Skip to ContentMap of East Asia

East Asian Collection, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Documentary Films about Japan


Title.  Director/Producer.  Distributor/Publisher, Date. Format.  Running Time. Summary Location Call Number
After America--after Japan.  Regge Life.  Global Film Network, 1999.  VHS.  196 min. Through interviews, explores the repatriation, or reverse culture shock, of Japanese returning to Japan after living in the United States, and of Americans returning to the United States after living in Japan, as well as the expatriation, the experience of living as a foreigner from one of these countries in the other. MMC Memorial Room 443 In process.
Aging in Japan : when traditional mechanisms vanish.  NHK.  Films for the Humanities, 1993.  VHS.  45 min.  This program provides a record of a society in flux, in which the traditional mechanisms for looking after old people are breaking down. These Japanese senior citizens created the economic miracle of modern Japan, only to find that the happy retirement they unquestioningly expected has been replaced by isolation. MMC Memorial Room 443 HQ1064 J3 A656 1993
American Japanese culture clash.  PBS Video, 1991.  VHS.  60 min. Part of a three-part series on Japan/U.S. relations, examining American stereotypes of the Japanese, Japanese misconceptions about Americans and Japanese and American workers colliding in the workplace. CIMC Professional Stacks; LSS rm. 259 Van Hise HF3127 .A46 1991 (CIMC); JA1.019 (LSS)
Basho to spun steel.  Cristo Zaņartu/Rebecca Clark.  Rohan Arts, 1998.  VHS.  52 min. "The poetry of thread is the beginning and the end of all textile making. [The film] gives a glimpse into the amazing world or contemporary Japanese textile design.  From new textile production in modern factories, invented by leading designers and master technicians in Tochigi, Kiryu and Tokyo to the traditional banana fiber weaving (basho-fu) of Okinawa, the essence of Japanese spirit and culture is a woven dialogue between the past and the future." Ruth Ketterer Harris Collection NK8984 A1 B37 1998
Basketmaker in rural Japan.  Daniel Bailes.  Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, 1994.  VHS.  11 min. Introduces the life work of Hiroshima Kazuo, the last professional basketmaker in the mountainous Hinokage region on Japan's island of Kyushu. Viewers can watch Mr. Hiroshima make a creel while listening to his descriptions of his apprenticeship, the role of basketmakers in Japanese rural society, and his feelings about his work. MMC Memorial Room 443 TT879 B3 B37 1994
Battle of Tsushima, 1905: Japan enters the world scene. Jean Cazenave/Henri de Turenne, Daniel Costelle. Films for the Humanities, 1991. VHS. 41 min. This program traces the opening of Japan after two and a half decades of isolation imposed by the shoguns, the arrival of Commodore Perry, the modernist attitudes of the Meiji Emperor. It covers Japan's declaration of war on China in 1894; the Treaty of Shimonoseki ... and how the alliance between Russian and China affected Japan. MMC Memorial Room 443 DS517.5 B38 1991
Between two worlds: a Japanese pilgrimage. Joanne Hershfield & Susan Caperna Lloyd. University of California Extension Center for Media and Independent Learning, 1992. VHS. 30 min. In the 17th century the followers of Kobo Daishi began to trace the footsteps of their beloved saint. Along the way, they dedicated temples to him, 88 of them in all. This holy journey became known as the pilgrimage of the 88 sacred places of Shikoku. This documentary is about this pilgrimage.                    MMC Memorial Room BQ6450 J32 S4863 1992
