Reference Resources

Guides, Handbooks and Bibliographies

General Guides to the Literature
Topical Bibliographies
Handbooks and histories
Guides to Dance on Video

Guides to the Literature

Bopp, Mary S. Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1994.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
GV1594 B67 1994

Forbes, Fred R. Dance: An Annotated Bibliography, 1965-1982. New York: Garland Pub., 1986.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1594 F58 1986

Getz, Leslie. Dancers and Choreographers: A Selected Bibliography. Wakefield: Asphodel Press, 1995.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
GV1785 A1 G48 1995

Robertson, Allen. The Dance Handbook. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1990.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
GV1601 R63 1990

Simons, Linda. The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Englewood, CO:
Libraries Unlimited, 1994.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
PN1584 S5 1994

Topical Bibliographies

Adamczyk, Alice J. Black Dance: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1989.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1595 A33 1989

Buenosaires, Oscar de. Tango: A Bibliography. Albuquerque: Fog Publications, 1991.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
GV1796 T3 B83 1991

Completed Research in Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance. Reston, Va.: American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance, 1981-
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
Z6121 A622

Dance as Religious Studies. Edited by Doug Adams and Diane Apostolos-Cappadona. New York: Crossroad Pub. Co., 1990.
GV1741 D24 1990

Dance Research: Published or Publicly Presented by Members of the Study Group on Ethnochoreology. Edited by Elsie Ivancich Dunin. Los Angeles: International Council for Traditional Music, Study Group on Ethnochoreology, 1989.
GV1594 D368 1989

Emerson, Isabelle Putnam. Twentieth-Century American Music for the Dance: A Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
ML128 D3 E44 1996

Fledderjohn, Heidi and Judith Sewickley. An Annotated Bibliography of Dance/Movement Therapy, 1940-1990. Columbia, MD: Marian Chace Memorial Fund of the American Dance Therapy Association, 1993.
RC489 D3 F5 1993

Forrester, Felicitee. Ballet in England: A Bibliography and Survey, c.1700-1960. [London]: Library Association, 1968
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
Z7514 D2 F6

Gunzenhauser, Margot. The Square Dance and Contra Dance Handbook: Calls, Dance Movements, Music, Glossary, Bibliography, Discography, and Directories. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 1996.
GV1763 G86 1996

Hanna, Judith Lynne. The Anthropology of Dance: A Selected Bibliography. Englewood Cliffs, N. J.: [n.p.], 1976.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1595 H35

Petermann, Kurt. Tanzbibliographie. Leipzig: VEB Bibliographisches Institut, 1966-79.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
Z7514 D2 T3

Resources in Sacred Dance: Annotated Bibliography from Christian and Jewish Traditions: Books, Booklets and Pamphlets, Articles and Serial Publications, Media, and Reference Sources. Compiled by the Sacred Dance Guild; Kay Troxell, editor. 1991 revision of 1986 ed. Peterborough, NH: Sacred Dance Guild, 1991.;
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1783.5 R38 1991

Handbooks and Histories

Balachine, George, and Francis Mason. Balanchine's Complete Stories of the Great Ballets.  Rev. and enl. ed.  New York: Doubleday, 1977.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
MT95 B3 1977

Beaumont, Cyril W. Complete Book of Ballets; a Guide to the Principal Ballets of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries.  London: Putnam, 1951.  Supplements 1-3.  1952-1955.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
MT95 B43

Sachs, Curt. World History of the Dance.  Trans. by Bessie Schönberg.  New York: W. W. Norton, 1937.
GV1601 S2713

Guides to Dance on Video

Dance on Camera: A Guide to Dance Films and Videos.  Edited by Louise Spain.  [Rev. ed. of the Dance Film and Video Guide]  Lanham, MD.: Scarecrow Press; New York : Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1998.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1595 D342 1998

Dance on Disc: The Complete Catalog of the Dance Collection of the New York Public Library on CD-ROM.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1993- (Updated annually)

Dance Films Association.  The Dance Film and Video Guide.  Compiled and edited by Deirdre Towers.  Princeton,  NJ: Dance Horizons/Princeton Book Co., 1991.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1595 D32 1991

Leslie, Serge. A Bibliography of the Dance Collection of Doris Niles & Serge Leslie.   Edited by Cyril Beaumont.  London: C.W. Beaumont, 1966-1981.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
Z7514 D2 L4

New York Public Library Dance Collection. Bibliographic Guide to Dance. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1975- . Annual.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1580 B5

New York Public Library Dance Collection.  Dictionary Catalog of the Dance Collection: A List of Authors, Titles, and Subjects of Multi-Media Materials in the Dance Collection of the Performing Arts Research Center of the New York Public Library.  10 vols.  [New York]: New York Public Library, Astor, Lenox, and Tilden Foundations; Boston: distributed by G. K. Hall, 1974.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1580 B497

Parker, David L. Guide to Dance in Film: A Catalog of U.S. Productions, including Dance Sequences, with Names of Dancers, Choreographers, Directors, and Other Details.  Detroit: Gale, [1978]
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1779 P37

Current releases may also be found by searching Facets Video.

Copyright © 2005 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System. Design by David Dies.

October 30, 2006