Research Guides
Librarians at UW have created guides on a multitude of topics. The entire list of Research Guides is available by topic.
The Ibero-American Studies Collection also has created guides related to our research areas.
- Afro-Latin America
- Brazilian Cordel Literature
- Haiti: Past and Present
- Immigration between U.S. and Mexico, 1810-2010
- International Business
- Latin American Cartonera Publishers
- Lusophone Literature Resources
- Public Health in Mexico
You may also find the library's general guides on conducting research useful.
About Bibliographies and Citations
What is a bibliography? “A systematic list of books or other works.”
Studies in Bibliography, a journal about bibliography and textual criticism from the University of Virginia
University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writing Center Handbook provides helpful information on compiling bibliographies
Bibliographies on Iberoamerican Topics
Anthropology
Ethnology
History
- Spanish American War
- Spanish American War and the Philippine Revolution Motion Picture Source
- Spanish History Yale University
- Spanish Inquisition
- Yellow Fever and the Spanish American War
Human Rights
- Security in Latin America: Human Rights Center for International Policy
- Third World Democratization and Human Rights
- United Nations High Commissioner on Human Rights
Puerto Rico
- Puerto Rico: Information Sources Compiled by Fernando Acosta-Rodríguez
Trade
- NAFTA information from the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, Executive Office of the President
Women Studies
- Sterilization of Puerto Rican Women: A Selected, Partially Annotated Bibliography by Florita Z. Louis de Malave
- Women and Feminism in the Spanish - French-Speaking Caribbean: A Comparative Analysis: A Selected Bibliography by Florita Z. Louis de Malavé
- Las mujeres, la política y los criterios de igualdad
Print Resources
MadCat
MadCat, Madison's Catalog, is the best place to search for print (and other) resources in UW Libraries.
A useful way to browse MadCat is to use Subject Headings. Check out this tutorial for more information.
Memorial Library Stack Guide
Have a call number but not sure where to find the item in Memorial?
Electronic Resources
From University of Wisconsin-Madison:
- Databases by Subject, a link to UW databases covering Ibero-American studies.
- Learn how to use the Informe! database
- Learn how to use Library PressDisplay
From other institutions:
- Iberian Studies Web Page at the Western European Studies Section (WESS) from ALA
WESS is part of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and created this wiki to gather high-quality resources. Resources are listed by type (e.g., Online Newspapers) and Subject (e.g., History).
- Medieval and Renaissance Studies Web Page (WESS-ALA)
WESS has also created this more specific page of resources on Medieval and Rennaisance studies. Many resources are freely available online (see “Guides and Subject Indices” and “Electronic Texts and Images--Free Sites” especially).
- Queer Resources in Romance Language Countries of Western Europe(WESS-ALA)
WESS has also created this page of resources related to queer studies within Europe. Resources are listed by country
- Academic Latina/o Zone of Activism & Research (ALZAR) in SALALM
Use the navigation links at the left side of the page. ALZAR provides resources that are academic in nature and address Latino/a activism within the United States.
- Iberian Studies in SALALM
ISiS provides links to many types of resources from and about Spain and Portugal, including Newspapers, Radio, Societies and Organizations, Resource Guides and Research Centers.
- Proyecto Ensayo Hispanico This project is navigable in both English and Spanish. It has cataloged a collection of Spanish essays from many time periods. They are viewable in a text format (.html).
- Electronic Maps: Maps of the Americas from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
This collections contains maps created by the CIA of a multitude of countries and regions. Most maps are viewable as .jpgs or .pdfs.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
This developing digital collection includes many images and informal publications, like University and club reports.
- Programa LaNeta (Mexico)
LaNeta es un servicio de comunicación electrónica para organismos no gubernamentales (ONGs or NGOs in Enlgish), otras organizaciones sin fines de lucro y agencias vinculadas al trabajo de éstas.
- Public Domain Internet Resources for Latin America
A comprehensive list of public domain (free) internet resources on Latin American Studies from New Mexico State University.
- Latin America Public Opinion Project
LAPOP from Vanderbuilt University conducts comprehensive surveys and studies on public opinion throughout Latin America. Their publications can be viewed by country.
Reference Collection
Reference materials that cover Ibero-American topics may be found in Memorial Library's Reference Collection, room 262.
Items in the Reference Collection may only be used within the library. They do not circulate. However, you may photocopy or scan these items at many locations within Memorial Library.
If an item you find in MadCat is located in the Reference Collection, this information will be displayed at the bottom of the record.![]()
Reference Materials
Items within the Reference Collection tend to include:- Dictionaries (both language and topical)
- Encyclopedias
- Bibliographies (lists of resources on a specific topic)
- Research handbooks and guides
- Catalogs
- Atlases and maps
- Directories
Ibero-American Research Libraries, Special Libraries and Archives
The most efficient way to search holdings of other libraries is to use WorldCat. If you have questions about searching and obtaining materials through WorldCat, check out this WorldCat tutorial.