Breaking the history of silence: the Women's International War Crimes Tribunal for the Trial of Japanese Military Sexual Slavery. Video Juku, c2001. VHS. 68 min. "The Women's International War Crimes Tribunal held in Tokyo, Japan on 8-12 Dec. 2000 was a Peoples' Tribunal set up to bring those responsible for Japan's military sexual violence, in particular the enslavement of 'comfort women,' to justice and to end the ongoing cycle of impunity for wartime violence against women. A revolutionary tribunal representing people from all across Asia, it was the first of its kind to break Japan's post-war taboo by finding the emperor guilty of war crimes during WWII"--Container. "Project by the International Organizing Committee of the Women's International War Crimes Tribunal 2000 for the Trial of Japanese Military Sexual Slavery, Violence Against Women in War-Network Japan (VAWW-NET Japan)." MMC Memorial Room K5301 A6 W66 2000
Buddha in the land of the Kami: (7th - 12th centuries). Jean Antoine. Films for the Humanities, 1989. VHS. 54 min. Begins with the creation myth of Japan and explains the origin and scope of the Kami concept; explains the arrival of Buddhism and how Buddhism and the Kami were assimilated; discusses the role of Chinese culture, style, and writing in Japanese culture; and demonstrates how the Japanese garden epitomizes the Japanese view of the relationship between man and nature, space, time, and reality. MMC Memorial Room DS882.2 B844 1989
Budo: the martial arts. Traditional Japanese sports: Sumo. TDK in cooperation with the Asia Society, 1991? VHS. ? min. Videocassette part of the kit: Symbolism in Japanese language and culture: activities for the elementary classroom. Titles on container: Budo: the martial arts and Traditional Japanese sports: Sumo. MMC Memorial Room GV1100.77 .B833 1991
Bunraku: puppet theatre of Japan. Sakura Motion Picture Company, 1967. 16mm. 28 min. Traces the history and development of Bunraku, a dramatic form in which a narrator sings the story and puppets carry out the action. Also shown are examples of non-Bunraku puppet theater and a craftsman making a puppet. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) PN1978 J3 B86 1967
Butoh: body on the edge of crisis. Michael Blackwood Productions. Audio Plus Video, 2001. VHS. 90 min. Using contemporary footage of leading Butoh performers, this documentary presents the history of the development of butoh dance, interviews the creator of this Japanese modern dance form, Tatsumi Hijikata, and explores the cultural significance of the Butoh dance form in Japan. MMC Memorial Room GV1783.2 B88 2001
Butoh: piercing the mask. Richard Moore/Chris Bollard and Richard Moore. Art Com, 1991. VHS. 49 min. Using archival and contemporary footage of leading Butoh performers, this documentary presents the history of the dance and explores the relationship between post-World War II Japanese culture and the primal images and emotions expressed in Butoh. MMC Memorial Room In process.
Ceramic art : potters of Japan. CRM/McGraw-Hill, 1968. 16mm. 31 min. Depicts the lives and working methods of five present-day potters of Japan who work in traditional ways. CIMC Professional Stacks NK4167 .C47 1968
Colonel comes to Japan. John Nathan. LCA Video/Films, 1981. 16mm. 29 min. When an American company sets up shop abroad, particularly in a culture as different from our own as Japan's, special considerations must come into play -- as evidenced by this chronicle of Kentucky Fried Chicken's entry into the Japanese fast-food market. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) HD62.4 C64 1981b
Colonel comes to Japan. John Nathan. MTI Teleprograms, 1981. VHS. 28 min. Hosted by Eric Sevareid, this program shows the marketing techniques used by the American fast-food company, Kentucky Fried Chicken, to meet the needs and expectations of Japanese consumers and Japanese business practices when it opens its franchises there. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) HD62.4 C64 1981
Discovering the music of Japan. Bernard Wilets. AIMS Media, 1994? VHS. 22 min. Demonstrates three important Japanese instruments: the koto, the shakuhachi, and the shamisen, and explains how they fit into Japanese life. Includes performances of traditional singing and dancing, and pieces played by an ensemble of the three instruments. Music Library (Mills) Audio Facility In process.
