 |
Note on Romanization and Word Division
Catalogs
Licensed Resources
Article and Book Delivery Requests
Journals and Newspapers
Web Sites
Contact/Purchase Requests
Note on Romanization and Word Division
[Back to Top]
Catalogs and databases use different romanization schemes.
MadCat and WorldCat follow Modified
Hepburn Romanization as in Kenkyusha's romanized Japanese-English
dictionaries. When searching North American catalogs, do not use a
"u" or double the vowel to indicate long vowel sounds in Japanese
(i.e., enter Tokyo instead of Toukyou). These catalogs use a macron,
but do not search with macrons. WorldCat
supports display but not input of Japanese characters. To search the
Japanese equivalent of WorldCat, NACSIS
WebCat, use "u" to indicate long vowel sounds (i.e., enter Toukyou
instead of Tokyo).
In general, divide words into binary compounds, but make them trinary
if the third character cannot stand alone. Try searching two or three
ways.
More information about romanization and word division in North American
catalogs: ALA/LC
Romanization Table for Japanese.
Catalogs
[Back to Top]
National Catalogs
NACSIS Webcat
NACSIS Webcat is the Japanese equivalent of WorldCat. When
materials can not be found in WorldCat, use NACSIS Webcat, a national
union catalog of the holdings of university libraries and other libraries
made available by the National Institute of Informatics. The database
is updated weekly. NACSIS Webcat is useful for verifying readings
for names/titles, checking journal holdings information, checking
the names of Japanese libraries, and verifying bibliographic and holdings
information for ILL requests through the Global
ILL Framework.
Search tips: Can search by title word, full title, author,
publisher, standard numbers, and free keywords. For title word, author,
and keyword searches, can use kanji, hiragana, katakana, or romaji.
To search by more than one keyword, separate keywords with a space;
search becomes an AND search. Full title: Only kanji can be used to
search full title, and do not separate words of full title. Author:
Separate last and first names with a space and spell non-Japanese
author as in original language. Free keywords: Search for words in
any field. Use to search by subject headings. Find a book by doing
an author or title search and then look at the subject headings for
book. Copy the headings into Free Keywords field to retrieve related
books whether words are in title or not. Use an asterix (*) to search
for variations of words. Examples: Title word -- romaji: seiji [space]
shisou; kanji: 政治思想(for phrase), 政治
[space] 思想(for both words in title); kana: せいじ しそう; Full title -- kanji only: 現代政治の思想と行動;
and Author -- romaji: maruyama [space] masao; kanji: 丸山 [space] 眞男; kana: まるやま まさお;
original language: Reischauer [space] Edwin [space] O ( ライシャワー
and Raishawaa will produce limited hits.).
Webcat Plus
Webcat Plus includes 2,637,112 Japanese books from NACSIS Webcat.
It is a system which uses an associative search ( 連想検索)
technology. Books are determined to be related in content based on
the number of common words. Some books published from 1986 (797,260)
include summaries and table of contents from book covers, etc. from
a publishers' database.
Search tips: Match Search (一致検索):
A search by multiple keywords becomes an AND search. Use double quotations
to search phrases. Title search: Search by full or partial title.
Author search: search by full name, surname, or first name. To search
Japanese names, use kanji or katakana. To search foreign names, use
the original language rather than katakana. Search results: When summary,
table of contents, or library holdings data is available, icons appear.
Number of library holdings appears in parentheses. Associative Search
(連想検索):
A search by multiple keywords becomes an OR search. Search results:
When summary, table of contents, or library holdings data is available,
icons appear. Number of library holdings appears in parentheses. The
system displays 30 related keywords. From the search results, can
do an "associative search." Check a book of interest from
the results or keywords or both a book and keywords and click the
[+検索] button; related
books will appear.
