Navigation Bar UW-Madison Libraries HomeMadCatSearchHelp

Southeast Asia Guide

Southeast Asia Guide


Libraries and Collections:

UW-Madison
Asia
Australia and Europe
United States



Reference and Bibliographic Sources

Current Events and News

Resources by Area

Centers for the Study of Southeast Asia

Instruction

Contact



The Southeast Asia collections available through the University of Wisconsin-Madison are rich sources of knowledge and discovery covering disciplines in all languages. In addition to meeting the research and teaching mission of the University, campus libraries maintain a number of unique collections intended to serve a broader national research agenda. As the largest social sciences and humanities library, Memorial Library maintains the largest collection for the study of Southeast Asia. In addition to the libraries below, many libraries hold small, but important, collections of unique and valuable materials waiting to be discovered. MadCat, the University of Wisconsin-Madison's online catalog, includes most of the campus libraries and is the best place to begin to discover the campus collections. All call numbers in MadCat include a library as part of the location. If you are unsure where a library is located, check the campus map.

Students, faculty, and staff at University of Wisconsin-Madison have access to the collections of CIC libraries through the VEL (Virtual Electronic Library) and the holdings of the Southeast Asia Microforms Project (SEAM) housed at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).

For a more complete list of campus libraries, please go to Memorial Library's list of campus libraries.



About the Campus Library Link to the Library
Art Library (Kohler) http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Art/
Business Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Business/
Geography Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Geography/geoweb.htm/
Law Library http://library.law.wisc.edu/
Memorial Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Memorial/
Microforms/Media Center http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Memorial/mmc.htm
Music Library (Mills) http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Music/
Special Collections, Department of http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/SpecialCollections/
State Historical Society Library http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/
Steenbock Library http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/
Women's Studies Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/
WorldCat http://www.library.wisc.edu/reslist.reference/reference-w.html


Art Library (Kohler) http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Art/

The Art Library collects works that analyze or catalog arts, architecture, and crafts of Southeast Asia along with broader works on artistic contributions of Buddhism and Islam. Exhibition catalogs and resources on modern art movements and architecture are collected more selectively. Most books on textiles will be found in the Art Library or Steenbock Library. In addition to books and other print and electronic resources, the galleries of the Elvehjem Art Museum provide an excellent opportunity to view the arts of Asia.

Return to the top.

Business Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Business/

Dow Jones News Retrieval, Global Access, Business and Industry and other databases maintained by the Business Library are useful for those studying wide array of business topics related to Southeast Asia. In addition, the Library collects wide range of print resources on wide range of issues pertaining to business and commerce in Southeast Asia region.

Return to the top.

Geography Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Geography/geoweb.htm/

As the primary collection of Geography and Cartography for the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the Geography Library has a significant international collection. The collection is especially strong for Southeast Asia and includes works on urbanization, development, and migration as the study of geography. Separately published maps and aerial photographs are held in the Robinson Map Library, 310 Science Hall http://feature.geography.wisc.edu/map_lib.htm.

Return to the top.

Law Library http://library.law.wisc.edu/


Return to the top.

Memorial Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Memorial/

The Southeast Asia collection reflects the research and teaching strengths of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies. Books, journals, music, cd-roms, and videos in all languages and disciplines are collected about the entire region with an emphasis on Indonesia, the Philippines, and Thailand.

Memorial library has assembled a strong collection of Indonesian colonial materials. Its colloquial Malay collection represents an effort to develop a comprehensive resource that details the rise of the vernacular press in the Dutch East Indies. Thousands of monographs and serialized novels support the study of national language, the development of contemporary literary forms, and a changing political scene in colonial Indonesia. Complementing this collection are nineteenth and twentieth century Dutch novels that illustrate the Dutch colonial experience. The Indonesia collection also contains an impressive body of Indonesian, Dutch, and English language material on the 1946 revolution and 1999 elections.

Resources documenting contemporary development issues and social and political movements including labor, student, and women's movements are collected. Our efforts in this area has resulted in numerous newsletters and pamphlets from nongovernmental organizations in Thailand and the Philippines. The library continues to develop an extensive collections for the Philippines, Thailand, and Indonesia of newspapers from the twentieth century.

Through its active acquisitions program, the Southeast Asia librarian is developing a collection that will meet the teaching and research needs of future scholars. However, as in the past, a research collection depends upon the generous donations of scholars and collectors. In recent years, the collection has benefitted from John Smail, Charles Houston, and Lin Neumann who donated their private collections and papers as well as smaller gifts from individuals and corporations.

Return to the top.

Microforms/Media Center http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Memorial/mmc.htm

Southeast Asia microforms, videos, and software are housed in the Microforms and Media Collection, 440 Memorial Library. The microfilm collection for Southeast Asia spans many centuries and disciplines. The collection holds many newspapers, but its holdings of short runs of rare Thai and colonial Philippine newspapers and various anti-Marcos presses are especially strong. Memorial Library has a number of large microfilm sets including regional human rights documents, Indonesian labor materials, Thai radical papers of the 1970s, Philippine radical papers of the 1970s, and the Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years. This extensive collection of U.S. government memos, reports, and briefing, many of which were acquired through the Freedom of Information Act, documents an important era in Philippine - U.S. relations.