Doing business in Japan. Joseph Chow, Cheryl Wang. 1991. VHS. 30 min. Through the economic success of many individuals and corporations such as Coca-Cola and Estee Lauder, viewers have an opportunity to explore the Japanese demand for quality as well as business and social practices. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) HF3127 .D65 1991
Essence of being Japanese. Jean Antoine/Initial Groupe. Films for the Humanities, 1989. VHS. 48 min. Covers the events of the 20th century -- the earthquake of 1923, the rise of militarism, the accession of Emperor Hirohito, the Greater East Asia Co-prosperity Sphere, the Pacific War, Hiroshima, and the American occupation of Japan -- but the primary focus is on what makes Japan Japanese. MMC Memorial Room DS885 E87 1989
Extinct is forever: snow monkeys. John LaPointe, Naohiko Kurita. AIMS Media, 1975. VHS. 8 min. Looks at the behavior and habitat of the Japanese macaque (Macaca fuscata) in a monkey park in the Yakoya River district of Japan. Shows adaptation in order to play in the hot springs. Other behaviors shown include grooming, playing, washing of food, eating and maintenance of the social hierarchy. Primate Center Library Audio Visual Collection VT 0292 1975
Four families. National Film Board. CRM McGraw-Hill Films, (date unknown). VHS. 59 min. A comparison of child rearing practices in India, France, Japan, and Canada. Anthropologist Margaret Mead discusses how the upbringing of the child contributes to a distinctive national character. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) HQ769 .F68 1980
Gagaku: an important intangible cultural property of Japan. Shimonaka Memorial Foundation and TokyoCinema Inc. Shimonaka Memorial Foundation, 2000. VHS. 59 min. Serves as an introduction bringing together highlights of the performances, covering all genres within a one-hour time frame. Music Library (Mills) Audio Facility VIDEO CASSETTE 790
Gagaku: the court music of Japan. Eugene Enrico, David Smeal. University of Oklahoma, 1989. VHS. 60 min. The Imperial Court Orchestra of Tokyo illustrates the contrasting styles of gagaku through music, costume and court dances (Nasori, Genjoraku). Host, William P. Malm. Sidney D. Brown discusses gagaku's historic roots in Mongolia and Korea. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy); Memorial MMC rm. 443; Music Library (Mills) Audio Facility ML340 .G34 1989 (CIMC, MMC); VIDEO CASSETTE 163 (Mills)
Genji scrolls reborn. NHK Documentary; director, Atsushi Saito. Films for the Humanities, c2003. DVD. 60 min. Documents the restoration and reproduction of the picture scrolls of The Tale of Genji, which illustrated this classic novel written by Murasaki Shikibu. MMC Memorial Room 443 PL788.4 G43 G46 2003
The Great Hanshin earthquake : technical briefing. EERI, 1990?. VHS. 46 min. Great Tales in Asian art. Independent Production Fund; produced and directed by Perry Miller Adato. , 1990?. VHS. 46 min. Presentation of information taken from a briefing held after the Hanshin earthquake which occured in Japan on January 17, 1995. Wendt Library, 2nd Floor QE535.2 J3 G74 1995
Great Tales in Asian art. Independent Production Fund; produced and directed by Perry Miller Adato. Kultur International Films, c1995. VHS. 82 min. Tells beloved stories of India, Indonesia, Korea, and Japan through masterpieces of the visual arts, drama, and dance. Art Library Audiovisual Collection N7260 G743 1995
Heart of the nation. Philip Burton, Kathleen McCleery, Steven York. Films for the Humanities, 1994. VHS. 58 min. Explores the central values of Japan, Germany, and the U.S. and focuses on what drives each of these societies. America's hallmark is individualism; Japan's the pre-eminence of the group. In America, freedom and diversity are primary values; in Japan, conformity and a powerful sense of nationalism prevail. Germany stands between the two. Examines education as a metaphor for the contrasts in the three societies. Business Library LB43 H4 1994
Hellfire: a journey from Hiroshima. John Junkerman; John W. Dower. First Run Features, 1986. VHS. 58 min. A film on the lives and art of Iri and Toshi Maruki, witnesses of the bombing of Hiroshima. Art Library Audiovisual Collection ND1059 M3 H45
