EU on the Web
Gateways
| Guides & Indexes | Institutions
| Databases | News/Press
Releases
Current News and Press Releases
EU publications:
European Commission Representation in the United Kingdom
Choose links to "Press" and "What's new" for current
news and information.
http://www.cec.org.uk/about/index.htm
News Releases
Press releases of the European Commission Delegation in Washington,
D.C. Formerly appeared in paper format under the title European
Union News: Memorial Library stacks HC241.2 E9651.
http://www.eurunion.org/news/press/index.htm
Press Service of the European Parliament
http://www.europarl.eu.int/press/index_en.htm
RAPID
Database of press releases managed by the Press and Communication
Directorate General of the European Commission on behalf of all EU
institutions which wish to participate. Full information on database
contents and participating institutions available in User Manual on
the RAPID site. You can log in as "guest" or set up you
own personal username.
http://europa.eu.int/rapid/
Non-EU sources:
euobserver.com
This site provides current news about all aspects of the EU, and a
searchable archive is also provided.
http://euobserver.com/
EuroNews
Going beyond the EU to European news in general, this site offers video clips of news and cultural information in seven European languages.
http://www.euronews.net/create_html.php?page=home
European Sources Online (ESO) News and Analysis Home Page
Searching and browsing options for current news relating to the EU. Sources include European Voice, The Economist and the Financial Times. This page includes ESO’s Weekly Bulletin, which keeps the user up to date with additions to the database and EU-related news from the previous month.
Global
Newsbank
Full text news articles from over 1,500 international sources, including
wire services and newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996.
Inside
Europe: A Guide to the Changing Face of the European Union
Current news and feature articles, selected articles on current topics,
and background information on the EU and its issues from the BBC News
Service.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_depth/europe/2003/
inside_europe/default.stm
LexisNexis
Academic Universe Web
Online service of over 5,000 full-text sources, including many European
newspapers. Among them are the Financial Times, The Times
(London), Le Monde, and the Frankfurter Allgemeine
Zeitung.
World
News Connection
English language translations of foreign media, including TV and radio
broadcasts, newspaper articles and other publications beginning with
1994. This database replaces the FBIS Reports published in
paper and on microfiche. Updated daily; articles usually appear 24-72
hours after their original publication.