Memorial LibraryMemorial Library Instruction

Reference Sources
Finding Books Using MadCat
Databases
Web Sites
Getting Assistance
Writing Center's Documentation Style Guide


Reference Sources

[Back to Top]

This bibliography contains both English-language and Japanese-language reference sources such as biographical sources, literary dictionaries, and guides to literature. Reference sources are useful for background on literary works and authors, terms that can be used to search databases, and bibliographies for further reading.

Most sources are available in the Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412, or the Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Room 262.

Japanese Literature Reference Sources in English Language

Biographical dictionary of Japanese literature. Edited by Senichi Hisamatsu. 2nd ed. Tokyo: International Society for Educational Information, 1982.
PL723 B5 1982 Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Room 262

Dictionary of selected forms in classical Japanese literature. Ivan Morris. New York: Columbia University Press, 1966.
PL531 M6 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Medieval Japanese writers. Edited by Steven Carter. Detroit: Gale Research, 1998.
PS221 D5 v.203 Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Room 262

Princeton companion to classical Japanese literature. Earl Miner, Hiroko Odagiri, and Robert E. Morrell. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1985.
PL726.1 M495 1985 Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Room 262

Reader's guide to Japanese literature. J. Thomas Rimer. 2nd ed. Tokyo: Kodansha, 1999.
PL717 R5 1999 Memorial Library Reference Stacks, Room 262

Literary Dictionaries for Classical Japanese Literature

Genji monogatari handobukku (源氏物語ハンドブック). Suzuki Hideo hen. Tokyo: Sanseido, 1998.
PL788.4 G43 G356 1998 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Genji monogatari o shiru jiten (源氏物語を知る事典). Nishizawa Masashi. Tokyo: Tokyodo Shuppan, 1998.
PL788.4 G43 G435 1998 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Genji monogatari zuten (源氏物語図典). Akiyama Ken, Komachiya Teruhiko hen; Sugai Minoru sakuzu. Tokyo: Shogakkan, 1997.
PL788.4 G43 A68 1997 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Nihon koten bungaku daijiten (日本古典文学大辞典). hensha Osone Shosuke et al. Tokyo: Meiji Shoin, 1998.
PL726.1 N453 1998 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Nihon koten bungaku daijiten (日本古典文学大辞典). henshusha Nihon Koten Bungaku Daijiten Henshu Iinkai; henshu iin kanshu Ichiko Teiji ... et al. Tokyo: Iwanami Shoten, 1983-1985.
PL707 N445 1983 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Nihon koten bungaku kenkyushi daijiten (日本古典文学研究史大事典). Nishizawa Masashi, Tokuda Takeshi hen. Tokyo: Benseisha, 1997.
PL726.1 N462 1999 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412

Shincho Nihon bungaku jiten (新潮日本文学辞典). henshu Isoda Koichi et al. Shinchosha Jiten Henshubu. Tokyo: Shinchosha, 1990.
PL707 S46 1990 Memorial Library East Asian Reference Collection, Room 412


Finding Books Using Madcat

[Back to Top]

(A) Start with your own words (keywords) and then use the language or words of the database (subjects) to locate other items. The "official" language of a database is often referred to as subject headings or descriptors.

For example:

Start with a Guided Search using your own keywords (example: classical japanese literature).

Once you find a title that looks promising, look at the full record to determine if there are any useful subject headings, for example:

Murasaki Shikibu, b. 978? Genji monogatari
Japanese literature--Heian period, 794-1185--History and criticism

Use these subject headings in the following two ways:

  1. Click on a subject heading within the full record.
  2. Use a subject heading within a Guided Search.

Tip: Before doing a Guided Search, you can set limits, such as:
language: English and/or type: book


List of Some Subject Headings in MadCat:

Japanese literature--History and criticism
Japanese literature--Heian period,794-1185--History and Criticism
Japanese literature To 794--History and criticism
Japanese literature To 1600--History and criticism
Japanese literature To 1868--History and criticism
Japanese poetry--Heian period, 794-1185--History and criticism
Japanese prose literature--Heian period, 794-1185
Murasaki Shikibu, b. 978? Genji monogatari

(B) Notice similar call numbers for books on your topic. Browse collections for those call number areas.

