Reference Resources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Indexes

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Terminological Dictionaries
Printed Indexes

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Balet: Entsiklopediia. N. Grigorovich, gen. ed. Moscow: Sovetskaia Entsiklopediia, 1981.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 D27

Billman, Larry. Film Choreographers and Dance Directors, an illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia with a History and Filmographies, 1893 through 1995. Jefferson, NC: MacFarland, 1997.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1779 B55 1997

Blas Vega, Jose. Diccionario enciclopedico ilustrado del flamenco. Madrid: Editorial Cinterco, 1988.
MUSIC LIBRARY Reference
ML102 F55 B53 1988

Chujoy, Anatole, and P. W. Manchester. The Dance Encyclopedia. Rev. ed. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1967.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 C5 1967

Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara Naomi. Biographical Dictionary of Dance. New York: Schirmer Books; London: Collier Macmillan, 1982.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1785 A1 C58 1982

International Dictionary of Ballet. 2 vols. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Ref Stacks
GV1585 I57 1993

International Dictionary of Modern Dance. Ed. by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf.  Detroit: St. James Press, 1998.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 I58 1998

International Encyclopedia of Dance. A project of Dance Perspectives Foundation.  Selma Jean Cohen, ed.  6 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 I586 1998

Kelley, Charles. American Tap Dancing Dictionary. [N.p.]: Dance Educators of America, 1990.
GV1794 K45 1990

Koegler, Horst. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ballet. 2d ed.  London: Oxford University Press, 1982.
GV1585 C73 1982

Schneider, Otto. Tanzlexikon : Volkstanz, Kulttanz, Gesellschaftstanz, Kunsttanz, Ballett: Tänzer, Tänzerinnen, Choreographen, Tanz- und Ballettkomponisten: von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart. Mainz: Schott, 1985.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 S36 1985

Terminological Dictionaries

Grant, Gail. Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet. 3rd. rev. ed. New York: Dover, 1982.
GV1787 G68 1982

Kersley, Leo, and Janet Sinclair. A Dictionary of Ballet Terms.New York, N.Y.: Da Capo Press, 1981. (Reprint of 3rd ed., London: Black, 1977.)
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 K45 1981

Preston-Dunlop, Valerie. Dance Words.  Chur, Switzerland: Harwood Academic Publishers, 1995.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 P74 1995

Raff, Walter George. Dictionary of the Dance.  New York: Barnes, 1964.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1585 R3

Wörterbuch des Tanzsports. Herausgegeben von Herbert und Ursula Stuber in Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen Experten. Munich: Kastell, 1990.
GV1585 W67 1990

Printed Indexes

Dance Figures Index: American Country Dances, 1730-1810.  Compiled by Robert M. Keller. 2d ed. Sandy Hook, CT: The Hendrickson Group, 1989.
GV1763 D33 1989

Guide to Dance Periodicals. 1931/35-1961/62. 10 vols. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1948-63.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
Z7514 D2 G8

Index to Dance Periodicals. Dance Collection, the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Boston: G.K. Hall &  Co., 1990-
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Reference
GV1594 I53

Little, Meredith. La danse noble: an inventory of dances and sources.  Williamstown [MA]: Broude Brothers, 1992.
MEMORIAL LIBRARY Oversize
GV1649 L57 1992

Marrocco, W. Thomas. Inventory of 15th Century Bassedanze, Balli & Balletti in Italian Dance Manuals.  New York: CORD, 1981.
GV1655 M37

Dance abstracts and index
Mills Music Library Reference Collection
ML1 D26 | ASF7874
HOLDINGS: 1989-1990
Non-circulating

Index to Dance Periodicals (Dance Collection, The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts)
Memorial Library Reference Room 262
GV1594 I53 | ARB6576
HOLDINGS: 1990-1995
Non-circulating

Copyright © 2005 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System. Design by David Dies.

October 30, 2006