Hiroshima maiden. Joan Darling/Jean O'Neil. Public Media Video, 1988. VHS. 58 min. Ten years after the 1945 atomic bombing of Hiroshima, Japan, Miyeko Matsuda arrives in America. She is invited to stay at the home of the Bennett family while she undergoes plastic surgery for radiation burns and scarring. Miyeko is warmly welcomed by everyone except older son Johnny, who is persuaded by his friends that "this Japanese girl may be a spy." CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) D767.25.H6 H67 1988
Hiroshima Nagasaki August 1945. Erik Barnouw. The Video Project, 1980. VHS. 17 min. Reveals in original footage of Japanese cinematographers the devastation in Hiroshima and Nagasaki only days after the atomic bombs were dropped. Shows some of the two-hour-and-forty-minute, black-and-white film which was confiscated by the U.S. government and made available to the public in 1968. College Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Fl. West, Rm 3191 D767.25 H6 H57 1980
Hiroshima: the legacy. Kiyofumi Ishizawa, Ken'ichiro Iwamoto. Films for the Humanities, 1993. VHS. 30 min. The Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum houses the relics of the first atomic blast: scientific data and human minutiae; shadows burned into stone by bodies blocking out the brightness of the blast; a bamboo mannequin of a 12-year-old dressed in the shreds of clothing recovered from a group of boys. President Truman explains why he decided to drop the bomb and why years later he still thought he had made the only correct choice. MMC Memorial Room 443 D767.25 H6 H68 1993
Home front and victory. CBS Video Library, 1983. VHS. 90 min. Over here -- Victory in Europe -- Defeat of Japan -- Trial at Nuremberg. College Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Fl. West, Rm 3191 D743 H673 1983
Illustrated handscroll: tale of Genji.. Video Champ, CR-Nexus. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1993/2003. DVD. 60 min.   Documents the restoration and reproduction of the picture scrolls of The tale of Genji, which illustrated this classic novel written by Murasaki Shikibu. MMC Memorial Room 443 PL788.4 G43 I453 2003
In the name of the Emperor: Rape of Nanjing. Nancy Tong, Christine Choy. Filmmakers Library, Inc., 1996? VHS. 52 min. An account of the Nanking Massacre. Integrates diary entries, actual film footage of the massacre shot by an American missionary, Rev. John Magee, interviews with Japanese scholars and former soldiers who recalled in detail how they savagely killed and raped Chinese civilians, and the related story of the comfort women. MMC Memorial Room 443 DS797.56 N365 I636 1996
Inside Japan: tradition and family life. Jim Carr, Keith Kozicki, Richard Warner. Barr Films/Centre Communications, 1988. VHS. 23 min. Examines Japan's changing cultural climate by focusing on an atypical family where a Japanese man has married an American woman and gained the acceptance of his family. MMC Memorial Room 443 HQ682 I574 1988
Japan. Arts & crafts. Asian Educational Media Service, Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Social Science Education Consortium, 1999. VHS. 16 min. Presents the art of creating yuzen, hand-dyed silk kimono fabric, origami, paper fans, and paper lanterns. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) NK8884.A1 J34 1999
Japan. Festivals & holidays. Asian Educational Media Service, Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Social Science Education Consortium, 1999. VHS. 13 min. Presents a competitive kite festival for boys and the production of portable Shinto shrines to be carried in processions. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) GT4884.A2 J37 1999
Japan. Food. Asian Educational Media Service, Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Social Science Education Consortium, 1999. VHS. 15 min. Presents the creation of sweets inspired by things in nature; realistic plastic fake foods for display/samples, edible art (flowers made from thinly sliced vegetables); a vendor who prepares hot bowls of noodles and delivers them by bicycle; and the wide variety of instant ramen noodles. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) TX360.J3 J37 1999