Notable Ibero-American studies collections are listed below.
- Latin America and the Caribbean
- United States
- Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room: Washington, D.C.
- Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas: Austin, TX
- Latin American Studies Collection at Yale University: New Haven, CT
- Cornell University Latin American and Caribbean Government Documents Project: Ithaca, NY
- The Latin American Library at Tulane University: New Orleans, LA
- Doing Research at Princeton: Latin America, Spain and Portugal: Princeton, NJ
- Spain
- Biblioteca Nacional: Madrid
- Bibliotecas de Castilla y León
- Consorci de Biblioteques Universitàries de Catalunya
- Biblioteca y Archivo de la Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
- Biblioteca de la Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
- Biblioteca Universidad Compultense Madrid
- Biblioteca Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia: Madrid
- Biblioteca General de la Universidad Politécnica de Valencia
- Biblioteca de la Universidad de Cantabria: Santander
- Biblioteca y Archivo de Universidad de Cádiz
- Biblioteca Universidad de Córdoba
- Biblioteca Universitaria de la Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
- Biblioteca Universitaria de la Universidad de Murcia
- Biblioteca Universidad de Navarra:Pamplona
- Biblioteca de la Universidad de Oviedo
- Biblioteca de la Universidad de Zaragoza
- Biblioteca Universitaria, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela
- Biblioteca Universitaria, Universidad de Léon
- Biblioteca de la Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona
- Biblioteca Universitat Jaume I: Castellón de la Plana
- Biblioteca de la Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
- Biblioteca Universitat Pompeu Fabra: Barcelona
- Universitat de Barcelona Centre de Recursos per a l'Aprenentatge i la Investigació
- Biblioteca Universitat de Girona
- Biblioteca Universitat de Lleida
- Biblioteca Universitat de Valéncia
International Organizations
- Organization of American States
The OAS includes all 35 independent nations in the Americas, with information in a variety of languages (English, Spanish, French and Portuguese.) They publish annual reports, as well as topical reports based on subcommittee groups, like Human Rights, Education, Law and Sustainable Development.
- United Nations
The UN publishes a plethora of information on a wide variety of issues and in many languages. Their reports can be accessed by broad topic within "Resources and Services" under "Publications." You may also access the UN Library collections, documents about the UN and maps within "Resources and Services."
- Amnesty International
The "Library" link provides access to AI's pubications. "Human Rights Information" from the main page allows access to information by country.
- Asociación Latinoamericana de Integración
Composed of 12 Latin American countries, ALADI favors creating an area of economic preference in Latin America. They publish a wide variety of economic and statistical reports in Spanish language.
- Association of Caribbean States
The ACS hosts events focusing on Trade, Transport, Sustainable Tourism and Natural Disasters in the Caribbean region. A summary of their work can be found under "FAQ." They publish papers online under each of their four focus areas.
- Earthwatch
A good source on information on climate change, Earthwatch funds researh globally and publishes these results.
- Center for International Policy
CIP is an organization that promotes responsible foreign policy within the Americas. In their "About Us" section, they clearly list their funding sources. CIP publishes approximately 4 reports annually, focusing on different projects within their mission statement.
- Food and Agriculture Organization
The FAO is part of the United Nations, working to end world hunger. Much like the UN, the FAO publishes detailed reports often. These can be found through their "Publications" link. The website may also be browsed topically.
- Inter-American Development Bank
Conducting social and economic research and development projects within the Americas, the IADB publishes current news and reports.
- Instituto para la Integración de América Latina y el Caribe
INTAL is a part of the IADB, focusing more specifically on trade. Their publications are available in Spanish language.
- Comisión Económico para América Latina y el Caribe
CEPAL is one of five regional comissions of the United Nations. Its focus is the economic development of Latin America. The site contains useful Research, Publications and Statistics.
- World Trade Organization
The WTO is a global organization that negotiates trade between nations. A useful way to navigate the website is through the "Resources for..." section at the left of the page.
- Sistema de Información sobre Comercio Exterior
SICE is the Organization of American States Foreign Trade Information System. Their focus is on trade policy in the Americas, and they provide documentation of trade agreements and devlopments.
- Worldbank
The World Bank focuses on providing financial assistance to countries around the world by providing loans, credit and grants. They conduct research and issue reports regularly on economic conditions globally.
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
This collection of electronic texts is devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities spanning from the Medieval period to the present. The collection currently consists of over thirty-five titles that have been encoded from their original documentary form to make full-text searching possible.


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](/images/ask.png)