National Diet Library OPAC
The National Diet Library launched a new online public access catalog
(OPAC) in October 2002. The catalog contains Japanese and Western
books (2.78 million), Japanese and Western periodicals (160,000),
electronic materials, old books (5000), Japanese dissertations (200,000),
maps, and audio-visual materials. Contents increased dramatically
when NDL loaded its retrospective records back to Meiji era into the
catalog. The NDL OPAC also includes the Japanese Periodical Index
(雑誌記事索引)
and a search for standard technical reports. The OPAC is unavailable
at these Tokyo times: Monday-Saturday, 4:00-7:00a.m. (previous day
1:00-4:00p.m. CST) ; first, second, and fourth Sundays, 1:00-7:00a.m.
(Saturdays 10:00a.m.-4:00p.m. CST); and third Saturdays/Sundays, 22:00p.m.-7:00a.m.
(Saturdays 7:00a.m.-4:00p.m. CST). There are other times when it may
not be available.
Other online catalogs offered by NDL: Asian
Language Materials OPAC, Japan
National Bibliography Weekly List, National
Union Catalog of Newspapers, and Books
on Japan.
National Diet Library Japanese Periodical
Index (雑誌記事索引)
The Japanese Periodical Index is an index to Japanese language
and Western language scholarly journals in the humanities, social
sciences, and sciences published in Japan and held in the National
Diet Library. Coverage is from 1948-present. Print version ceased
in 1995. The database is updated every two weeks. Periodicals included:
http://www.ndl.go.jp/jp/data/sakuin/sakuin_index.html.
The index is also available through the licensed resource, MagazinePlus
(See below.).
Search tips: Can search on title, author, journal name, publisher/editor,
publication date, volume, issue, ISSN/ISBN. Titles and names are searchable
in kanji and kana. You can limit by date or date range. Search terms
can be combined with AND, OR, NOT. " Searching "立国"
will bring up results like the following: "電子立国,"
"国立国会図書館;"
however searching by "ear" will bring results such as "ear,"
"ears" but not "years." Using 詳細設, can specify
searching by word (s) or full title (default). When searching by reading,
enter hiragana or katakana. Searching "/図書館"
will bring up results like the following: "図書館," "図書館の歴史,"
"図書館学概論;" searching
"図書館/" will bring up results like
the following: "図書館," "日本の図書館," "電子図書館;" searching "/図書館/" will bring up only:
"図書館." Searching
"library work" will bring up the result," the library
work," but not "work in library."
University Catalogs
Waseda University
Information Network System
Waseda University Information Network (WINE) System provides
search interfaces in both Japanese and English. Can search using kanji,
kana, or romaji. WINE is good for checking journal holdings which
are not represented as well as book holdings in WorldCat. The University
of Wisconsin participates in the Waseda
University Document Delivery Project. Returnables or copies requested
and delivered through OCLC ILL. Returnables by airmail; copies by
Ariel. Holdings information in OCLC (symbol: LWU).
Search tips: Author: Search last name before first name separated
by a space. Title: Search by first words of or full title. Include
spaces if searching by kana or romaji. Subject: Uses NDL subject headings
for Japanese materials and Library of Congress subject headings for
foreign materials. Keyword searches titles, series, authors, subjects,
and notes.
Licensed Resources
[Back
to Top]
Full-Text Databases
Academic
Search Elite [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site.
Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "A"
for Academic Search Elite, and then "Academic Search Elite."]
Academic Search Elite is a database of more than 3000 journals,
some available in full text. It covers many academic areas including
business, social sciences, humanities, general science, education,
and multi-cultural. Many of the full-text titles go back to 1990.
Search tips: Combine keywords with AND to find records with
both words to narrow results and OR to find records with either words
to broaden results. For more search options (e.g., searching by author,
publication, etc.), use Advanced Search. Use an asterix (*) to find
variations and plural forms of words (for example, Japan* will bring
up records with Japan and Japanese). Browse publications by clicking
on "Publications" button and enter publication name or click
on corresponding first letter of publication name. If an article is
not available in full text, click on "Check MadCat for print
and electronic copies" to initiate a search of MadCat for journal
title.