Japan. Housing : customs in transition. Asian Educational Media Service, Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Social Science Education Consortium, 1999. VHS. 16 min. Presents traditional manufacture and use of tatami mats and the custom of removing shoes before entering homes and other places as well as recent trends of buying imported western-style homes and high-tech housing. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) GT367 .J37 1999
Japan, Inc.: lessons for North America? Kalle Lasn. Centre Communications, 1985? VHS. 28 min. Examines the style of management adopted by Japan's larger corporations. Designed to stimulate discussion of what the future holds for U.S. industry and its workers. MMC Memorial Room 443 HD6957 J3 J362 1985
Japan. Herb and Judy Klinger. Educational Design, 1989. VHS. 58 min. A survey of the history, daily life, and customs of Japan. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) DS821 J2552 1989
Japan. The Learning Division of IVN Communications. IVN Communications, 1995. VHS. 30 min. Video includes information on geography, history, modern Japan, culture, and everyday life; teacher's guide includes discussion questions, quizzes, and critical thinking questions. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) DS821 J255 1995
Japanese economic bubble. Channel Four. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1993. VHS. 40 min. The program explores the basis of Japan's postwar economic success, how the consensus of its shared culture broke down in the boom years, how Japanese society and the Japanese economy have changed forever, and how the country must now adapt to lower growth in a mature economy that is moving closer to the Western model. MMC Memorial Room 443 HC462.9 J3688 1993
Japanese lesson study: ideas for improving mathematics teaching. Frances R. Curcio. National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, 2001. VHS. 8 min. MMC Memorial Room 443 CIMC Professional Stacks QA14.J3 J39 2001
The Japanese. Carousel Films, 1969. 16mm. 52 min. Edwin O. Reischauer, former ambassador to Japan, discusses recovery, growth, and westernization of Japan. He compares its ties to the cherished old and adaptation to the new technological world and explains how the Japanese handle environmental problems of overcrowding and overpopulation. Discusses how Japan's goals relate to the Occident. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) DS811 J36 1969
Japanese women. Barr Films, 1987. VHS. ? min. The lifestyle of women in Japan remained virtually unchanged for centuries. Then came World War II and Gen. MacArthur's "Grand Design"--a plan for democracy that revolutionized the status of Japanese women. And yet, in some ways, things have not changed very much. Interviews with modern Japanese women, WW II and postwar footage, and depictions of the typical Japanese woman's lifestyle show that the West may have introduced "women's liberation" to Japan, but the women of this country are still searching for ways to overcome old prejudices and to develop their own unique approach to the issue. MMC Memorial Room 443 HQ1762 J36 1987
Kabuki. Consulate General of Japan, 1970. VHS. 30 min. MMC Memorial Room 443 CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) PN2924.5.K3 K33 1995
Kindred spirits: American Shaker and Japanese arts of daily life. Crown Point Media. Mingei International Museum, 1996. VHS. ? min. Eloquence of function in American Shaker and Japanese arts of daily life Ruth Ketterer Harris Collection NK807 K562 1996
Kobe earthquake. Earthquake Engineering Research Institute. EERI, 1995. VHS. 46 min. MMC Memorial Room 443 Wendt Library, 2nd Floor QE535.2 U6 K6 1995
Kurosawa. Thirteen/WNET New York, BBC Arena and NHK. Wellspring Media, 2002. DVD. 215 min. A documentary of Japanese director Akira Kurosawa featuring his family, colleagues and critics from Japan and America commenting on the man and his films. Includes excerpts from many of his famous works. MMC Memorial Room 443 In process.
