Girl with statue. Photo by Julie Gutmanis.

RELIGION IN SOUTH ASIA
A Selected Bibliography
Compiled by Julie Gutmanis
February 1, 2000
Reference and Bibliographic Resources
South Asia Guide

Buddhism Christianity Hinduism Islam Comparative
Religions
Jainism Judaism Sikhism Zoroastrianism

This bibliography offers a selection of print resources for the study of religion in South Asia. All works listed are part of the collection of the UW-Madison library system. For electronic resources, please go to SARAI (South Asia Resource Access on the Internet).  In this bibliography South Asia has been defined as Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibet. The religions treated are Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Judaism, Sikhism, and Zoroastrianism. A ninth section, Comparative Religions, lists works about two or more of these religions.

The literature on the study of religion in South Asia is vast. It must be emphasized that this bibliography is by no means comprehensive. The bibliography is selective both in terms of topics selected for coverage, and in works chosen to represent each topic. Among the major subject exclusions are the religions of South Asian tribes, and the disciplines of archaeology, diaspora studies, philosophy, and study of language. In addition, the list of works chosen for the bibliography is very much selective. Aids in the selection process included book reviews, the annotated entries in the World Bibliographical series, and other selected bibliographies. A number of books, unscreened either through reviews or select bibliographies, are included. Some of these works are too recent to have been reviewed. Others were chosen, in the absence of reviewed works, to represent a particular subject, judged important for inclusion in the bibliography. In the case of unreviewed works, those written by prominent scholars and published by prestigious publishers, especially university presses, were favored.

top of page