South Asian Studies Guide
Reference Resources | Current Periodical Literature | Digital Projects | Governmental Information |
Annual Reports
| Contact Us


Reference resources:

General Resources

Madcat

A listing of what is owned and licensed by UW-Madison: books, periodicals, audiovisual materials, maps, music scores, microforms, and computer databases currently housed in over 30 campus libraries.

Worldcat/OCLC (access restricted)

Worldcat, also known as OCLC, is a catalog of virtually all of the libraries in the United States (and some outside of the U.S.). Practically speaking, all cataloged items, held by libraries in the U.S. will be noted in Worldcat. Therefore, if you're getting frustrated that our library doesn't have a certain title, please check OCLC to see if some other library does and then make an ILL/Library Express request to retrieve the item.

ALA/LC Transliteration Tables

Specific tables to convert from a non-roman script to a romanized one. Madcat and Worldcat follow this system exclusively for transliteration.

Electronic Resources on South Asia from UW (Metalib)

A general listing of indexes and other databases helpful for South Asian Studies.

 

Subject Indexes

Anthropological Literature (access restricted) is a bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.

ATLA (access restricted) is a good starting place to look for articles on topics related to South Asian religion.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) (access restricted) is perhaps the most helpful online index for research on South Asia as it contains citations to articles both from and about South Asia.

Historical Abstracts (access restricted) while quite broad in its coverage, does include many references to studies on South Asian history.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) (access restricted) is a good starting place to look for articles on South Asian cinema.

Modern Language Association Bibliography (access restricted) includes citations to critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) (access restricted) indexes journal articles, books and government and IGO documents in the fields of public policy and the social sciences in general.

 

South Asia Specific Resources

India Office 19th Century Publications Catalog
National Bibliography of Indian Literature: 1901-1953
Official Publications of India Catalog
Religion in South Asia: a select bibliography
Roja Muttiah Research Library Catalog
SAWNET (South Asian Women's NET)
South and Southeast Asia Video Archive (This resource is no longer updated. For more current video holdings at UW, check Madcat.)
South Asian Diaspora Bibliographic Guides
Urdu Research Centre catalog

(back to top)


Current Periodical Literature

Current Journal Subscriptions: lists of current UW periodical subscriptions from South Asia by title, country and language.

Table of Contents: images of the tables of contents from recent issues of important South Asian journals.

(back to top)


Digital Projects

Digital Dictionaries of South Asia

Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) is a global collaborative effort to make important and rare South Asian resources available to the international community. Included in DSAL are reference resources, images, maps, statistics, bibliographies, indexes and books and journals.

Guide to the Indexing of South Asian Periodical Literature lists if a journal has been indexed and if so, both where and to what extent.

PAIR (Portal to Asian Internet Resources) catalogs select web resources originating from Asia.

SARAI has links to just about anything and everything one might want online regarding South Asia. Included here are bibliographic tools, job announcements, e-newspaper and e-journal links, a directory of scholars working on South Asia and more.

Tibetan and Himalayan Digital Library publishes multilingual studies, multimedia learning resources, and creative works concerned with the area's environments, cultures, and histories.

(back to top)


Governmental Information

Governments on the WWW provides comprehensive lists of websites from South Asian governments:

Bangladesh
India , including

Doordarshan
Election Commission of India
Indian Parliament
Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Home Affairs , including the Census
National Human Rights Commission
Supreme Court of India

Nepal
Pakistan , including:

Islamic Republic of Pakistan
Lahore High Court
National Commission on Status of Women

Sri Lanka

The U.S. Government also publishes information about South Asia online, if somewhat outdated:

CIA Factbooks: Afghanistan , Bhutan , India , Nepal , Pakistan , Sri Lanka .
LC Country Studies: Bhutan , India , Nepal , Pakistan , Sri Lanka .

(back to top)


Annual Reports

An annual report detailing specific aspects of the South Asia collection is issued each fall. To get on the distribution list for a print copy of the report, contact the South Asia Bibliographer.

Collection overview 2007
Collection overview 2006

(back to top)


Contact Us

To make a purchase request, click here

To request an individual reference consultation, an instructional session or for other questions, contact:

Mary Rader, South Asia Bibliographer
(608) 265-5466

(back to top)

Memorial Library | UW Libraries | UW Madison

last updated 15 August 2007