Living Treasures of Japan. WQED and National Geographic Society. National Geographic Video, 1995. VHS. 59 min. Profiles nine artisans and performing artists who are recognized by law as "holders of important intangile cultural properties" and are charged with publicly exhibiting their works and teaching their artistry to apprentices. Pays visits to a potter, doll sculptor, puppeteer, papermaker, koto musician, swordmaker, textile weaver and dyer, kabuki theater actor, and bellmaker. Art Library Audiovisual Collection NX584 L585 1995
Makiko's new world. Media Production Group. Documentary Educational Resources, 1999. VHS. 57 min. This videorecording transports its viewers into the almost-forgotten milieu of urban Japan a century ago. The program blends historical photos and film footage with pictures from family albums and with dramatized re-enactment of events Makiko recorded in the diary she kept during 1910. MMC Memorial Room 443 DS897 K85 M35 1999
Meiji revolution. Alex Gibney/Peter Bull, Alan Poul. Annenberg/CPB Project, 1992. VHS. 60 min. Discusses Commodore Perry's invasion of Tokyo Bay and the ensuing trade treaty with the U.S. which ended Japan's 250-year seclusion. Mobilized by the charismatic leader, Emperor Meiji, Japan reorganized its society and cast aside centuries of tradition to become the first industrially under-developed nation to become a modern world power. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) DS882 .M45 1992
Michiyo and Kelly : a quest for education. Joan Owens. PBS Video, 1991. VHS. 58 min. This program contrasts education in the United States and Japan, revealing these two nations' underlying cultural values. The program focuses on Michiyo, a Japanese 14 year old, and Kelly, an American 14 year old. CIMC Professional Stacks LA210 .M43 1991
Music of Bunraku. Eugene Enrico, David Smeal. University of Oklahoma, 1991. VHS. 29 min.   Shows the exotic drama of Bunraku, the puppet theater of Japan, and is intended to enable the viewer to understand its music as well. The musical styles, notation and performers of Bunraku are introduced by Prof. William P. Malm of the University of Michigan, while the historic roots of Bunraku, as illustrated in antique paintings and prints, are explained by Prof. Sidney D. Brown of the University of Oklahoma. Artists from the National Bunraku Theater of Japan demonstrate the musical styles of Bunraku, and perform Ise ondo koi no netaba (The massacre of a geisha house in Ise). CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy); Music Library (Mills) Audio Facility ML340 .M87 1991 (CIMC); VIDEO CASSETTE 215 (Mills)
Onoe Baiko the seventh as "The salt gatherer". Merrill Brockway. Creative Arts Television, 1997. VHS. 27 min. Film of the performance by Onoe Baiko of "The salt gatherer," an 18th century Kabuki dance based on a Noh drama about a simple local girl who loves a court noble during his exile to a remote island and her subsequent abandonment. Baiko also grants a rare interview explaining his art and the origin of the dance he performs. MMC Memorial Room 443 PN2924.5 K3 O56 1997
Pacific century. Co-production of Pacific Basin Institute/Jigsaw Productions in association with NHK-Japan, KCTS/Seattle, and Teleac/Holland. Frank Gibney, Al Levin, Marc Levin. Annenberg/CPB Project, 1992. VHS. 5 cassettes (120 min. each). "The Pacific Century is the story of how, from the 19th century onward, modern nations have emerged from the rich and varied cultures and societies of Pacific Asia. ... this introductory area studies course provides students with an understanding of the historical and geographic context of the development of Northeast Asia (China, Japan, Korea, and the Soviet Far East) and Southeast Asia (emphasizing Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam)." MMC Memorial Room 443 DS511 P33 1992
Pacific perimeter. CBS Video Library, 1983. VHS. 90 min. Interdiction and blockade -- The frozen war -- The fighting E -- The Nisei. College Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Fl. West, Rm 3191 D743 P255 1983
Polished stones: K-5 math achievement in Japan & Taiwan. John K. Corser/John K. Corser, Susan Gardner . University of Michigan, 1989. VHS. 35 min. Compares children's math achievement in Japan, Taiwan and the United States. CIMC Professional Stacks QA11 .P59 1989
Postwar Japan:: 40 years of change. Films for the Humanities, 1993. VHS. 56 min. Documenting Japan's rise from the ashes of wartime destruction, and the results of its policy of promoting economic growth, the program records the changes in postwar Japanese society, industry, and everyday life and provides key insights into the means and the meaning of Japanese economic success. MMC Memorial Room 443 HC462.9 P68 1993
