Campus Resources Vietnam Wars: A Bibliography
Bibliographies
- Brune, Lester H. America and the Indochina Wars, 1945-1990: A Bibliographic Guide. Claremont, CA: Regina books, 1992.
REF DS550 B77 1992; Historical Society Reading Room Z3226 B89 1992.
- Burns, Richard Dean. The War in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos, 1945-1982: A Bibliographic Guide. Santa Barbara,
CA: ABC-CLIO, 1984.
REF DS555 B87 1984.
- Butler, Deborah A. American Women Writers on Vietnam: Unheard Voices: Selected Bibliography. New York:
Garland, 1990.
REF PS228 V5 B88 1990; Historical Society Reading Room Z1227 B88 1990.
- Camp, Norma N. Stress, Strain, and Vietnam : an Annotated Bibliography of Two Decades of Psychiatric and Social
Sciences Literature Reflecting the Effect of the War on the American Soldier. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
REF: DS559.8 P7 C33 1988.
- Compton, Carol J. and Neng C. Xiong. Selected References on Mainland Southeast Asia Literature: Laos, Cambodia,
and Vietnam. [Madison]: Upper Great lakes Multifunctional Resource Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1992.
CIMIC REF: DS557.7 R48 1992.
- Cordell, Helen. Laos. Oxford ; Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1991.
REF: DS555.3 C67 1991 .
- Delano, Skip. GI Resistance: Soldiers and Veterans Against the Viet Nam War: A Bibliography. Tucson, AZ: Viet
Nam Generation, 1991.
http://lists.village.virginia.edu/sixties/HTML_docs/Resources/Bibliographies/GI_Mvmt_bib.html.
- Embree, John F. and Lilian Ota Dotson. Bibliography of the Peoples and Cultures of Mainland Southeast Asia. New
Haven: Southeast Asian Studies, Yale University, 1950.
REF Z3001 E5.
- " Internet Resources about Vietnam."Guide to Southeast Asia Reference Materials in University of Wisconsin
Libraries. Henny Linggawati and Carol Mitchell. [Madison]: General Library System, University of
Wisconsin-Madison, 1996.
http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/SEAsia/internet/Vietnam.html
- Hill, R. D. Index Indochinensis: An English and French index to Revue indochinoise, Extrême-Asie,
Extrême-Asie--Revue Indochinoise, and La Revue Indochinoise Juridique et Economique Hong Kong: Centre of Asian
Studies, University of Hong Kong, 1983.
REF: DS531 H54 1983
- Jarvis, Helen. Cambodia. Oxford; Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1997.
REF: DS554.3 J378 1997 .
- Jason, Philip K. The Vietnam War in Literature : An Annotated Bibliography . Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1992.
REF: PS228 V5 J36 1992.
- Marr, David G. Vietnam. Oxford; Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1992.
REF: DS556.3 M37 1992 .
- McClean, Andrew. Security, Arms Control, and Conflict in East Asia and the Pacific: A Bibliography, 1980-1991.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
REF: UA832.5 M33 1993
- Moise, Edwin E. Vietnam War Bibliography. Clemson, S.C.: Clemson University, [1998?].
http://hubcap.clemson.edu/%7Eeemoise/bibliography.html.
- Newman, John. Vietnam War Literature: An Annotated Bibliography of Imaginative Works About Americans Fighting
in Vietnam. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996.
REF: PS228 V5 V46 1996.
- Nguyen Phuong Khanh. Vietnamese Legal Materials, 1954-1975: A Selected Annotated Bibliography. Washington,
D.C.: Library of Congress, 1977.
REF: K 0.1 N5767; Law Library KPW1 N48 1977; Historical Society US Government Publications LC 1. 12/2: V 67.
- Piche, Normand. Laos: Bibliography en Sciences Sociales = A Bibliography in Social Sciences. Quebec: Groupe
d'Etudes et de Recherches sur l'Asie Contemporaine, Universite Laval, 1994.
REF: DS557 L2 P53 1994
- Pike, Douglas. Vietnam War: A Bibliography. Berkeley: University of California, Indochina Archive, 1990.
REF: DS557.7 V56618 1990.
- Schafer, John C. Vietnamese Perspectives on the War in Vietnam: An Annotated Bibliography of Works in English.
New Haven, Ct.: Yale University Council on Southeast Asian Studies : Yale Center for International Studies, 1997.
REF: DS556.3 S33 1997.
- Schamel, Charles E. Records Relating to American Prisoners of War and Missing in Action From the Vietnam War.
Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996.
REF: DS559.4 U65 1996 ; Historical Society US Government Publications AE 1.124: 90.
- Singleton, Carl. Vietnam Studies: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, Md. ; Pasadena, CA: Scarecrow Press : Salem
Press, 1997.
REF: DS556.3 S57 1997.
- Smith, Myron J. The Secret Wars: A Guide to Sources in English. 3 vols. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1980.
REF: UB250 S63
- Traas, Adrian G. A Select Bibliography of Department of Defense Publications of the Southeast Asian Conflict.
Washington, D.C.: Operational History Branch, Histories Division, U.S. Army Center of Military, 1990.
REF: DS557.4 T72 1990.
- Vietnam War: Finding Aids. Washington, DC: U.S. Army Center of Military History, 199?
http://www.army.mil/cmh-pg/reference/research.htm
Almanacs, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
- Bowman, John Stewart ed. The Vietnam War, an Almanac. New York: World Almanac Publications, 1985.
REF: DS557.7 S57 1985;
- British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, From the
mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series E, Asia, 1860-1914 /. [Frederick, Md.] : University Publications
of America, c1989-c1995.
Oversize JX632 B748 1989
- Cima, Ronald J. ed. Vietnam: A Country Study. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1989.
Previous title: Area Handbook. Memorial stacks DS556.3 V54 1989; Historical Society stacks D 101.22: 550-32.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/vntoc.html
- Duiker, William J. Historical Dictionary of Vietnam. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.
REF: DS556.25 D85 1998.
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History.. 3 vols. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO,
1998.
REF: DS557.7 E53 1998; Historical Society Reading Room DS557.7 E53 1998; College Library Reference DS557.7
E53 1998
- Hillstrom, Kevin, and Laurie Collier Hillstrom. The Vietnam Experience : A Concise Encyclopedia of American
Literature, Songs, and Films. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.
REF: DS557.73 H55 1998.
- Jessup, John E. A Chronology of Conflict and Resolution, 1945-1985. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
REF: U42 J47 1989
- Kutler, Stanley I. Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1996.
REF: DS557.7 E53 1996; College Library Reference DS557.7 E53 1996.
- Lesinski, Jeanne M. MIAs: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
REF: UB803 L47 1998
- Olson James S., ed. Dictionary of the Vietnam War. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
REF: DS557.7 D53 1988; Historical Society Reading Room DS557.7 D53 1988.
- Olson, James Stuart ed. The Vietnam War: Handbook of the Literature and Research. Westport, Conn: Greenwood
Press, 1993.
REF: DS558 V58 1993; Historical Society Reading Room DS558 V58 1993.
- Ross, Russell R. Cambodia: A Country Study. Washington, D.C.: Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, 1987.
Previous title: Area Handbook. Memorial Stacks DS554.3 C34 1990; Historical Society US Government Publications
D 101.22: 550-50/990.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/khtoc.html
- Savada, Andrea Matles. Laos: A Country Study. Washington, D.C.: Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, 1994.
Previous title: Area Handbook. Memorial Stacks DS555.3 L34 1995; Historical Society US Government Publications
D 101.22: 550-58/995
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/latoc.html
- Sigler, David burns. Vietnam Battle Chronology. U.S. Army and Marine corps Combat Operations, 1965-1973:
Jefferson, N.C., McFarland.
Historical: DS557.7 S57 1992.
- Strategic Survey. London: Institute for Strategic Studies, 1966-- .
REF: U162 S77
- Summers, Harry G. Historical Atlas of the Vietnam War. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1995.
REF: DS557.7 S93 1995; Historical Society stacks DS557.7 S93 1995.
- Summers, Harry G. Vietnam War Almanac. Novato, Calif. : Presidio ; London : Greenhill.
REF: DS557.7 S94 1999. 1985 edition in Memorial stacks DS557.7 S94 1985 and Historical Society Reading Room
DS557.7 S94 1985.
Statistical Sources
- Annual Statistical Bulletin. Saigon?: [n.p.], 1950-1957.
Holdings: 1961-1963.
HC443 V5 U49.
- Annuaire statistique de l'Indochine.
Holdings: 1941/42-1947/48 HA1780.5 A32
- Annuaire statistique du Viêt-nam
Holdings: 1950/1951 - 1972 HA1780.5 A32
- Military Balance London: International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1963/64--
REF: UA15 L65
- Monthly Statistical Bulletin=Thong-Ke Nguyet-San. [Saigon]: Vien Quoc-gia Thong-ke, 1956-.
