About the Collection:
Services:
Resources:
Guides:
Affiliations:
|
Periodical Indexes for Japanese Studies
Full-Text Indexes
Citation Indexes
Selected Indexes by Subject:
Full-Text Indexes
- Academic Search Elite
- Academic Search is a partial full-text database of more than 3000 journals. It covers many academic areas including business, social
sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural. Many of the full-text titles go back to 1990. Includes Japan-related titles, Japan Quarterly (1990-2001)
and Look Japan (1994-current), as well as several journals in Asian studies such as the Journal of Asian Studies (1990-current).
- Ingenta
- Ingenta contains several electronic journals related to Japanese studies (e.g., International Journal of Japanese Sociology (2001-2002), Japan and the World Economy (1995-current) , Japan Forum (2000-current), Japan Economic Review (1997-current), Japanese Psychological Research (1997-current), Japanese Studies (2000-current), Journal of Japanese and International Economics (1996-current) , and Social Science Japan Journal (1998-current)).
- JSTOR
- Includes the Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (1936-1996), Journal of Asian Studies (formerly Far Eastern Quarterly) (1956-1998), Journal of the Association of Teachers of Japanese (1972-1999), Journal of Japanese Studies (1974-1997), and Monumenta Nipponica (1938-1996).
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts.
- ProQuest Research Library
- ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals providing full text for nearly half of them. It has a mix of general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences. It includes Japan Echo (1997- current), Japan Quarterly (1988-2001), Journal of Asian Studies (1988-current), and Journal of Japanese Studies (1991-current).
- Return to Top
Citation Indexes
- Bibiliography of Asian Studies
- Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes journal
articles about Asia in Western language journals
and books from 1971. Citations to books were discontinued
in 1992.
- MagazinePlus
- MagazinePlus is a large collection of Japanese databases. With over 5.2 million items, it consolidates five separate databases: Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (an index to 9396 Japanese language and 102 Western language scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, with coverage from 1975-present, updated twice a month); Jānaru Indekkusu (an index to weekly and monthly magazines, with coverage from 1981-present, updated weekly); Joint (an index to 1300 economic journals, with coverage from 1981-1995); KSK (an index to foreign journals on industries, with coverage from 1986-present, updated every 2-3 months); Gakkai nenpō kenkyū hōkoku ronbun sōran(an index to annual publications of academic societies, with coverage from 1945-1995); and Ronbunshū naiyō saimoku sōran (an index to monographic books and conference papers, with coverage from 1945-1998). Guide in Japanese. Guide in English.
- Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (雑誌記事索引、国立国会図書館蔵書検索)
Selected Indexes by Subject
-
-
Access to the various citation and full-text databases licensed to the University of Wisconsin-Madison
arranged by title and subject.
-
Anthropology
- Anthropological Index Online
-
Anthropological Index Online contains citations for more than 750 international journals
and special interest publications in all areas of anthropology and archaeology.
-
Anthropological Literature
-
Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology
libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in more
than 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These
include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature
includes the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical
Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979).
Return to Top
-
Art History
-
Art Abstracts
-
Art Abstracts indexes approximately 300 key English and foreign-language periodicals,
yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Its subject matter covers archaeology, architecture, art history,
crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology,
and film, video and photography. Abstracts are included beginning with 1994.
-
Business and Economics
-
ABI/INFORM
-
ABI/INFORM indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1300 scholarly and trade business
periodicals. Popular journals such as Forbes, Fortune, and Business Week are also
included. It provides full-text articles from more than 600 of the journals from 1992 to the
present. It is an excellent source of information on management techniques, corporate strategies,
trends, and business conditions.
-
Business Source Elite
-
Business Source Elite is a full-text database of more than 900 business journals plus
an indexing and abstracting database of approximately 1570 journals. Both scholarly and popular business
magazines are included. The database covers many areas of business including management, economics,
finance, banking and accounting. Searches may be limited to retrieve only scholarly journals.
Dates vary but many of the full-text titles go back to 1990.
Return to Top
-
History
-
Historical Abstracts
-
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social
sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to full-text articles are included
when available. It lists articles covering 1450 to the present including approximately 1700 periodicals
published in 90 countries in 40 languages. Collections of essays, conference papers, dissertations, and
books are also included.
-
Linguistics and Literature
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides abstracts of articles on linguistics and
its sub-disciplines from approximately 2,000 serials published around the world, complemented with coverage
of recent books, occasional papers, technical reports, and dissertations. Fields covered include child
language acquisition, computational and mathematical linguistics, language therapy, dialectology, artificial
intelligence, and bilingualism, among others.
-
Modern Language Association International Bibliography
-
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 3,000 English language
and foreign periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter
includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Reviews of literary
and scholarly works are not included. There are no abstracts.
Return to Top
-
Political Science
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
-
CIAO is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes
full- text of working papers from 58 organizations, full-text of the proceedings of conferences sponsored
by 17 organizations, abstracts from eleven major international affairs journals, and abstracts
and/or reviews of books. More than 280 full-color regional, political, and country maps are also included.
-
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
-
LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal,
news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers,
ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company
and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts.
-
Public Affairs Information Service
-
Public Affairs Information Service indexes more than 900 journals; books; government documents;
statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental,
and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world.
Its subject matter covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a combination and continuation of two older
databases, <i>Political Science Abstracts</i> (1975-2000) and <i>ABC POL SCI</i> (1984-2000). The new
resource provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of more than 1200 international serials in political
science and related fields including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
Return to Top
-
Music
- Music Index Online
-
Music Index Online indexes 640 music periodicals from twenty countries. There are no abstracts.
-
RILM Online
-
RILM Online provides abstracts to monographs, journal articles, collections of essays, festschriften,
dissertations, and more. Coverage is international and emphasizes the scholarly literature in music.
-
Religious Studies
- ATLAS
-
ATLAS (formerly ATLA Religion Index) indexes more than 600 of the leading journals in the field
of religion and theology. The index also includes essays from multi-author works and book reviews.
ATLAS recently has added full text of approximately 39 journals and will be adding about 30 more.
Most of the journals will be full text back to 1949, although some will not include the most
recent 1-5 years, depending upon individual publishers.
-
Sociology
-
Theatre
-
International Index to the Performing Arts
-
IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including
dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance,
comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. It draws its current content from
more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals and indexes a variety of documents
such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews
and events. Currently 25 of the 200 periodicals contain full-text articles. Although the majority
of titles begin in 1998, 46 important journals have been added retrospectively, some back to 1864.
Return to Top
|