Japan-related titles: Japan Quarterly, Asahi Shinbunsha (1990-2001),
Journal of Asian Studies, Association for Asian Studies (1990-), Look
Japan, Look Japan Publishing (1994-), Modern Asian Studies, Cambridge
University Press (Academic Search Elite, 1994-).
Ingenta
[Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals,
Magazines and Newspapers," then on "I" for Ingenta,
and then "Ingenta."]
Ingenta contains several electronic journals related to Japanese
studies.
Search tips: Search online articles by keyword through basic
or advanced searches. Use AND, OR, and NOT to combine terms. Use double
quotes to search phrases. Use an asterix (*) to find variations and
plural forms of words (for example, Japan* will bring up records with
Japan and Japanese). Advanced Search is useful for finding full text
article of a particular citation as it provides search fields for
article title, author, publication title, volume, issue, and publication
date. Can also browse publications by title and subject.
Japan-related titles: International Journal of Japanese
Sociology, Blackwell (2001-), Japan and the World Economy,
Elsevier Science (1995-), Japan Forum, Routledge, part of the
Taylor & Francis Group(2000-), Japanese Economic Review,
Blackwell on behalf of Japanese Economic Association (1997-), Japanese
Studies, Carfax Publishing, part of the Taylor & Francis Group
(2000-), Journal of Japanese and International Economies, Elsevier
Science (1998-), Journal of Japanese and International Economies,
Academic Press(1996-), Social Science Japan Journal, Oxford
University Press (1998-).
JSTOR
[Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals,
Magazines and Newspapers," then on "J" for JSTOR, and
then "JSTOR."]
JSTOR contains full text of back issues of journals in many
fields including Asian Studies.
Search tips:From JSTOR home page, click "Search"
and then type in keywords to search by abstract, author, title, or
full text of articles and select discipline or journals (that is,
Asian Studies). Click "Browse" to browse journals by subject
and then click "Asian Studies" and journal title.
Japan-related titles: Asian Survey, University of California
Press (1961-1999), Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University
of London (1940-1998), Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies, University of London (1917-1940),
Far Eastern Quarterly, Association for Asian Studies (1941-1956),
Far Eastern Survey, University of California Press (1935-1961),
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies, Harvard-Yenching Institute (1936-1998),
Journal of Asian Studies, Association for Asian Studies (1936-1998),
Journal of Japanese Studies, Society for Japanese Studies (1974-1998),
Journal of the Association of Teachers of Japanese, Association of
Teachers of Japanese (1972-2000),
Journal-Newsletter of the Association of Teachers of Japanese, Association
of Teachers of Japanese (1963-1972),
Modern Asian Studies, Cambridge University Press (1967-1998),
Monumenta Nipponica, Sophia University (1938-1998).
LexisNexis
[Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals,
Magazines and Newspapers," then on "L" for LexisNexis,
and then "LexisNexis Academic Universe."]
LexisNexis is an online service composed of approximately 5,000
legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes
international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources,
magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and
industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcript.
Search tips: To search Japanese newspapers, use "Guided
News Search." Under Step One, select "World News."
Under Step Two, select "Asia/Pacific News Sources." Clicking
on "News Sources" next to Step Two, can check particular
news sources in which to search. After checking news sources, the
sources are pasted and appear in Step Five. In Step Three, enter keywords,
and in Step Four, limit to date or date range.
Japan-related titles: Asahi Shinbun (1997-1999)
Daily Yomiuri (1989-),
Japan Corporate News Network (2001-),
Japan Economic Newswire (1980-),
Japan Times (1998-),
Journal of Japanese Trade & Industry (1998-),
Mainichi Daily News (1993-),
Nikkei Weekly (1991-).
ProQuest
Research Library [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site.
Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "P"
for Proquest Research Library, and then "ProQuest Research Library."]
