Book Guides
[Back to Top]
Japan.forreaders [English]
http://www.forreaders.com/
Newsletter and online store for books about Japan and Japanese culture.
Japan Review Net [English]
http://www.japanreview.net/
Reviews of books on Japan, written by JapanReview.net editors for newspapers since 1999.
Japan Times Book Club [English]
http://bookclub.japantimes.co.jp/english/index.html
Information on recent books written in English related to Japan and Japanese language learning.
Book Reviews
[Back to Top]
Book Asahi.com [Japanese]
http://book.asahi.com
Book reviews and interviews on popular and scholarly books from the Asahi Shimbun.
Book reviews can be searched by book title, author, keywords, etc.
Book Review Guide [Japanese]
http://www.honn.co.jp/index.html
Database of book reviews, which can be searched by book title, author, subject, and the author of book reviews. For each book, a list of reviews of the past 6 months which appeared in 210 magazines and 10 newspapers in Japan is provided.
Japanese Book News [English]
http://www.jpf.go.jp/e/publish/jbn/index.html
A quarterly publication in English available in print from the Japan Foundation or from the Web site as a pdf document. New Japanese titles are reviewed in English each issue, publishing trends are evaluated, and prominent Japanese authors are interviewed.
Ronza Net Shoyo Database from Asahi.com [Japanese]
http://www3.asahi.com/opendoors/zasshi/ronza/net/
Database of book reviews, which can be searched by book title, author and the author of book review, from approximately 10 magazines and 6 major newspapers in Japan from Jan. 1997 to the present.
Yomiuri Online Hon Yomiuri Do [Japanese]
http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/book/
Features book reviews of the Yomiuri Shimbun .
Catalogs
[Back to Top]
Book Contents, University of Tokyo [Japanese]
http://contents.lib.u-tokyo.ac.jp/contents/top.html
Database contains books held in the libraries of the University of Tokyo and their tables of contents or information from summaries and book jackets.
Books.or.jp [Japanese]
http://www.books.or.jp
From Japan Book Publishers Association. Japanese Book in Print (Nihon shoseki somokuroku). Provides bibliographic data (author, title, publisher, list price, and ISBN) for books published since 1980. The pronunciation of the author's name and title are provided, and there are links to publisher's inforrmation as well.
JiBOOKS - Japanese info on Books [English/romaji]
http://www.kokken.go.jp/public/jibooks.html
Service that allows you to search for Japanese books in print using romaji (Latin alphabet) as input. Search results are displayed with image files, so installation of a Japanese font is not required..
NACSIS WebCat [Japanese/English]
http://webcat.nii.ac.jp/webcat.html
System for searching the catalog database for books and materials in the library collections of national universities and other institutions in Japan and overseas. For Japanese language materials, Webcat Plus, which includes detailed information taken from table of contents and book covers, is also available.
National Diet Library OPAC [Japanese]
http://opac.ndl.go.jp/
Online Public Access Catalog of the National Diet Library. Library resources cataloged in the last year: Japanese National Bibliography Weekly List: http://www.ndl.go.jp/jp/publication/jnbwl/jnb_top.html. Books on Japan List: http://www.ndl.go.jp/jp/publication/books_on_japan/boj_top_J.html.
Vendors -- For New Books
[Back to Top]
Amazon Japan [Japanese]
http://www.amazon.co.jp
Source for items for which you can't wait and are willing to pay postage. Includes editor's reviews, book jackets, tables of contents, and lists of
similar books.
Association of American University Presses [English]
http://aaup.uchicago.edu/
Provides links to home pages of American University presses.
e-hon, Tohan Corporation [Japanese]
http://www.e-hon.ne.jp/bec/EB/Top
Online bookstore with database of books.
Government Publications [Japanese]
http://www.gov-book.or.jp/
35,000 titles of government publications can be searched and purchased. The tables of contents of Kanpo (the official gazette of the Japanese Government) from Jun. 3, 1996 onward can also be searched.
Isseido Booksellers [Japanese]
http://www.isseido-books.co.jp/
Isseido sends out lists of new publications that are selected for the overseas
Japanese studies community.
Japan Publications Trading Company [Japanese]
http://www.jptco.co.jp/
Provides an online database and ordering system. Distributes in print Shinkan tosho mokuroku listing new books by Nippon Dewey Decimal Classification numbers.
Kinokuniya BookWeb [Japanese]
http://bookweb.kinokuniya.co.jp/
Kinokuniya has an online ordering system and U.S. offices in Los Angeles, New York, and Seattle. Membership required for ordering online using a credit card. Database provides table of contents in addition to author, title, and publisher information for many items.
Maruzen [Japanese]
http://www.maruzen.co.jp/
Web site for retail market but accessible from overseas. Database includes academic publications difficult to find in TRC.
Nichigai Associates [Japanese]
http://www.nichigai.co.jp/
Provides subscriptions to databases.
Sasuga Japanese Bookstore[English]
http://www.sasugabooks.com/
Sasuga's Web site has an online database and ordering system, but it does not include Japanese characters.
Provide library accounts and requires only domestic postage.
Tohshokan Ryutsu Senta (TRC) Book Portal [Japanese]
http://www.trc.co.jp/trc-japa/index.asp
Database of books published since January 1980.
Vendors -- For Used Books
[Back to Top]
Book Town Kanda [Japanese]
http://www.book-kanda.or.jp
Antiquarian books can be searched and purchased. Lists of antiquarian bookstores in the Kanda area of Tokyo (more than 140) by name, location, and subject are also available. 14 of the member bookstores including Yagi Shoten permit online ordering.
Nihon no Furuhonya [Japanese]
http://www.kosho.or.jp
Antiquarian books can be searched and purchased. Information on 2700 antiquarian bookstores in Japan can be searched by name, location and subject.
Isseido Booksellers [Japanese]
http://www.isseido-books.co.jp/
Major source for buying used books. Publishes a catalog, Isseido kosho mokuroku. Catalog can be searched through Kanda Book Town database.
Yagi Book Store, Ltd. [Japanese]
http://www.books-yagi.co.jp/
Used publications in literature, history, and bibliography.
| Created by:Rebecca Payne, Japanese
Studies Librarian. Last updated: November 1, 2004. |
|