Return to the top.

Music Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Music/

For over twenty years, Mills Music Library has collected books, scores, and musical recordings from and about the music and musical traditions of Southeast Asia. The library is particularly proud of its Indonesian music collection of some 2000 Indonesian recordings. The library has strong collections of Thai and Philippine contemporary, classical, and folk recordings. Mills Music Library is located in Memorial Library.

Return to the top.

Special Collections http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/SpecialCollections/

More than thirty-five special and rare book collections in campus libraries attract scholars from around the world. The largest and most significant collection of rare books and manuscripts is held by the Department of Special Collections located on the ninth floor of Memorial Library.

The Tank Collection consists of 4,812 volumes and 374 pamphlets from the seventeenth and eighteenth century collected by Reinhard Jan van der Meulen. Many of the works of travel, exploration, and commerce deal with Southeast Asia, particularly Indonesia. A large proportion of these are vellum-bound folios, copiously illustrated with maps and plates. The collection is described in A Dutch Clergyman's Library of the Early Nineteenth Century by Gerald Francis DeJong (Holland, Mich.: Reformed Review, 1961).

The Department of Special Collections owns a number of important volumes by early European travellers to Southeast Asia. These include more widely held titles such as Carl Bock's The Head-hunters of Borneo. (London: S Low, Marston, Searle & Rivington, 1881) and Enrique Abella y Casariego's Descripcion Fisica, Geologica y Minera en Bosquejo de la Isla de Panay. (Manila: Tipo-lit de Chofre, 1890) to rarer imprints such as John Clark's Observations on the Diseases which Prevail in Long Voyages to Hot Countries: Particularly on Those in the East Indies... (2d ed, rev. and enl. London: Printed for J. Murray, 1792), Auguste Alphonse Etienne-Gallois' L'ambassade de Siam au XVIIe Siecle: Le Royaume Thai... (Paris: Panckoucke et cie, 1862), and the 1908 Directorio Biografico Filipino: Contiene las Biografias de la Intelectualidad Filipina, Magistrados de la Corte Suprema y Jueces de Primera Instancia, Miembros de la Legislatura, Altos Funcionarios Publicos y Distinguidos, Abogados y Medicos Filipinos published in Manila.

We have recently added a number of photographic images to the collection. These include some of the images included in the Southeast Asian Images and Texts [SEAiT] as well as a small, but cohesive set of Vietnamese Propaganda Photos that we are organizing.

In recent years we have added a number of rare books, manuscripts, photos as well as other unique materials from and about Southeast Asia. Important gifts include the Philippine manuscripts of Lin Neumann, Indonesian correspondence of Williard Hanna, and monographs from Charles Houston. Donations such as these are important to the development of our research collection. If you have questions about donating materials contact, Larry Ashmun, 412A Memorial Library, 728 State St., University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI 53706; (608)262-0344.



Return to the top.

State Historical Society Library http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/

Located on the Library Mall of the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, the Wisconsin State Historical Society Library maintains the premier United States history collection on the campus. It is important to those research Southeast Asia in relation to U.S. history and interests. The library collects resources for the study of colonial relations with the Philippines. There are rich holdings on all aspects of the American involvement in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos.

As a U.S. government depository it has rich historical government documents collection that includes information on trade, treaties, and general foreign relations. In addition to a comprehensive collection of U.S. government documents, the State Historical Society Library collects wide array of alternative and small newspapers and journals. The State Historical Society Library has acquired a number of microfilm sets important for the study of U.S. participation in Indochina including the Peers Inquiry, Presidential and State Department papers. Particularly impressive are its holdings of anti-war newspapers from the Vietnam War era.

The Wisconsin State Historical Society Archives is housed in the same building as the Library. Although limited primarily to Wisconsin history, the Archives holds unique personal journals, papers, manuscripts of persons who have lived or worked in Southeast Asia. http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/archives/index.html.

Return to the top.

Steenbock Library http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Steenbock/
As the primary resource library for the students, faculty, and research staff of the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, School of Human Ecology, and School of Veterinary Medicine, Steenbock Library maintains a strong international collection including resource from and about Southeast Asia. Steenbock resources for Southeast Asia are primarily in English, covering a wide range of topics related to land use and tenure, agrarian reform, rural and sustainable development, forestry, and rural sociology.

Steenbock collects agricultural government reports, statistics, and agricultural census from Southeast Asian countries as well as FAO documents about the region.

Return to the top.

Women's Studies Librarian's Office http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/

The Women's Studies Librarian of the University of Wisconsin System collects a wide range of resources on women, gender, and women's studies for the Madison campus. The extensive women's studies collection for Southeast Asia includes many unique pamphlets, books, and journals that document the lives, issues, and movements of women in the region.

Return to the top.

WorldCat WorldCat

WorldCat is a resource that can help you verify citations and obtain hard to find resources through interlibrary loan. Use your library's interlibrary loan procedures and policies to obtain items available through WorldCat.

Return to the top.

Statue of Abraham Lincoln

Last Update: August 2004