Report from Japan: harmonizing ancient tradition and modern medicine. Rihito Kimura. Network for Continuing Medical Education, 1990. VHS. 16 min. Discusses the emergence of bioethics as an integral force in health care delivery in Japan. A pioneer in the Japanese bioethics movement brings a cross-cultural perspective to discussions of human health values. Clinical Science Library Audiovisual Collection VC 585 pt.3
Sadako and the thousand paper cranes. George Levenson. Informed Democracy, 1990. VHS. ? min. The story of a Japanese girl stricken with leukemia, as a result of the atom bomb dropped on Hiroshima, who races against time to fold 1000 paper cranes to verify the legend that by doing so a sick person could become well. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) RJ416.L4 .C631 1990
Schools of thought: teaching children in America and Japan. John A. Booth/John A. Booth, Reagan Ramsey, Kazufumi Gomi, Mitsuru Ogawa. Films for the Humanities, 1995. VHS. 55 min. An American team visited Japanese schools and a Japanese team American schools to document efforts in both the United States and Japan to balance creativity and discipline in education. College Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Fl. West, Rm 3191 LB1025.3 S36 1995
Shinto festival music. Eugene Enrico and David Smeal. University of Oklahoma, Center for Music Televison, 1993. VHS. 30 min. Describes the music and theatricals of Shinto which has remained fundamental to the Japanese lifestyle. Music Library (Mills) Audio Facility VIDEO CASSETTE 308
Shinto: nature, gods, and man in Japan. David Westphal/Japan Society. Japan Society, 1984. VHS. 50 min. Conveys some idea of the religious feeling which infuses the Japanese contemplation of nature and the gods or 'kami' the Japanese detect in landscapes, trees, waterfalls; and which prompts them to build simple Shinto or more complex, Buddhist-influenced shrines marked by a balance between natural and man-made space. Includes many views of the Japanese landscape, forests and woods, some rituals of purification, shrine carpenters, rice festivals and Shinto priests and Japanese people at their worship. The following shrines are depicted: Ise Grand Shrine, Izumo Grand Shrine, Kasuga Grand Shrine, Kitano Temmangu, Kumano Hyatama, Kumano Nachi, Munakata Shrine, Nishna Shinmei and Omiwa Shrine. The cinematography is gorgeous; the mood contemplative. Learning Support Services 259 Van Hise JA1.021
Sukiyaki and chips: the Japanese sounds of music. Jeremy Marre. Shanachie Home Video, 1994. VHS. 60 min. An interesting mix of Japanese adaptations of foreign music styles with the traditional music of the past. A perfect introduction to the often misunderstood musical culture of Japan. Learning Support Services 259 Van Hise; Music Library (Mills) Audio Facility FL1.170 (LSS); VIDEO CASSETTE 730 (Mills)
Techniques and tools: Japanese paper conservation. Foundation for Cultural Heritage, the Sumimoto Foundation. Great Dane, 1994. VHS. ? min. Shows the process of making Japanese paper, from the making ot the paper to the design for the paper conservation. MMC Memorial Room 443 TS1095 J3 T546 1994
Textile magicians: Japan. Cristo Zaņartu/Rebecca Clark. Rohan Arts, 1996. VHS. 52 min. An exceptional and poetic voyage through the worlds of five contemporary Japanese textile artists living and working in harmony with nature in the cedar forests north of Kyoto. Steenbock Library NK8984 A1 T49 1996
Third International Mathematics & Science Study: Eighth-grade mathematics lessons: United States, Japan and Germany. U.S. G.P.O., 1997. VHS. 79 min. Shows teaching methods and live interactions between teachers and students in three classrooms in different countries. "This video contains excerpts from six mathematics lessons taped in eighth-grade classrooms in the United States, Japan and Germany. The first three are geometry lessons, the second three are algebra lessons."--Opening credits. MMC Memorial Room 443 QA13 T382 1997
Tokyo-ga. Wim Wenders Produktion, Chris Sievernich Filmproduktion. Pacific Arts Video, 1987. VHS. 92 min. A film diary of Wenders' journey to Tokyo to discover the city he came to know through the films of Yasujiro Ozu Learning Support Services 259 Van Hise GR2.106.080
