EXPLORING COOPERATION
Fall 2011 Workshop | Fall 2010 Workshop | Existing Cooperative Structures | Background Documents | Potential Models for Cooperation


FALL 2011 WORKSHOP

Building upon the success of the 2010 Cooperative Collection Development Workshop, we will be hosting  a second workshop in October 2011.  In response to group feedback, the main theme of this workshop will be SACAP serials.

We believe in the importance of the serial literature from South Asia to scholars and researchers yet we also recognize the challenges they present.  Looking across SACAP participants, we note that many titles are highly subscribed while others are not picked up anywhere.  Thinking of the "national collection" and informed by our own local usage statistics, we believe we should take a fresh, collective look at our serial subscriptions.  That said, we also realize that access to the literature is critical.  If cooperation determines that that access is not to be local, we need to begin lobbying for better indexing and discovery tools or to create them ourselves so that successful interlibrary loan is actually feasible.  It is this two-pronged approach to the serial literature--balancing the national subscribed collection and exploring improved access--that will be addressed at the 2011 workshop.

The following institutions have agreed to partcipate in 2011:

Center for Research Libraries
Cornell University
Duke University/TRLN
Emory University
Library of Congress, Delhi Field Office
Library of Congress, Islamabad Field Office
New York University
Princeton University
Syracuse University
University of California-Berkeley
University of California-Los Angeles
University of Chicago
University of Hawaii
University of Illinois
University of Iowa
University of Minnesota
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin

Background documents:

Highly-subscribed SACAP journals (Excel file)
Least-subscribed SACAP journals (Excel file)


 

FALL 2010 WORKSHOP

In conjuction with Madison's Annual Conference on South Asia, we held a "Cooperative Collection Development for South Asia Partnership Workshop" on October 15, 2010. The workshop was intended to help us make choices and decisions about our collection strategies that would ultimately strengthen and deepen the national resources on South Asia. We intended to do this by collectively exploring collection development by means of the SACAP acquisitions program tools.

The following institutions agreed to participate in the workshop:

Center for Research Libraries
Columbia University
Cornell University
Duke University/TRLN
Emory University
Library of Congress, Delhi Field Office
Library of Congress, Islamabad Field Office
Library of Congress, Washington
New York University
Princeton University
Syracuse University
University of California-Berkeley
University of California-Los Angeles
University of Illinois
University of Iowa
University of Michigan
University of Minnesota
University of Virginia
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin

Background documents shared amongst the workshop participants included:

Call for Participants (pdf)
OCLC Profile of South Asian Monographs (pdf)
Comparison of 2005-2006 SACAP Participant Profiles (pdf)
Statement of Access and Preservation Principles (pdf)
2009-2010 SACAP Profile Costs by Participant (Excel)


EXISTING COOPERATIVE STRUCTURES

Acquisitions Partnerships

National Cooperative Collections for South Asian Studies [for background see Wisconsin-Cornell Pilot (word document)]

Current Cooperative Acquisitions:

Art Catalogs (Columbia)
Himalayan Materials, particularly Nepali and Newari (Cornell)
South Asian Theater (Wisconsin)

South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program (SACAP) (IP restricted)

New Delhi Office
Islamabad Office

Center for Research Libraries

Preservation Partnerships

South Asia Microform Project (SAMP)

Endangered Archives Programme

Regional Partnerships

SACEast

SACWest (main link broken): including participant profiles

CIC

International Partnerships

Urdu Research Library Consortium

South Asia Union Catalogue

Digital South Asia Library

Communication Partnerships

CONSALD


BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

South Asian Periodicals
A working paper ("Towards a seamless national collection"), a presentation ("Assessing online discoverability and interlibrary loan of South Asian language periodicals") and excel spreadsheets regarding the coverage and holdings of non-English serial publications in U.S. libraries.

Non-English coverage through SACAP (Access database, last updated 2/2010)
Lists profile coverage by participant, language, subject, country. Potentially useful when making annual profile decisions.

Summary of 2007 CONSALD Survey on Cooperation (pdf)
Conclusion: “The CONSALD survey attempts to stand back from individual collections and assess the state of South Asia libraries, collection methods and acquisitions on a national level. The survey provides two major findings: (1) collection at a national level is uneven—a number of South Asian language materials are not being collected sufficiently while some material is being over-collected or duplicated and (2) the majority of bibliographers are willing to give time and money to a cooperative acquisition project that would focus on collecting materials that fall outside of traditional and/or current collection development methods.”

Comparison of 2005-2006 SACAP Participant Profiles (pdf)
Notes number of subscribers to each profile category. Summary conclusions note that 342 profiles have 3 or less subscribers, 172 have 10 or more subscribers and 56 have 20 or more subscribers.

Comparative Tables

CONSALD Member holdings by language and decade of imprint (Excel file)
Uses 2005 OCLC data. In individual sheets (use the tabs at the bottom), numerical data is broken down by regional partnership while data from individual institutions is shown graphically.

Comprehensive Members in 1974: Comparative by Decade (Excel file)
Uses 2005 OCLC data.

North American Title Count (NATC) Comparisons (Excel file)
Compares participating CONSALD libraries by subject holdings.

Memo to CONSALD 2006 (word document)
Outlines basic assumptions, potential model for cooperation (LARRP), and potential categories for cooperation


POTENTIAL MODELS FOR COOPERATION

Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) Distributed Resources Project
An agreement between participating North American libraries designed to strengthen the collective coverage of monographs and other resources produced in Latin America . Through the concerted reallocation of library collection budgets, enhanced coverage of "non-core" materials is provided in an inter-connected network of collections. The participants also provide online bibliographic records as quickly as possible and make the majority of these materials available through interlibrary loan.

South Asia Microform Project (SAMP)
Cooperative program that seeks to acquire and maintain a readily accessible collection of unique materials in microform related to the study of South Asia . Materials are collected both through the filming efforts of the project and through the purchase of positive copies of materials filmed by other groups, institutions and companies.

 

last updated 3 October 2011