Library of Congress call numbers have subject meaning.

For example:

PL501-889: Japanese language and literature
PL501-699: Japanese language
PL700-899: Japanese literature
PL700-751.5: Japanese literature--History and criticism
PL784-866: Japanese literature--Individual authors and works


Databases for Locating Articles and Other Materials

[Back to Top]

Full-Text Databases

JSTOR [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "J" for JSTOR, and then "JSTOR." ]
Includes full-text articles from back issues of such journals as the Journal of Asian Studies, Journal of Japanese Studies, and Monumenta Nipponica.
Search tips: From JSTOR home page, click "Search" and then type in keywords (example: tale of genji) to search by abstract, author, title, or full text of articles and select discipline or journals (i.e., Asian Studies). Click "Browse" to browse journals by subject and then click "Asian Studies" and journal title.

Proquest Research Library [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "P" for Proquest Research Library, and then "ProQuest Research Library."]
Includes full-text articles from current issues of such journals as Japan Quarterly and the Journal of Asian Studies.
Search tips: Type in keywords (example: tale of genji). When looking at results, check the Subject field in record for ideas for other keywords (example: Literary criticism).Click on "Full text" or "Page Image - PDF" links for the article. If article is not available in full text, click on "Find a copy" to initiate a search of MadCat for journal title. Browse by publication by clicking on "Publication Search" and the first letter and title of journal. Click on "Search within Publication" to search within the journal.

Citation Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "B" for Bibliography of Asian Studies, and then "Bibliography of Asian Studies."]
Includes citations to articles about Asia in Western language journals and books. There are no abstracts.
Search tips: Simple Search: use if searching by one keyword or continuous phrase. Advanced Search: use if searching by more than one keyword. Type in keywords (example: tale of genji) in separate search boxes. Be sure to put a keyword in the first search box or you will not get any results. To search two or more words as a phrase (example: ise monogatari) put in one search box. If you want to search for two words in any order, put words in separate search boxes. Use an asterix (*) to find variation and plural forms of words (for example, japan* will bring up records with japan and japanese). Specify the field in which you want to search: entire record, author, title, journal, and subject. Can limit search to journal articles only.

MagazinePlus [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "M" for MagazinePlus, and then "MagazinePlus."]
MagazinePlus is a large collection of Japanese databases. A major database included is Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (an index to 9396 Japanese language and 102 Western language scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, with coverage from 1975-present, updated twice a month).
Search tips: Type in keywords (for example: 源氏物語). Search kanji and hiragana with "or" (いずれかを含む) when hiragana is a frequent alternative. Limit to Zasshi Kiji Sakuin file and by date or date range.

Modern Language Association Bibliography [Location: UW-Madison Libraries Web Site. Click on "Journals, Magazines and Newspapers," then on "M" for Modern Language Association Bibliography, and then "MLA Bibliography."]
Modern Language Association Bibliography indexes English language and foreign periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Reviews of literary and scholarly works are not included. There are no abstracts.
Search tips: Type in keywords (example: tale of genji). When looking at results, check Descriptors field in record for ideas for other keywords. Can limit by language (e.g., English) and publication type (e.g., journal article). Click on "Get Full Text" and then "MadCat" to initiate a search of MadCat for journal title.

How to Find a Journal When the Full Text is Not Available in the Database

When the database does not provide the article in full text or a link to MadCat, search MadCat. Click on Basic Search. Type in the name of the journal. Select "journal title" to search by journal title. Check the "Library Has" part of the record to check the library or database that has the date, volume, and issue you need. Copy down the call number and use the Memorial Library Stack Guide to locate the stack level and section. From the database, note the journal title, volume number, issue number, and page numbers.


Web Sites for Japanese Literature

[Back to Top]
 
 
Japanese Text Initiative
National Institute of Japanese Literature (国文学研究資料館)
 

Getting Assistance

[Back to Top]

To obtain assistance in libraries, via phone, via email, or using the Live Help online service see the campus-wide library assistance page:

Reference and Research Assistance

Contact Rebecca Payne, Japanese Studies Librarian:

Phone: 262-2387

E-mail: rpayne@library.wisc.edu


Created by: Rebecca Payne, Japanese Studies Librarian. Last updated: November 3, 2003.

.