Home   UW Libraries Website   MadCat Library Catalog
Home
EU on the WebFinding EU DocumentsStatistics

EU on the Web
Gateways | Guides & Indexes | Institutions | Databases | News/Press Releases

EU Databases

A complete list of EU databases by alphabetical order and by subject is available on the Information Sources and Contacts page of the Europa server (http://europa.eu.int/geninfo/info/guide/index_en.htm#db). Below is a list of some major databases with brief descriptions:

Commerce-related databases

TED
TED (Tenders Electronic Daily) is the official information source for public procurement opportunities.
http://ted.publications.eu.int/CD/application/
pif/resources/ shtml/common/home/home.htm

Legal/Legislative Databases

CELEX
CELEX gives comprehensive information on EU law, including full text for legal acts, treaties, legislation, conventions concluded among the member states and case law of the European Court of Justice. It also provides bibliographic information on member state implementing legislation for directives. It is available to UW–Madison researchers in two forms:

CELEX direct from the EU server

The search interface and linkage among related texts is a big plus. Now available to the public; use login and password given on the first page of the site.
http://europa.eu.int/celex/htm/celex_en.htm

Licensed access for UW-Madison students, faculty, staff CELEX via Lexis/Nexis

With a different search interface and no linkage between texts, the database content is available on Lexis/Nexis as a pick under "Legal Research".

EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex is the portal to information on EU law intended for the general public. One plus is that free and open access is provided to all. However, it is less complete than CELEX and has a less sophisticated search interface.
http://europa.eu.int/eur-lex/en/index.html

OEIL/ European Parliament Legislative Observatory
Provides information on all inter-institutional legislative, budgetary, assent and non-legislative consultation procedures. Includes procedures still underway and all concluded since the beginning of the fourth legislative term in July 1994.
http://www.europarl.eu.int/oeil/index.jsp?language=en

PreLex
PreLex allows the user to trace the stages of the decision-making process between the Commission and the other institutions. Links allow users access to available electronic texts. It contains information on proposals since 1975, though full text links are usually only available for texts produced after 1999.
http://europa.eu.int/prelex/apcnet.cfm?CL=en

Libraries and Archives

ARCHISplus
Catalogue of the documents and files conserved in the Historical Archives of the European Commission.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/secretariat_general/
archisplus/arcp_central.cfm?lng=en

ECLAS

ECLAS is a bibliographic data base consisting of ca. 350,000 catalogue records in the domain of European affairs; about 7,000 new records are added annually. It is compiled and maintained by the Commission library.
http://europa.eu.int/eclas/

Press Releases

RAPID
Contains all the press releases of the Commission since 1985 as well as those from some other EU institutions, particularly the Council. Login as "guest" or sign up for a username and subscribe to all or part of the daily additions to the database.
http://europa.eu.int/rapid/

Public Opinion

Eurobarometer
A database containing public opinion data gathered by the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission since 1973.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/public_opinion/
Last updated: 11/4/05
MadCat Library Catalog
 
UW Libraries Website

 

Intro | EU Basics | Library Databases | Reference Resources
EU on the Web | Finding EU Docs | Statistics | Contact

 


Copyright © 2003 The Board of Regents
of the University of Wisconsin System