Holdings: 1957-1974 (incomplete).
HA1780.5 A35.
- SIPRI Yearbook of World Armaments and Disarmament. New York: Humanities Press for Stockholm International
Peace Research Institute, 1968--
REF: UA10 S7
- Statistical Data of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. Ha Noi: [various].
We have various years that appear under different titles.
HA4600.5 .
- Viet-Nam Nien-Giam Thong-Ke / Quoc-Gia Viet-Nam, Thu-Tuong Phu = Annuaire Statistique Du Viet-Nam / Etat Du
Viet-Nam, Presidence Du Gouvernement. [Saigon]: Vien Thong-ke va Khao-cuu Kinh-te Viet-nam, 1950-1951.
Holdings: 1950/1951-1972.
HA1780.5 A32.
- McCarty, Adam, Merlyne Paunlagui, and Quoc Huy Vu. Vietnam Data Bank, 1976-1991. Canberra, Australia:
National Centre for Development Studies, Research School of Pacific Studies, ANU, 1992?
HA4600.5 M38 1992.
- United States. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency. World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers.
Washington, DC: The Agency, 1967-
REF: UA17 U422
Selected Document Collections on Microfilm
The Historical Society Library has an outstanding collection of anti-war newsletters and journals. Many of these titles are
unique and not indexed. Some of the more important alternative press titles of the period are indexed in Alternative Press
Index (Memorial Reference)
- CIA research reports.Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976. . Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1986.
Center for Research Libraries: MF-6414, MF-5897
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Indochina, 1955-1959 . Frederick, MD : University Publications of
America, c1988.
Microfilm: 9870
- Documents on the National Liberation Front of South Vietnam. [Cambridge, Mass]: M.I.T. Libraries, 1967.
Microfilm: 2591.
- Foreign Relations of the United States, 1955-1957. Washington, DC: GPO, 1985-.
JX233 A3 yr. 1955-1957.
- Foreign Relations of the United States, 1958-1960. Washington, DC: GPO, 1986-.
Volume 1: Vietnam.
JX233 A3 yr. 1958-1960.
- The Peers Inquiry of the Massacre at My Lai. Bethesda, Md: University Publications of America, 1996.
Historical Society: Microfilm: P96-4042, P96-4053.
- Transcripts and Files of the Paris Peace Talks on Vietnam, 1968-1973.. Frederick, Md: University Publications of
America, 1982.
Microfilm 6355.
- U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam, 1954-1975. Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1982.
Microfilm 6356.
- Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976. Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1982.
Microfilm 6358.
- Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1960-1980. Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America, 1982.
Microfilm 6356.
- Vietnam: National Security Council Histories. Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1981.
Microfilm: 6357.
- Vietnam: National Security Files: John F. Kennedy National Security Files. Frederick, Md: University Publications of
America, 1987.
Microfilm: 7426.
- Vietnam: National Security Files, November 1963-June 1965. Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 198?
Micro Film 6715.
- Vietnam: National Security Files: Lyndon B. Johnson, 1963-1969. Frederick, Md: University Publications of America, 1996
Micro Film 7414
- United States. Consulate (Saigon). Despatches From United States Consuls in Saigon, 1886-1906. Washington:
National Archives and Records Service, 1957.
Microfilm: 2257.
Videos
- Courage Under Fire. CBS Video Library, 1985.
College Library Media Center: DS557.7 C68 1985 .
- Fire From the Sky. CBS Video Library, 1985.
College Library Media Center: DS557.7 F57 1985 .
- Tet Offensive. CBS Video Library, 1985.
College Library Media Center: DS557.7 T4385 .
- Vietnam: A Television History. WGBH Educational Foundation , 1987.
LSS: ID2.006 .
- Gibney, Alex, and Steven Talley. From the Barrel of a Gun : The Rise of Asian Nationalism. Prod. KCTS Seattle and
Teleac Holland PBI/Jigsaw Productions in association with NHK-Japan. Dir. Steven Talley. Annenberg/CPB Project, 1992.
LSS: ID2.051 .
- Vietnam D'Hier Et D'Aujourd'Hui. Prod. Institut pour la Cooperation Audiovisuelle Francophone. Project for
International Commucication Studies, 1984.
LSS: FR2.098 .
- Secrets of S-21: Legacy of a Cambodian Prison. BBC Worldwide Americas. Princeton: Films for the Humanities, 1998.
College Library Media Center: DS554.8 S43 1998.
Updated: September 28, 2000