Ibero-American Studies Collection

Maps of South America

Welcome

Welcome to the Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies' Page. Since this page has been developed to support the courses and research of the students and faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the site emphasizes resources located on our campus.

Our collection is constantly evolving and growing. You can find a link to our resources above. We have compiled several lists of resources, organized by both type and topic. Also be sure to look at our new Research Guides, listed under Area/International Studies.

Thank you for visiting!

About the Collection

Ibero-American studies encompass the history, cultures, and affairs of the American territories conquered by the Spanish and Portuguese between the 15th and 18th centuries. It also focuses on all the subsequently independent Spanish-speaking republics, Brazil, and all the Caribbean, taking into consideration each region's preexisting indigenous cultures. By the same token, Iberian studies encompass the same study areas for Spain and Portugal from the Early Middle Ages to the present.

This collection includes materials from or about Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries in the areas of: literature, linguistics, history, sociology, anthropology, economy, political sciences, religion, cultural studies, women's studies, and film studies. Please follow this link for more information about using the collection.

Announcements

We have acquired several new titles for the Cartonera Collection from Dulcinéia Catadora (Brasil), Cohuina Cartonera (Mex), La Cartonera (Mex), and La Ratona Cartonera (Mex). These new titles are all in Special Collections.

My Accounts arrowarrow