ProQuest Research Library indexes more than 2,000 periodicals
providing full text for nearly half of them. It has a mix of general
interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education,
health, humanities, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences.
Search tips: Type in keywords. Use "quotation marks"
to search for exact phrases. 2 word queries are searched as an exact
phrase by default. 3 word queries are searched as words that need
to appear in proximity to each other by default. Note: Author names
may appear in different forms (i.e., full name, surname and first
initial). Use special characters (* for truncation) and operators
(AND, OR, NOT, WITHIN, etc.) to focus your query. When looking at
results, check the Subject field in record for ideas for other keywords.
Click on "Full text" or "Page Image - PDF" links
for the article. If article is not available in full text, click on
"Find a copy" to initiate a search of MadCat for journal
title. Browse by publication by clicking on "Publication Search"
and the first letter and title of journal. Click on "Search within
Publication" to search within the journal.
Japan-related titles: Japan Echo (1997-),
Japan Quarterly, Asahi Shinbunsha (1988-2001),
Social Science Japan Journal, Oxford University Press (1999-).
Citation Databases
Bibliography
of Asian Studies [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site.
Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "B" for Bibliography
of Asian Studies, and then "Bibliography of Asian Studies."]
Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes journal articles about
Asia in Western language journals and books from 1971. Citations to
books were discontinued in 1992.There are no abstracts.
Search tips: Simple Search: use if searching by one keyword
or continuous phrase. Advanced Search: use if searching by more than
one keyword. Type in keywords in separate search boxes. Be sure to
put a keyword in the first search box or you will not get any results.
To search two or more words as a phrase put in one search box. If
you want to search for two words in any order, put words in separate
search boxes. Use an asterix (*) to find variations and plural forms
of words (for example, Japan* will bring up records with Japan and
Japanese). Specify the field in which you want to search: entire record,
author, title, journal, and subject. Can combine keywords with OR,
AND, NOT to broaden or narrow searches. Can limit by date or range
of dates. Can limit search to journal articles only. By default, records
are sorted by author, last name first. Can change sort to chronological
or reverse chronological sort.
MagazinePlus
[Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals,
Magazines and Newspapers," then on "M" for MagazinePlus,
and then "MagazinePlus."]
MagazinePlus is a large collection of Japanese databases. It
contains citations and not full text. With over 5.2 million items,
it consolidates separate databases: 1) Zasshi Kiji Sakuin:
an index to 9396 Japanese language and 102 Western language scholarly
journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, with coverage
from 1975-present, updated twice a month (List of periodicals: http://www.ndl.go.jp/jp/data/sakuin/sakuin_index.html);
2) Jānaru Indekkusu: an index to 165 weekly and monthly
magazines, with coverage from 1981-present, updated weekly; 3) Joint:
an index to 1300 economic journals, with coverage from 1981-1995;
4) KSK: an index to foreign journals on industries, with coverage
from 1986-present, updated every 2-3 months; 5) Gakkai nenpō
kenkyū hōkoku ronbun sōran: an index to annual
publications of academic societies, with coverage from 1945-1995;
and 6) Ronbunshū naiyō saimoku sōran: an index
to monographic books and conference papers, with coverage from 1945-1998.
Search tips: Can search on file, publication date, keyword,
author name, periodical title, publisher, and ISSN. If using multiple
keywords, separate them with a space. Keywords entered without a space
will be searched as a compound.Can specify field: keyword, author,
periodical title, publisher. Keywords may be combined using AND(必ず含む), OR(いずれかを含む), NOT(含まない) in any field to narrow or broaden
search. Keywords separated by a space are used as alternate search
terms, when いずれかを含む
is selected. Can use kanji, hiragana, katakana, and English letters.
