

Multilingual Lexicon of Higher Education. Adrian Nicolescu, editor-in-chief. Munich: K.G. Saur, 1993-
This tool is designed for those seeking information pertinent to the various higher educational systems. The set is geographically organized in Volume 1: Western Europe and North America; and in Volume 2: Central and Eastern Europe, and Greece, Israel and Turkey. Typically, the entries of the countries have approximate English meanings.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262
Call number: LB15 M82 1993
Accredited Insitutions of Postsecondary Education, Programs, Candidates. 1995/1996 ed. D.C.: American Council on Education, 1996. The directory is formatted in two main groupings: non-degree granting institutions and degree awarding ones. Both include certain educational establishments outside the United States. Those "Candidates for accreditation" have initial approval. Data are provided by individual accrediting organizations.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262
Call number: L901 A52 1995-1996
American Universities and Colleges. American Council on Education.
A comprehensive listing of accredited institutions awarding bachelor's and/or higher degrees. Profiles of the institutions, essays discussing various aspects of higher education, e.g., structure and history, and appendices with statistical data are among the many features.
Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Latest edition is at Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Call number: LA226 A65
Educational Rankings Annual. Detroit, Michigan: Gale Research.
Ranking information applicable to many categories of "education" characterize the compilation. The sources are included in the descriptions. A separate index facilitates usage of this volume.
Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Latest edition is at Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Call number: LB2331.63 E383
The HEP Higher Education Directory. Falls Church, VA: Higher Education Publications, Inc. The directory is arranged in alphabetical order by state of the US and by outlying areas of the US. Institutions which are accredited, degree granting, and are legally empowered to offer at least one year of postsecondary education are listed. A special section details various accrediting agencies.
Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Latest edition is at Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Call number: L901 E345
National Faculty Directory. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co.The multi-volume set typically lists teaching faculty, their departmental memberships and addresses at United States institutions and certain Canadian ones.
Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Latest volumes are at Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Call number: L901 N3
Official GRE/CGS Directory of Graduate Programs. Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service. The directory consists of four separate volumes divided by areas of subject specialization. Within each volume are several arrangements of data covering accredited graduate courses of study in the US and Canada. Financial and enrollment information are illustrative.
Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Call number: L901 O322
Peterson's Guide to Graduate Programs. The guide consists of six separate volumes divided by areas of
subject specialization. Within each discipline are entries for schools offering
a graduate degree in that discipline. Entries include basic financial and
enrollment information for application to the program. Also available is
the electronic version called Peterson's Gradline (see Electronic
Indexing and Abstracting Services)
Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Note: This item is available only when a reference librarian is on duty.
Call number: L901 P446
Encyclopedia of Higher Education. Burton R. Clark, Guy R. Neave, editors. Oxford Eng., Tarrytown, NY: Pergamon Press, 1992. The multi-volume set, international in scope, surveys higher educational organization and practice in various countries, and overviews broad subject disciplines and their component fields. Relevant bibliographies follow the essays, and several indexes conclude the compilation.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262
Call number: LB15 E49 1992
International Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. Philip G. Altbach, editor. New York: Garland Pub., 1991Subject specialists, writing before the changes of late 1989 in then Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union, present comprehensive discussions of higher education in selected countries and areas of the world. Certain issues pertinent to higher education, e.g. "Academic Freedom," Edward Shils, are included in a topical section. A separate bibliographical part complements.
Memorial Library Reference 262
Call number: LB15 I59 1991
Higher Education, Handbook of Theory and Research. New York, NY: Agathon Press, Inc.This annual reviews themes pertinent to higher education: the essays comprehend the research of various writers.
Memorial Library Reference Room 262
Call number: LB2300 H52
International Handbook of Universities. Paris: The International Association of Universities.Universities from more than 150 countries are included in the handbook. They are qualitatively selected by appropriate representation of the country and their listings include basic information about the institutions.
Memorial Library Stacks Oversize Collection
Latest edition is at Memorial Library Reference Desk, Room 262
Call number: L900 I58
World Guide to Higher Education: A Comparative Survey of Systems, Degrees and Qualifications. 3rd ed. Paris: Unesco Publishing, 1996.The single volume succinctly presents information describing the higher educational structure of many countries of the world. Each country review features a glossary.
Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262
Call number: LB2322 U45 1996
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators. 4th ed. Paris: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 1996. The newly updated and enhanced volume of OECD indicators facilitates study of various aspects of comparative education including educational attainment at the tertiary educational level. Organization charts of the country education systems and a glossary constitute two of the special sections. A companion volume, Education at a Glance. Analysis, analyzes policies based upon the indicators.
Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Latest edition in Reference Stacks, Room 262
Call number: L10 E3
Projections of Educational Statistics to . . .[year]. [Washington, DC]: National Center for Education Statistics, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, U.S. Dept. of Education. Statistical projections include elementary, secondary, and higher education levels. Topics applicable to higher education are enrollment, earned degrees, and expenditures.
Memorial Library Documents - Ask at Reference Desk Room 262
Call number: ED 1.120
