Library Databases
for EU Topics
The EU, like any government, is involved in almost everything. Thus,
almost any library database may contain information on some aspect
of EU activities. You can consult the Library Web Page under "E-Resource
Gateway: Article Databases` and More " to
identify databases for a particular subject.
Choose the Subject tab on the E-Resource Gateway and select Area Studies–Western
Europe for a long list of databases.
The list below suggests several databases most likely to include
information on a broad range of EU-related topics and EU countries.
ABI/Inform [business and economics]
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1300 scholarly and trade business periodicals. Good source for information on business and trade in the EU.
Academic Search [general]
Full text database of more than 3,000 journals in many fields, all in English, Both general interest and academic journals are included.
European Sources Online (ESO)
European Sources Online (ESO) is an online database which provides access to information on the institutions and activities of the European Union, the countries, regions and other international organisations of Europe, and on the issues of importance to European citizens and stakeholders. Primarily an index, but also includes topic guides and full text of news sources.
Historical Abstracts [European and world history]
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts information in world history (including Europe) and the related sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to full-text articles are included when available. Over 1700 periodicals, essay collections, conference papers, dissertations and books are indexed here.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Indexes articles appearing in approximately 450 legal journals published worldwide.
International
Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Indexes over 2,600 journals and 6,000 books from 100 countries each year in the
fields of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe [general, news, business]
Approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference and business sources, most full
text. Includes major U.S. and European newspapers and news weeklies. "Legal Research" section
includes CELEX, the EU law database.
MadCat
Like all other materials acquired by the Library, those published
by the EU or about the EU and Europe are cataloged and integrated
into collections in the stacks, the Microforms Media Center, and the
Reference Department. The local online catalog should be everyone's
first stop when looking for books or periodicals from or about Europe
in Library collections. Consult "MadCat
Help: About MadCat" for more information.
Polling
the Nations [public opinion]
Contains a lot of data from non-U.S. polls, including Eurobarometer,
the public opinion survey of the European Commission.
Proquest
Research Library [general]
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, all in English, and provides
the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. Covers both general interest
and academic journals in many fields.
Public
Affairs Information Service (PAIS) [political science,
social sciences]
Indexes journal articles, books and government and IGO documents (including
selected EU documents and publications) in the fields of public policy
and the social sciences in general.
Readers'
Guide Full Text and Retrospective [general]
Indexes and abstracts more than 240 general interest periodicals.
Full text of articles from 120 journals have been added beginning
with 1994.
Social
Sciences Full Text
Indexes more than 415 key periodicals in English in the fields of
economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public
health, sociology and more. Beginning with 1995, 112 journals are
available in full text.
SourceOECD
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and
Development. Includes full text of many monographs and periodicals
published by the OECD.
Web
of Knowledge [all subject areas]
Indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals from many countries.
Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts and indexing of more than 1200 international
serials in political science and related fields, including international
relations, law, public administration and public policy.