Search both kanji and hiragana using いずれかを含むwhen
the hiragana is a frequent alternative (e.g.,心 or
こころ). Enter readings all in katakana. Exclude
symbols (periods, middle dots) from words. Chinese and Korean names
have kanji, Japanese reading, and the Chinese/Korean reading. Zasshi
Kiji Sakuin current awareness feature: Click on link (a new window
opens) and can view tables of contents of various journals arranged
by subject. Enter names with last name followed by first name;
a space between names is unnecessary (both Japanese and Western names).
Use double quotes around words to search for a complete match.
Reference Work
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (Online)
[Location: will appear under "Reference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries
and more" on Library Web site.]
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (Online) is based on the print
reference book, Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia, published
in 1993. Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia was, in turn, based
on the nine-volume Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, published
in 1983.
The online version contains almost all of the 11,000 main-text entries
of that book, thousands of which have been updated to reflect changes
occurring in the 1990s. There are also 150 new entries on notable
people, companies, events, trends, etc, of the last decade. The main-text
entries cover various aspects of Japanese culture and society from
prehistory to contemporary science and technology.
Search tips: Articles and images (photographs, illustrations,
and maps) can be accessed by searching full text or topics or browsing
topics, an A-Z list of titles, or a map of regions and prefectures.
Article and Book Delivery Requests
[Back to Top]
1. Check MadCat
Use MadCat to search for book or periodical titles. When
the database does not provide the article in full text or a link to
MadCat, search MadCat. Click on Basic Search. Type in the name of
the journal. Select "journal title" to search by periodical title.
Check the "Library Has" part of the record to check the library or
database that has the date, volume, and issue needed.
2. Check WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of more than 49 million books, serials,
audiovisual media, maps, archives, manuscripts, scores, and computer
files owned by more than 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world,
including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. More than 400 languages
are represented. One of its many uses is the ability to make online
interlibrary loan requests for books. Since March 1997, links to Internet
sources have been added. Recently, display of foreign scripts including
Japanese has been added.
3. Check NACSIS
Webcat
Most Japanese academic libraries attach their holdings to records
in Webcat. Can see which libraries in Japan own material of interest.
Can check a list of libraries (and OCLC symbols) which participate
in the Global
ILL Framework, a program for document delivery and interlibrary
loan between institutions in US and Japan using WorldCat and NACSIS
Webcat, in which the University of Wisconsin-Madison is a participating
institution. There are 55 libraries in Japan and 24 libraries in US
partipating.
Holdings information in NACSIS Webcat, not OCLC. List of participating
Japanese libraries: http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/easian/askeasl/GIF2003J_2.pdf.
NACSIS Webcat is useful for verifying readings for names/titles, checking
holdings information, and checking the names of Japanese libraries.
4. Fill Out Library
Express Form [Location: Click on "Article and Book Delivery" link
on left navigation bar on Library Web site.]
Request books and media not on campus. 3-10 business days. Can use
WorldCat or Library Express form. Have articles and book chapters
delivered to your desktop. If articles not available on campus, no
charge. Allow time for delivery. Do not use WorldCat.
