988.

Richardson, Hugh. Ceremonies of the Lhasa Year. London: Serindia, 1993.

Richman, Paula. Women, Branch Stories, and Religious Rhetoric in a Tamil Buddhist Text. Syracuse: Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University, 1988.

Skorupski, T., ed. The Buddhist Heritage. Tring, UK: The Institute of Buddhist Studies, 1989.

Snellgrove, David L. and Tadeusz Skorupski. The Cultural Heritage of Ladakh. Warminster, UK: Aris & Phillips, 1977.

Southwald, M. Buddhism in Life: The Anthropological Study of Religion and the Sinhalese Practice of Buddhism. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1983.

Tambiah, Stanley Jeyaraja. Buddhism Betrayed? Religion, Politics and Violence in Sri Lanka. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1992.

Trainor, Kevin. Relics, Ritual, and Representation in Buddhism: Rematerializing the Sri Lankan Theravada Tradition. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1997.

Vaidya, Karuna Kar. Buddhist Traditions and Cultures of the Kathmandu Valley, Nepal. Kathmandu: Shajha Prakashan, 1986.

Zelliot, Eleanor. From Untouchable to Dalit: Essays on the Ambedkar Movement. New Delhi: Manohar,1992.

 

Buddhism: Important Figures

top of page

Agarwal, Sudarshan, ed. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, the Man and His Message. New Delhi: Prentice- Hall, 1991.

Ambedkar, Bhimrao Ramji. The Buddha and his Dhamma. Bombay: R.R. Bhole, 1957.

---. Why Go for Conversion? Bangalore: Dalit Sahitya Akademy, 1981. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar, Writings and Speeches. Bombay: Gov't of Maharashtra, 1979-

Aris, Michael. Hidden Treasures and Secret Lives. A Study of Pemalinga,1450-1521, and the Sixth Dalai Lama,1683-1706. London: K. Paul Intl., 1989.

Chattopadhyaya, Alaka. Atisa and Tibet. Calcutta: Indian Studies Past & Present, 1967.

Chodzin, Sherab Kohn. The Awakened One: A Life of the Buddha. Boston: Shambhala, 1994.

Gyatso, Tenzin. H.H. the Fourteenth Dalai Lama. Freedom in Exile: the Autobiography of the Dalai Lama. New York: HarperCollins, 1990.

Evans-Wentz, W.Y., ed. Tibet's Great Yogi Milarepa: A Biography from the Tibetan. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1971.

Guenther, Herbert V. Life and Teaching of Naropa. Oxford: Clarendon, 1963.

---. The Teachings of Padmasambhava. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1996.

Law, Bimla Charan. The Life and Work of Buddhaghosa. Delhi: Nag Pub., 1976.

Lhalungpa, Lobsang P. The Life of Milarepa. New York: Dutton, 1977.

Narain, A.K., and D.C. Ahir, eds. Dr. Ambedkar, Buddhism, and Social Change. Delhi: B.R. Pub. Corp., 1994.

Omvedt, Gail. Dalits and the Democratic Revolution: Dr. Ambedkar and the Dalit Movement in Colonial India. New Delhi: Sage, 1994.

Strong, John S. The Legend of King Asoka. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1983.

Thurman, Robert A.F. The Life and Teachings of Tsong Khapa. Dharamsala: Library of Tibetan Works and Archives, 1982.

 

Buddhism: The Arts

top of page

Bhattacharya, B. The Indian Buddhist Iconography. Reprint. New Delhi: Asian Educational Services, 1993.

Coomaraswamy, Ananda K. The Origin of the Buddha Image. Reprint. New Delhi: Munshiram Manoharlal, 1972.

Dehejia, Vidya. Early Buddhist Rock Temples. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1972.

Devendra, D.T. Classical Sinhalese Sculpture. London: A. Tiranti, 1958.

Dhanapala, D.B. Buddhist Paintings from Shrines and Temples in Ceylon. New York: Mentor-UNESCO, 1964.

Karmay, Heather. Early Sino-Tibetan Art. Warminster, UK: Aris and Phillips, 1975.

Lauf, Detlef Ingo. Tibetan Sacred Art: The Heritage of Tantra. Berkeley, CA: Shambhala, 1976.

Lokesh, Chandra, ed. Buddhist Iconography. New Delhi: International Academy of Indian Culture and Aditya Prakashan, 1991.

---. Transcendental Art of Tibet. New Delhi: International Academy of Indian Culture and Aditya Prakashan, 1996.

Malandra, Geri H. Unfolding the Mandala: The Buddhist Caves at Ellora. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1993.

Olschak, Blanche Christine, and Geshe Thupten Wangyal. Mystic Art of Ancient Tibet. Boston: Shambhala, 1987.

Pal, Pratapaditya. Art of Tibet. New York: Asia Society, 1969.

---. Tibetan paintings: A Study of Tibetan Thangkas Eleventh to Nineteenth Centuries. Basel: Ravi Kumar; London: Sotheby, 1984.

Rawson, Philip. The Art of Tantra. Greenwich, CT: New York Graphic Society, 1973.

Rhie, Marilyn, and Thurman, Robert A.F. Wisdom and Compassion: The Sacred Art of Tibet. New York: Abrams, 1991.

Singh, Madanjeet. The Cave Paintings of Ajanta. London: Thames and Hudson, 1965.

Tucci, Giuseppe. Tibetan Painted Scrolls. 2nd ed. Rome: Libreria dello Stato, 1949.

Vitali, Roberto. Early Temples of Central Tibet. London: Serindia, 1990.

Weiner, Sheila L. Ajanta: Its Place in Buddhist Art. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977.

 

Buddhism: Related Traditions

top of page

Bonism

Karmay, Samten G., ed. and trans. The Treasury of Good Sayings: A Tibetan History of Bon. London: Oxford University Press, 1972.

Kvaerne, Per. The Bon Religion of Tibet: The Iconography of a Living Tradition. Boston: Shambhala, 1995.

---. Tibet Bon Religion: A Death Ritual of the Tibetan Bonpos. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1985.

Wangyal, Tenzin. Wonders of the Natural Mind: The Essence of Dzogchen in the Bon Tradition of Tibet. Barrytown, NY: Station Hill, 1993.