Tokyo trial. Hiroshi Suto, Tsikiehi Tarusawa; Masaki Kobayoshi, Kiyoshi Ogasawara. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1998/c2003. DVD. 3 videodiscs (279 min.). Documentary film on the International Military Tribunal for the Far East Tokyo war crimes trial -- presenting a clear, concise history of the events from the Sino-Japanese War of 1894 through 1952--organized and illustrated with footage that both documents the events and brings to life the people and actions during a turbulent period. MMC Memorial Room 443 D804 J32 T65 2003
Toshiko Takaezu: portrait of an artist. Susan Wallner, NJN and New Jersey State Council on the Arts. 1995. VHS. 30 min. Presents an introduction to the art work of internationally acclaimed potter, Toshiko Takaezu, in the form of both functional and sculptural ceramics. Art Library Audiovisual Collection NK4210 T34 T68 1995
Tradition of performing arts in Japan: the heart of Kabuki, Noh and Bunraku. Hajime Funatsu/Shin-el Inc. B&CI, 1989. VHS ? min. Presents a variety of traditional Japanese theater, including seldom-seen backstage preparations and performances by some of Japan's most illustrious names. College Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Fl. West, Rm 3191 PN2924 T72 1989
Traditional crafts of Japan. John Junkerman/SIGLO, Ltd. Diamond, Inc., 1992. VHS. ? min.   Traditional crafts of Japan. John Junkerman/SIGLO, Ltd. Diamond, Inc., 1992. VHS. ? min. Art Library Locked Stacks NK1071 T73 1992
Traditional Japanese architecture. NHK. Films for the Humanities, 1989. VHS. 30 min. Katsura Imperial Villa in Kyoto, Japan is said to be one of the three finest buildings in the world. Built in the early 17th century, the compound contains gardens and a tea house in addition to the main building. The processes and techniques of restoration shown in this program provide a further dimension to understanding the materials and the esthetics of traditional Japanese architecture. MMC Memorial Room 443 NA7758 K94 T73 1993
Turning Japanese. Videofashion, 1989. VHS. 24 min. Japanese designers appeared on the world fashion scene in the early 1980's. Their work is viewed as a blend of the radical and the traditional. Steenbock Library TT507 V54 v.1 no.8
Unit 731: did Emperor Hirohito know? David C. Rea/Peter Williams; TVS Production. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1993. VHS. 52 min. Among the worst atrocities of World War II were the germ warfare experiments by Japanese doctors. The germ warfare unit, code named Unit 731, was set up in Manchuria and allegedly had secret imperial approval. This shocking program examines a story kept secret for half a century. MMC Memorial Room 443 D810 B3 U865 1993
Video letter from Japan II. TDK in cooperation with The Asia Society, 1988-1991. VHS. [V.1] Suburban Tokyo high school students -- [v.2] The college years -- [v.3] The early working years -- [v.4] A young family -- [v.5] Options for women at mid-life. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) DS806 V534 1988
Video letter from Japan. TDK in cooperation with The Asia Society, 1982-1985. VHS. Designed to introduce Japan, through the eyes of typical Japanese sixth-graders, to American students.[1] My day -- [2] Tohoku diary: a trip through northern Japan -- [3] My family -- [4] Making things: Japanese industry -- [5] Living arts: culture in modern Kyoto -- [6] Our school. CIMC PreK-12 Stacks (LTy) DS806 V53 1982
Videotape companion to Preschool in three cultures: Japan, China and the United States. Joseph J. Tobin, David Wu, Dana Davidson. Yale University Press, 1989. VHS. 58 min. An inside view of three nursery schools in Japan, China and the United States. CIMC Professional Stacks LB1140.25 J3 T63 1989a
War against Japan. CBS, Inc. CBS Video Library, 1983. VHS. 95 min. Walter Cronkite guides us through the building of the Burma Road, the fighting at Tarawa where the entire U.S. 5th Fleet engaged the Japanese forces on the most heavily defended island in the Pacific theater, to Okinawa--the strategic stepping stone to the Japanese mainland, and you will witness the single most devastating blow of the War --the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima. College Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Fl. West, Rm 3191 D743 W27 1983
Women in Japan: memories of the past, dreams for the future. Joanne Herschfield, Jan Bardsley, 2002. DVD. 52 min. Introduces six women of diverse ages, backgrounds, occupations and regions of Japan. Each woman has spent a significant part of her life abroad, speaking new languages and adjusting to new places, and each discusses how her experience abroad has affected her identity and beliefs. MMC Memorial Room 443 HQ1762 W66 2002

 

Home UW-Madison UW-Madison Libraries MadCat