Journals and Newspapers
[Back
to Top]
Selected Journals
Asian Survey, University of California Press (JSTOR, 1961-1999)
Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University
of London (JSTOR, 1940-1998)
Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies, University of London (JSTOR,
1917-1940)
Far Eastern Quarterly, Association for Asian Studies (JSTOR,
1941-1956)
Far Eastern Survey, University of California Press (JSTOR,
1935-1961)
International Journal of Japanese Sociology, Blackwell (Ingenta, 2001-)
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies, Harvard-Yenching Institute (JSTOR,
1936-1998)
Japan and the World Economy, Elsevier Science (Ingenta, 1995-)
Japan Echo (ProQuest Research Library, 1997-)
Japan Forum, Routledge, part of the Taylor & Francis Group (Ingenta
and MetaPress, 2000-)
Japan Quarterly, Asahi Shinbunsha (Academic Search Elite, 1990-2001;
ProQuest Research Library 1988-2001)
Japanese Economic Review, Blackwell on behalf of Japanese Economic
Association (Ingenta, 1997-)
Japanese Journal of Religious Studies (ATLAS Online, 1991-)
Japanese Studies, Carfax Publishing, part of the Taylor & Francis
Group (Ingenta, 2000-)
Journal of Asian Studies, Association for Asian Studies (Academic
Search Elite, 1990-; JSTOR, 1936-1998)
Journal of Contemporary
Japanese Studies (Free)
Journal of Japanese and International Economies, Elsevier Science
(Ingenta, 1998-)
Journal of Japanese and International Economies, Academic Press (Ingenta,
1996-)
Journal of Japanese Studies, Society for Japanese Studies (JSTOR,
1974-1998)
Journal of the Association of Teachers of Japanese, Association of
Teachers of Japanese (JSTOR, 1972-2000)
Journal-Newsletter of the Association of Teachers of Japanese, Association
of Teachers of Japanese (JSTOR, 1963-1972)
Look Japan, Look Japan Publishing (Academic Search Elite, 1994-)
Modern Asian Studies, Cambridge University Press (Academic Search
Elite, 1994-; JSTOR 1967-1998)
Monumenta Nipponica, Sophia University (JSTOR, 1938-1998)
Social Science Japan Journal, Oxford University Press (Ingenta, 1998-;
Oxford Online Journals, 2000-; ProQuest Research Library, 1999 -,
delayed 6 months)
English-Language Newspapers
Asahi Shinbun (LexisNexis, 1997-1999)
Daily Yomiuri (LexisNexis, 1989-)
Japan Corporate News Network (LexisNexis, 2001-)
Japan Economic Newswire (LexisNexis, 1980-)
Japan Times (LexisNexis, 1998-)
Journal of Japanese Trade & Industry (LexisNexis, 1998-)
Mainichi Daily News (LexisNexis, 1993-)
Nikkei Weekly (LexisNexis,
1991-)
Web Sites of Major Newspapers
Asahi Shinbun
J: http://www.asahi.com/
E: http://www.asahi.com/english/
Japan Times
http://www.japantimes.co.jp/
Mainichi Shinbun
J: http://www.mainichi.co.jp/
E: http://mdn.mainichi.co.jp/
Nihon Keizai Shinbun
J: http://www.nikkei.co.jp/
E: http://www.nni.nikkei.co.jp/
Sankei Shinbun
http://www.sankei.co.jp/
Yomiuri Shinbun
J: http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/
E: http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/index-e.htm
Web Sites
[Back to Top]
General Sites
International Research
Center for Japanese Studies - aka Nichibunken
Japan Information Network - portal
to information about Japan
Digital Collections
International Research
Center for Japanese Studies - databases require registration
Early Photographs - end of Edo-early Meiji
Foreign Images of Japan
Old Maps of Nagasaki
Writings on Japan in Western Languages - pre-1900
National Diet Library:
Birth of the
Constitution - online exhibition
Digital Library from
the Meiji Era - initial 30,000 of 169,000 volumes digitized
Modern
Japanese Political History Materials - online exhibition
Proceedings of Meetings of the
National Diet - Diet minutes since May 1947
Rare Books Image Database
- 29,000 items included
Photo Collections
Japanese Old
Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period
Mainichi Photo Bank
- photos from prewar to present
Texts
Japanese Text Initiative - searchable texts of literature
Government Information and Statistics
e-Gov - portal to
Government information
Statistics, Japan Information
Network - statistical data by category
Statistics Bureau and Statistics
Center - more statistics
Contact/Purchase Requests
[Back
to Top]
Rebecca Payne, Japanese Studies Librarian
Phone: 608-262-2387
E-mail: rpayne@library.wisc.edu
To place purchase requests, fill out purchase
recommendation form.
To see more electronic resources, go to: UW-Madison
Libraries' Home Page and UW-Madison
East Asian Collection Home Page.
| Created by: Rebecca Payne, Japanese
Studies Librarian. Last updated: February 26, 2004. |
|