General MadCat tips
For general tips on using MadCat, see the libraries' Research Tips and Tricks.
Check out our tutorial on using Subject Headings!
Relying on keyword searching is not very reliable. Here's why:
- A search will find all items that contain your keyword, even records that are out of context with your search. This means you could be scrolling through pages of unrelated results
- They require multiple searches using different terms that express the same concept: child, youth, joven, juventud, young adult, adolescent, etc.
Using subject headings to search, however, solves these problems!
- They indicate the subject/content of a substantial portion of a work.
- They provide a clear and systematic way of scanning a catalog or database for what is needed.
- They are often used to categorize articles in scholarly databases.
- They bring like materials together under a single concept.
- They are standardized throughout the country, meaning you can search multiple library catalogues the same way.
- They contain cross-references, directing you to other valuable search terms.
Knowing how to correctly cite your sources is essential to conducting research. Not only can you avoid plagiarism, but you can also return to and share your exact sources when you need to.
- UW-Madison's Writing Center Handbook has information both on citing your sources within a paper, and composing a bibliography in a variety of formats.
Collection Development Policy
The Ibero-American Studies Collection has a detailed Collection Development Policy in PDF format.
The collection to support the courses in Spanish and Portuguese and the Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies Program is located in Memorial Library. Because of its inter-disciplinary nature, the collection includes the following Library of Congress classes:
- B (General Philosophy)
- BC (Logic)
- BD (Speculative Philosophy)
- BF (Psychology. Parapsychology. Occult Sciences)
- BH (Aesthetics)
- BJ (Ethics. Social Usages. Etiquette)
- BL (Religions. Mythology. Rationalism)
- BR (Christianity)
- BT (Doctrinal Theology)
- BV (Practical Theology)
- BX (Religion. Christian Denominations)
- C (General Auxiliary Sciences of History)
- CB (History of Spanish Civilization)
- CC (Archaeology)
- CD (Diplomatics. Archives. Seals)
- CE (Technical Chronology. Calendars)
- CJ (Numismatics)
- CN (Inscriptions. Epigraphy)
- CR (Heraldry)
- CS (Genealogy)
- CT (Biography)
- DP (History of Spain and Portugal)
- F (Latin American History)
- GF (Human Ecology. Anthropogeography)
- GN (Anthropology; ethnology)
- GR (Folklore)
- GT (Manners and Customs)
- GV (Recreation. Leisure)
- H (Social Science, General)
- HA (Statistics)
- HB (Economic Theory, Demography)
- HC (Economic History and Conditions)
- HD (Economic History and Conditions)
- HE (Transportation and Communication)
- HF (Commerce)
- HG (Finance)
- HJ (Public Finance)
- HM (Sociology)
- HN (Social History and Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform)
- HQ (The Family, Marriage, Women)
- HS (Secret societies)
- HT (Communities. Classes. Races)
- HV (Social Pathology. Social and Public Welfare. Criminology)
- HX (Socialism, Communism, Anarchism)
- JA (Political Science, General)
- JC (Political Theory)
- JL (Political Institutions and Public Administration)
- JV (Colonies and Colonization. Emigration and Immigration)
- KG-KHW (Latin America, Mexico, Central America, West Indies, and Caribbean Law)
- L (Education, General)
- LA (History of Education)
- LB (Theory and Practice of Education)
- LC (Special Aspects of Education)
- LE (Education: Individual Institutions. Spain, Portugal and Latin America)
- PC (Spanish Philology, PC4001-PC4071)
- PC (Spanish Language, PC4073-PC4977)
- PC (Catalan Literature, PC3900-PC3976)
- PC (Portuguese Philology, PC5001-PC5041)
- PC (Portuguese Language, PC5043-PC5498)
- PM (Native Languages)
- PN (Literature and film)
- PQ (Spanish Literature, PQ6001-PQ7011)
- PQ (Spanish American Literature, PQ7079-PQ8560)
- PQ (Portuguese Literature, PQ9500-PQ9698)
- PQ (Brazilian Literature, PQ9500-PQ9698)
- Z (Bibliography and Library Science)
Call Number Ranges
Knowing which call number ranges contain the subjects you are researching can be a good way to browse the stacks. Listed below are ranges of call numbers in the Library of Congress system that you may find useful.
If you know the call number, you can use this online Memorial Library Stack Guide to find the item.