A Bibliography of China related CD-ROM
©Thomas H. Hahn, University of Wisconsin - Madison
(Last update: November 27, 2000)
NOTE: As of April 19, 2001, and until further notice, this web site will no longer be maintained!

This bibliography is concerning CD-ROM as I have come across them in catalogues, during the Frankfurt book fairs, at AAS meetings or other opportunities. They all concern China and Chinese culture in one way or another. The bibliographical criteria (or the "tagging scheme", if you wish) entered below are as follows:

1.
NAME OF CD-ROM DATABASE
7.
NETWORKABLE
2.
DATE OF 1st ISSUE
8.
CODING OF CHARACTERS
3.
ISSUEING AGENCY
9.
NUMBER OF CDs
4.
DISTRIBUTION
10.
PRICE
5.
FREQUENCY OF UPDATES
11.
SHORT DESCRIPTION
6.
TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS
 

Needless to say that not for all of the items every bit of information is available. Whereas some materials come along with detailed notes and specifications, others are presented by the vendors in a rather spartan attire. Thus quite a few entries listed below may lack one or the other "tag", implying that no information could be obtained to fill the respective field. Note that the arrangement of items is rather at random, and not in alphabetical or subject order (as the bibliography grows readjustments and a re-grouping may be a wise thing to do). Some of the comments on the respective items come from first-hand experience, while other commentaries may be extracted from a leaflet or an advance advertisement. This may account for the "uneven" reporting on the various products. Should some reader/user observe errors in the present list or have more detailed information on those items listed here or on newer versions and releases I would be grateful for notification.

Thomas H. Hahn, Madison, April 1999.



THE BIBLIOGRAPHY

1. Newspapers and Journals (in Chinese and English)

INDEX TO CHINESE PERIODICAL LITERATURE

CHINA DAILY (ZHONGGUO RIBAO)

PEOPLE'S DAILY (RENMIN RIBAO)

DONGFANG (THE ORIENT)

SOUTH CHINA MORNING POST

FAR EASTERN ECONOMIC REVIEW

REN(MIN)DA(XUE) FUYIN BAOKAN ZILIAO QUANWEN 1995.1-12

REN(MIN)DA(XUE) FUYIN BAOKAN ZILIAO SUOYIN 1978-1999

WOMEN'S STUDIES (FUNU YANJIU)

JIUSHI NIANDAI (THE NINETIES); formerly QISHI NIANDAI (THE SEVENTIES)

2. Classical Literature, Compendia, Collections, Dictionaries

SIKU QUANSHU (Image version)

SIKU QUANSHU (Combined image and fulltext version)

GUJIN TUSHU JICHENG

XU ZIZHI TONGJIAN CHANGBIAN

DANG'AN WENXIAN GUANGPAN KU- CHINESE ARCHIVES IN OPTICAL DISKS

25 DYNASTIC HISTORIES (fulltext version 1)

25 DYNASTIC HISTORIES (fulltext version 2)

MULTI-MEDIA I-CHING

CHUJI HANYU ZIDIAN - ELEMENTARY CHINESE DICTIONARY

THE CHINESE LITERATURE ENCYCLOPEDIA

3. Law, Industry and Trade

EVERYDAY LAW COMPENDIUM FOR HONG KONG (XIANGGANG RIYONG FALU DAQUAN)

THE TRADING MASTER IN CHINA

CHINESE MACHINERY & ELECTRIC ENTERPRISES

4. China Tourism, Geography, Social customs

CHINA DISCOVERY

THE FORBIDDEN CITY

TOUR CHINA SERIES

CHINESE ANTIQUES

CHINESE SOCIAL CUSTOMS

ELECTRONIC NATIONAL ECONOMIC ATLAS OF CHINA

5. Recorded Speeches of Chinese Leaders

JUREN ZHI SHENG - MAO ZEDONG

JUREN ZHI SHENG - DENG XIAOPING

JUREN ZHI SHENG - ZHOU ENLAI

6. Various

MATTEO RICCI MULTIMEDIA CD-ROM

CHINESE UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES 1994

ZHONGGUO YOULIN (CHINA STAMP FOREST)

ZHONGGUO DANGDAI MEISHU XIANXIANG

CHINESE DISSERTATION REFERENCE CD

ZHONGGUO JIAOYU XINXIKU (CHINA EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION DATABASE)

SINOCAT

CHINA'S CULTURAL HISTORY IN THE 20th CENTURY DATABASE