Navigation Bar UW-Madison Libraries HomeMadCatSearchHelp

Southeast Asia Guide

Southeast Asia Guide


Resources by Area:

Print Resources:

East Timor
Cambodia
Indonesia
Laos
Malaysia
Myanmar
Philippines
Regional
Singapore
Thailand
Vietnam


Reference and Bibliographic Resources

Current Events and News

Libraries and Collections

Centers for the Study of Southeast Asia

Instruction

Contact



Flag of East Timor

See also: Internet Resources for East Timor.

The following selective list of books and articles is intended to help readers better understand the history of East Timor and its struggle against Indonesia. The British Campaign for the Release of Indonesian Political Prisoners publishes a journal, TAPOL, which has devoted considerable space to East Timor issues. Those interested in U.S. policy should consult the Government Publications Index which cites Congressional hearings as well as State Department publications.

A broad spectrum of issues and perspectives included in this list highlight the materials available to faculty and students at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. For more complete listing of resources consult the Electronic Library, printed bibliographies and indexes found in the Reference Department of Memorial Library, or the collection of Internet Resources about East Timor available through this Web site. The Electronic Library: Indexing and Abstracting Databases: Area and International Studies might be useful also.






East Timor Bibliography and Articles TimorNet, Universidade de Coimbra. Very comprehensive listing of articles and monographs with links to full-text articles.

Rowland, Ian. Timor: Including the Islands of Roti and Ndo. Oxford: Clio Press, 1992.
Ref DS646.5 R69 1992

Sherlock, Kevin. A Bibliography of Timor. Canberra: Australia National University, 1980.
Ref DS 646.5 S32



Freney, Denis. Timor: Freedom Caught between the Powers. Nottingham: Bertrand Russell Peace Foundation for Spokesman Books, 1975.
DS646.5 F73

Costa, Fransisco Borja da. Revolutionary Poems in the Struggle Against Colonialism. Sydney: Wild and Woolley, 1976.
PL5457.9 C6 A34

East Timor Information and Research Project. Indonesian Intervention in East Timor: A Chronology. Ithaca, NY: The Project, 1976.
DS646.5 E16 1976

East Timor Provisional Government. Massacre in East Timor. Dili: Governo Provisorio Timor Loro Sae, 1976?
DS646.5 E18 1976

Franke, Richard W. East Timor: The Hidden War. New York: East Timor Defense Committee, 1976.
DS646.5 F69 1976

Crawford, Robert and Perumala Dayanidhi. "East Timor: A Study in De-Colonization." Indonesian Quarterly. 33:4 (Oct./Dec. 1977): 419-431.

Hoadley, J. Stephen. "Indonesia's Annaxation of East Timpor: Political, Administrative and Developmental Initiatives," South East Asian Affairs (Annual). (1977) 133-142.

Indonesia, Dept. of Foreign Affairs, comp. Decolonization in East Timor. Jakarta: Dept. of Information, Republic of Indonesia, 1977.
DS646.57 I5 1977

Jolliffe, Jill. East Timor: Nationalism and Colonialism. St. Lucia: University of Queensland Press, 1978.
DS646.5 J63

Kohen, Arnold. An Act of Genocide: Indonesia's Invasion of East Timor. London: TAPOL, 1979.
DS646.57 K63

Retboll, Torben, ed. East Timor, Indonesia and the Western Democracies: A Collection of Documents. Copenhagen: Documentation Dept. of IWGIA, 1980. DS646.57 E27

Sidell, Scott. "The United States and Genocide in East Timor," Journal of Contemporary Asia. 11:1 (1981): 44-61.

East Timor, Five Years After the Indonesia Invasion: Testimony Presented at the Decolonization Committee of the United Nations' General Assembly, October 1980. Cambridge, MA.: Cultural Survival, 1983.
DS646.57 E26 1983

East Timor Violations of Human Rights: Extrajudicial Executions, "Disappearances", Torture and Political Imprisonment, 1975-1984. London: Amnesty International Publications, 1985.
JC599 I52 E2 1985

Ramos-Horta, Jose. Funu: The Unfinished Saga of East Timor. Trenton, NJ: Red Sea Press, 1987.
DS646.57 R35 1987

Retboll, Torben. "The East Timor Conflict and Western Response." Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars. 19:1 (Jan./March 1987): 24-40.

East Timor Strives for a Better Future. Dili: Provincial Government of East Timor, 1990.
HC448 T513 E23 1990

"Open Defiance in East Timor and West Papua," TAPOL. 97 (Feb. 1990); 1-2.

Taylor, John G. Indonesia's Forgotten War: The Hidden History of East Timor. London: Zed Books, 1991.
DS646.59 T55 T39 1991

A Paz e Possivel em Timor Leste, comp. and ed. East Timor after Santa-Cruz: Indonesia and the International Order. Lisbon, Portugal: A Paz e Possivel em Timor Leste, 1992.
DS646.59 T55 E22 1992

Lima, Maria Fernanda. Obligations of Portugal as the Adminstering Power of the Non-Self Governing Territory of East Timor. lisboa: Assembleia de Republica, 1992.
KNW2935 T56 L5613 1992

Second Symposium on Timor. East Timor, Land of Hope. Oporto, Portugal: Oporto University, 1992.
DS646.57 S98 1990

McCrum, Robert. "Indifferent Death: Indifference, Public Apathy and Arms Sales have Enabled Indonesia to Get Away with Murder and Genocide in East Timor," Index on Censorship : 23 (May/June 1994): 214-220.

Saldanha, Joao Mariano de Sousa. Political Economy of East Timor Development. Jakarta: Pustaka Sinar Harapan, 1994.
HC448 T54 S35213 1994

Carey, Peter and G. Carter Bentley, eds. East Timor at the Crossroads: The Forging of a Nation. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1995. DS646.57 E255 1995

International Law and the Question of East Timor. London: Catholic Institute for International Relations ; Leiden: International Platform of Jurists for East Timor, 1995.
DS646.59 T55 I58 1995

Jardine, Matthew. East Timor: Genocide in Paradise. Tuscon, AZ: Odonian Press, 1995.
DS646.59 T55 J38 1995

John, Clement, ed. East Timor: Prospects for Peace. Geneva, Switzerland: Unit on Justice, Peace and Creation, World Council of Churches, 1995.
DS646.59 T55 E265 1995

Franks, E. "Women and Resistance in East Timor: The Centre, as They Say, Knows Itself by the Margins," Women's Studies International Forum. 19: 1/2 (Jan-April, 1996): 155-168.

Sall, M. E. "Australian Foreign Policy and East Timor," Australian Journal of International Affairs. 49: 2 (Nov. 1995): 207-222.

Tarling, N. "Britain, Portugal and East Timor in 1941," Journal of Southeast Asian Studies. 27: 2 (March 1996): 132-138.

Statue of Abraham Lincoln

Last Update: October 29, 1999