Directory of Southeast Asia Librarians and Catalogers

Compiled by Virginia Jing-yi Shih

(As of February, 1998)



The University of British Columbia

Linda Joe
Head, Asian Library
The University of British Columbia
1871 West Mall
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6T 1Z2
Tel: (604) 822-5905
Fax: (604) 822-0650
Email:ljoe@unixg.ubc.ca


University of California at Berkeley

Virginia Jing-yi Shih
Librarian for Southeast Asian Collections
South/Southeast Asia Library Service
438 Doe Library
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000
Tel: (510) 643-0850
Fax: (510) 643-8817
Email: vshih@library.berkeley.edu
Language expertise: Vietnamese


Columbia University

David Magier
Columbia University
New York, NY 10027
Tel:
Fax:
Email: magier@columbia.edu


Cornell University

Rohayati Paseng Barnard
Southeast Asian Librarian
Echols Collection on Southeast Asia
178 Kroch Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Tel: (607) 255-7229
Fax: (607) 255-8438
Email:rp40@cornell.edu
Language expertise: Buginese, Malay, Minangkabau, Indonesian

Yen Bui
Original Cataloger
110C Olin Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Tel: (607) 255-5752
Fax: (607) 255-6110
Email: ytb1@cornell.edu
Language expertise: Vietnamese

Allen J. Riedy
Curator
Echols Collection on Southeast Asia
179 Kroch Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Tel: (607) 255-8889
Fax: (607) 255-8438
Email:ajr2@cornell.edu

Sari Devi Suprapto
Original Cataloger
110C Olin Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Tel: (607) 255-5752
Fax: (607) 255-6110
Email: css5@cornell.edu
Language expertise: Khmer, Lao, Thai


Harvard University

Raymond Lum
Harvard Yenching Library
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
Tel:
Fax:
Email: rlum@fas.harvard.edu


University of Hawai'i at Manoa

Lan Hiang Char
Southeast Asia Librarian
Asia Collection
Hamilton Library
2550 The Mall
University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Honolulu, HI 96822
Tel: (808) 956-2311
Fax: (808) 956-5968
Email: lanchar@hawaii.edu


Library of Congress

Angela Kinney
Team Leader, Southeast/South Asia Team
Regional and Cooperative Cataloging Division
Library of Congress
Washington, D.C. 20540-4380
Tel. (202) 707-4362
Fax: (202) 707-2824
Email:anki@loc.gov


Hoa Nguyen
Original Cataloger
Regional and Cooperative Cataloging Division
Library of Congress
Washington, D.C. 20540-4380
Tel: (202) 707-7711
Fax: (202) 707-2824
Email:hnguyen@loc.gov
Language expertise: Vietnamese

Abdul Kohar Rony
Asian Division
Library of Congress
Washington, DC 20540
Tel: (202) 707-2932
Fax: (202) 707-
Email:aron@loc.gov

William Tuchrello
Field Director
American Embassy-LOC
Box 1, Unit 8129
APO AP 96520-0001
Tel: 62-21-310-2127; 314-4944
Fax: 62-21-314-4945
Email:jakarta@loc.gov


University of Michigan

Fe Susan T. Go
Southeast Asia Bibliographer
University of Michigan Library
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Tel: (313) 764-7523
Fax: (313) 936-2347
Email:fsgo@umich


Northern Illinois University

Chalermsee Olson
Head, Cataloging & Automated Records Department
Founders Memorial Library
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Tel: (815) 753-3246
Fax: (815) 753-
Email: C60CXO1@WPO.CSO.NIU.EDU

May Kyi Win
Curator
Donn V. Hart Southeast Asia Collection
Founders Memorial Library
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Tel: (815) 753-1809
Fax: (815) 753-2003
Email: mwin@niu.edu

Ohio University

Kent Mulliner
Collection Development Coordinator & Assistant to Dean
Ohio University Libraries
Tel: (740) 593-2707
Fax: (740) 593-2708
Email: mulliner@ohiou.edu

Lian The-Mulliner
Head, Southeast Asia Collection
Alden Library
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701-2978
Tel: (740) 593-2657
Fax: (740) 593-2959
Email:themulliner@ohiou.edu

Swee-Lan Quah
Southeast Asia Cataloger
Ohio University Library
Athens, Ohio 45701
Tel: (740) 593-2688
Fax: (740) 593-0138
Email: quah@oak.cats.ohiou.edu
Language expertise: Indonesian/Malay, working knowledge of Dutch, French, German


University of Oregon

Robin A. Paynter
Southeast Asian and Pacific Islands Studies
Reference Librarian
1299 University of Oregon Library
Eugene, OR 97403-1299
Tel: (541) 346-2689
Fax: (541) 346-3485
Email:rpaynter@oregon.uoregon.edu

University of Washington

Alan Grosenheider
Southern Asia Catalog Librarian
Cataloging Division
University of Washington Libraries
Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
Tel: (206) 543-1828
Fax: (206) 685-8782
Email: alang@u.washington.edu
Language expertise: Basic knowledge of Thai, working knowledge of Lao and Khmer;
(also Sanskrit/Pali and working knowledge of North Indian languages in devanagari script)

Judith A.N. Henchy
Head, Southeast Asia Section
University of Washington Libraries, FM-25
Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
Fax: (206) 685-8049
Email: judithh@u.washington.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Carol L. Mitchell
Southeast Asia Bibliographic Services Librarian
278G Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison
278 State St.
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: (608) 262-5493
Fax: (608) 265-2754
Email:mitchell@macc.wisc.edu
Language expertise: Indonesian, Malay

Yale University

Richard Richie
Curator
Southeast Asia Collection
Yale University Library
P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520
Tel: (203) 432-1859
Fax: (203) 432-7231
Email:rich.richie@yale.edu

Lian Tie Kho
Southeast Asia Collection
Yale University Library
Box 1603 A Yale Station
New Haven, CT 06520
Tel: (203) 432-6882
Fax: (203) 432-7231
Email: liankho@yale.edu