Skip to ContentMap of East Asia

East Asian Collection, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Chinese Collection Guide

 

A General Works
B Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
C Auxiliary Sciences of History
D History: General & Old World
E - F History: Americas
G Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
H Social Sciences
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music & Books on Music
N Fine Arts
P Language & Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Library Science

 


 

Call Numbers: Subject:
A. General Works
B. Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
B Philosophy (general)
BC - BF Logic, speculative philosophy, psychology, parapsychology, & occult sciences
BH, BJ Aesthetics, ethics, & etiquette
BL 1 - 1760 Religion (general)
BL 1800 - 1825 Special religions in China
BL 1830 - 1882 Confucianism
BL 1899 - 1942 Taoism
BL 1975 Asian religion - Taiwan
BM, BP Judaism, Islam, Bahaism, Theosophy, etc.
BR - BX Christianity
  RETURN TO TOP
C. Auxiliary Sciences of History
C Auxiliary sciences of history (general)
CT Biography
D. History: General & Old World
D History (general)
DS 701 - 727 History of Asia
DS 730 - 732 Ethnography, Chinese in foreign countries (general)
DS 733 - 740.63 History of China (general)
DS 741 - 747.23 Early to 221 BC, incl. the legendary Xia, ca. 2205-1766 BC, Shang, 1766-1122 BC, Zhou, 1122-221 BC [incl. Spring & Autumn, 722-481 BC, Warring States, 403-221 BC]
DS 747.28 - 747.48 221BC - 960 AD
DS 747.5 - 747.9 Qin, 221-207 BC
DS 747.9 - 748.164 Han, 202 BC - 220 AD 
DS 748.17 - 748.76 Wei, Jin, Southern & Northern Dynasties (or Six Dynasties), 220-589 [incl. Three Kingdoms, 220-265 Five Hu & Sixteen Kingdoms, 304-439]
DS 749.2 - 749.76 Sui, Tang, Five Dynasties, 581-979
DS 751 - 751.98 Song, Liao, Xi Xia, Jin, 960-1234
DS 752 - 752.6 Yuan, 1260-1368
DS 753 - 753.6 Ming, 1368-1644
DS 753.82 - 773.6 Qing, 1644-1912
DS 773.83 - 777.544 Republic, 1912-1949. 20th century
DS 777.545* - 778.7 People's Republic, 1949-1976
*DS 778.M3 Works of Mao Zedong
DS 779.15 - 779.32 People's Republic, 1976 - 
DS 781 - 784.2 Manchuria
DS 785 - 786 Tibet
DS 793 - 796 Other provinces, dependencies, regions, etc., A-Z
DS 796.H7 Hong Kong
DS 796.M2 Macao
DS 798.92-799.9 Taiwan
  RETURN TO TOP
E. & F. History: America
G. Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
G - GC Geography (general), atlases, maps, mathematical geography, cartography, physical geography, & oceanography
GE Environmental sciences
GN  Anthropology
GR, GT Folklore, manners & customs (general)
GV Recreation. Leisure
H. Social Sciences
H Social sciences (general)
HA Statistics
HB - HD Economic theory. Demography. Economic history & conditions
HE Transportation & communications
HF, HG, HJ Commerce, finance, & public finance
HM, HN Social history & conditions, social problems
HQ The family, marriage, & women
HS Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.
HT Social pathology, social & public welfare, &criminology
  RETURN TO TOP
J. Political Science
J General legislative & executive papers
JA, JC Political Science (general) & political theory
JQ 1499  Political institutions & public administration -- East Asia (general)
JQ 1500-1519 China
JQ 1519.5 Macao
JQ 1520-1539 Taiwan
JQ 1539.5 Hong Kong
JQ 1730 Mongolia. Outer Mongolia.
JS Local Government – Asia
JV Colonies & colonization. Emigration & immigration. International migration.
JX, JZ International law & international relation
K. Law
K Law in general. Comparative & uniform law. Jurisprudence.
KNN China
KNP China (Republic, 1949 -). Taiwan
KNQ China (People's Republic, 1949 - )
KNR Hong Kong
KPF Macao
  RETURN TO TOP
L. Education
L Education (general)
LA History of education
LB, LC Theory & practice of, & special aspects of education
LG 51-53 China
LG 55-57 Taiwan
M. Music & Books on Music
N. Fine Arts
N Visual Arts
NA Architecture
NB to NK Sculpture, drawing, design, illustration, painting, print media, decorative arts, applied arts, decoration & ornament
NX Arts in general
P. Language & Literature
P Philology. Linguistics
PL 1001 - 2245 Chinese language
PL 2250 - 2443 Chinese literature -- History & criticism
PL 2450 - 2452 Collections -- General
PL 2455 Selection
PL 2456 - 2457 Earliest inscriptions
PL 2458 - 2515.5 Confucian Canon. The Chinese Classics
PL 2517 - 2565.8 Special forms -- Poetry, including ci, qu
PL 2566 - 2603 Drama, including bian wen, tan ci, etc.
PL 2606 - 2623 Essays
  RETURN TO TOP
PL 2625 - 2653 Fiction
PL 2661 - 2662 Individual authors & works -- Early to 221 BC
PL 2663 Qin & Han dynasties, 221 BC - 220 AD
PL 2664 The Three Kingdoms, 220-265 
PL 2665 Jin Dynasty, 265-419 
PL 2665.5 Five Hu & Sixteen Kingdoms, 304-439
PL 2666 - 2668.5 Northern & Southern Dynasties, 386-589 
PL 2669 Sui Dynasty, 581-618 
PL 2670 - 2677 Tang Dynasty, 618-907 
PL 2678 Five Dynasties & Ten Kingdoms,  907-979 
PL 2679 - 2687 Song Dynasty, 960-1279, Liao Dynasty, 947-1125, Xi Xia Dynasty, 1038-1227, Jin Dynasty, 1115-1234 
PL 2688 - 2694 Yuan Dynasty, 1260-1368 
PL 2694.5 - 2698 Ming Dynasty, 1368-1644 
PL 2699 - 2735 Qing Dynasty, 1644-1912 
PL 2735.5 - 2832.3 Republic of China, 1912-1949
PL 2832.5 - 2929.5 People's Republic of China, 1949 - 
PL 3032.T34 Taiwan
PL 3119.H6 Hong Kong
PL 3301 - 3311 Non-Chinese languages of China
PN 1- 1009.5 Literature (general) & literary history
PN 1010 - 1551 Poetry, the monologue, the dialogue
PN 1600 - 3307 Drama, including motion pictures, the theater, etc.
PN 3311 - 6790 Prose, prose fiction, journalism, collections of general literature
  RETURN TO TOP
Q. Science
R. Medicine
S. Agriculture
T. Technology
U. Military Science
V. Naval Science
Z. Library Science
Z 4 -115.5 Books (general). Writing. Paleography.
Z 116- 659 Book industries & trade
Z 662 - 1000.5 Libraries
Z 1001 - 1121 Bibliography
Z 3101 - 3109 National Bibliography - China
Z 3111 - 3119 National Bibliography - Taiwan
Z 5051 - 7999 Subject Bibliography
Z 8001 - 8999 Personal Bibliography
  RETURN TO TOP

 

Home UW-Madison UW-Madison Libraries MadCat